[2010] AATA 618
General information, not legal advice.
Administrative Appeals Tribunal of Australia
2010-08-20
Original judgment source is linked above.
DECISION AND REASONS FOR DECISION [2010] AATA 618
SECRETARY, DEPARTMENT OF FAMILIES, HOUSING, COMMUNITY SERVICES AND INDIGENOUS AFFAIRS
SOCIAL SECURITY - carer payment - parenting payment (partnered) - Centrelink - overpayment - assets exceeded cut-off limit - rental property - disclosure to Centrelink - newstart allowance - property value - valuations - incorrect coding of information - combined assets - youth allowance - Centrelink notices - limitation period for recovery of debt- write off debt - irrecoverable at law - failure to notify Centrelink - duty of care
Social Security Act 1991 ss 1064, 1064-G3, 1223, 1223(1), 1231, 1232, 1232(2), 1233,
1236(1), 1236(1A), 1236(1B), 1236(1C), 1237AAD, 500I(1)(c), 500Q(3)
Pickering v Centrelink [2008] FCA 561
Scott and Anor v Secretary, Department of Social Security [2000] FCA 1241; (2000) 65 ALD 79
Scott v Pedler [2003] FCA 650; [2003] 74 ALD 424
Sekhon v Secretary, Department of Family and Community Services [2003] FCAFC 190; (2003) 132 FCR 126
Wang v Secretary, Department of Employment and Workplace Relations [2006] FCA 898
The letter also stated that it was an information notice given under the social security law. It explained that Mrs Noureddine had to tell Centrelink if her personal income exceeded $76.66 per fortnight; if Mr Noureddine's total personal income exceeded $76.66 per fortnight; and if Mr and Mrs Noureddine's combined assets exceeded $178,500 (because they were homeowners).
12. On 21 January 2002 one of Mr and Mrs Noureddine's children lodged a claim with Centrelink for the youth allowance (YA). In that claim, which was signed by Mrs Noureddine, she stated that the current market value of their family assets was $15,000. There was no mention of the value of the Dianella property.
11/12/1995 $125,000
11/12/1996 $135,000
11/12/1997 $145,000
11/12/1998 $160,000
11/12/1999 $180,000
11/12/2000 $215,000
11/12/2001 $230,000
11/12/2002 $270,000
11/12/2003 $300,000
11/12/2004 $330,000
11/12/2005 $370,000
11/12/2006 $550,000
11/12/2007 $500,000
(1) Subject to this section, if:
(a) a social security payment is made; and
(b) a person who obtains the benefit of the payment was not entitled for any reason to obtain that benefit;
the amount of the payment is a debt due to the Commonwealth by the person and the debt is taken to arise when the person obtains the benefit of the payment.
(2A) Subject to subsections (2C), (2D) and (2E), action under this section for the recovery of a debt or overpayment is not to be commenced after the end of the period of 6 years starting on the first day on which an officer becomes aware, or could reasonably be expected to have become aware, of the circumstances that gave rise to the debt.
(2) Subject to subsections (4), (5) and (6), legal proceedings for the recovery of the debt are not to be commenced after the end of the period of 6 years starting on the first day on which an officer becomes aware, or could reasonably be expected to have become aware, of the circumstances that gave rise to the debt.
Sub-sections (4), (5) and (6) deal with how the debts should be recovered where part of the amount owing has been paid; where there is an acknowledgement of the debt; or a review of the file takes place regarding action for the recovery of debt. Otherwise, the considerations are precisely the same as those in respect of recovery by deduction. Therefore, as with the recovery of debt by deductions, I find that the limitation period commenced on 27 October 2008.
(1A) The Secretary may decide to write off a debt under subsection (1) if, and only if:
(a) the debt is irrecoverable at law; or
(b) the debtor has no capacity to repay the debt; or
(c) the debtor's whereabouts are unknown after all reasonable efforts have been made to locate the debtor; or
(d) it is not cost effective for the Commonwealth to take action to recover the debt.
(1B) For the purposes of paragraph (1A)(a), a debt is taken to be irrecoverable at law if, and only if:
(a) the debt cannot be recovered by means of deductions, or legal proceedings, or garnishee notice, because the relevant 6 year period mentioned in section 1231, 1232 or 1233 has elapsed; or
(aa) the debt cannot be recovered by means of deductions or setting off because the relevant 6 year period mentioned in section 86 of the A New Tax System (Family Assistance) (Administration) Act 1999 has elapsed; or
(b there is no proof of the debt capable of sustaining legal proceedings for its recovery; or
(c) the debtor is discharged from bankruptcy and the debt was incurred before the debtor became bankrupt and was not incurred by fraud; or
(d) the debtor has died leaving no estate or insufficient funds in the debtor's estate to repay the debt.
(1C) For the purposes of paragraph (1A)(b), if a debt is recoverable by means of:
(a) deductions from the debtor's social security payment; or
(b) deductions under section 84 of the A New Tax System (Family Assistance) (Administration) Act 1999; or
(c) setting off under section 84A of that Act;
the debtor is taken to have a capacity to repay the debt unless recovery by those means would result in the debtor being in severe financial hardship.
(1) Subject to subsection (1A), the Secretary must waive the right to recover the proportion of a debt that is attributable solely to an administrative error made by the Commonwealth if the debtor received in good faith the payment or payments that gave rise to that proportion of the debt.
Note: Subsection (1) does not allow waiver of a part of a debt that was caused partly by administrative error and partly by one or more other factors (such as error by the debtor).
Section 1237A(1) of the Act is subject to the time limit set out in s 1237A(1A). However, those time limits do not apply in this case because the debt was not raised within a period of six weeks from the first payment or compliance with a notification obligation.
[23] . . . The word "attributable" brings into play the notions of causation "as an effect to a cause": Macquarie Dictionary, 2nd ed, Macquarie Library, NSW, 1991, p 106. The word "solely" brings notions of exclusivity. Solely means "as the only one or ones" or "exclusively or only": Macquarie Dictionary, p 1664. It means "one and only, single; only", also "singular, unique, unrivalled": The New Shorter Oxford English Dictionary, Clarendon Press, Oxford, 1993, p 2938. It is used elsewhere in the Act but not in conjunction with "attributable" so that other usage does not assist in relation to the subsection in question.
[35] The ordinary or usual interpretation of the phrase "attributable solely to" is that it refers to the single or sole cause of the relevant act or event. The word "attributable" means "capable of being attributed". It involves an objective assessment of causation. The words "a debt attributable solely to an administrative error" can be paraphrased as meaning that the only cause that objectively can be ascribed to the relevant debt is an administrative error.
The Secretary may waive the right to recover all or part of a debt if the Secretary is satisfied that:
(a) the debt did not result wholly or partly from the debtor or another person knowingly:
(i) making a false statement or a false representation; or
(ii) failing or omitting to comply with a provision of this Act, the Administration Act or the 1947 Act; and
(b) there are special circumstances (other than financial hardship alone) that make it desirable to waive; and
(c) it is more appropriate to waive than to write off the debt or part of the debt.
Note 1: Section 1236 allows the Secretary to write off a debt on behalf of the Commonwealth.
Note 2: This section has effect subject to section 1237AAE in relation to an assurance of support debt.
[18] . . . The House of Lords there noted that although welfare legislation affecting a particular area of activity does in fact provide protection to those individuals particularly affected by that activity, the legislation is not to be treated as being passed for the benefit of those individuals but for the benefit of society in general; so that the cases where a private right of action has been held to arise are all cases where the statutory duty has been very limited and specific as opposed to general administrative functions involving the exercise of administrative discretion.
I have mentioned this system of administrative decision-making, with three levels of merits review, earlier in these reasons for judgment. It is a powerful indication that the legislature did not intend that the correctness of a particular decision should be challenged collaterally in proceedings in a court, such as proceedings for damages for negligence in the exercise of the statutory function. Coupled with the adoption of the satisfaction of the decision-maker as the foundation for a decision to make payments of pensions or other benefits, the system of administrative decision-making with merits review appears to be fatal to the notion that there should be a duty of care. The scheme of the Social Security Act is fundamentally inconsistent with the notion that an unsuccessful claimant for a pension or benefit should be entitled to sue for damages on the basis that the decision to deny the pension or benefit was the result of negligence on the part of the decision-maker. As I have already pointed out, such a claim would require that the court place itself in the shoes of the decision-maker and decide that he or she ought to have been satisfied. It would make the satisfaction of the court, rather than of the Secretary or the delegate, the effective determinant of entitlement.
. . . As I have said, it is the satisfaction of the Secretary or the delegate that is the essential requirement before a payment can be made. I consider this to be fundamentally inconsistent with the notion that a court can decide that a claimant ought to have been granted a pension or benefit, so that damages for negligently failing to grant that pension or benefit can be awarded.
As established in Jones v Department of Employment [1989] QB 1 at pp 22 and 25, where an exercise of statutory power is subject to a right of review and the decision-maker exercises the power in good faith, the exercise of the power will not give rise to a common law duty of care. See also X v South Australia (No 3) [2007] SASC 125 at [189], [196] and Gimson v Victorian WorkCover Authority [1995] VicRp 14; [1995] 1 VR 209. The theory behind this principle is that even if some 'negligence' has been proven, it can be cured by an appeal process. The existence of the appeal process is sufficient to remove reliance on breach of any duty of care.
I certify that the sixty-eight [68] preceding paragraphs are a true copy of the reasons for the decision herein of
Signed: .........(sgd) Elise Montalto...................................
Representative for the Applicant Mr Yassin Noureddine
Advocate for the Respondent Mr Andrew Carson, Centrelink Advocacy Branch
(2003) 132 FCR 126