© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2002] VSC 368
Supreme Court of Victoria
2002-10-08
OSBORN J
Original judgment source is linked above.
[2002] VSC 368
WORKERS COMPENSATION - Review of Medical Panel decision - Industrial deafness - Further loss of hearing - Where worker previously compensated for 26% hearing loss - Whether previously compensated hearing loss should be excluded from calculation of impairment under s.91 Accident Compensation Act 1985 - Accident Compensation Act 1985, ss.82, 88, 89, , , , , .
"Mr. Del Borgo has a binaural PHL of 31.2% which equates to 16% Whole Person Impairment. His hearing loss is consistent with acoustic trauma in his occupation. Please note he has a previous hearing loss claim for 26%."
"In answer to your query, Mr Del Borgo PHL is 31.2%. His previous hearing loss claim was 26% some 15 years ago. Opinion: He has an increase of 5.2% on his previous hearing loss claim, but as this is less than 10% his Whole Person Impairment is 0%."
"Mr Del Borgo has had a previous hearing loss settlement 15 years ago in relation to a loss of 26%. Mr. Del Borgo was medically assessed by Mr Nagle on 9.7.01. He stated that the worker has a 16% Whole Person Impairment but did not deduct the previous loss. In a supplementary report dated 6 September 2001, Mr Nagle advised that he believed the worker had a 5.2% increase on his previous hearing loss. Based on this, a zero determination was made. The worker has disputed the assessment and requested the matter be referred to the medical panel."
"(d) A question as to the level of impairment of a worker including a question of the degree of impairment of a worker assessed in accordance with s.91 and a question as to whether or not that impairment is permanent;".
"(c) A question as to the extent to which any physical or mental condition, including any impairment, resulted from or was materially contributed to by the injury;".
"Question: What is the worker's degree of impairment of the whole person resulting from the worker's binaural hearing impairment assessed in accordance with s.91(3) of the Act and is the impairment permanent? Answer: The whole person impairment calculated in accordance with s.91(3) of the Act is zero percent. The impairment is permanent."
"The Panel conducted a hearing test in accordance with the Improved Procedure for Determination of the percentage loss of hearing (1988 edition) published by the National Acoustic Laboratory. The worker informed the Panel of his exposure to noise in his occupation as a Leading Hand in the Body Shop Department of the Toyota Motor Corporation from 1954 to the present day. Work site hearing testing was performed at the Toyota Motor Corporation and hearing protection was provided since the 1980s. On 25 August 1988 the worker received Compensation of $10,214 for and accepted 26% hearing impairment. The Panel considers the loss of hearing based on the frequencies 1.5khz, 2khz, 3khz and 4khz as representing hearing impairment which may have resulted from noise exposure in his occupation. There is an appropriate deduction for presbyacusis as the worker is aged 65 years 8 months. The binaural percentage hearing impairment has been calculated to be 30.6% (NAL 1988). An independent Otolaryngologist in his report dated 14 July 2002 derived a figure of 29.4% after presbyacusis deductions. The two results are in acceptable agreement. The Panel considers the worker has lost an additional 5% of hearing impairment since his previous industrial hearing claim of 26% on 25 August 1988. The Panel considers the worker's employment has been a significant contributing factor to his loss of hearing. The loss has occurred despite the worker conscientiously wearing hearing protection. The worker has developed hypertension and this pathology may have induced degenerative vascular disease which could also contribute to his progressive hearing impairment. The Whole Person Impairment calculated in accordance with s.91(3) of the Act is zero percent."
(a) The fact that if the determination is regarded as made on 27 February 2002 time ran initially against the plaintiff without his knowledge; and
(b) The existence of no statutory right of appeal against the Panel's determination.
1. The Medical Panel did not answer the first medical question in accordance with law.
4. The Medical Panel took into account irrelevant considerations in making the decision, namely that the plaintiff had suffered the injury previously for which he had received compensation.
5. The decision was so unreasonable that no reasonable medical panel could have made it.
(a) exposure;
(b) continued exposure; or
(c) periods of continued exposure -
to industrial noise;"
"An understanding of industrial deafness was also regarded by the parties as important to the issue. Each accepted the description of 'boilermaker's deafness' by Barwick CJ in Commissioner for Railways v. Bain [1965] HCA 5; (1965) 112 CLR 246, at p.251 as applicable to 'industrial deafness': 'It seems that boilermaker's deafness results from successive impacts of sound on the terminal nerve system connected with hearing and that the effect of these successive traumas is to cause cumulative deterioration in the capacity to hear.' In Burls v. A.A. Mitchell Pty. Ltd. [1979] VicRp 45; [1979] VR 417 this court appears to have accepted the invitation of counsel for all parties to take judicial notice of the matters of fact referred to in the statement of Barwick CJ: see Starke J., at p.419 and Fullagar J., with whom Young CJ agreed, at p.423. If the description is correct, as has been here assumed, industrial deafness is not strictly speaking a disease but rather a condition resulting from a large number of traumata. The cumulative effect, when measurable, is capable of constituting an 'injury' compensable under the A.C.A. or the Workers Compensation Act, perhaps both (depending on the time and number of measurements or assessments). Although industrial deafness is in ordinary language a 'condition', it is by definition an 'injury', as will be seen, under the A.C.A. (s.5(1)), but not under the Workers Compensation Act (s.3(1)). In the latter, s.25B deems industrial deafness, in the circumstances mentioned, a personal injury 'arising out of or in the course of the employment' which are the words of s.5(1) of that statute governing liability to pay compensation."
"(c) the recurrence, aggravation, acceleration, exacerbation or deterioration of any pre-existing injury or disease where the worker's employment was a significant contributing factor to that recurrence, aggravation, acceleration, exacerbation or deterioration;".
"(b) the recurrence, aggravation or acceleration of any pre-existing injury or disease where the employment was a contributing factor to such recurrence, aggravation or acceleration -".
"Where industrial deafness had occurred by way of gradual process in the earlier employment, that would involve its having been caused, aggravated or exacerbated or having deteriorated in that earlier employment. It would be foreign to the notion of a right to contribution for the commission or self-insurer to be able to recover contribution in respect of those developments in the worker's deafness, if the commission or self-insurer was not liable to pay the worker compensation for the resultant diminution in hearing. As the commission or self-insurer has a right to recover contribution in respect of those developments in the worker's deafness in other employment before the appointed day, the compensation payable to the worker must include compensation for so much of the industrial deafness as was due to exposure to industrial noise before the appointed day." (My emphasis)
Marks J also commented on s.129 in terms which confirm that it is appropriate to regard industrial deafness as an injury resulting from exacerbation or deterioration over time.
"Section 129 of the A.C.A. is concerned with contribution to the commission or a self-insurer from employers and insurers where one of them pays compensation for an injury which occurred by way of 'gradual process over time'. Industrial deafness, it would seem, is such an 'injury'."[4]
"(1) If there is caused to a worker an injury arising out of or in the course of any employment and if the worker's employment was a significant contributing factor the worker shall be entitled to compensation in accordance with this Act."
"(6) Where a worker suffers an injury which occurs by way of a gradual process over time and which is due to the nature of employment in which the worker was employed and if employment of that nature was a significant contributing factor at any time before notice of the injury was given, the worker or the worker's dependents shall be entitled to compensation under this Act as if the injury were an injury arising out of or in the course of employment."
Sections 82(1) and (6) thus give the plaintiff a right to compensation.
"(1) Industrial deafness or a proportion of industrial deafness which has occurred in circumstances which do not create any liability to pay compensation under this Act shall be excluded from the assessment of deafness for the purposes of calculating compensation under this section. (2) Compensation for industrial deafness shall be in accordance with this section, section 89 and Division 2. (3) Unless the Authority, self-insurer, a Conciliation Officer or the County Court (as the case requires) determines otherwise industrial deafness shall be deemed to have occurred at a constant rate within the total number of years of exposure to industrial noise in employment. (4) Notwithstanding sub-section (3), the date of injury shall be deemed to be - (a) the last day of the worker's employment out of which or in the course of which the injury arose; or (b) the date of the claim if the worker is still employed in that employment at the date of the claim."
"It seems to me that without descending to too much refinement there are at least three main senses in which lawyers speak of liability or liabilities. The first, a legal obligation or duty: the second the consequence of a breach of such an obligation or duty: the third a situation in which a duty or obligation can arise as the result of the occurrence of some act or event. It is in the third sense that s.5(1) speaks of an employer as liable to pay compensation in accordance with the Act."[6]
"Where the 'injury' is industrial deafness, s.88(3) assists the assessment of contribution by deeming it to have occurred at a constant rate within the total number of years of exposure to industrial noise. Mr. Phillips submitted that s.88(3) was merely another 'deeming' provision to be read with that of s.88(4) as part of the new scheme to assess apportionment between pre and post appointed day industrial deafness. However, despite its position in the A.C.A. I think its purpose is to assist assessment of contribution under s.129."
"The submission of the appellant is, however, that in so far as s.88(4) admittedly creates a notional or fictional industrial deafness occurring on a particular date as though, contrary to the fact, it happened all at once at that time arising out of or in the course of employment at that time (perhaps with the proviso that the employment was relevantly noisy, which is unnecessary here to decide) that is as far as the fiction goes. Thereafter, as the logic of the argument would compel, it is necessary to revert to the fact (as distinct from the fiction) that the industrial deafness of the respondents resulted to some extent from traumata in their employment before the appointed day. In my opinion, the fiction is not to be set aside in that way, particularly as s.82(6), s.90(3) and perhaps s.129 are indicia that the legislative intent is to the contrary. Regard must also be had to the difficulty of providing compensation for industrial deafness and the history of legislative attempts to deal with it. The problems are obvious. The contributions of particular employment to the onset and development of industrial deafness cannot be quantified or assessed retrospectively, if at all, with any precision. The industrial deafness provisions of the A.C.A. (principally ss.88 to 90) were adapted from Div.3A of the Workers Compensation act which was introduced in 1981 by Act No. 9613 to deal specially with the difficulties which I have mentioned, The Bill for Act No. 9613 was introduced by Mr. Ramsay, then Minister for Labour and Industry, who, in his second reading speech, 30 October 1981 said: 'The new division will be the sole basis for compensation of industrial deafness. It is not dissimilar to the existing provisions of the act covering industrial diseases. This division determines when the industrial deafness will be deemed to have occurred, permits the worker to claim against one employer only, and provides that the amount of compensation will be in accordance with the existing provisions of the Act.' (Hansard, p.2435.) Division 3A represented an attempted solution different from that of New South Wales where workers compensation legislation came to deem boilermaker's deafness an industrial disease. This was not done in Victoria. The New South Wales legislature, however, sought to deal with the difficulties after they had been highlighted there by the well known commission decision of Milne v. International Combustion Australia Ltd. [1953] WCR (NSW) 80. On 1 December 1960, s.16(1A) was introduced into the Workers' Compensation Act 1926-60 (NSW) and provided: 'Where an injury mentioned in the first column of the said table is a disease which is of such a nature as to be contracted by a gradual process and which has not resulted in incapacity, such injury shall, for the purpose of determining a worker's right to the amount indicated in the second column of the said table, be deemed to have happened at the time when such worker makes his claim for compensation.' The section went on to provide that 'disease' included the condition known as 'boilermaker's deafness'. In Commissioner for Railways v. Bain [1965] HCA 5; (1965) 112 CLR 246 the High Court held that the effect of s.16(1A) was to give a worker suffering from boilermaker's deafness a right to compensation for the full extent of the loss of hearing from which he was in fact suffering at the dates specified by the statute not merely for the loss of hearing suffered between the time when the condition became compensable and that date. Barwick CJ said, at p.257: 'According to the meaning which, in my opinion, should be given to the words of the amending section, the worker is to be entitled upon an application made after the enactment of the amendment to be compensated for his physical condition at the date of that application by a lump sum payment under s.16. No doubt his then condition is a product of past events but by the express words of the statute it is to be treated as having occurred at the date of his application, i.e. at a time subsequent to the making of the amendment. This does give him a right to compensation for the present result of the progressive deterioration of his hearing caused during many prior years of boilermaking.' (Emphasis added.) It can thus be seen that the solution in New South Wales has been understood to provide compensation on the footing that the whole deafness, no matter over what period it arose and progressed or by what employment at what time it was compounded, occurred at the one time so as to become compensable as if in truth it had done so. In my opinion, a fiction of the same kind has been adopted to achieve a similar solution in Victoria. Here, however, industrial deafness is not deemed to be a disease nor restricted to boilermaker's deafness. Industrial deafness is treated separately and compensation provided for it."
"No doubt his then condition is a product of past events but by the express words of the statute it is to be treated as having occurred at the date of his application."
"(1) A determination for the payment of compensation for industrial deafness which is not reviewed shall be a final determination in respect of the percentage of the diminution of the worker's hearing on the date of assessment. (2) A determination for the payment of compensation shall state the percentage of diminution of the worker's hearing in respect of industrial deafness at the date of the determination in relation to which the amount of the compensation is assessed. (3) A determination for compensation for industrial deafness shall fully extinguish all rights of the worker to compensation for industrial deafness under s.98, 98C or 98E or under the Workers Compensation Act 1958 up to the date of the determination but shall not prevent the worker from obtaining compensation under s.98, 98C or 98E for further industrial deafness suffered after that date."
"(1) Compensation for the death of a worker is not payable under this Act if compensation for the death of the worker has been paid under the Workers Compensation Act 1958."
The failure to refer to determinations under the Workers Compensation Act 1958 occurs despite an express reference to rights under that Act in s.90(3).
"1. On 25 August 1988, the Accident Compensation Tribunal ordered that the plaintiff in this proceeding be paid the sum of $10,214 representing 26% permanent partial binaural loss of hearing due to industrial deafness pursuant to the provisions contained in division 3A of the Workers Compensation Act 1958. Industrial deafness bears the same meaning in the Accident Compensation Act 1985 (the 'Act') as it did in the Workers Compensation Act 1958. 2. The award constituted a determination for compensation for industrial deafness within the meaning of sub-s.(3) of the Act and accordingly fully extinguished all of the plaintiff's rights to compensation for industrial deafness up to 25 August 1988."
"14. The injury the subject of the worker's application, ultimately in this matter the subject of consideration by the Medical Panel, necessarily excludes (on the proper construction of s.90(3) of the Act) the industrial deafness the subject of the 1988 determination. That injury was the subject of Dr Nagle's assessment, the subject of reference to the Medical Panel and the subject of determination by that Panel. The extinguishment automatically effected by s.90(3) of the Act would necessarily answer any contention that the proper question for the Medical Panel was an evaluation of the whole of the plaintiff's industrial deafness."
"(4) If a worker suffers any injury - (a) which as to the major part consists of an injury for which compensation is payable under sub-section (1); or (b) which consists of a lesser but substantial degree of any injury for which compensation is payable under sub-section (1) - the injury shall be regarded as an injury for which compensation based on the Table shall be payable, and the worker may be awarded as compensation such amount as, having regard to sub-section (1), appears to be just and proportionate to the degree of injury suffered."
This provision envisages that the assessment of compensation may take account of the degree to which it is just to regard diminution of hearing as consisting of an injury for which compensation is payable. This supports the view that the effect of s.90(3) is not necessarily to preclude the assessment of the full extent of diminution of hearing at the date of the relevant injury for the purpose of assessing compensation by a subsequent process which provides for specified adjustments.
"After the enactment of the Workers Compensation Act 1946, the applicant would have been entitled to an award of compensation once he established that after the commencement of that Act, he suffered 'any injury which consists of a lesser but substantial degree of any injury for which compensation is payable under the said Table'. The only injuries relating to hearing then appearing in the Table were 'total loss of hearing' and 'complete deafness of one ear'. If after the enactment of the amending Act the noise of the applicant's work operated to contribute to a reduced condition of hearing, which represented a substantial deficiency, that circumstance would, I think, have attracted this provision of the amended Act, and that, notwithstanding the pre-existence of a condition of defective hearing, and notwithstanding that such a condition existed prior to the employment as well as prior to the act." [7]
"(1) A worker who suffers an injury which entitled the worker to compensation is, in respect of an injury resulting in permanent impairment as assessed in accordance with s.91, entitled to compensation for non-economic loss calculated in accordance with this section. (2) The amount of the non-economic loss in respect of permanent impairment other than psychiatric impairment is to be calculated as at the date of the relevant injury as follows - (a) if the worker's degree of impairment is less than 10% - the amount of the non-economic loss is zero; (b) if the worker's degree of impairment is not less than 10% and not more than 30% - the amount of the non-economic loss is to be determined in accordance with the formula - $10,300 plus [(D - 10) x $2,060]; ... (6) If the compensation payable under this section is for industrial deafness, the amount of compensation is to be calculated - (a) if the date of injury is deemed under s.88 to be the last day of the worker's employment out of which or in the course of which the injury arose - as at that day; or (b) if the date of injury is deemed under s.88 to be the date of the claim - as at the day on which the compensation is to be determined. ... (9) Where compensation has been paid under this section for an impairment resulting from an injury or under s.98 or 98A in respect of an injury, that compensation must be deducted from any compensation payable under this section in respect of any impairment resulting from an injury consisting of any recurrence, aggravation, acceleration, exacerbation or deterioration of the injury in respect of which compensation has previously been paid under this section or s.98 or 98A."
(a) The plaintiff is a worker who has suffered an injury.
(b) The injury is one which entitles the worker to compensation in terms of s.82(1) and (6).
(c) The injury has resulted in permanent impairment capable of assessment in accordance with s.91.
(d) That assessment is in turn to provide the basis for compensation calculated in accordance with this section.
"(3) For the purposes of assessing the degree of impairment of the whole person resulting from binaural hearing impairment, the percentage of the diminution of hearing determined in accordance with sub-section (4) is to be converted as follows - (a) if the binaural loss of hearing is less than 10% NAL, the degree of impairment is zero; (b) if the binaural loss of hearing is 10% NAL, the degree of impairment is 10%; (c) if the binaural loss of hearing is more than 10% NAL, the degree of impairment if the percentage equivalent of the number (rounded up to the next whole number) given by the formula - 10 + [0.278 (NAL - 10)] - where NAL is the percentage of diminution of hearing determined in accordance with sub-section (4). (4) For the purposes of this section, the percentage of diminution of hearing - (a) shall be determined - (i) by a person or class of persons approved; and (ii) in the manner approved - by the Minister; and (b) shall be determined in accordance with the Improved Procedure for Determination of Percentage Loss of Hearing (1988 Edition or a later prescribed edition) published by the National Acoustic Laboratory ... (7) For the purposes of s.98C - (a) impairments other than psychiatric impairments resulting from injuries which arose out of the same incident or occurred on the same date are to be assessed together using the combination tables in the A.M.A. guidelines; (b) if a worker presents for assessment in relation to injuries which occurred on different dates, the impairments are to be assessed chronologically by date of injury; (c) impairments from unrelated injuries or causes are to be disregarded in making an assessment. ... (9) This section as amended by s.25 of the Accident Compensation (Miscellaneous Amendment) Act 1997 applies to all claims for compensation under s.98C, irrespective of when the injury occurred or the claim is made."
"Compensation is paid under the Act in respect of death or total or partial incapacity resulting from an injury (secs. 8 and 9) not in respect of the injury itself (See Harwood v Wyken Colliery Co. (1913) 2 KB at pp.162, 163; King v Port of London Authority (1920) AC 1. Incapacity under sec. 9 is measured by loss of earning power (Wicks v Union Steamship Co. of New Zealand Ltd. [1933] HCA 58; (1933) 50 CLR 328; Ball v William Hunt & Sons Ltd (1912) AC 496 at p.500). In determining whether incapacity results from an injury the law necessarily adopts an idea of causation which, in a sense, isolates the injury as a causative element from other elements which are taken for granted or ignored. If the addition of the injury to other concurrently existing facts brings about the incapacity, then the incapacity is regarded as resulting from the injury, although in fact it results from the injury taken together with the other circumstances. The legal doctrine may be illustrated by considering the case of a worker who has a condition of heart disease which is not an injury within the meaning of the Act and which has not produced any incapacity. Although the worker has heart disease, he is able to earn full wages, and, as his earning capacity is not diminished, he is suffering from no incapacity within the meaning of the Act (Wicks v Union Steamship Co. of New Zealand [1933] HCA 58; (1933) 50 CLR 328). If such a worker then receives an injury within the meaning of the Act and suffers incapacity as the consequence of the injury added to his heart disease, then the incapacity (total or partial as the case may be) in those circumstances results from the injury. The injury is an element which only completes the tale of circumstances which constitutes the cause of the incapacity in the non-legal sense: but in the legal sense it is itself the cause of the incapacity which therefore is said to 'result' from it (See Clover, Clayton & Co. Ltd. v Hughes (1910) AC 242; Partridge Jones and John Paton Ltd. v James (1933) AC 501 - cases on 'arising out of the employment.'). If an employer employs a man who suffers from some defect, though the defect produces no incapacity, the employer runs the risk that incapacity may more readily result from an injury to such a man than from an injury to a man who does not suffer from any such defect."[10]
"It is not necessary that the employment injury should be the sole cause of disability. It is sufficient if it is a contributing cause. It may be the catalyst which precipitates disability in a medium of disease. But when the stage is reached at which the employment injury ceases to produce effects and could therefore no longer be a contributing cause to any incapacity which may then exist, the right to compensation ceases."
(a) The Authority's position would be that a worker such as the plaintiff was entitled to compensation with respect to the full extent of his hearing impairment if he had made no prior claim but to no further compensation if he had made a prior claim and his impairment at the time of current assessment was not 10% more than it was at the time of the prior claim. It would follow that there was a powerful disincentive to a worker to making a claim until retirement. It would create a situation where the parts of an injury compensable under the Act were not in many cases equal to the sum of the same injury.
(b) It would lead to a situation where the initial 10% threshold was applied to claims whatever the level of deafness actually experienced by the worker. It does not follow from the imposition of an initial 10% threshold that the effect of the loss of the last 9% of a worker's hearing (in the event that a prior claim hypothetically established a loss of 91%) should be non-compensable. Likewise it does not follow that the loss of the second, third or fourth 9% of a worker's hearing will be of the same significance, (or insignificance) in terms of loss of enjoyment of life as the loss of the first 10%. Indeed, common sense suggests that it would not. When s.98 was introduced into the Act the Minister's second reading speech referred to the 7% threshold in the table of maims in the following terms:
"In order to address these burgeoning problems and preserve compensation for those with a significant work related hearing loss the bill introduces a threshold of 7% loss of binaural hearing before a table of maims payment under section 98 of the Accident Compensation Act becomes payable. The threshold will apply in respect of all claims lodged on and after midnight tonight. The threshold level of 7% has been carefully chosen so as to ensure minimal disadvantage to workers, as typically this is the level below which medical opinion indicates a hearing aid is not generally required."[13]
It can be seen that whereas the initial 10% forming the basis of a claim under s.98C(2) might be thought to have a similar rationale namely that a certain initial diminution of hearing might not be thought to cause material non-economic loss, the same rationale cannot be said to logically apply to subsequent increments of marginally less than the the same percentage loss.
"In construction of workers compensation legislation, which has been regarded as being remedial in character, there is a long-established principle that in the event of ambiguity a construction favourable to the worker should be adopted: Wilson v Wilson's Tile Works Pty. Ltd. (1960) 104 CLR 328 per Fullagar J at 335; Dodd v Executive Air Services Pty. Ltd. [1975] VicRp 66; [1975] VR 668 at 679 per Newton J. and at 682 per Norris J. That approach has continued until modern times: Bird v The Commonwealth [1988] HCA 23; (1988) 165 CLR 1 at 6 per Mason CJ, Brennan and Toohey JJ, and at 9 per Deane and Gaudron JJ. (who dissented in the result, but not upon the point of principle); Borovac v Corporate Ventures Pty. Ltd. (1995) 12 NSWCCR 84 at 89 per Mahoney JA. It has continued notwithstanding a tendency across jurisdictions to reduce the ambit of compensability of injury. It is not a vehicle for discovering ambiguity where none exists. It could not be used to set at nought the effect of s.35(a) of the Interpretation of Legislation Act 1984. But unless and until a court of the highest authority decides that the principle is irreconcilable with the modern conception of workers' compensation legislation, it appears to me that the principle continues to have a legitimate area of operation."
"Impairments from unrelated injuries or causes are to be disregarded in making an assessment."
In my opinion the injuries here in issue are not "unrelated". The further injury is a further loss of hearing. It is properly regarded as an aggravation or exacerbation of the prior injury, or as a deterioration of the prior condition of industrial deafness. Likewise the causes of the impairment are not unrelated but in both cases constituted industrial deafness derived from the same employment. It was not submitted that s.91(7) be construed otherwise.
[2] [1971] VicRp 63; [1971] VR 503 per Gowans J at 512 with whom Winneke CJ agreed
[5] [1967] HCA 30; (1967) 116 CLR 537 at 584; [1968] UKPCHCA 1; (1968) 118 CLR 32 at 36
[7] Stevenson v Buchanan and Brock Pty Ltd [1971] VicRp 63; [1971] VR 503 per Gowans J at 508
[12] (1943) 44 SR (NSW) 157 at 162
[13] Mr Pescott, Second Reading Speech, House of Assembly, 31 March 1994, Accident Compensation (Amendment) Bill.
[14] (2000) VSC 380 (not yet reported)
Del Borgo
Niselle [2002] VSC 368
(1965) 112 CLR 246
(1933) 50 CLR 328
(1960) 104 CLR 328
(1988) 165 CLR 1
(1995) 12 NSWCCR 84
(1967) 116 CLR 537
(1968) 118 CLR 32
(1938) 61 CLR 120