[2013] VCAT 1871
General information, not legal advice.
Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal
2013-11-01
Emerton J
Original judgment source is linked above.
Complaint alleging contraventions of privacy; whether parts of complaint beyond VCAT's jurisdiction as within County Court's exclusive jurisdiction under s 39 County Court Act 1958 (Vic) or because not within original 'complaint referred' to VCAT under Health Records Act 2001 (Vic).
CGU Workers Compensation (VIC) Ltd (ACN: 136 429 948)
MT v CGU Workers Compensation (Vic) Ltd (Human Rights) [2013] VCAT 1871
The s 39 argument in general
(1) Subject to the County Court Act 1958, the County Court has exclusive jurisdiction to inquire into, hear and determine any question or matter under this Act arising after the commencement of section 10 of the Accident Compensation (WorkCover) Act 1992, out of -
(a) any decision of the Authority, employer or a self-insurer...
If a provision made by or under this Act is inconsistent with a provision made by or under any other Act, that other provision prevails and the provision made by or under this Act is (to the extent of the inconsistency) of no force or effect.
Provisions of the AC Act relevant to four decisions
Subject to this Act, the Authority has the power to do all things necessary or convenient to be done for or in connection with the performance of its functions and to enable it to achieve its objectives.
...(b) because of the injury, the worker is, and is likely to continue indefinitely to be, incapable of undertaking further additional employment or work which would increase the worker's current weekly earnings.
The Authority or self-insurer may in accordance with this Act terminate a worker's entitlement to weekly payments or alter the basis on which the amount of the weekly payment is to be calculated whether or not the worker is currently receiving weekly payments.
A worker who has an incapacity for work must, when requested to do so by the employer, Authority or self-insurer, actively participate and co-operate in any assessment of -
The Authority or a self-insurer may require a worker who has made a claim for compensation to submit at reasonable intervals to an examination by an independent medical examiner provided and paid for by the Authority or self-insurer.
(1) A worker who has an incapacity for work must, as required by the Authority or self-insurer -
(a) participate in an interview with the representative of the Authority or self-insurer for the purpose of enhancing the worker's opportunities to return to work; and
(b) actively participate and co-operate in the interview referred to in paragraph (a) in order to comply with his or her obligations under this Division.
The referral of the complainant to...IMEs, including the selection of IMEs, the selection of information provided to IMEs, the reports requested from IMEs and the opinions provided by them....
Tribunal's jurisdiction to hear 'complaint referred'
Scope of Tribunal's 'complaint referred' jurisdiction and power to amend
...although the Tribunal has a general power of amendment under section 127 of the VCAT Act because it is subordinate to the enabling legislation (section 159 of the VCAT Act) it cannot amend a complaint so as to introduce a fresh complaint which has not been the subject of a complaint to the Commission.[5]
The power to amend documents given to VCAT must be read in light of the enabling enactment which confers jurisdiction on the Tribunal in the anti-discrimination area. That enactment is the Equal Opportunity Act. The implication of the scheme of that Act on that power [of] amendment of documents, is that a fresh series of allegations which are not in the original complaint, and cannot in some way be extrapolated from it, ought not to be brought in by amendment at the VCAT stage, but ought properly to be the subject of a fresh complaint.
There are some cases where the Tribunal has allowed a complaint to be amended and further particulars filed, where it is simply a question of re-characterising in some legal way, facts that are already in the original complaint, or where the original complaint contains an allegation of a continuing pattern of contravention of the Equal Opportunity Act and all that is done is to add that pattern.[9]
[1] [2011] VSC 641, [112].
[3] Respondent's submission paragraph 14.
[4] [2000] VCAT 2304 (30 November 2000).
[7] Burroughs v Victoria (2002) VCAT 1655 decision of DP McKenzie, cited by SM Nihill in Tate v Department of Education and Early Childhood Development [2012] VCAT 973 at [14]- [17], where she held that additional claims made by the applicant 'first as to the placing of fifth grade students...in the relocatable classroom late in 2011, and secondly as to the alleged victimisation by way of "looking and staring" are fresh complaints which had not been the subject of the complaint to the Commission. They relate to different periods of time from the original complaint, different incidents and even different people, for example the assistant principal". Therefore, the complaint could not be amended: paragraphs 17 and 18.
[8] (A357/02, 17 April 2003), cited from by SM Megay in Jennings v Department of Education and Early Childhood Development (Anti-Discrimination) [2012] VCAT 131 at paragraphs [45]-[47].
[9] Paragraph 8 of DP McKenzie's reasons.
[10] Page 13 Particulars of Complaint under heading 'Collection of information by covert surveillance and disclosure of medical information to Quest Investigations;' paras 13 and 17 and attachment L witness statement of complainant; statement of Dr Piperoglou paras 5, 13 and 14, statement of Ms Field para 9.
[12] In para 5 of its submissions it does not refer to as impugned those paragraphs (7 onwards) under the 'Disclosure to Occupational Services Provider Ayres Management Services' heading of the Particulars of Complaint at pp 9 and 10, which complain about the disclosure of medical documents to Ayres. Similarly, [18] to [20], [22], [26] and attachment P and S and W of the complainant's witness statement are said to be affected and they deal with the merits of the decision. Part only of [21] and [28] of the complainant's witness statement is said to be impugned, presumably that part questioning the merits of the decision, not the part questioning the disclosure of medical documents to Ayres. It is not clear how any part of [27] is relevant to the vocational assessment.
[13] Paragraphs [5] to [11] of Dr Piperoglou's statement, paragraphs [12] and [14] Ms Field's statement.
[14] This is so although that complaint about the merits (for example, in the last paragraph on p3) is under the heading relating to 'medical documents disclosed'.
[15] Reference is made to [4] to [6] and under the heading 'Disclosure to employer' of the Particulars of Claim, the complainant's statement at [4] to [5] and [7] and attachments B, C and F, and Dr Piperoglou's statement at [4].
[17] [28] to [32] Particulars of Claim, [23] and part of [24] of the complainant's statement.
[18] Heading 'Retention of health information by organisation other than the health provider'.
[19] Made in paragraph [9] of the complainant's statement.
MT
CGU Workers Compensation