[2004] VSC 519
General information, not legal advice.
Supreme Court of Victoria
2004-12-16
HABERSBERGER J
Original judgment source is linked above.
[2004] VSC 519
PRACTICE AND PROCEDURE - Application by defendant under r.23.01 of the Supreme Court (General Civil Procedure) Rules 1996 for judgment in respect of a part of the second plaintiff's claim for indemnity under policy of insurance issued by the defendant - Whether there is power to stay or give judgment in relation to a part of a claim - Whether there was one claim or several claims by the second plaintiff - Whether it was arguable that the HIH Claims Support Scheme could bring subrogated claim in the name of the second plaintiff when he had been partly indemnified by the Scheme - Whether it was arguable that the second plaintiff had assigned the benefit of any rights under the policy of insurance issued by the defendant to the Scheme - Whether it was arguable that the second plaintiff had incurred any liability in respect of certain legal costs - Appeal from Master's order dismissing the defendant's application dismissed.
(a) dismissed the application of the defendant by summons dated 15 June 2004 (as amended by leave) for judgment for the defendant against the second plaintiff in respect of the second plaintiff's claims for relief (including declaratory relief) regarding:
(i) the sum of $1,314,941.01 paid on his behalf in December 2002 by HIH Claims Support Limited to Screenco Pty Ltd in part satisfaction of a judgment against him in a proceeding in the Supreme Court of New South Wales ("the NSW proceeding");
(ii) legal costs incurred by the second plaintiff in defence of the NSW proceeding; and
(b) granted leave to the second plaintiff to amend the further amended statement of claim pursuant to the plaintiff's summons dated 8 June 2004.
The Background to this Proceeding
(a) all rights to receive or to demand the receipt of any benefit arising from any claim which he had made or might make under his HIH policy, where the claim was the subject of the payment of a benefit under the Scheme; and
(b) any rights, however arising, which he might have or obtain against any person or organisation other than the HIH insurer, in connection with the matters which had given rise to his need to make a claim under the policy.
Such offer could only be accepted by HCSL paying a benefit under the Scheme. It was a condition of the Scheme that if HCSL accepted his offer, Steele would no longer have a right to recover any funds from HIH when it was "eventually liquidated". Thereafter, QBE on behalf of the Scheme assumed the conduct of Steele's defence in the NSW proceeding.
(a) first, HIH claimed equitable contribution from SGIC in respect of the sum of $80,684.03, being costs said to have been expended by HIH, as the insurer of Steele, in the NSW proceeding prior to the liquidation of HIH;
(b) secondly, Steele claimed a declaration that SGIC was liable to indemnify him under the SGIC policy in respect of all sums which he had paid or had been held liable to pay to Screenco and/or Dew in the NSW proceeding, and payment of those amounts, namely:
(i) the judgment debt of $1,461,045.57 including the amount of $1,314.941.01 paid by him in partial discharge of that liability; and
(ii) the legal costs incurred by him in the NSW proceeding after HIH stopped paying them.
(a) that the payment of $1,314,941.01 was not made by Steele but by QBE, as agent for HCSL, and that the payment of $1,314,941.01 extinguished, to the extent of the amount so paid, all liability of Steele to Screenco and Dew in the NSW proceeding and that, to that extent, there existed no liability in Steele to be indemnified under the SGIC policy;
(b) further, or in the alternative, that Steele had assigned all of his rights and benefits under the HIH policy to HCSL or to a related entity and that accordingly he had no right to claim indemnity under the policy; and
(c) that for SGIC to pay to Steele any sum claimed in this proceeding would be to unjustly enrich him in that he had suffered no loss for which he should be indemnified or compensated.
Further, SGIC denied that Steele had incurred costs in defence of the NSW proceeding and pleaded that all liabilities to pay the costs of Steele's legal representation in the NSW proceeding were incurred only by one or more of HIH, QBE and HCSL.
(a) by his agreement with HCSL ("the HCSL agreement") he assigned to HCSL any rights, howsoever arising, which he might have or obtain against any person or organisation other than HIH, in connection with the matters which might have given rise to his need to make a claim under the HIH policy;
(b) pursuant to the HCSL agreement HCSL paid a benefit under the Scheme, being the payment of $1,314,941.01 and the legal costs incurred in the NSW proceeding after HIH stopped paying them;
(c) the matters alleged by Steele in his further amended statement of claim were rights, howsoever arising, which he might have or obtain against any person or organisation other than HIH, in connection with the matters which might have given rise to his need to make a claim under the HIH policy;
(d) the HCSL agreement was a contract of indemnity; and
(e) further, and/or alternatively, that Steele had, in equity, assigned to HCSL the benefit of this proceeding.
"It is the principal claim by the second plaintiff that his action against the defendant is pursued under a right of subrogation held by HCSL which arises under its agreement with the second plaintiff to provide assistance to the second plaintiff."
Having referred to the defendant's amended defence, Mr Jones further deposed that:
"The plaintiffs ... wish to plead, as an alternative claim, that there was an assignment in equity by the second plaintiff to HCSL of the second plaintiff's rights of indemnity under the policy issued by the defendant, and that the second plaintiff is pursuing those rights of indemnity on behalf of HCSL."
"There is double insurance when an assured is insured against the same risk with two independent insurers. To insure doubly is lawful but the assured cannot recover more than the loss suffered and for which there is indemnity under each of the policies. The insured may claim indemnity from either insurer. However, as both insurers are liable, the doctrine of contribution between insurers has been evolved. It began in the second half of the eighteenth century with Lord Mansfield's decisions with respect to marine insurers and there is no doubt that it now applies generally to insurance which provides the insured with an indemnity. There is no reason why the doctrine should not apply to insurance against liability to third parties and there is every reason in principle that it should. The doctrine, however, only applies when each insurer insures against the same risk, although it is not necessary that the insurances should be identical. ... The element essential for contribution is that, whatever else may be covered by either of the policies, each must cover the risk which has given rise to the claim. There is no double insurance unless each insurer is liable under his policy to indemnify the insured in whole or in part against the happening which has given rise to the insured's loss or liability."[3]
"What attracts the right of contribution between insurers, then, is not any similarity between the relevant insurance contracts as regards their general nature or purpose or the extent of the rights and obligations they create, but is simply the fact that each contract is a contract of indemnity and covers the identical loss that the identical insured has sustained; for that is the situation in which 'the insured is to receive but one satisfaction' (to use Lord Mansfield's expression) and accordingly all the insurances are 'regarded as truly one insurance' ..."[4]
"A public liability policy and employer's liability policy are essentially insurances of indemnity. That being so any insured can recover no more than the amount required to indemnify him. If he has recovered the whole of the loss from one insurer then it is a defence at law to another insurer so to allege. ... The legal defence that the insured has already been indemnified is only available when the insured seeks to be indemnified in the strict sense twice over. The insured may sue at law any person who is liable to make good to him the damage which he has suffered and in respect of which he is insured whether that liability arises from tort or from contract. If the insured has already been indemnified by his insurer then the insurer is subrogated to the insured's right against the party primarily liable in contract or in tort for the amount of the damage. There is, however, no subrogation in the strict sense when there is double insurance. At the most there is in equity contribution."[5]
"As Jacobs JA has pointed out it is a good defence to an action against an insurer that the insured has recovered his loss, albeit from another insurer. The defence was pleaded by the respondent and the facts upon which it was based were not disputed because it was common ground that the appellant had recovered from the Government Insurance Office. In its pleading and in argument the appellant has sought to escape from the inevitable consequences of this situation by submitting that in the action the insured sues, not for his benefit, but by way of subrogation for the benefit of the Government Insurance Office. The submission misconceives the nature and effect of the doctrine of subrogation. Where an insurer is subrogated to the rights of the insured against a third party, the insured [sic - insurer?] does not acquire an independent cause of action in his own right. He succeeds to the insured's cause of action against the third party, in this case a right of action on the policy issued by the Jockey Club. That right of action remains in all respects unaltered; it is brought in the name of the insured and it is subject to all the defences which would be available if the action had been brought by the insured for his own benefit. Thus payment in full by the Government Insurance Office on account of the risk is a defence to the action by the appellant against the Jockey Club and it is no answer to that defence that the action is brought for the benefit of the insurer. In truth there was no relevant right in the appellant to which the Government Insurance Office could become subrogated. Once the insured was paid in full by that insurer, the insured had no cause of action which he could enforce against the Jockey Club on its policy either for his own benefit or for the benefit of the other insurer. The Government Insurance Office could, in an action in its name, recover a pro rata contribution from the Jockey Club as an insurer against the same risk under the doctrine of contribution (Albion Insurance Co Ltd v Government Insurance Office of NSW), but that is not the present proceeding. The present action has its origin in a failure to distinguish between the doctrine of subrogation and that of contribution. As it is put in Preston and Colinvaux, The Law of Insurance, 2nd ed., at p.135: 'Subrogation ensures that the assured shall receive no more than an indemnity; contribution ensures that the insurers shall not directly suffer injustice inter se because of that rule'."[6]
"The Sydney Turf Club has brought this claim against the defendant, the chairman for the time being of the Australian Jockey Club, for indemnity under its policy with the Australian Jockey Club in respect of its liability arising out of the accident. ... Since it has already, however, been indemnified by the Government Insurance Office in respect of that same liability the claim must fail. The claim appears to have been based on the misconception that the doctrine of subrogation operated in this case. That doctrine operates when the insurer is subrogated to the right of the insured against a third party. The insured, The Sydney Turf Club, has here no right against the third party, the Australian Jockey Club. There is therefore no question of the doctrine being invoked."[8]
"Further, Steele has incurred costs in defence of the NSW Proceeding
PARTICULARS
The NSW Proceeding has not been concluded in respect of issues of costs and interest. Particulars of Steele's costs liability and/or payment will be provided upon the conclusion of the NSW Proceeding."
This pleading is defective, in my opinion, because the particulars given seem quite inapposite. Indeed, they are simply a repetition of the particulars given in paragraph 15A which pleaded that:
"Steele remains liable on the unsatisfied part of the judgment including the costs of Screenco and RL Dew in the NSW Proceeding."
"the costs and disbursements incurred in conducting the defence and/or settlement of your claim including (but not limited to) the costs and disbursements of: - any lawyers and barristers appointed to act on your behalf; ..."
" * if it is necessary to appoint a third party service provider (such as a lawyer, barrister or an expert) you will be asked to enter into a separate retainer agreement with that service provider, under which you will agree to pay 10% of their costs and disbursements; * a service provider will not undertake any work on your matter until you have signed a retainer agreement relating to your share of their costs and disbursements; ..."
In the Conditions and Obligations part of the Scheme's "Offer to assign your policyholder rights" it was stated that if HCSL accepted the applicant's offer but the applicant did not comply with the requirements of the Scheme then HCSL could in its absolute discretion take various steps including withdrawing the provision of further assistance to the applicant under the Scheme in respect of the claim under the policy. Examples of what constituted a failure to comply with the terms of the Scheme were then set out including the following:
" * where you fail to pay the non-Scheme proportion (i.e. 10%) of the amount which HIH would have been obliged to pay under the policy including but not limited to the non-Scheme proportion of * the costs and disbursements incurred in conducting the defence and/or settlement of your claim (e.g. fees rendered by service providers such as lawyers, barristers and experts); ..."
[3] [1969] HCA 55; (1969) 121 CLR 342 at 345-346
[4] [1969] HCA 55; (1969) 121 CLR 342 at 352
[5] [1971] 1 NSWLR 724 at 730
[6] [1971] 1 NSWLR 724 at 734-735
[7] Sydney Turf Club v Crowley [1972] HCA 25; (1972) 46 ALJR 336
[8] Sydney Turf Club v Crowley [1972] HCA 25; (1972) 46 ALJR 336 at 338-339. See also Commercial and General Insurance Co Ltd v Government Insurance Office (NSW) (1973) 129 CLR 374.
[10] [2002] HCA 17; (2002) 209 CLR 282 at 292
[11] Dey v Victorian Railways Commissioners [1949] HCA 1; (1948) 78 CLR 62 at 91 per Dixon J
[12] General Steel Industries Inc v Commissioner for Railways (NSW) [1964] HCA 69; (1964) 112 CLR 125 at 130 per Barwick CJ
[14] [1960] 2 Lloyd's Rep 241 at 255. See also Trollope & Colls Limited v Haydon [1977] 1 Lloyd's Rep 244.
HIH Casualty & General Insurance Limited (in liq)
SGIC General Insurance Limited [2004] VSC 519
(1969) 121 CLR 342
(1972) 46 ALJR 336
(1973) 129 CLR 374
(2000) 50 NSWLR 324
(2002) 209 CLR 282
(1948) 78 CLR 62
(1964) 112 CLR 125
(1961) 105 CLR 569