[2026] FCA 3
General information, not legal advice.
Federal Court of Australia
2026-01-14
Horan J
Original judgment source is linked above.
Australian Postal Corporation v Hughes [2009] FCA 1057
Certain Lloyd's Underwriters Subscribing to Contract No IH00AAQS v Cross [2012] HCA 56; (2012) 248 CLR 378
Commissioner of Taxation v Consolidated Media Holdings Ltd [2012] HCA 55; (2012) 250 CLR 503
Dennis Willcox Pty Ltd v Federal Commissioner of Taxation [1988] FCA 123; (1988) 79 ALR 267
DZY (a pseudonym) v Trustees of the Christian Brothers [2025] HCA 16; (2025) 99 ALJR 806
Minister for Immigration and Border Protection v MZYTS (2013) 230 FCR 431
Minister for Immigration and Border Protection v SZMTA [2019] HCA 3; (2019) 264 CLR 421
Minister for Immigration and Citizenship v SZRKT [2013] FCA 317; (2013) 212 FCR 99
Mulligan v National Disability Insurance Agency [2015] FCA 544; (2015) 233 FCR 201
NABE v Minister for Immigration and Multicultural and Indigenous Affairs (No 2) [2004] FCAFC 263; (2004) 144 FCR 1
National Disability Insurance Agency v Davis [2022] FCA 1002
National Disability Insurance Agency v Foster [2023] FCAFC 11; (2023) 295 FCR 521
National Disability Insurance Agency v KKTB [2022] FCAFC 181; (2022) 295 FCR 379
National Disability Insurance Agency v Lampard [2025] FCAFC 139
National Disability Insurance Agency v WRMF [2020] FCAFC 79; (2020) 276 FCR 415
Plaintiff M1/2021 v Minister for Home Affairs (2022) 275 CLR 582
Project Blue Sky Inc v Australian Broadcasting Authority (1998) 194 CLR 355
Sutherland v National Disability Insurance Agency [2024] AATA 411
SZRBA v Minister for Immigration and Border Protection [2014] FCAFC 81
SZTAL v Minister for Immigration and Border Protection [2017] HCA 34; (2017) 262 CLR 362
Transcon Holding Pty Ltd v Aged Care Quality and Safety Commissioner [2023] FCAFC 60; (2023) 297 FCR 39
WAEE v Minister for Immigration and Multicultural and Indigenous Affairs (2003) 236 FCR 593
Wonson v Comcare [2020] FCAFC 76; (2020) 276 FCR 613
XMBQ v Minister for Immigration and Multicultural Affairs [2025] FCA 553
Administrative and Constitutional Law and Human Rights
Note: Entry of orders is dealt with in Rule 39.32 of the Federal Court Rules 2011.
(1) A person meets the disability requirements if:
(a) the person has a disability that is attributable to one or more intellectual, cognitive, neurological, sensory or physical impairments or the person has one or more impairments to which a psychosocial disability is attributable; and
(b) the impairment or impairments are, or are likely to be, permanent; and
(c) the impairment or impairments result in substantially reduced functional capacity to undertake one or more of the following activities:
(i) communication;
(ii) social interaction;
(iii) learning;
(iv) mobility;
(v) self-care;
(vi) self-management; and
(d) the impairment or impairments affect the person's capacity for social or economic participation; and
(e) the person is likely to require supports under the National Disability Insurance Scheme for the person's lifetime.
(2) For the purposes of subsection (1), an impairment or impairments that vary in intensity may be permanent, and the person is likely to require support under the National Disability Insurance Scheme for the person's lifetime, despite the variation.
(3) For the purposes of subsection (1), an impairment or impairments that are episodic or fluctuating may be taken to be permanent, and the person may be taken to be likely to require support under the National Disability Insurance Scheme for the person's lifetime, despite the episodic or fluctuating nature of the impairments.
(4) Subsection (3) does not limit subsection (2).
5.8 An impairment results in substantially reduced functional capacity of a person to undertake one or more of the relevant activities - communication, social interaction, learning, mobility, self-care, self-management (see paragraph 5.1(c)) - if its result is that:
(a) the person is unable to participate effectively or completely in the activity, or to perform tasks or actions required to undertake or participate effectively or completely in the activity, without assistive technology, equipment (other than commonly used items such as glasses) or home modifications; or
(b) the person usually requires assistance (including physical assistance, guidance, supervision or prompting) from other people to participate in the activity or to perform tasks or actions required to undertake or participate in the activity; or
(c) the person is unable to participate in the activity or to perform tasks or actions required to undertake or participate in the activity, even with assistive technology, equipment, home modifications or assistance from another person.
Substantially reduced functional capacity: s 24(1)(c)
The Tribunal is concerned that without the assistance of a support worker to ensure that Ms Sutherland is able to safely bathe or shower properly following such events, and in light of her reported constant bowel "seepage", the Tribunal considers that Ms Sutherland is not able to adequately clean herself without assistance by another person being at her home to allow her to feel safe to have a bath (or shower) daily, or at least, once every two days. These limitations potentially giving rise to hygiene-related health issues for Ms Sutherland such as the urinary tract infections Ms Sutherland says she has experienced in the past.
Likely to require NDIS supports for the person's lifetime: s 24(1)(e)
... the evidence before the Tribunal shows a medical history of Ms Sutherland having several severe physical and neurological impairments, arising from ongoing underlying medical conditions, which were described by her medical and allied health treating practitioners as "degenerative". Ms Sutherland gave evidence, which the Tribunal accepts, that her capacity to do things is getting worse. There was no evidence suggesting that Ms Sutherland's underlying medical conditions are likely to improve or there is a chance they may resolve. To the contrary, according to the radiological evidence before the Tribunal as set out in paragraph [21] above (and see also Dr Schon's opinions as set out in paragraph [10] above), she has major degeneration in her spine with severe neurological impacts causing her to collapse and at times, become wholly incontinent. This is extreme. As mentioned in paragraph [9] above, Dr Schon characterises Ms Sutherland's degeneration as a "lifelong impairment". Further, as referred to in paragraph [11] above, Ms McCarthy, physiotherapist, describes Ms Sutherland's impairment from her "spinal injury - severe stenosis" as being degenerative and likely to be lifelong with the symptoms worsening over time.
(a) In relation to question 1, the Agency contends that the Tribunal asked itself the wrong question, by reference to its findings that tasks forming part of the activity of self-care were difficult, instead of asking whether the person has a substantially reduced functional capacity to undertake that activity. The Agency contends that "the Tribunal made findings about [Ms Sutherland's] capacity to undertake specific tasks and then (erroneously) deemed them to be the relevant activity of self-care for which it assessed her functional capacity as substantially reduced". In particular, the Agency contends that the Tribunal erroneously used its findings about Ms Sutherland's mobility to find that her functional capacity to undertake the activity of self-care was substantially reduced, and treated her "voluntary abstaining from performing an activity for fear of her legs collapsing" as having a substantially reduced functional capacity to undertake that activity.
(b) In relation to question 2, the Agency contends that the Tribunal failed to consider all of the evidence before it, including the medical and clinical evidence, and to provide adequate reasons explaining why it preferred or accepted Ms Sutherland's evidence and rejected the medical and clinical evidence and the Agency's submissions in relation to s 24(1)(c). Rather, the Agency contends that the Tribunal erroneously relied solely on Ms Sutherland's "self-reported limitations" when assessing her functional capacity, and ignored the medical and clinical evidence and the Agency's submissions.
(c) In relation to question 3, the Agency contends that the Tribunal misconstrued s 24(1)(e) by failing to assess whether the supports required by Ms Sutherland would be provided by other systems of service delivery, as contemplated by the Operational Guidelines, in order to determine whether she was likely to require support under the NDIS for her lifetime.
Question 1: Did the Tribunal misunderstand or misapply s 24(1)(c)?
(a) by conflating difficulties in completing tasks that form part of the activity of self-care, such as bathing and showering, with an inability or incapacity to undertake the activity of self-care;
(b) by conflating the activity of "mobility" with the activity of "self-care"; and
(c) by treating Ms Sutherland's voluntary abstinence from performing an activity (or, perhaps, a task forming part of the activity), due to her fear of falling, as an incapacity to undertake that activity.
Rather than using the assessment tool, being the Guidelines, to reach a conclusion as to whether or not Mr Foster had substantially reduced functional capacity to undertake self-care by assessing his functional capacity with respect to the bundle of tasks and actions forming the concept of "self-care", the Tribunal applied the Guidelines in such a way as to equate Mr Foster's impairment with the single task of toileting and deemed that to be the relevant activity for which functional capacity was required to be assessed. That was an error.
The question to which the Tribunal should have directed itself was whether Mr Foster's impairment, about which there was no dispute, resulted in Mr Foster's having substantially reduced functional capacity (s 27(b)) to undertake the activity of self-care (s 24(1)(c)). For the purposes of the NDIS, the activity is not "toileting"; the activity is "self-care". In considering that question, the Access Rules directed the Tribunal to consider whether Mr Foster was unable to participate "effectively or completely" in self-care "without assistive technology". The "assessment tools" set out in the Guidelines cannot dictate the answer to that question.
(Emphasis in original.)
the Tribunal appears to have wrongly confused the separate and distinct issue of Ms Sutherland's 'mobility' (about which no finding of substantial reduction in functional capacity is made) in assessing whether there was a substantially reduced functional capacity to undertake the activity of 'self-care'.
Question 2: Did the Tribunal fail to consider evidence and submissions?
(a) the evidence of Ms Sutherland:
(i) contained in the First [Statement of Lived Experience], Second [Statement of Lived Experience], and Ms Sutherland's Reply Statement; and
(ii) given orally at the substantive hearing of this matter;
(b) further supporting expert evidence submitted by both parties in this matter, including Ms Kreeck's Report and Ms Barbuto's Report;
(c) the observations of her treating doctors as set out in the summonsed documents.
There is considered to be no necessity for the tribunal to expressly identify any particular submission being advanced for resolution, or to identify it in the same or similar terms to that being advanced by a party, and to then expressly address and resolve that submission. The manner in which the tribunal resolves competing submissions, and the manner in which it expresses those submissions, is a matter for it to determine. That which is required, however, is for it to be readily apparent that a submission of "substance" or one "worthy of consideration" has in fact been addressed and resolved.
On matters of fact and opinion, the Tribunal does not have to set out in its reasons a minute line by line refutation of the case put by one party in the Tribunal which it does not accept. It must of course carefully consider the submissions made by each party on a review before it. Having done so, it is entitled to form its impressions of witnesses before it, and the evidence they give, and so long as in its reasons it sets out those impressions in a rational and reasonable way, explains why it has preferred one witness over another (if indeed it has), and refers to the material on which its conclusions are based, its reasons comply with its obligation in s 43(2B) of the [AAT Act].
(a) In particular, Ms Barbuto accepted that Ms Sutherland required supervision assistance to mobilise safely in the community due to the reported increased risk of falls or sudden leg collapses. Ms Barbuto also considered it reasonable that Ms Sutherland feels safer to shower when somebody is in her home to provide supervision assistance in case she has a sudden claudication episode leading to a fall.
(b) When asked to provide a summary of Ms Sutherland's impairments and to outline the restrictions on her functional capacity, Ms Barbuto responded:
Ms Sutherland's spinal degenerative condition and spinal stenosis causing back pain, legs weakness and intermittent neural claudication episodes (reportedly leading to temporary loss of sensory-motor functions of right and left legs and bladder incontinence) cause her primary mobility impairment. In turn, her mobility limitations impact on her functional capacity for accessing her home, transfers, community/social access, self-care, driving and domestic tasks.
Some days, Ms Sutherland has very limited capacity for walking and self-care and spends her day in bed (bad days).
...
When her carer visits for domestic assistance, Ms Sutherland showers as she feels safer with someone there. Other days she sponge-bathes.
Ms Sutherland has a bowel issue causing faecal incontinence - Dr Schon's reports state that intermittent claudication results in loss of control of bladder function (1) and bowel and bladder function (T7). I note that Ms Sutherland also has ulcerative colitis that is reported as worsening any bowel symptoms (T7). In any event, Ms Sutherland has bladder and bowel incontinence at times and requires frequent toileting overnight. The unpredictability of bowel motions impacts her confidence in social settings.
(c) In the context of her functional assessment in relation to mobility, Ms Barbuto stated that "documents indicate there is a falls risk when mobilising related to intermittent neural claudication causing temporary loss of sensory-motor function of right and left legs". As Ms Barbuto did not observe a spinal claudication event, she was unable to describe firsthand how such an event impacted on Ms Sutherland's mobility, but she noted that Ms Sutherland had reported that she had fallen regularly.
(d) Although some of these responses were provided in relation to the activity of mobility in the home and in the community, Ms Barbuto recognised that Ms Sutherland's mobility limitations had an impact on her functional capacity for self-care (among other things). Ms Barbuto accepted that Ms Sutherland "requires stand-by supervision when showering and requires assistance on bad days when she is confined to her bed".
(e) In its submissions on the appeal to this Court, the Agency pointed to the responses given by Ms Barbuto in relation to Ms Sutherland's functional capacity to undertake the activity of self-care, which it was submitted were not weighed or evaluated by the Tribunal in reaching its finding on s 24(1)(c). The relevant part of the Barbuto Report states as follows.
Self-care
22. Does the Applicant have any reduction in their capacity to undertake self-care? If yes, what impairment is the cause of any reduction in capacity, and how does it affect the Applicant?
Yes, Ms Sutherland has reduced functional capacity for self-care resulting from her mobility impairments.
Consequent on these impairments, Ms Sutherland uses modified methods and commonly-used assistive technology to maintain her independence in most self-care tasks.
Ms Sutherland's main barrier to self-care is intermittent claudication reported to result in increased risk of falls. She is nervous to shower without someone else in the house so she only showers twice each week when her carer visits to provide domestic support.
Ms Sutherland also experiences bad days when she is confined to bed.
Please refer to the section of the report titled 'Self-Care' for more complete details.
23. Are there any activities of self-care which the Applicant is unable to perform without assistance or assistive technology? If yes, please provide details including the type of assistance or assistive technology needed and how often the technology is needed.
Ms Sutherland can perform all self-care tasks with commonly-used assistive technology such as a shower stool.
Ms Sutherland would like to take a bath for pain management; she can currently transfer (modified) to the bath independently sometimes, but this is difficult. She indicated that a walk-in bath would enable her to bathe for pain management. This is not self-care, per se, but bathing would enable her to manage her symptoms more effectively.
Please refer to the section of the report titled 'Self-Care' for more complete details.
24. Are there any activities of self-care which the Applicant performs more slowly or in a modified manner? If yes, please provide details, including how the Applicant has modified their task performance, how long it takes to perform the task, and the usual range of time within which you would expect the task to be undertaken otherwise.
Ms Sutherland modifies showering, dressing and grooming by sitting down. Ms Sutherland can complete these tasks within a reasonable timeframe, but her task performance is slower.
Ms Sutherland only showers when her carer is in the home, for safety - she therefore showers less often than she would like to.
Please refer to the section of the report titled 'Self-Care' for more complete details.
25. Are there any activities of self-care which the Applicant is able to undertake without restriction? If yes, please provide details.
Feeding (use of cutlery).
96. The Respondent acknowledges that the Applicant is anxious about falling in the shower but contends the question for the Tribunal is whether the Applicant has the capacity to undertake self-care, not whether she is free from fear or anxiety while doing certain self-care tasks. The Respondent contends the items referred to above are 'commonly used items' within the meaning of rule 5.8(a) because it is generally accessible, can be used without the need for complex or specialised customisation, is relatively simple to use and relatively inexpensive.
97. With respect to toileting, Mr Kreeck states that the Applicant is not independent in performing toileting and toilet hygiene and requires assistance with managing incontinence symptoms. Ms Barbuto states that the Applicant is independent with toilet transfers using modified methods, including installing a bidet and foot stool. The Applicant reported that she suffers bowel incontinence approximately once or twice per week. The Applicant further reported to Ms Barbuto that her urinary continence is generally good, aside from during claudication episodes, where she temporarily loses control of her bladder function.
98. With respect to dressing, Mr Kreeck states that the Applicant is not independent in performing dressing tasks and wears loose fitting clothes as a preference. Ms Barbuto states that the Applicant sits down with dressing herself and does not use assistive technology, she wears shoes without laces and, put on socks and wears a soft bra.
99. With respect to personal hygiene, Mr Kreeck and Ms Barbuto state that the Applicant is independent in all personal hygiene tasks.
100. With respect to eating and drinking, Mr Kreeck and Ms Barbuto state the Applicant is independent with all feeding.
101. With respect to domestic tasks, [t]he Applicant reported to Ms Barbuto that she performs the full range of domestic tasks herself including cooking, cleaning, laundry and online grocery shopping. Ms Barbuto observed the Applicant accessing the benchtop oven, dishwasher, sink, fridge, freezer and pantry, washing machine and making her bed. Mr Kreeck states the Applicant requires assistance with making bed and cleaning.
102. The Applicant's personal care assistant does one hour of cleaning and one hour of respite/meal preparation per week as well as half an hour of "other" work.
103. The Respondent contends rule 5.8(b) is not invoked because the Applicant does not usually require assistance from other people to participate in self-care or need assistive technology (other than commonly used items) to effectively or completely undertake or participate in the activity of self-care. The Applicant requires assistance with vacuuming, mopping, heavier bathroom cleaning, gardening, window cleaning and gutter cleaning, among other heavier tasks, but the Respondent contends these tasks are not daily and are at most weekly and exceed the very modest functional capacity expected of the activity of self-care. Further, the Respondent highlights that many people in the community rely on assistance for heavier household tasks, particularly those of a more advanced age.
[Emphasis added, footnotes omitted.]
That goes back to "I don't want to do it unless I have supervision in the house in case something goes wrong". If I were to slip and fall with no one here, I'd be in dire straits.
Accordingly, Ms Sutherland said that she only had a bath when there was a support worker or a friend present in the house.
The applicant is incontinent and nobody manages that other than Ms Sutherland. To say that anyone that suffers from faecal incontinence and [sic] does not require assistance and does not have reduced functional capacity [is] inaccurate and demoralising to Ms Sutherland.
Question 3: Did the Tribunal misunderstand or misapply s 24(1)(e)?
(1) A person meets the disability requirements if:
...
(e) the person is likely to require support under the National Disability Insurance Scheme for the person's lifetime.
When we decide if you'll likely need support under the NDIS for your whole life, we consider:
- your life circumstances
- the nature of your long-term support needs
- whether your needs could be best met by the NDIS, or by other government and community services.
For example, you may have an impairment which is caused by a chronic health condition. Many chronic health conditions are most effectively managed or remedied through medical management through the health system. If this is the case, we may decide that you don't have a lifetime need for support under the NDIS.
[Emphasis added.]
In dealing with legislation such as the [NDIS] Act, a number of particular considerations should be remembered. First, the subject matter of the NDIS legislation is unique, as is its structure: it embeds an approach to the support of persons with disability which was previously non-existent. In its structure, it does more than "ordinary" legislation by incorporating objects and purposes. It incorporates a number of values, which are integral to the legislative scheme. It is always necessary to ensure that constructional choices, and construction, are undertaken paying sufficient regard to the legislative scheme as a whole, for that forms the context for any particular provision: see R v A2 [2019] HCA 35; (2019) 93 ALJR 1106 at [32]-[34] (Kiefel CJ and Keane J), [124] (Bell and Gageler JJ). In the case of the [NDIS] Act, because of its particular features, the need to examine particular provisions in the wider context of the scheme as a whole is especially important.
(3) Despite subsections (1) and (2), the person does not meet the early intervention requirements if the CEO is satisfied that early intervention support for the person is not most appropriately funded or provided through the National Disability Insurance Scheme, and is more appropriately funded or provided through other general systems of service delivery or support services offered by a person, agency or body, or through systems of service delivery or support services offered:
(a) as part of a universal service obligation; or
(b) in accordance with reasonable adjustments required under a law dealing with discrimination on the basis of disability.
(1) For the purposes of specifying, in a statement of participant supports, the general supports that will be provided, and the reasonable and necessary supports that will be funded, the CEO must be satisfied of all of the following in relation to the funding or provision of each such support:
...
(f) the support is most appropriately funded or provided through the National Disability Insurance Scheme, and is not more appropriately funded or provided through other general systems of service delivery or support services offered by a person, agency or body, or systems of service delivery or support services offered:
(i) as part of a universal service obligation; or
(ii) in accordance with reasonable adjustments required under a law dealing with discrimination on the basis of disability.
As I noted in Mulligan, the threshold access requirements are designed to impose some restrictions on who can access the funding for supports available under the NDIS. The objectives of the legislation in s 3, and the guiding principles in s 4, make it clear the scheme is focused on assisting people with disabilities to live their lives with dignity, with as much autonomy as possible, and with the ability to enjoy access to community and social engagement commensurate with people who do not live with disabilities. In other words, the scheme's objectives and purposes concern lifelong experiences. As some textual indications make clear (s 24(2) being a particularly relevant one), the scheme recognises that what prevents or hinders an individual from full participation in the community, and the fullest enjoyment of their life that is possible, might fluctuate over their lives, and over parts of their lives. Impairments may not be stable. They may not always have the same effects. But they endure, and the legislative scheme recognises that people who must live with them - provided the remainder of the threshold criteria are met - should receive support throughout their lives, at the level they reasonably require.
The guiding principles in s 4 make it abundantly clear that the scheme is directed at lifelong support, and lifelong benefits, in order to promote substantive equality between people with and without disabilities.
...
The constructional choices must take into account the purpose of the threshold provisions in the context of this legislation, which addresses the lifelong needs of people living with disability, in terms of practical support and assistance to fulfil the rights and interests set out in s 4 of the Act, and also in the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities, opened for signature 30 March 2007, 2515 UNTS 3 (entered into force 3 May 2008). In my opinion, the correct meaning of "permanent" in s 24(1)(b) is "enduring". This meaning reflects the purpose and context of the legislative scheme, as a scheme intended to deliver lifelong support to persons with disability.
(14) People with disability should be supported to receive supports outside the National Disability Insurance Scheme, and be assisted to coordinate these supports with the supports provided under the National Disability Insurance Scheme.
(17) It is the intention of the Parliament that the Ministerial Council, the Minister, the Board, the CEO, the Commissioner and any other person or body is to perform functions and exercise powers under this Act in accordance with these principles, having regard to the need to ensure the financial sustainability of the National Disability Insurance Scheme.
The Tribunal ought to have directed itself to the question of whether Mr Foster required assistive technology to undertake or participate effectively or completely in the activity of self-care. When considering that question, the Tribunal was required to be satisfied that Mr Foster met the disability requirements having regard to the objects and principles including when giving effect to the objects, the provision of services by other agencies and the need for interaction between mainstream services and the provision of supports under the NDIS (s 3(d)) - in this case by [the Continence Aids Payment Scheme], and the need to ensure the financial sustainability of the NDIS (ss 3(b) and 4(17)).
I certify that the preceding one hundred and twenty-nine (129) numbered paragraphs are a true copy of the Reasons for Judgment of the Honourable Justice Horan.
National Disability Insurance Agency
Sutherland [2026] FCA 3
(2025) 99 ALJR 806
(2013) 212 FCR 99
(2015) 233 FCR 201
(2020) 276 FCR 415
(2017) 262 CLR 362
(2012) 248 CLR 378
(2012) 250 CLR 503
(2013) 230 FCR 431
(2019) 264 CLR 421
(2004) 144 FCR 1
(2023) 295 FCR 521
(2022) 295 FCR 379
(2003) 236 FCR 593
(1988) 79 ALR 267
(2022) 275 CLR 582
(1998) 194 CLR 355
(2023) 297 FCR 39
(2020) 276 FCR 613
(2019) 93 ALJR 1106