austlii:nsw/NSWPICPD/2025/50
General information, not legal advice.
NSWPICPD
2025-07-01
Original judgment source is linked above.
DETERMINATION OF APPEAL AGAINST A DECISION OF THE COMMISSION CONSTITUTED BY A MEMBER
ComfortDelGro Corporation Australia Pty Ltd v Elmi-Anvari [2025] NSWPICPD 50
WORKERS COMPENSATION - failure to determine lump sum compensation claim; whether a valid or real medical dispute exists where forensic medical reports of both parties find 24% whole person impairment as a result of injury, but one party wishes to explore possibility of different "diagnosis" - absence of any notice under s 78, or application under s 289A(4), of the Workplace Injury Management and Workers Compensation Act 1998; distinction between concepts of "waiver" and discretionary procedural choices by parties referred to in Berowra Holdings Pty Ltd v Gordon [2006] HCA 32; 225 CLR 364; 228 ALR 387; 80 ALJR 1214 - distinguishing Skates v Hills Industries Pty Ltd [2021] NSWCA 142 and Shankar v Ceva Logistics (Australia) Pty Ltd [2021] NSWPICPD 18 - application of principles in Etherton v ISS Property Services Pty Ltd [2019] NSWWCCPD 53 at [102]-[105]
Mr D Stiles, counsel, at the oral hearing on 29 April 2025
Elmi-Anvari v ComfortDelGro Corporation Australia Pty Ltd [2024] NSWPIC 389
"... [the worker] enjoyed working as a bus driver ... A new manager ... was employed and the work environment changed significantly. [The manager] developed a dislike towards ... and ... targeted ... and alienated [the worker]. There was favouritism and [the manager] would give better shifts to the drivers he favoured. [The worker] was always given buses with a faulty camera, and sometimes he would require moving several buses to access the bus allocated to him in the middle of the yard trying to make his life harder. [The worker] had reported on multiple repeated occasions about [this] behaviour ... to HR but no action was taken and [the manager] continued to target and bully him constantly. [The worker] was dismissed constantly and felt let down by management ... [the manager] made allegations against [the worker] stating there were accidents and damages to the buses which [the worker] drove when there had been no accidents or damages ... also ... [the manager] would apply deductions of his accident demerit points, which ... would remain in his record for 24 months. When [the worker] raised concerns to [the manager], he stated that he was asked to look for another job. [The manager] would hide the positive compliments that [the worker] received from passengers and dismiss these compliments. On 23/6/2021 [the manager] threatened [the worker] after [he] challenged [the manager] being unfair by asking to drive a big bus ..., as it was his turn to drive a small bus. [The manager] was intimidating and replied ... 'I will kill you'. [The worker] stated that he felt scared but continued working. [The manager] was verbally abusive, denigrating and always threatening [the worker] ... This continued over two years ... [The manager's] behaviour did not change ... [the manager] continued changing his shifts and working hours without providing adequate prior notice".[3]
"He was rocking aggressively and shaking vigorously throughout the interview. He sat with downcast eyes and participated minimally in the interview with rapport poorly established. He was too agitated and tense in his demeanour. His speech was monosyllabic and minimal".[6]
"... it seems less likely Paranoid Schizophrenia as a diagnosis especially he did not report anything to me during assessment which happened via interpreter, in the presence of his wife. These kinds of tremors could come from medications, but I am not fully convinced that it could be that side effects from the prescribed medications [sic] as the worker's wife believes that this is part of his anxiety following alleged death threats from the supervisor, along with constant bullying and harassment at workplace".
"... acknowledged the complexity, permanency and severity of his psychiatric illnesses. But he does not meet the diagnostic criteria outlined in DSM 5 for Paranoid Schizophrenia, and I have not officially diagnosed him with this condition. Instead his presentation is of chronic PTSD with severe mood disorder. I'm unclear why Dr Dowla mentioned schizophrenia in his report. The reason I requested a referral to a neurologist was to assess [the worker's] abnormal limb movements and body shakes.
My expertise, continuous longitudinal assessments, extensive follow-ups and comprehensive understanding of [the worker's] condition should bolster the credibility and reliability of my diagnosis concerning his mental illnesses ... in a medicolegal context, psychiatrists are often considered more qualified to diagnose schizophrenia compared to neurologists".[11]
"1 That the [worker] does not suffer any [WPI] as alleged or at all.
The [appellant] intends to seek leave to issue directions for production to treating practitioners ... for which it became aware once Dr Roshandel's records became available ...
[Also] seeks a stay on these proceedings until the [worker] attends a psychological assessment to undertake MMPI testing pursuant to s 119 of the [1998 Act]".
"... sought that I issue an award for [the worker] for the percentage of [WPI] agreed by both the [worker's] and [appellant's] psychiatrists at 24%. The [appellant] sought that the [worker] be referred to a [MA] in accordance with my previous Order. I heard oral submissions and issued a further Order requiring the exchange of written submissions.
I vacated the existing appointment with a [MA]."[16]
(a) fact, law and discretion, in failing to afford procedural fairness by not granting leave to issue directions for production to the treating practitioners (Ground 1);
(b) law, by re-determining her earlier decision to refer the matter to a MA in the absence of any appeal application, or orders by the Commission in that regard (Ground 2), and
(c) law, by entering an award for the worker where there was a dispute between the parties, and the worker had not been assessed by a MA (Ground 3).
Has a real or valid medical dispute existed, including having regard to ss 78 and or 289(A)?
"Member Drake has sought further submissions from the [appellant] in relation to the [worker's] submission that there is no dispute ... and she should make orders confirming WPI ... the [appellant says] there is a dispute between the parties ... such that referral to [a MA] is appropriate ... this is obvious given the matter is before the [Commission] and the [worker] has filed proceedings seeking to resolve the dispute ... [and] has brought a claim for lump sum compensation and the [appellant] has not paid the claim, hence a dispute has arisen for which the [Commission] has the jurisdiction to now determine. In the absence of a dispute there is no jurisdiction for the Commission to make orders at all ... See ... s 288, 289 and s 289A."[27]
"... the parties clearly were in dispute given that without a dispute the [Commission] has no jurisdiction to determine the matter",
and the parties were in dispute because the worker:
"had made a claim for lump sum compensation and the Appellant had not paid [or determined] that claim. Pursuant to s 288 and s 289(3)(c) ... it was this dispute that provided ... the jurisdiction to determine the dispute ...".
"The [1998 Act] ... also provides that proceedings are to be conducted as informally as proper consideration of the matter permits and that the rules of evidence do not apply. Having regard to these provisions, I think that a fair reading of the Arbitrator's reasons is that he did take into account the events preceding the alleged assault, but considered ... they had little bearing on the issue of the reasonableness of the Health Network's actions".
"The relationship between the rules of evidence and hearings by the Commission is ... clear ... The rules of evidence do not apply. Thus, there is no prohibition on hearsay material and opinion evidence. Nevertheless ... the Commission is required to draw its conclusions from material that is satisfactory, in the probative sense, in order that it act lawfully and in order that conclusions reached by it are not seen to be capricious, arbitrary or without foundational material".
"These kinds of tremors could come from medications, but I am not fully convinced that it could be the side effects from the prescribed medications as the worker's wife believes that this is part of his anxiety following alleged death threats from the supervisor, along with constant bullying and harassment at workplace."
"A number of further amendments have now been identified ... to further improve the ... dispute resolution process ...Their purpose is to encourage earlier settlement of claims and to enhance the efficiency of both pre-dispute and dispute resolution processes ... the bill contains a number of measures aimed at facilitating earlier settlement of claims and ensuring that the matters referred to the commission are genuinely in dispute. These measures provide for the exchange of all relevant documents and identification of all relevant issues as part of the claim and dispute process ... this is not about accepting every claim made on an insurer. It is about making sure matters that go before the commission are genuinely in dispute ... the bill contains provisions that strengthen the commission's powers to decline to deal with disputes that do not comply with statutory prerequisites and to limit consideration of dispute to matters notified prior to lodgement ... However, the commission will acquire a specific new power to deal with a matter if it is in the interests of justice to do so".
"10. ... It was said that such proceedings are 'invalid' or a 'nullity'. In Minister for Immigration and Multicultural Affairs v Bhardwaj, three members of this Court pointed out in the context of administrative decisions that such expressions are statements of conclusion which are not necessarily helpful in resolving the rights of parties. Dangers are equally present in the context of proceedings in, and acts and orders of, courts.
38. ... 'Waiver' is a word which Cardozo J described as 'misleading' on account of the many things for which it is made to stand ..."
39. ... once it is appreciated that the court has jurisdiction and that its procedural rules have been engaged, concepts such as 'waiver' (and acquiescence and estoppel) are confusing and imprecise ... The conduct of pending proceedings by a party is relevant upon an application by that party for the exercise in its favour of a power of the court. The outcome of such an application depends not upon the exercise of the right of a litigant or upon its denial, but upon the exercise of a discretionary power given to the court".
"The starting point is a 'medical dispute'. That term is defined in s 319 of the [1998 Act] ... by reference to the existence of a 'dispute between a claimant and the person on whom a claim is made' about any of seven related subject matters including the degree of [WPI] as a result of an injury, whether the impairment is permanent, whether it is partly due to a previous injury or pre-existing condition and whether it is fully ascertainable. It may be expected that as a consequence of the ordinary operation of the regime at least in most cases the dispute will have been identified by a written exchange of competing claims.
The dispute between Mr Skates and the insurer was crystallised by the correspondence attached to Mr Skates' application; indeed, it was why the documents setting out both sides' claims were attached. That was the dispute which was referred to the Commission pursuant to s 288. It was a 'medical dispute' because the parties had made different claims about the degree of [WPI] suffered by Mr Skates as a result of the injury. It was therefore apt to be referred for medical assessment. The point of doing so was to resolve the dispute" (emphasis added).
"Medical reports enclosed with the [ARD] referred to specific injuries ... it was these injuries to which the insurer admitted liability and as to which a dispute arose concerning the precise extent of the injury. The insurer offered to accept a degree of [WPI] calculated at 12%; the applicant sought a payment calculated by reference to 18%. These figures were supported by medical reports".
"ACTING DEPUTY PRESIDENT: ... I did shut you down not permanently but temporarily in relation to the dispute matter so I'm going to invite you to say something about it ... section 289 says ... with respect to a dispute for a claim for lump sum compensation it can't be referred unless inter-alia there is a failure to determine. ... in other words, on one view ... jurisdiction is given on that basis under section 289 and there's no need to resort to 289A, is that what you say? ... it may have been what Mr Guest said in ... his earlier submissions."
Mr STILES: That is so, ... but what Mr Guest was getting at is that in 289A, subsection (2)(b) it says a matter is taken to have been previously notified as disputed if it concerns matters raised in writing between the parties before the dispute is referred to the President concerning an offer of settlement of a claim for lump sum compensation. So we say that that email correspondence which says nil offer in response to the claim for lump sum compensation that would be a matter that is previously notified in any event".[37]
"ACTING DEPUTY PRESIDENT: ... Mr Stiles, I take it that you may have been implying in any event - I say it's my preliminary view, I haven't looked at any authority for this but 289A does need to be resorted to because - and 289 needs to be looked at subject to 289A because of the words further restrictions in 289A.
ACTING DEPUTY PRESIDENT: Yes. So 289 alone doesn't ... get it up, yes. Yes, that's the way I ... (not transcribable 01: 28:40) ... All right. Anything else gentlemen?..."[38]
"... the plain terms of ... the correspondence are precisely the opposite. It's not ... an offer of settlement, it is we will not be making an offer, nil offer. It's not an assessment of [0% WPI] or some percentage of impairment which is below the compensable threshold or something like that, it's simply we're not making an offer".[39]
"It is evident from the text of s 281 that the provision is intended to promote the early determination of liability and assessment of claims for lump sum compensation. To facilitate that objective s 282 requires the claimant to provide 'relevant particulars about the claim ... sufficient to enable the insurer, as far as practicable, to make a proper assessment of the claimant's full entitlement on the claim'. The emphasis is on providing information to the insurer to enable it to make an expeditious and early determination of liability, and, if liability is accepted, to make an early and reasonable offer of settlement.
Sub-section 282(2) facilitates that purpose by directing that the employer can have the claimant examined. This is intended to provide a mechanism whereby the insurer can inform itself as to the impairment if any. The intent is to avoid referral to an AMS and to enable the parties to resolve medical disputes. ..." (emphasis added).
"(1) The person on whom a claim for lump sum compensation ... is made must, within the time required by this section ... (up to 2 months) determine the claim by -
(a) accepting liability and making a reasonable offer of settlement to the claimant, or
(b) disputing liability under Division 3 of Part 2 of Chapter 4 [relevantly referring to s 78] ...
Section 283 makes failure to comply with this section an offence. Section 78 requires notice of dispute to be given. If an offer of settlement is not made as required by this section, the claim can be referred for assessment as soon as the time for making the offer has expired.
(2A) The determination of a claim cannot be delayed beyond 2 months after the claimant has provided to the insurer all relevant particulars about the claim (that delay being on the basis that the degree of [WPI] ... is not fully ascertainable), unless the insurer has within that 2-month period notified the claimant that the degree of [WPI] ... resulting from the injury is not fully ascertainable.
(3) An offer of settlement is to specify an amount of compensation ... or a manner of determining an amount of compensation ...
(4) If an offer of settlement is made on the basis that the insurer accepts only partial liability for the claim, the offer is to include details sufficient to ascertain the extent to which liability is accepted
"Despite subsection (3), a dispute relating to previously unnotified matters may be heard or otherwise dealt with by the Commission if the Commission is of the opinion that it is in the interests of justice to do so."
"... There also appears to be no submission from either party as to whether or not they, or the Member, turned their minds to, and or dealt with, the power in s 289(4) ... the appellant is asked how and why it should be allowed to agitate the issue of causation (see reasons [38]) without leave ... under s 289A, and the respondent is asked to explain how and why such situation does necessarily mean the appellant is prevented from agitating the causation issue ...".
"... a dispute regarding causation ... [has] ... never been raised ... the appellant hasn't sought and doesn't seek today to agitate any causation issue. We say that the dispute was that which was crystallised by the ... email correspondence and that which led up to that.
What's contained in the part of the Reply ... is consistent ... with ... terms of the question of impairment and ... the issues raised in that email correspondence. It's not ... simply limited to the ... MMPI testing but uncertainties as to diagnosis and, therefore, a dispute regarding the level or degree of impairment. That is what we say is - was the dispute and remains the issue in dispute.
... we don't seek ... leave [under s 289A] because ... the dispute was already crystallised".[43]
"... Questions of causation are not foreign to medical disputes within the meaning of that term when used in the [1998] Act. A medical dispute is a dispute about or a question about any of the matters set out in s 319. Those matters include the degree of [WPI] of a worker as a result of an injury, and whether any proportion of permanent impairment is due to any previous injury or pre-existing condition or abnormality. The words in bold in relation to each of those matters call for a determination of a causal connection. Thus, the language of causal connection is squarely within the definition of 'medical dispute' ...".[45]
"256. ... since 'the nature of the injury' (or the 'condition' or 'aetiology of the condition') is not a matter on which an assessment in a [Medical Assessment] is conclusively presumed to be correct, the opinions of [a MA] on such matters do not bind the Commission. This follows from s 326(2), which states that '[a]s to any other matter, the assessment certified is evidence (but not conclusive evidence) in any such proceedings' ...
"The critical question ... is whether the errors infected the ... ultimate conclusion; that is whether they were operative errors in the sense discussed by Basten JA in Akora Holdings Pty Ltd v Ljubicic [2008] NSWCA 339 [Akora]."
In Akora, Basten JA (at [17]) relevantly stated:
"... it was not a material or operative error. If that conclusion were removed from the Deputy President's reasons, it is sufficiently clear that he would still have set aside the decision of the arbitrator for the reasons articulated ...".
"The principle that the Court should not order a retrial, even where error has been demonstrated in the proceedings below, unless 'some substantial wrong or miscarriage has been thereby occasioned' is now to be found in ... the Supreme Court Rules. As noted in Conway v The Queen (2002) 209 CLR 203 at [27] and [28] the principle derives from the general law and is consistent with long-standing practice in civil cases at common law in [NSW] ... The power to give a judgement which 'ought to have been given' in the Court below permits the dismissal of an appeal in circumstances where, despite apparent error, the judgement below did not result in a substantial miscarriage of justice ...
... The question ... is whether ... the trial judge has made an error, but reached the right result, or at least a result which can be seen, objectively, not to involve substantial injustice".
(a) notation (at [37]) of the worker's submission that there was "no end to the list of tests of any condition which could conceivably be carried out. However, Dr Ahmad was nevertheless able to reach a diagnosis and does not seek to [resile] from it in his supplementary report";
(b) finding (at [38]) that the degree of the worker's WPI was not in dispute, rather, "[i]t is in fact causation that the [appellant] wishes to dispute without actually issuing a notice to that effect", and notation of the appellant's submission that the "treating evidence suggests two alternative diagnoses ... [and Dr Ahmad] ... had indicated that these potential diagnoses may be relevant to an assessment of [WPI] and has sought leave to issue directions to treating doctors" (emphasis added), and
(c) finding (at [44]) that there was "no Notice of Dispute in relation to causation ...".
"On the 19th December 2023 the [appellant] wrote to Dr Roshandel with an authority from the [worker] seeking copies of clinical notes. Despite chasing production of these documents in January 2024, Dr Roshandel did not produce his clinical records to the [appellant].
Dr Roshandel's notes have been produced to the [worker] and are attached to the Application. These notes confirm that the [worker] has been referred to a number of medical practitioners to treat his psychological injury. Until receipt of the Application the [appellant's] solicitor was unaware of these practitioners.
These documents are likely to be relevant to the determination of these issues and may have significant forensic relevance. ... the [appellant] seeks leave to issue directions to the following medical practitioners or clinics;
(a) The Hills Clinic (Dr Pearson),
(b) Wentwest Mental Health
(c) Sunnyside clinic."
"This application should have properly formed part of an appeal of the Member's earlier orders ...
No such appeal was filed ... (nor application for review of the decision) and accordingly the order referring the matter to [a MA] was confirmed ... and was binding...".[53]
"102. Prior to the commencement of the [2018 Act] on 1 January 2019, s 65(3) of the 1987 Act provided as follows:
'If there is a dispute about the degree of permanent impairment of an injured worker, the Commission may not award permanent impairment compensation unless the degree of permanent impairment has been assessed by an approved medical specialist.'
'A reference in subsection (1) to an assessment includes an assessment of the degree of permanent impairment made by the Commission in the course of the determination of a dispute about the degree of the impairment that is not the subject of a referral under this part.'
[1] Worker's statement dated 5 February 2024, Application to Resolve a Dispute (ARD), pp 2-3.
[12] Application to Admit Late Documents dated 26 April 2024, pp 2-3.
[14] ComfortDelGro Corporation Australia Pty Ltd v Elmi-Anvari [2024] NSWPICPD 34.
[15] Elmi-Anvari v ComfortDelGro Corporation Australia Pty Ltd [2024] NSWPIC 389 (reasons).
[23] [2021] NSWPICPD 18 (Shankar).
[24] [2019] NSWWCCPD 53 (Etherton).
[25] [2002] HCA 22; 209 CLR 478; 76 ALJR 828 (Gerlach).
[27] Appellant's written submissions dated 1 July 2024.
[31] [2012] NSWCA 282, [2].
[32] Transcript of proceedings 29 April 2025 (T), T 30.23-31.21.
[34] Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Commission v May [2026] HCA 19, [10].
[36] [2021] NSWCA 142 (Skates).
[40] [2019] NSWWCCPD 61, [68]-[69].
[42] [2007] NSWWCCPD 227 (Mateus).
[44] [2014] NSWCA 264 (Bindah), [110].
[45] See also Jaffarie v Quality Castings Pty Ltd [2018] NSWCA 88 (Jaffarie), [80].
[48] [2012] NSWCA 45, [92].
[49] [2005] NSWCA 333 (Prest), [27]-[28].
[51] ARD, pp 180, 174 and 178 respectively.
[53] Appellant's submissions, p 5, [4]-[5].
[54] Appellant's submissions, p 5, [4].
[55] Samuel v Sebel Furniture Ltd [2006] NSWWCCPD 141.
[56] Worker's submissions dated 4 July 2024, [17].
[57] Appellant's submissions, p 6, [4].
[58] Appellant's submissions, pp 6-7, [5]-[7].
[60] Appellant's submissions, p 7, [7].
ComfortDelGro Corporation Australia Pty Ltd
Elmi-Anvari [2025] NSWPICPD 50;
(2002) 209 CLR 203