[2026] VSC 117
General information, not legal advice.
Supreme Court of Victoria
2026-03-16
Delany J
Original judgment source is linked above.
(a) Mr Naqebullah is an Insured under the 2017/18 Policy and the 2018/19 Policy.
(b) There was no Claim and notification within the Period of Insurance of the 2017/18 Policy or the 2018/19 Policy.
(c) The indemnity sought is not in respect of civil liability incurred in their conduct of the Professional Business.
(d) The fourth question regarding the cladding endorsement is unnecessary to answer.
(a) a Professional Indemnity Design and Construction Proposal Form ('Proposal Form');
(b) a Professional Indemnity Certificate of Insurance ('Certificate of Insurance'); and
(c) Arch's policy terms, titled 'Professional Indemnity Contract of Insurance Design and Construction Civil Liability' ('Policy terms').
The person or persons (referred to as "the Insured") named in the Schedule on the Certificate of Insurance attached to this Contract of Insurance have made to Arch Syndicate 2012 at Lloyd's ("Underwriters"), who have subscribed our name(s) to this Contract, a written proposal and declaration, bearing the date stated in the Schedule and containing particulars, representations and statements in reliance on which it is hereby agreed are the basis of this Contract and are to be considered as incorporated in it.
This Contract is evidence that in consideration of the payment of the Premium stated in the Schedule, Underwriters will, to the extent and in the manner set out herein:
A. Insuring Clauses
- Indemnify the Insured against any Claim first made against any of them, during the Period of Insurance and notified by the Insured to Underwriters in writing during the Period of Insurance in respect of any civil liability incurred in their conduct of the Professional Business.
(a) any Writ, Summons, Application or other originating legal or arbitral process, cross‑claim, or counter‑claim served upon any Insured alleging a breach of professional duty in the conduct of the Insured's Professional Business;
(b) any demand alleging any civil liability or breach of professional duty by the Insured in their conduct of the Professional Business communicated to an Insured by whatever means.
All Claims arising from the same act error or omission, or consequent upon or attributable to one source or original cause, shall be deemed to be a single Claim.
(a) the person(s), principal(s), members of the partnership, directors, company or corporation, statutory authority, association or the legal entity specified in the Schedule and Employees thereof being the basis of this Contract, and their predecessors in the Professional Business;
(b) any person who becomes, during the Period of Insurance, a partner, director, or Employee of the Insured, but in each case solely in respect of work carried out for or on behalf of the Insured and in the conduct of the Professional Business;
(a) design, including advice in relation to design, in accordance with all relevant building, construction or engineering codes and standards;
(b) drafting;
(c) technical calculation;
(d) specification;
...
PROVIDED always that it is performed by or under the direct supervision of:
(i) a properly registered engineer, architect or surveyor;
(ii) a quantity surveyor who is a member of the Australian Institute of Quantity Surveyors; or
(iii) any other person providing a professional service of a skilful character according to an established discipline, appropriate to the professional services being performed or supervised.
Professional Business does not mean performance or supervision (where such supervision would normally be undertaken by a building contractor) of construction‑related activities ... by the Insured or its Agent, where such performance or supervision is undertaken in the capacity solely as a building or engineering contractor.
This Contract subject otherwise to its terms, conditions, limitations and exclusions includes cover for any Claim first made against the Insured during the Period of Insurance and notified by the Insured to Underwriters in writing during the Period of Insurance ...
137F Subrogation
(1) This section applies if -
(a) after the commencement of this Division, the Authority pays an amount to an owner of a building (the payee) by way of financial assistance in relation to cladding rectification work on the building; or
(b) before the commencement of this Division, an amount was paid by or on behalf of the Crown in right of the State of Victoria to an owner of a building (the payee) by way of financial assistance in relation to cladding rectification work on the building.
(2) At the relevant time, the Crown is subrogated to all the rights and remedies of the payee against any person in relation to the installation or use of any non‑compliant or non‑conforming external wall cladding product, or other building work, that required the cladding rectification work to be undertaken.
(3) If a right or remedy to which the Crown is subrogated under this section is exercisable against an entity that is not an individual, it is enforceable jointly and severally against the entity and the people who were its officers at the time the act or omission that gave rise to the right or remedy occurred.
...
- The State submitted the only issue that arises for determination so far as it is concerned is whether Shangri‑La breached statutory warranties contained in the DBC Act by using and installing EPS Cladding as part of the external façade of the Building.
...
In his witness statement Mr Naqebullah states that on or about May 2011, on behalf of Shangri‑La, he advised and recommended to Bayside Project Management ('BPM') on behalf of MMD Mazor that the design of the external cladding on the Building would comprise of 100mm expanded polystyrene foam panels finished with an acrylic render system. On or about May 2011 and at a subsequent meeting, the EPS design advice he gave was accepted by Mr Jonathan Hallinan of BPM on behalf of MMD Mazor. Mr Naqebullah was requested by Mr Hallinan to draw the Project Specification that was to be incorporated into the contract.
...
- The ASOC alleges and the Defence admits there were terms of the contract by operation of s 8 of the DBC Act pursuant to which Shangri‑La warranted that:
(a) all materials to be supplied by the Builder for use in the work carried out under the Contract would be good and suitable for the purpose for which they were used and that, unless otherwise stated in the Contract, those materials would be new (as provided in s 8(b) of the DBC Act); and
(b) the work under the Contract would be carried out in accordance with, and would comply with, all laws and legal requirements including, without limiting the generality of this warranty, the Building Act and the regulations made under that Act (as provided in s 8(c) of the DBC Act).
...
- Section 8(f) of the DBC Act provides:
8 Implied warranties concerning all domestic building work
The following warranties about the work to be carried out under a domestic building contract are part of every domestic building contract -
...
(f) if the contract states the particular purpose for which the work is required, or the result which the building owner wishes the work to achieve, so as to show that the building owner relies on the builder's skill and judgement, the builder warrants that the work and any material used in carrying out the work will be reasonably fit for that purpose or will be of such a nature and quality that they might reasonably be expected to achieve that result.
- The recommendation to use EPS Cladding was a recommendation to use a form of cladding which is not a product permitted for such use by the relevant regulations and codes. The use of EPS Cladding was not approved as an Alternate Solution by the relevant building surveyor. The use of EPS Cladding was also not in accordance with the approved drawings for construction of the Building.
...
The State submitted and I accept that s 137F(3) imposes strict liability on Mr Naqebullah by virtue of his status as an officer of Shangri‑La at the time at which there were breaches of the statutory warranties in s 8 of the DBC Act by Shangri‑La. Mr Naqebullah's liability does not arise because of any additional, separate or concurrent wrongdoing on his part personally.
...
- What s 137F(3) requires is that the Court is satisfied that a right or remedy exists that would be 'exercisable' against an entity that is not an individual. The section does not require that the right or remedy is exercised against that entity.
- I accept the submission that if the Court is persuaded that Shangri‑La has breached one or more of the statutory warranties in s 8 of the DBC Act, that satisfies the requirement of the existence of a right or remedy against another entity and, in turn, enables and empowers the State to enforce its right or remedy against Mr Naqebullah personally pursuant to the statute.
- I accept the proposition, submitted on behalf the State, that if the facts show there has been a breach of one or more of the statutory warranties, there is no substantive defence available to a claim of contravention. No issues as to the exercise or otherwise of reasonable care arise. Strict liability is the order of the day.
- In Owners Corporation No.1 of PS613436T v LU Simon Builders Pty Ltd (Building and Property), Judge Woodward (as his Honour then was) referred to Barton v Stiff, where Hargrave J (as his Honour then was):
confirmed the principle that a builder's liability for design and construction was not merely an obligation to use reasonable care. In particular, the warranty of fitness for purpose was absolute.
Thus I accept the Owners' submission that the warranties are "not qualified or limited to an obligation to use reasonable care and skill."
...
I am satisfied on the evidence that Shangri‑La has breached the statutory warranties in ss 8(b) and (c) of the DBC Act.
I agree with the State that, consistent with Lacrosse, the installation of EPS Cladding is 'obviously not good or suitable for the purpose of being used in the external walls of a residential building and, therefore, breaches the warranty in s 8(b)'. The failure to comply with the BCA is 'also sufficient to establish a breach of s 8(c)'. Those breaches of the statutory warranties are admitted on the pleadings.
...
I find that Shangri‑La breached the statutory warranty in s 8(f) of the DBC Act when carrying out the work under the contract, the purpose of which was the construction of premium quality dwellings. That breach concerned the use of EPS Cladding in circumstances where such use was contrary to the BCA in relation to Type A construction which required external walls of the Building to be non‑combustible.
The use of EPS Cladding involved the use of cladding which was not fit for purpose and in breach of the warranty in s 8(f). In addition, by installing cladding that did not comply with the performance requirements of the BCA, Shangri‑La provided a building that did not meet the minimum standards for public safety.
...
- The right or remedy to which the Crown is subrogated under s 137F(2) of the Building Act is exercisable against Shangri‑La for breach of the statutory warranties. Shangri‑La is not an individual. In those circumstances, by operation of s 137(3), the right or remedy which is exercisable against Shangri‑La is enforceable against Mr Naqebullah, who was an officer of Shangri‑La at the time of the act or omission that gave rise to the right or remedy.
Allianz Australia Limited v Wentworthville Real Estate Pty Ltd trading as Starr Partners (Wentworthville) [2004] NSWCA 100; (2004) ANZ Ins Cas 61-598 at [45] said that where an exclusion was for claims of a particular character it was necessary to consider the substance of the claim. In reaching this conclusion, it should be noted that Mason P (with whom Sheller JA and Pearlman AJA agreed) said at [23]-[24]:
It is submitted that the court must look at the substance of the claim, not the legal tag or tags which may be attached to it to signify the cause(s) of action, to determine whether the claim attracts indemnity under the policy. The manner in which a claim is framed against the insured will not be decisive as to whether liability falls within cover.
This legal proposition should be accepted. It is supported by the authorities cited by the appellant ...
(a) The State neither sought nor obtained any judgment or order against the builder, Shangri‑La. The State's pleading concerned Shangri‑La solely as a party to a domestic building contract.
(b) The claim by the State against Shangri‑La involved breaches by that company of only some of the DBC Act warranties. The statutory warranties relied on do not include any statutory warranty requiring Shangri‑La (or Mr Naqebullah) to exercise reasonable care, skill or diligence or that the building work would be carried out in a proper and workmanlike manner.
(c) The State's allegations made in (a) and (b) above were not made for the purpose of securing judgment against Shangri‑La but as necessary steps leading to judgment against Mr Naqebullah. It was not part of the State's case, and nor did it allege, that Shangri‑La breached any professional duty in the conduct of Shangri‑La's Professional Business.
(d) As part of its case, the State submitted there is no substantive defence available to Mr Naqebullah to its claim that there has been a contravention of the warranties implied by ss 8(b), (c), (e) and (f) of the DBC Act. That is because the warranties of fitness for purpose and suitability of materials are absolute and are not qualified by or limited to an obligation to use reasonable care and skill.
(e) All the State needed to demonstrate was that Shangri‑La used EPS on the external walls and that it did not comply with the BCA (and therefore the relevant warranties pleaded). Such a finding enabled the State to enforce its right or remedy against Mr Naqebullah personally pursuant to s 137F(3) of the Building Act.
(a) That is the only liability Mr Naqebullah now has and is the only liability in respect of which he can seek indemnity under the Policies.
(b) It cannot be the case that the Policies respond because some demands that are not the demands that led to the liability might have engaged interest in the Policy.
(c) Even if Mr Naqebullah were an Insured, which is denied, he is precluded from advancing an argument that the claim against him by the State concerned or involved an allegation of breach of professional duty in the conduct of Shangri‑La's Professional Business, whether by Shangri‑La or by him. The consequence of that is that his case must fail.
(a) Section 137F of the Building Act imposes liability on an officer of a corporate entity where that officer would otherwise have no liability or duty and confers a cause of action that inheres only to, and may only be exercised by, the State and not the Owners. This is the section upon which the State relied to found its claim against Mr Naqebullah.
(b) The State's claim centred on its claim as subrogee of the rights of the Owners at a particular time to take proceedings pursuant to s 9 of the DBC Act 'as if' it were a party to the building contract.
(c) Because the State was not a party to the building contract, the State did not bring a contractual claim. It brought a claim made by virtue of the provisions of the statute.
(d) The State's reliance upon the warranties and contraventions of the DBC Act was reliance only upon warranties concerning the buildings that the builder constructed. The State made no claim against Mr Naqebullah outside its claim based on statutory warranties in s 8 of the DBC Act. The State did not place any reliance on other warranties in the DBC Act that pertained to breaches of duty and breaches of duty of care.
(e) The warranties described in the Primary Reasons relied on by the State did not involve issues of what Mr Naqebullah or anyone else at Shangri‑La did or may have done in the way of making recommendations. All the State needed to prove, and did, was breach of the warranties pleaded. The liability regime in relation to combustible cladding is a strict liability regime.
As has been said before, a policy of insurance is a commercial contract and should be given a businesslike interpretation. Interpreting a policy of insurance (like any other commercial document) requires attention to the language used by the parties, the commercial circumstances which the document addresses, and the objects which it is intended to secure. That said, it has been recognised that, in cases of ambiguity, a 'liberal approach' will generally be adopted in the construction of insurance contracts. This does not mean, however, that a court can attribute a different meaning to the words of a policy simply because the court regards the meaning as otherwise working a hardship on one of the parties.
[103] Justice Beach delivered a separate judgment in Todd. At [71]-[77], his Honour stated several construction principles in respect of policies of insurance as follows:
(a) The policy must be read and construed as a whole (at [71]);
(b) Textual analysis is to be given primacy and words and their use must be construed in context and not in a vacuum. Uncertainty and ambiguity in the words used may only be ascertainable once context is first appreciated (at [72]); and
(c) In construing the policy, the commercial purpose or object to be secured by the policy must be considered (at [76]).
In addition it must be recognised that usually definitions do not have substantive effect. They are not to be construed outside of the operative provisions to which they apply. Where there is an issue as to the proper construction of an operative provision in a commercial instrument then the provision should be read by inserting the definition into the provision. The same principles as to construing definitional provisions as stated in the context of the proper construction of statutes ... apply to the construction of commercial instruments ...
The ordinary rules of interpretation apply to a policy of insurance. As in the case of any other commercial contract, a court may depart from the strictly literal meaning of a particular expression to place upon it an alternative construction which is more reasonable and more in accord with the probable intention of the parties if the words will bear that construction ... Further "the trend is, if anything, to adopt a liberal interpretation in favour of the assured, so far as the ordinary and natural meaning of the words used by the insurers permits this to be done ...
(a) Question 1(c) requires the person completing the form to not only state the address(es) of the company but also to specify which director is responsible at each location.
(b) Question 2(a) requires particulars of all directors, including their name, age, qualifications, the date those qualifications were obtained and their years practising as a director in the current business practice as well as in previous business practices.
(c) Question 2(b) requires the person completing the form to say whether any director is a member of a professional body or association and, if so, to provide their details and membership status.
directors [of the] company ... the legal entity specified in the Schedule and Employees thereof ...
under a contract of insurance, means a person who is not a party to the contract but is specified or referred to in the contract, whether by name or otherwise, as a person to whom the benefit of the insurance cover provided by the contract extends.
F. Was there a 'Claim' and notification during the Period of Insurance of the 2017/18 Policy or the 2018/19 Policy?
(a) the letter received by Shangri‑La on 19 June 2019 attaching a Building Notice in respect of the Building; and
(b) Shangri‑La's awareness on or about 2 July 2019 of the commencement of VCAT Proceeding No. BP 1087 of 2019 in respect of the matters the subject of the 2017/18 Claim or, alternatively, the 2017 Circumstances,
constitute the '2018/19 Claim', which in turn constitutes a Claim within the meaning of the 2018/19 Policy.
...
the State SOC Claim in so far as it is made against each of the Builder and Mr Naqebullah:
(a) in so far as it is made against the Builder:
- is a demand alleging civil liability communicated to the Insured on or about 11 August 2017; alternatively
- is a demand alleging civil liability communicated to the Insured on or about June or July 2019;
Refer to paragraphs 29 to 32 and 32A to 32C above.
(b) in so far as it is made against Mr Naqebullah, is a demand alleging civil liability communicated to the Insured on or about 28 September 2022;
Particulars
Refer to paragraph 38 above.
(c) and, in each case, arise from the same act, error or omission, or consequent upon or attributable to one source or original cause and accordingly are deemed to be a single Claim within the meaning of the Arch PI Policies (clause B, Definition of "Claim") (the Single Claim);
- any such liability the subject of the Single Claim is a civil liability incurred by the Insured (being the Builder and Mr. Naqebullah) in their conduct of the Professional Business within the meaning of that term in the Arch PI Policies;
- the Single Claim is a Claim first made against the Insured during the Period of Insurance under the 17/18 Policy, alternatively the 18/19 Policy, in respect of a civil liability incurred in the conduct of the Professional Business within the meaning of each of those terms in the Arch PI Policies;
Particulars
Mr. Naqebullah refers to the email sent by Rita Shaya to Enrique Sicurella on 18 July 2019 (10.34 am) together with attachments.
Further particulars may be provided following discovery.
the Single Claim is a Claim in respect of which the Insured had given notice to the Underwriters of the facts that had given rise to the Claim as soon as reasonably practicable after the Insured had become aware of those facts, but before the expiry of the Period of Insurance, under the 17/18 Policy, alternatively the 18/19 Policy within the meaning of those terms in the Arch PI Policies;
Particulars
Mr. Naqebullah refers to and repeats the facts described in paragraphs 29 to 32L (inclusive) above.
- accordingly, the Single Claim is a claim pursuant to which Mr. Naqebullah is entitled to be indemnified in respect of any claim subsequently made against him from those facts referred to in paragraph 42(f) above on the same basis and to the same extent as the Builder is so entitled to indemnity.
(a) any Claim first made against any of the Insureds;
(b) during the Period of Insurance; and
(c) notified by the Insured to the Underwriters, in writing, during the Period of Insurance.
G. Is the indemnity sought by Mr Naqebullah 'in respect of any civil liability incurred in their conduct of the Professional Business'?
We agree to indemnify the insured against loss incurred as a result of any claim for civil liability first made against the insured and notified to us during the period of insurance, based on the insured's provision of the professional services.
We indemnify the Insured ... for any Civil Liability to any third party which is incurred by the Insured in the conduct of the business of provision by the Insured of the Professional Services Covered by this Policy: Management Consultancy.
That is the context in which the policy was entered into by the parties. Understood in that context and with that purpose in mind, the words 'in the conduct of' ought not to be given a narrow meaning.
(a) part (b) of the definition of Claim applies;
(b) the Policies respond to any demand alleging any civil liability or breach of professional duty; and
(c) the liability of Mr Naqebullah was incurred in response to the 2022 demand,
he is nonetheless not entitled to be indemnified. That is so because, as referred to earlier, the carve out from the definition of Professional Business states that the definition does not include the 'performance or supervision ... of construction‑related activities ... by the Insured or its Agent, where such performance or supervision is undertaken in the capacity solely as a building or engineering contractor'. Section 137F is directed to the very activities excluded from cover by the proviso in the definition of Professional Business.
(a) because, as director, he was an officer of Shangri‑La; and
(b) in relation to the performance or supervision of construction‑related activities which are excluded from cover by the proviso in the definition of Professional Business, being the installation or use of non‑compliant or non‑conforming cladding.
H. Does the cladding endorsement preclude Mr Naqebullah's claim for indemnity?
MMD MAZOR CONSTRUCTION PTY LTD (A.C.N. 137 919 147)
HOUSING FIRST LTD (A.C.N. 116 093 004) (Formerly known as PORT PHILLIP HOUSING ASSOCIATION LTD)
ASHWINI BHARGAVA (withdrawn from proceeding 20/02/2020)
CLAYTON SUPER INVESTMENTS PTY LTD (A.C.N. 164 080 513)
SHANGRI-LA CONSTRUCTION PTY LTD (A.C.N. 130 534 244)
CERTAIN UNDERWRITERS AT LLOYD'S SUBSCRIBING TO POLICY NUMBER P0003310PI2017AU1
CERTAIN UNDERWRITERS AT LLOYD'S SUBSCRIBING TO POLICY NUMBER P0003310PI2018AU2
[1] Owners Corporation 1 Plan No. PS 640567Y v Shangri-La Construction Pty Ltd [2025] VSC 701.
[2] See VACC Insurance Ltd v BP Australia Ltd (1999) 47 NSWLR 716; [1999] NSWCA 427, [26], [32]-[34] (Fitzgerald JA, Meagher JA agreeing at [1]).
[3] Owners Corporation 1 Plan No. PS 640567Y v Shangri-La Construction Pty Ltd [2025] VSC 701, [2], [11], [16], [21], [24]-[25], [48], [51]-[55], [60]-[61], [63]-[64], [71] (citations omitted).
[4] [2022] FCA 862, [90].
[5] In support, the Underwriters cited VACC Insurance Ltd v BP Australia Ltd (1999) 47 NSWLR 716; [1999] NSWCA 427, [26], [32]-[34] (Fitzgerald JA, Meagher JA agreeing at [1]).
[6] In his written submissions, Mr Naqebullah directed the Court to the following authorities in support: Alex Kay Pty Ltd v General Motors Acceptance Corporation [1963] VicRp 66; [1963] VR 458, 462 (Sholl J); Legal & General Insurance Australia Ltd v Eather (1986) 6 NSWLR 390, 394-395 (Kirby P); McCann v Switzerland Insurance Australia Ltd [2000] HCA 65; (2000) 203 CLR 579, 589 [22] (Gleeson CJ), 600-603 [74] (Kirby J); CGU Insurance Ltd v Porthouse (2008) 235 CLR 103, 116 [43] (Gummow, Kirby, Heydon, Crennan and Kiefel JJ); and Todd v Alterra at Lloyds Ltd (on behalf of the underwriting members of Syndicate 1400) (2016) 239 FCR 12; [2016] FCAFC 15, [42]-[43] (Allsop CJ and Gleeson J).
[7] (2017) 19 ANZ Insurance Cases 62-135; [2017] VSCA 110, [66] (Beach and McLeish JJA, Keogh AJA) (citations omitted).
[10] Chubb Insurance Company of Australia Ltd v Robinson (2016) 239 FCR 300; [2016] FCAFC 17, [103]-[104] (Foster, Robertson and Davies JJ).
[11] [2019] NSWCA 190, [3]. See also at [61] (Macfarlan JA).
[12] Bank of Queensland Ltd v AIG Australia Ltd [2019] NSWCA 190, [3] (Bathurst CJ).
[13] [2018] FCA 2055, [43] (Allsop CJ, Derrington and Colvin JJ) (citations omitted).
[14] (1986) 160 CLR 513, 520 (citations omitted).
[15] Ristorante Ltd v Zurich Insurance Plc [2021] EWHC 2538 (Ch), [34]-[36] (Snowden J). See also Revell v London General Insurance Co Ltd (1934) 50 Ll L Rep 114, 116 (MacKinnon J).
[16] [2022] FCA 862, [14] (Jagot J).
[18] Blakeley v Insurance Australia Ltd (2017) 53 VR 733; [2017] VSCA 378, [167] (Ferguson CJ, Whelan and McLeish JJA). See also at [18].
[19] Blakeley v Insurance Australia Ltd (2017) 53 VR 733; [2017] VSCA 378, [171] (Ferguson CJ, Whelan and McLeish JJA).
[20] While the State's claim involved allegations of breach of the statutory warranty in s 8(e), I did not consider it necessary as part of the Primary Reasons to determine whether there was such a breach, due to being satisfied that Shangri-La had breached the statutory warranties in ss 8(b), (c) and (f).
Owners Corporation 1 Plan No. PS 650567Y
Shangri-La Construction Pty Ltd [2026] VSC 117
(1999) 47 NSWLR 716
(1986) 6 NSWLR 390
(2000) 203 CLR 579
(2008) 235 CLR 103
(2016) 239 FCR 12
(2016) 239 FCR 300
(1986) 160 CLR 513
(2017) 53 VR 733