[2024] VSCA 59
General information, not legal advice.
Court of Appeal (Vic)
2024-04-11
Kennedy JA, Walker JA, MacAulay JA
Original judgment source is linked above.
WHEREAS the Licensor is the registered proprietor of the property known as 265 Mickleham Road, Tullamarine being the land more particularly described in Certificate of Title Volume 5768 Folio 498 ("the Property") AND WHEREAS the Licensee is the registered proprietor of 267 Mickleham Road, Tullamarine being the land more particularly described in Certificate of Title Volume 9485 Folio 992 upon which is constructed a building known as Bella Vista Reception Centre AND WHEREAS the Licensor desires to allocate to the Licensee subject to the terms of this Agreement certain car parking facilities on the Property of the Licensor and the right of ingress and egress over the Property of the Licensor for the use and benefit of the Licensee and his patrons and guests.
NOW THIS AGREEMENT WITNESSES:
- The Licensor hereby grants to the Licensee at all times during the continuance of this licence and authorises the Licensee to permit his guests and patrons to use to the exclusion of all others the car parking spaces and facilities being those car parking spaces at the western end of the Property identified on the plan annexed to this licence. The Licensor hereby licenses to the Licensee to permit the patrons and guests of the Licensee the right of ingress and egress over the driveways of the Property for the purpose of accessing the said car parking facilities as identified on the said plan.
- The Licensor grants this licence to the Licensee for a period of ninety‑nine years and the Licensee undertakes and agrees during the continuance of this agreement to pay to the Licensor the sum of $1.00 per annum.
- The Licensee shall maintain the carparking spaces in good order and condition and shall indemnify the Licensor for any damage done to the car parking spaces including damage to any adjacent fencing either by himself or by his patrons or guests or any other person using the said car parking spaces with his consent.
- The Licensee shall maintain a public liability insurance policy with respect to the car parking area to a sum not less than $10 million.
- The Licensee shall not be called upon to contribute to any levies with respect to the Property by way of rates or taxes.
- The licence hereby created shall cease and be determined if the Licensee is in default of any of the terms of this licence and the Licensor has served a written notice on the Licensee identifying the default and the Licensor's intention to determine the licence unless the default is remedied within fourteen days of the service of any notice and the Licensee fails to comply with that notice.
- This Licence does not confer or constitute possession or occupation of the Property within the meaning of the Sale of Land Act 1962.
- Any notice required to be served or delivered may be so served by being personally delivered or posted to the party to whom the notice is addressed at the address appearing in this Licence Agreement.
- The Licensor and the Licensee acknowledge and agree that this Licence shall enure for the benefit of the Licensee and his assigns. It is further agreed that the Licensor shall not raise any objection to the transfer or assignment of this Licence. The Licensor and the Licensee shall forthwith execute all documents as may be required to transfer or assign this Licence.
- The Licensor and the Licensee acknowledge and agree that time shall be of the essence of this Licence and that in the event of any dispute between the parties this agreement shall be determined and interpreted pursuant to the laws of the State of Victoria.
...
(a) the plan shows an area of car parking spaces at the western end of the Motel Property designated by a number of rectangular boxes. The notation: 'CARPARK SIZES 2600 x 5000 TOTAL. 105 CARPARKS.' is also included;
(b) there are a number of driveways marked, both adjacent to the motel buildings, and also located between the rectangular boxes designated as car parks at the western end of the Property; and
(c) there is a section of land (the 'retained land') at the far western end of the Motel Property. It was common ground that there is no access point to this part of the Motel Property apart from entry via the section of the Property containing the 105 car parks as described already.
Ground 1. [The judge] erred in construing the document styled Licence Agreement as a lease and should have held that the Licence Agreement was a bare contractual licence.
Ground 2. [The judge] erred in finding that the respondent had maintained public liability insurance with respect to the car parking area and should have held that the public liability insurance held by the respondent was with respect to the respondent's business activities and not with respect to the car parking area as required by clause 4 of the Licence Agreement.
Ground 3. [The judge] erred in finding that the applicant's default notice dated 5 September 2019 was defective because it did not contain sufficient particulars of the respondent's breach of clause 4 of the Licence Agreement and should have held that the Licence Agreement was properly terminated.
PART C: WHETHER LICENCE AGREEMENT CONSTITUTES A LEASE (PROPOSED GROUND 1)
The Licensor hereby grants to the Licensee at all times during the continuance of this licence (and authorises the Licensee to permit his guests and patrons to) use to the exclusion of all others the car parking spaces and facilities being those car parking spaces at the western end of the Property ...[7]
I am satisfied that the Licence Agreement confers exclusive possession of the car parking area (the car parking spaces at the western end of the Motel Property and the car parking facilities), to the licensee 'at all times during the continuation' of the Licence Agreement (see clause 1). The licensee has 'use to the exclusion of all others': what else can that mean, but exclusive possession?[9]
Clause 1 provides for use of the car parking spaces and facilities, and access to the driveways of the Property 'for the purpose of accessing the said car parking facilities'. Clause 4 requires the licensee to maintain a public liability insurance with respect to the 'car parking area'. I consider that the 'car parking area' is a reference to both the car parking spaces, and the 'facilities' (the 'facilities' being the roadway between the car parking spaces). It is the area marked in red by F3's counsel on the image below ...[17]
(a) the parties' own characterisation of their rights;
(b) that the description of the subject land is imprecise;
(c) relevant (but unidentified) 'surrounding circumstances';
(d) that clause 7 was, properly construed, an indication that the parties did not intend for the Licence Agreement to be a grant of exclusive possession of any of the Property, including the shaded area (being the area shaded red in the image at [158] of the Reasons);
(e) that the requirement in clause 9 supports the conclusion that the Licence Agreement was a licence given it allows for an assignment even though leases are of their own nature assignable; and
(f) that the judge should have concluded that clauses 3 and 4 are 'neutral' and do not assist in the characterisation of the Licence Agreement as either a lease or a licence.
(a) the use of the terms 'Licence Agreement', 'Licence', 'Licensor,' and 'Licensee';
(b) the use of the term 'agreement,' rather than words such as 'demise' or 'lease' ie words denoting the grant of an estate in land;
(c) the consideration is not described as 'rent' in clause 2 and was for a 'peppercorn' amount of $1 a year;
(d) that clause 7 suggested that the agreement was only a licence, by excluding possession or occupation (within the meaning of the common law) of the property including the car parking spaces; and
(e) that clause 9 favoured the applicant's construction, because a lease is generally assignable, so if the agreement were a lease this clause would be unnecessary.
(a) one might expect that there would be a condition to maintain whether there is a licence or a lease (clause 3);
(b) the requirement that the licensee maintain a public insurance policy (clause 4) might suggest that the licensor had surrendered any interest in the car parking area, however such an obligation might also be considered appropriate even if there was only a licence; and
(c) although a lease might be unilaterally assigned without consent (which might suggest a licence rather than a lease), clause 9 makes plain that such a right is absolute and unconditional and ensures that the licensor is to cooperate with any assignment - that could have real work to do in the context of a lease.
(a) The first possible construction, which was adopted by the judge, is that the parties were attempting to make it clear that the Licence Agreement does not have the result that any sale of the Property would constitute a 'terms contract' within the meaning of the SLA. That was said to follow from the fact that the only place that 'possession and occupation' is used in the SLA is in the definition of a 'terms contract'.
(b) The second possible construction is that the licensor was not intended to have 'possession or occupation' of the entire 'Property', even though there was an intention to confer exclusive possession of the car parking spaces and facilities.
(c) The third possible construction is that the licence does not confer or constitute possession or occupation of any part of the Property, including the car parking spaces. This was the construction for which the applicant contended.
(a) In relation to the first possible construction, any such attempt to avert the operation of the SLA would appear to be unnecessary given that any entitlement to possession 'under' the Licence Agreement would be irrelevant to whether there was a terms contract. This is because a contract would only be a 'terms contract' under the definition in the SLA if the entitlement to 'possession or occupation' was given 'under' the sales contract.
(b) In relation to the second possible construction, a literal reading of the clause might include the car parking spaces and facilities given they are included in the concept of 'Property' as described in the Recitals.
(c) In relation to the third possible construction, it appears to directly conflict with the clear and express words of clause 1 that the licensee be granted exclusive use of the car parking spaces and facilities.
(a) First, it 'grants' to the licensee 'at all times during the continuance of this licence' (and authorises him to permit his guests and patrons) a particular right, namely, the right to 'use to the exclusion of all others' the car parking spaces and facilities.
(b) Second, it 'licenses' to the licensee (to permit his patrons and guests) the right of 'ingress and egress over the driveways' for the purpose of accessing the car parking facilities.
PART D: WHETHER ERROR IN RELATION TO PUBLIC LIABILITY INSURANCE (PROPOSED GROUND 2)
The Court should have concluded that:
(a) clause 4 of the Licence Agreement required the respondent to obtain public liability insurance that extended to all activities on the car parking area;
(b) the respondent's public liability insurance was limited to the respondent's activities and did not extend to all activities on the car parking area;
(c) accordingly, the respondent's public liability insurance did not comply with clause 4 of the Licence Agreement.
The Court should have concluded that:
(a) clause 4 of the Licence Agreement required the respondent to obtain public liability insurance that extended to all activities on the car parking area by including the applicant as an insured;
(b) the respondent's public liability insurance was limited to the respondent's activities and did not extend to all activities on the car parking area as it did not extend to insuring the applicant;
(c) accordingly, the respondent's public liability insurance did not comply with clause 4 of the Licence Agreement.
(a) initially it contended that there was no relevant insurance at all at the relevant time;[25]
(b) later, although conceding that some insurance was maintained, it alleged instead that the insurance obtained did not amount to 'public liability insurance' with respect to the car parking area;[26]
(c) further, it submitted that, because the phrase 'car parking area' is vague and uncertain, it was not possible to determine whether the policy provides coverage 'with respect to the car parking area';[27] and
(d) finally, that because the coverage is limited to liability arising from the respondent's business, it does not comply with clause 4.[28]
(2) Whether the applicant should be permitted to raise the new argument
(a) there was no evidence about whether it was possible for one party to take out public liability insurance that covered the liability of an unrelated third party;
(b) if the new argument is permitted, the respondent will be denied the opportunity to rely on and lead evidence in support of an estoppel claim; and
(c) if the new argument is permitted, the respondent will be denied the opportunity to argue that the reference to the applicant as an 'interested party' means that the applicant's liability is covered in any event - in particular, the respondent was denied the opportunity to explore this issue with a witness called in the matter, Mr Joseph Xuereb, the respondent's insurance broker.
(a) a letter dated 19 July 2013, in which the respondent's solicitor, VM Roccisano, provided the applicant's solicitors, PSMF Lawyers & Consultants, with a certificate of public liability insurance that identified the policy holder as the respondent, with the applicant identified as an 'interested part[y]'. The letter asked the solicitors to confirm that the cover was 'in order';
(b) a responsive email dated 23 July 2013 from PSMF Lawyers & Consultants to VM Roccisano, which identified two errors in the certificate provided. One of the errors identified was that the name of the applicant as an 'Interest[ed] Part[y]' should be 'Lanshan Pty Ltd', not 'Lansham Pty Ltd'. However, the email otherwise made no complaint about the applicant's status; in particular, it did not allege that the applicant ought to be named as the policy holder or as an insured party; and
(c) a letter from VM Roccisano to PSMF Lawyers & Consultants dated 16 August 2013, which enclosed the amended certificate and which again named the respondent as the policy holder and the applicant as an interested party.
(a) first, the court does not require evidence of the availability of a policy since difficulties with obtaining a policy says nothing about the intentions of a party to that contract. It asserted that contracts requiring a party to obtain insurance for the benefit of another are 'commonplace';
(b) second, the nature of the estoppel raised is unclear. At best it could be said that the parties were ignorant of the operation of clause 4, but it was unclear how ignorance could give rise to an estoppel; and
(c) third, the new argument went solely to the construction of contracts, which is not a matter for expert evidence.
More than once it has been held by this Court that a point cannot be raised for the first time upon appeal when it could possibly have been met by calling evidence below. Where all the facts have been established beyond controversy or where the point is one of construction or of law, then a court of appeal may find it expedient and in the interests of justice to entertain the point, but otherwise the rule is strictly applied.[32]
PART E: WHETHER ERROR TO FIND THAT DEFAULT NOTICE DEFECTIVE (PROPOSED GROUND 3)
(f) the Licensee shall maintain a public liability insurance policy with respect to the car parking area to a sum not less than $10 million (PL Insurance);
(d) provide evidence satisfactory to the Licensor that during the Licence Period the Licensee has: ...
I do not consider that identifying an alleged failure to maintain 'the requisite PL insurance' would adequately bring to the attention of someone, in the shoes of and with the knowledge of [the respondent], what the default is alleged to be.
The point of a default notice is to be given the chance to fix the problem, within the specified time period.
Plainly, that could not happen in circumstances where [the applicant] only clearly identified the alleged problem with the insurance [the respondent] took out, long after sending the Notice of Default. ([The applicant] says in submissions dated 5 April 2022 that it had to issue subpoenas to see the relevant insurance documents and these returned information just before the trial, and that 'it was in the context of the trial having properly commenced that the plaintiff sought to understand how the terms operated'. Regardless of why it identified the alleged defects once the trial had 'properly commenced', the fact remains it had not identified them when the Notice of Default was sent).
I consider that [the applicant's] letter of 5 September 2019 was not a valid default notice in relation to the insurance issue. It did not give sufficient information to enable [the respondent] to remedy the alleged default (for example, by detailing as it did during this trial that the type of insurance taken out was inadequate to answer the requirements of clause 4, and why).
In those circumstances, [the applicant] was not entitled to terminate the Licence Agreement relying on the default notice.[40]
(a) insurance was not maintained at all during the whole period;
(b) insurance was not maintained during part of the relevant period;
(c) the insurance maintained was not to a sum of $10 million or more;
(d) the insurance maintained was not 'public liability' insurance;
(e) the insurance maintained was not 'with respect to the car parking area' because it was limited to the respondent's business activities; and
(f) the insurance maintained did not insure the liability of the applicant (as the applicant now submits).
[1] The applicant had also sought declaratory relief to the effect that it was not bound by the Licence Agreement (because it was not a party to the original Licence Agreement). The judge found that the Licence Agreement bound the parties. That issue is not being pursued on the application for leave to appeal.
[2] Although the declaration made by the judge in para 4 only expressly referred to the 'car parking spaces', the respondent did not seek any amendment of the order.
[3] The judge found that a clearer, higher definition copy of the plan was annexed to the original Licence Agreement executed by Tullamarine Pty Ltd and Joseph Digby. However, 'PROPOSED RECEPTION' (and 'PROPOSED RECEPTION ROOMS') were changed to 'PROPOSED RESTAURANT': Lanshan Pty Ltd v F3 Enterprises Pty Ltd [2022] VCC 1850 (Judge Marks), [155] ('Reasons'). That copy is attached herein in Appendix 1, although it should be noted that there is some deterioration in quality of print when attaching it to these reasons.
[4] 'PL Insurance' is a shorthand reference to 'public liability insurance'.
[8] Ibid [130], citing Radaich v Smith [1959] HCA 45; (1959) 101 CLR 209, 214 (McTiernan J); 217-8 (Taylor J), 220 (Menzies J), 222-3 (Windeyer J).
[13] Being 27 September 2001, when the Licence Agreement was entered into.
[17] Ibid [158] (emphasis in original, emphasis added). The area marked in red on the image at [158] encompasses the car parking spaces and the driveways in between those car parking spaces, at the western end of the Property.
[19] Visser v The King (2023) 68 VR 188, 219 [100] (Emerton P, Priest, McLeish, T Forrest and Kennedy JJA); [2023] VSCA 10, citing R v A2 [2019] HCA 35; (2019) 269 CLR 507, 520-2 [32]-[37] (Kiefel CJ and Keane J), 545 [124] (Bell and Gageler JJ); [2019] HCA 35.
[20] The respondent indicated that it was appropriate to refer to 'driveways' in this context.
[21] Radaich [1959] HCA 45; (1959) 101 CLR 209, 214 (McTiernan J); [1959] HCA 45.
[22] Ibid. See also 217-18 (Taylor J); 220 (Menzies J); 222-3 (Windeyer J).
[29] The respondent was given leave to file, and did file, written submissions dated 20 March 2024.
[30] The applicant was given leave to file, and did file, written submissions dated 22 March 2024.
[31] (1988) 180 CLR 491, 497; [1988] HCA 12. Also cited in Sambucco v Sambucco [2023] VSCA 199, [30] (McLeish, Walker JJA and Gorton AJA).
[32] See Suttor v Gundowda Pty Ltd [1950] HCA 35; (1950) 81 CLR 418, 438; University of Wollongong v Metwally [No 2] (1985) 59 ALJR 481, 483; 60 ALR 68, 71; Coulton v Holcombe [1986] HCA 33; (1986) 162 CLR 1, 7-8; O'Brien v Komesaroff [1982] HCA 33; (1982) 150 CLR 310, 319.
[33] See GEC Marconi Systems Pty Ltd v BHP Information Technology Pty Ltd [2003] FCA 50; (2003) 128 FCR 1, 105-6 [426] (Finn J); [2003] FCA 50.
[34] See, eg, Trident General Insurance Co Ltd v McNiece Bros Pty Ltd (1988) 165 CLR 107; [1988] HCA 44.
[35] Hobart International Airport Pty Ltd v Clarence City Council [2022] HCA 5; (2022) 399 ALR 214, 231 [59] (Gageler and Gleeson JJ); [2022] HCA 5.
[36] See Insurance Contracts Amendment Act 2013 (Cth), sch 6.
[38] Ibid [364] (emphasis in original).
[40] Ibid [369]-[373] (citations omitted).
Lanshan Pty Ltd
F3 Enterprises Pty Ltd [2024] VSCA 59
[2022] VCC 1850 (Judge Marks)
Radaich v Smith [1959] HCA 45; (1959) 101 CLR 209; Water Board v Moustakas (1988) 180 CLR 491; FPM Constructions Pty Ltd v Council of the City of Blue Mountains [2005] NSWCA 340; Diploma Constructions Pty Ltd v Marula Pty Ltd [2009] WASCA 229; Yan v Zhang [2018] VSC 694, applied.
(1959) 101 CLR 209
(1985) 59 ALJR 481
(1986) 162 CLR 1
(1982) 150 CLR 310
(2003) 128 FCR 1
(1988) 165 CLR 107
(2022) 399 ALR 214
(1993) 115 ALR 679
(2023) 68 VR 188
(2019) 269 CLR 507
(1988) 180 CLR 491
(1950) 81 CLR 418