austlii:cth/ARTA/2026/208
General information, not legal advice.
ARTA
2026-02-16
Senior Member J
Original judgment source is linked above.
LVJJ and Secretary, Department of Social Services (Social security second review) [2026] ARTA 208 (16 February 2026)
Respondent: Secretary, Department of Social Services
Tribunal: Senior Member J Longo (second review)
Decision: The Tribunal affirms the decision under review.
Names used in all published decisions are pseudonyms. Any references appearing in square brackets indicate that information has been removed from this decision and replaced with generic information so as not to identify involved individuals as required by subsections 201(1A)-201(1B) of the Social Security (Administration) Act 1999.
SOCIAL SECURITY - disability support pension - cancellation - compensable injury - compensation preclusion period - whether the compensation should be treated as not having been paid - whether there are special circumstances - decision affirmed
Social Security Act 1991 (Cth)
Brodley and Secretary, Department of Social Security [1991] AATA 669
G v Minister for Immigration and Border Protection [2018] FCA 1229
Groom and Secretary, Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs [2008] AATA 339
Hollis and Secretary, Department of Employment and Workplace Relations [2006] AATA 4
Ivovic and Director-General of Social Services [1981] AATA 57
JHSJ and Secretary, Department of Social Services (Social security second review) [2025] ARTA 611
Re John Clinton Alver and Secretary, Department of Social Security [1992] AATA 333
Massoud and Secretary, Department of Social Services (Social services second review) [2017] AATA 1366
Re Domenico Colaiacolo and Secretary, Department of Social Security [1985] AATA 91
Re Drake and Minister for Immigration and Ethnic Affairs (No 2) (1979) 2 ALD 634
Re Krzywak and Secretary, Department of Social Security (1988) 15 ALD 690
Re Groth and Secretary, Department of Social Security [1995] AATA 62
Re Beadle and Director -- General of Social Security [1984] AATA 176
Re Secretary, Department of Social Security and John Rodgers [1992] AATA 131
Secretary, Department of Social Security v Hales [1998] FCA 210
Watsemawa and Secretary, Department of Education, Employment and Workplace Relations [2010] AAT 1028
17(2) Subject to subsection (2B), for the purposes of this Act, compensation means:
(b) a payment under a scheme of insurance or compensation under a Commonwealth, State or Territory law, including a payment under a contract entered into under such a scheme; or
(c) a payment (with or without admission of liability) in settlement of a claim for damages or a claim under such an insurance scheme; or
(whether the payment is in the form of a lump sum or in the form of a series of periodic payments and whether it is made within or outside Australia) that is made wholly or partly in respect of lost earnings or lost capacity to earn resulting from personal injury.
Subject to subsection (2), if a person receives both periodic compensation payments and a lump sum compensation payment, the lump sum preclusion period is the period that:
(a) begins on the day following the last day of the periodic payments period or, where there is more than one periodic payments period, the day following the last day of the last periodic payments period; and
(b) ends at the end of the number of weeks worked out under subsections (4) and (5).
income cut-out amount, in relation to a person who has received a compensation payment, means the amount worked out using the formula in subsection (8), as in force at the time when the compensation was received.
For the purposes of this Part, the Secretary may treat the whole or part of a compensation payment as:
if the Secretary thinks it is appropriate to do so in the special circumstances of the case.
For what period is Ms LVJJ precluded from receiving a compensation affected payment due to the imposition of a compensation preclusion period?
Are there any reasons why the whole or any part of the compensation payment should be disregarded such that the preclusion period is reduced?
An expression such as "special circumstances" is by its very nature incapable of exhaustive definition. The qualifying adjective looks to circumstances that are unusual, uncommon or exceptional. Whether the circumstances answer any of these descriptions must depend upon the context in which they occur. For it is the context which allows one to say that the circumstances in one case are markedly different from the usual run of cases. This is not to say that the circumstances must be unique but they must have a particular quality of unusualness that permits them to be described as special.[9]
...It seems to me that the purpose of the provisions is to ensure that a person is not paid from two sources in respect of the same period of time. What are special circumstances must be considered against that background. Therefore, there will be special circumstances if the circumstances are such that it is unreasonable, unjust or inappropriate not to treat the whole or part of a compensation payment as not having been made bearing in mind that the provisions are intended to ensure that a person is not paid from two sources in respect of the same period of time.[10]
Ms LVJJ's submissions in relation to special circumstances
The Respondent's submissions in relation to special circumstances
The concept of special circumstances is broad. A constellation of factors, including financial circumstances, may fall within it. The express exclusion of financial hardship alone as a special circumstance is an indicator that it would otherwise be included. This gives some measure of the range of circumstances which will qualify as special. But as a matter of grammar and ordinary logic, the exclusion of financial hardship alone as a special circumstance does not mandate its inclusion in the range of matters constituting such circumstances for the purpose of enlivening the Secretary's discretion.
In Re Colaiacolo and Secretary, Department of Social Security (Decision No 2109, 24 April 1985), it was stated that the factor of financial hardship alone is not sufficient to amount to special circumstances unless it is 'exceptional'. Such exceptional circumstances were seen to exist in Re Krzywak (supra) where the applicant had no income or savings and had used all her award in repayment of debts incurred prior to settlement.[24]
49. It is also relevant that I should look at the cause behind the applicant's financial difficulties. Previous decisions of the Tribunal (see Re Ivovic and Director-General of Social Services (above), Re Latour and Secretary, Department of Social Security (1988) 16 ALD 279; Re Secretary, Department of Social Security and Rodgers (Decision No. 7911; 23 April 1992) have tended to take a hard line where someone has, through extravagance or thoughtlessness, brought about their own dilemma.
...The fact that an applicant has been injured and received a compensation payout usually results in that person being in ill health during the preclusion period or immediately thereafter. The various Tribunal determinations focus on the consequences of that ill health in making a determination as to special circumstances. In short ill health is the starting point of the exercise, not the determining factor. Further, it is usually the case when determining that ill health is a special circumstance, the ill health being experienced by an applicant is more severe than the majority of DSP recipients.[25]
[2] Under the transitional provisions in the Administrative Review Tribunal (Consequential and Transitional Provisions No. 1) Act 2024, applications for review to the AAT that were not finalised before 14 October 2024 are taken to be an application for review to the Tribunal.
[4] Social security benefit is defined in section 23 of the Act.
[9] [1984] AATA 176 at [12].
[10] [1995] AATA 62 at [41].
[11] Re Drake and Minister for Immigration and Ethnic Affairs (No 2) (1979) 2 ALD 634; G v Minister for Immigration and Border Protection [2018] FCA 1229.
[21] Watsemawa and Secretary, Department of Education, Employment and Workplace Relations [2010] AAT 1028; JHSJ and Secretary, Department of Social Services (Social security second review) [2025] ARTA 611 at [47].
[22] Hollis and Secretary, Department of Employment and Workplace Relations [2006] AATA 4 at [25].
[23] Groom and Secretary, Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs [2008] AATA 339; also, Re Secretary, Department of Social Security and John Rodgers [1992] AATA 131 and Re Domenico Colaiacolo and Secretary, Department of Social Security [1985] AATA 91.
[24] [1991] AATA 669 at [16] referring to the decision of SM Dwyer in Re Krzywak and Secretary, Department of Social Security (1988) 15 ALD 690.
[25] [2017] AATA 1366 at [70].
G
Minister for Im