[2022] WADC 123
General information, not legal advice.
District Court of WA
2022-12-23
Original judgment source is linked above.
JURISDICTION : DISTRICT COURT OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA
CITATION : MADIGAN -v- XYZ [2022] WADC 123
MATTER : IN THE MATTER OF Part 7 of the Criminal Injuries Compensation Act 2003
Jurisdiction : CRIMINAL INJURIES COMPENSATION ASSESSOR OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA
Appellant subject of two different sets of offences occurring at the same place, but involving different offenders and being approximately a week apart - Relevant claim subject of appeal arises from the first incident - Appellant suffers nervous and mental shock as a result of both incidents - Extent to which, if at all, the compensation award for the offences the subject of the first incident should be reduced because of the second incident - Whether mental and nervous shock from first incident resulted in economic loss - Extent of physical injuries suffered in the first incident
Mr C Arnold appeared on behalf of the Chief Executive Officer of the Department of Justice
ATB v LA [2021] WADC 64
Blackwell v Warren [2018] WADC 127
DC v State of New South Wales [2016] NSWCA 198
Mallard v Mallard [2022] WADC 71
Mangisi v Boehm [2021] WADC 76
Netline Pty Ltd v QAV Pty Ltd [2022] WASCA 131
Player v Avery [2022] WASCA 147
Pyne v Wilkenfeld (1981) 26 SASR 441
Re MJM [2021] WADC 104
Re Sunjich [2022] WADC 66
Savic v Duric [2021] WADC 53
State Government Insurance Commission v Oakley (1990) 10 MVR 570
State of New South Wales v Skinner [2022] NSWCA 9
TAW v NJS [2011] WADC 187
Underwood v Underwood [2018] WADC 13
Woodward v Davies [2021] WADC 73
No allowance has been made for dental treatment as the Chief Assessor was not satisfied your client suffered dental damage as a result of the incident. A 50% allowance for the report from Dr Ng has been allowed as the report relates to two incidents. No allowance has been made for future treatment as the Chief Assessor is not satisfied your client will incur the expense.
'loss of earnings suffered by the victim as a direct consequence of the injury suffered by the victim; ...'
'The principle to be followed in assessing damages is that the amount of damages must be fair and reasonable compensation for the injuries received by the plaintiff and the disabilities caused, having regard to current general ideas of fairness and moderation. The amount must be proportionate to the situation of the particular plaintiff.'
[footnotes from the original text have been omitted]
(b) fractures of the floor of his right eye socket, right cheekbone fracture and nasal bone fracture; and
Mr Madigan was given pain relief, tetanus immunisation and had CT scan of face.
CT scan showed that Mr Madigan sustained fractures of floor of right eyeball socket with extension into inferior orbital canal, right cheek bone fracture and nasal bone fracture. ...
In my opinion his injuries were of serious nature and needed further specialist follow up, though he is likely to get comp[l]ete recovery. His injuries were not of such a nature as to endanger life or be likely to endanger life ...
On examination he has significant bilateral peri-orbital ecchymosis and several minor lacerations over the right upper lid, nose and right upper lip. Otherwise his ocular function is good with no motility or diplopia issues. His nose is straight. His maxilla is solid and his occlusion looks sound. There is no evidence of zygomatic depression.
On the CT scan done at Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital, there are several minor fractures noted. This includes the right medical orbital wall and right orbital floor, in addition to the external nasal bones. There are some minor fractures through the right hemi-maxilla.
Did Mr Madigan also suffer mental and nervous shock?
(a) following the first incident, Mr Madigan developed post-traumatic stress disorder at its worst to a moderate extent;
(b) at the time of the second incident, the post-traumatic stress disorder was still present and was exacerbated by the second incident;
(c) the most significant contributing factors in materially precipitating the onset of the post-traumatic stress disorder was the physical and emotional trauma directly arising as a consequence of the first incident;
(d) the pre-existing post-trauma anxiety symptoms from the first incident were at least moderately exacerbated by the second incident; and
(e) the first incident resulted in Mr Madigan being unable to work in customer service.
Non-medical evidence in relation to mental and nervous shock
After speaking to Peter about his issues following the assault, it was clear that he didn't want to be there anymore due to his fear and anxiety and we agreed to sell the business.
The overarching reason for selling the business was because of the psychological toll caused by the belting that he got.
Extent of the injury caused by the offences and the relevance of the second offence
DC ... involved a question as to the liability of the State for psychiatric injury suffered by two sisters as a result of abuse by their stepfather. The liability of the State applied only with respect to harm caused after the abuse had been reported. Self-evidently harm was caused by ongoing abuse before any report was made.
... where the further injury results from a subsequent accident, which would have occurred had the plaintiff been in normal health, but the damage sustained is greater because of aggravation of the earlier injury, the additional damage resulting from the aggravated injury should be treated as caused by the defendant's negligence ...
Average net weekly earnings excluding allowances
(a) in Mr Madigan's impact of injury statement[46] Mr Madigan stated that his wage from the business was approximately $80,000 per year;
(b) Mr Madigan's case is put on the basis that if it were not for his nervous and mental shock suffered in the first incident, he would have continued in the business; and
(c) on the information before me, there was no evidence that the business was profitable, and I am not able to predict whether it would have become profitable in the future.
Average net weekly earnings excluding allowances
$90,441.00 including allowances of $1,000 for matters such as earnings, tips, director's fees
$77,339.00 including allowances of $1,891 for work related travel expenses
(a) first, while he retained the business, to earn a salary from the business as well as to earn an additional income elsewhere; and
(b) second, on a sale of the business, to return to the type of work that he carried out prior to buying it.
In any proceedings for the recovery of any money ...
Potential reduction of award for not engaging in appropriate mitigation
[Mr Madigan] recalled that his friend had suggested that he have some psychotherapy following the subject incident.
He had not been treated with any psychotropic medications following the first and second subject incidents.
Is a deduction from the award required because of the award of compensation in respect to the second set of offending?
An assessor must deduct from a compensation award in relation to any injury or loss suffered by a victim, or a close relative of a deceased victim, any amount that the victim or close relative has received, whether under a contract of insurance or otherwise, for the injury or loss.
(a) $35,000 as compensation for his physical injuries and mental and nervous shock;
(e) $30,000 for loss of earning capacity post the sale of the business.
I certify that the preceding paragraph(s) comprise the reasons for decision of the District Court of Western Australia.
[1] Mr Leonard Corbett was initially named as the third respondent on the Notice of Appeal. By order made 11 March 2022, the Notice of Appeal was amended to delete the reference to him.
[2] Appellant's book of documents, page 20.
[3] Appellant's book of documents, pages 50 - 62.
[4] Appellant's book of documents, pages 1 and 63.
[5] Appellant's book of documents, pages 63 - 64.
[7] TAW v NJS [2011] WADC 187 [17].
[8] ATB v LA [2021] WADC 64 (ATB).
[9] A v D (1994) 11 WAR 481, page 495. Ipp J agreed with Nicholson J.
[10] Appellant's book of documents pages 41 - 43; Mr Madigan's impact of injury statement, pars 28 - 43.
[11] Appellant's book of documents, page 75.
[12] Appellant's book of documents, page 76.
[13] Appellant's book of documents, page 90.
[14] Dr Tan's report sets out that Mr Madigan had advised her that he required root canal and crowns to repair teeth 11, 12 and 21.
[15] Appellant's book of documents, pages 95 - 108.
[16] Appellant's book of documents, page 44; Mr Madigan's statement dated 12 November 2021, pars 57 - 63.
[17] Mr Madigan's first statement, pars 64 - 71.
[18] Mr Madigan's first statement, par 72.
[19] Mr Madigan's statement dated 3 October 2022, par 31.
[20] Appellant's book of documents, page 74 (Emergency Department notes depicting where the injuries were).
[24] Appellant's book of documents, pages 95 - 108.
[25] Mr Madigan's statement dated 3 October 2022, pars 37 - 41.
[26] State of New South Wales v Skinner [2022] NSWCA 9 (Skinner) [120] - [122].
[27] DC v State of New South Wales [2016] NSWCA 198 (DC).
[31] State Government Insurance Commission v Oakley (1990) 10 MVR 570, 573.
[32] See Pyne v Wilkenfeld (1981) 26 SASR 441, 442. See also Luntz H, Assessment of damages for personal injury and death (5th ed, 2021) (Luntz) [2.8.2 and 2.8.4].
[35] Underwood v Underwood [2018] WADC 13 [127] - [130].
[36] Blackwell v Warren [2018] WADC 127 [16], [32], [34] - [35], [38]; Mangisi v Boehm [2021] WADC 76 [10], [23], [34]; Re MJM [2021] WADC 104 [61], [82], [86]; Woodward v Davies [2021] WADC 73 [44], [53], [73]; Savic v Duric [2021] WADC 53 [3], [4], [43], [44], [53], [55] - [58]; Re Sunjich [2022] WADC 66 [27] - [28], [90], [106]; Mallard v Mallard [2022] WADC 71.
[37] TAW v NJS [24]. See also Blackwell v Warren [34] - [35].
[38] Appellant's book of documents, pages 112 - 113.
[39] Appellant's book of documents, page 90.
[40] Appellant's books of documents, page 33.
[41] Appellant's book of documents, page 90.
[42] Appellant's book of documents, page 93.
[43] Appellant's book of documents entries for 5 October 2018, page 112.
[44] Mr Cooper's affidavit sworn 19 September 2022, Annexure CSC-1.
[45] Appellant's book of documents, page 107.
[47] Appellant's book of documents, page 100.
[48] Statement attached at Annexure CSC-2 to affidavit of Christopher Cooper sworn 19 September 2022, page 5.
[49] See Player v Avery [2022] WASCA 147.
[50] Appellant's book of documents pages 221 - 242.
[52] Netline Pty Ltd v QAV Pty Ltd [2022] WASCA 131 [42].
[53] Appellant's book of documents, page 102.
(1994) 11 WAR 1981
(1981) 26 SASR 441
(1990) 10 MVR 570
(1994) 11 WAR 481