© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2003] VSC 72
Supreme Court of Victoria
2003-03-19
Balmford J
Original judgment source is linked above.
[2003] VSC 72
ADMINISTRATIVE LAW - Review of decision made by medical panel constituted under the Accident Compensation Act 1985 - Assessment of degree of psychiatric impairment - Interpretation of ss.91 and 98C of the Accident Compensation Act 1985 - meaning of "impairments from unrelated injuries or causes" - whether distinction made between "direct" and "indirect" results of psychiatric injury - Nature of reasons for decision.
Calman v Commissioner of Police [1999] HCA 60; (1999) 167 ALR 91
Collector of Customs v Pozzolanic (1993) 43 FCR 280
Del Borgo v Nisselle [2002] VSC 368
Minister for Immigration and Ethnic Affairs v Wu Shan Liang [1996] HCA 6; (1996) 185 CLR 259
The Queen v The Australian Broadcasting Tribunal & Ors Ex Parte Hardiman & Ors [1980] HCA 13; (1980) 144 CLR 13
Ward v Corrimal-Balgownie Collieries Ltd [1938] HCA 70; (1938) 61 CLR 120
Question: What is the worker's degree of permanent impairment resulting from the accepted injury/s as assessed in accordance with section 91 [of the Act]:
Answer: The Panel is of the opinion that the worker has a psychiatric impairment of 20% resulting from the psychiatric injury that is accepted to have occurred on 12 February 1999 when assessed in accordance with Section 91 of the Act. The degree of impairment is permanent within the meaning of the Act.
Question: Does the worker have an accepted injury which has resulted in a total loss injury mentioned in the table in Section 98E(1) [of the Act]. If yes, which injury has resulted in a total loss and which item applies? What is the level of whole person impairment for each accepted injury?
The answer to the second question is consequential upon the answer to the first question, was not the subject of submissions, and need not be further considered.
The Panel accepted that the worker sustained a psychiatric condition during the course of her employment as a courier driver, with an injury date of 12 February 1999.
The worker had a previous episode of major psychiatric illness while employed by Telstra. She ceased working at Telstra and made a partial recovery but became increasingly unwell while working as a sub-contractor courier prior to commencing work as a driver employed by her own company.
The worker told the Panel that while she was employed by her own company operating a courier van, she began to experience severe anxiety in relation to delays in payment for work. She said that initially she had noticed that she was becoming very suspicious and then suffered a period of severe mental illness, which she was unable to recall in any detail and which lasted some months.
The worker stated that she had three further episodes of deterioration in her functioning while attempts at rehabilitation were occurring. She had little recollection of the details of the events of her apparently psychotic episodes but said she became racy with diminished sleep, became fixated on problems and felt that people on television were aware of her.
The worker stated that she had been treated with major tranquillisers and mood stabilisers and ongoing psychiatric management since March 1999 and that these treatments had assisted her considerably. She stated that she continued to take psychotropic medication and attend her psychiatrist.
On psychiatric examination the worker demonstrated flight of ideas, knights-move thinking and paranoid ideation and was anxious and irritable.
The Panel concluded that the worker is suffering from a schizo-affective disorder relevant in part to the psychiatric injury with an accepted injury date of 12 February 1999.
The Panel conducted an impairment assessment in accordance with . . . section 91(6) of [the Act].
In the Panel's opinion the degree of psychiatric impairment is 50%. Of this impairment the Panel concluded that there is a 20% psychiatric impairment that arises directly from the psychiatric injury that is accepted to have occurred on 12 February 1999. The Panel also concluded that the degree of psychiatric impairment is permanent with the meaning of the Act.
(1) In this Act, unless inconsistent with the context or subject-matter-
"injury" means any physical or mental injury and without limiting the generality of the foregoing includes-
(c) the recurrence, aggravation, acceleration, exacerbation or deterioration of any pre-existing injury or disease where the worker's employment was a significant contributing factor to that recurrence, aggravation, acceleration, exacerbation or deterioration;
(1) If there is caused to a worker an injury arising out of or in the course of any employment and if the worker's employment was a significant contributing factor the worker shall be entitled to compensation in accordance with this Act.
(1) In this Part, a reference to the assessment of a degree of impairment in accordance with this section is a reference to an assessment-
(i) the AMA Guides [as varied by section 91(6)]
(7) For the purposes of section 98C-
(c) impairments from unrelated injuries or causes are to be disregarded in making an assessment.
(1) A worker who suffers an injury which entitled the worker to compensation is, in respect of an injury resulting in permanent impairment as assessed in accordance with section 91, entitled to compensation for non-economic loss calculated in accordance with this section.
(3) The amount of the non-economic loss in respect of permanent psychiatric impairment is to be calculated as at the date of the relevant injury as follows-
(a) if the worker's degree of impairment is less than 30 per cent-the amount of the non-economic loss is zero;
(9) Where compensation has been paid under this section for an impairment resulting from an injury or under section 98 or 98A in respect of an injury, that compensation must be deducted from any compensation payable under this section in respect of any impairment resulting from an injury consisting of any recurrence, aggravation, acceleration, exacerbation or deterioration of the injury in respect of which compensation has previously been paid under this section or section 98 or 98A.
Sections 82 to 104B are all in Part 4. Section 104B establishes a procedure for dealing with claims for compensation under section 98C.
(a) the Tribunal misconstrued sections 91 and 98C of [the Act] as requiring it to reduce its assessment of the impairment at 50% by reason of its apparent conclusion that 30% of the impairment was not directly caused by the accepted injury, to 20%. As it concluded that work had made a substantial contribution to the accepted injury, it should have assessed the impairment that resulted at 50% without reduction of the assessment by reason of an apparent conclusion that 30% of the impairment was not directly caused by the accepted injury.
(b) the Tribunal misconstrued sections 91 and 98C of [the Act] as requiring the Tribunal to assess only impairment caused "directly" by the accepted injury, rather than impairment caused both directly and indirectly by the accepted injury.
(c) the Tribunal failed to provide adequate or sufficient reasons for its decisions.
No request was made under section 5 of the ALA for the amendment of the grounds or the allowance of additional grounds.
Ground (a)
It was said [in Pozzolanic] that a court should not be "concerned with looseness in the language . . . nor with unhappy phrasing" of the reasons of an administrative decision-maker. The Court continued: "The reasons for the decision under review are not to be construed minutely and finely with an eye keenly attuned to the perception of error."
These propositions are well settled. They recognise the reality that the reasons of an administrative decision-maker are meant to inform and not to be scrutinised upon over-zealous judicial review by seeking to discern whether some inadequacy may be gleaned from the way in which the reasons are expressed.
. . . medical panels . . . are not obliged to overwhelm themselves with the provision of elaborate reasons. . . . they are required to do no more than to provide a succinct statement of why they came to the conclusions which they did sufficient to enable the parties and the Court to see that they have addressed their mind to relevant matters and have not acted unreasonably.
In the present context, they are medical reasons in sufficient detail, and only in sufficient detail, to show the Court and the worker that the question referred to the panel has been properly considered according to law and that the opinion furnished is founded on an appropriate application of the members' medical knowledge and experience.
[1] [1980] HCA 13; (1980) 144 CLR 13 at 35
[3] [1938] HCA 70; (1938) 61 CLR 120 at 129-130
[4] [1999] HCA 60; (1999) 167 ALR 91 at 101
[5] (1993) 43 FCR 280 at 287 per Neaves, French and Cooper JJ
[6] [1996] HCA 6; (1996) 185 CLR 259 at 272
Millane
Millane Pty Ltd [2003] VSC 72
(1999) 167 ALR 91
(1993) 43 FCR 280
(1996) 185 CLR 259
(1980) 144 CLR 13
(1938) 61 CLR 120