[2025] QIRC 307
General information, not legal advice.
Queensland Industrial Relations Commission
2025-11-10
Hartigan DP
Original judgment source is linked above.
WORKERS' COMPENSATION - MISCELLANEOUS MATTERS - where the respondent has filed an application in existing proceedings - where the respondent has raised a jurisdictional objection to the scope of the Queensland Industrial Relations Commission's jurisdiction to consider matters outside of the Workers' Compensation Regulator's review decision - where the appellant has sought relief in relation to issues allegedly not considered in the review decision - whether the paragraphs in the appellant's statement of facts and contentions fall within the scope of this workers' compensation appeal - whether the appellant can seek relief in regards to his leave and entitlements taken in a certain period - consideration of the scope of a workers' compensation appeal in the Commission - the application is granted
Workers' Compensation and Rehabilitation Act 2003 (Qld), s 32, s 144A, s 144B, , ,
Church v Simon Blackwood (Workers' Compensation Regulator) [2015] ICQ 31
Kim v Workers' Compensation Regulator [2019] ICQ 14
Wang v Workers' Compensation Regulator [2025] ICQ 20
Workers' Compensation Regulator v Scofield [2018] ICQ 3
Mr A.N. Tayler of Turner Freeman Lawyers on behalf of the Appellant
Ms L. Willson, Counsel, directly instructed by the Workers' Compensation Regulator
(a) What is the nature and scope of the appeal and are there any restrictions as to the subject matter of the appeal? ('Issue One')
(b) What was the case before the Regulator and what were the matters to be determined? ('Issue Two')
(c) Does the Commission have jurisdiction to decide whether the Appellant should be reimbursed his leave and be back paid weekly compensation for the period from 16 May 2022 to 18 September 2022? ('Issue Three')
Preliminary matter resulting in the adjournment of the determination of the application
Your claim has been accepted as a work-related aggravation (worsening) of a
pre-existing condition. Recent medical evidence confirms the aggravation will not improve with further treatment, and no longer prevents you from working, which means payments must stop.
This decision is made after careful consideration of available information and using legislation. I encourage you to read the attached decision, which includes detailed reasons.
Every decision is reviewed and confirmed by a manager. You may also request an external review. Any request for an independent review of this decision must be made within three months of receiving this letter. I've attached information to help with this choice
The last day that wages (known as 'weekly payments'), medical or rehabilitation expenses will be paid is 18 November 2022.
If treatment for a pre-existing or non-work-related condition is required, unfortunately WorkCover Queensland is unable to pay for this treatment.
To receive compensation payments, the requirements of the Act must be met. It's my decision that:
Your ongoing incapacity and requirement for treatment is no longer attributable to the work related injury sustained on 4 July 2021 [3].
I conclude that the work-related aggravation no longer prevents you from working, and will not improve with further treatment. Therefore, you have no ongoing entitlements.
This means that weekly payments, and payment for treatment must stop.
To reach a decision, I consider the information available and the requirements of the Act. Compensation under this claim covers an aggravation only and not the
pre-existing condition (sections 32(4) and 108(2)). Sections 144A and 144B outline when:
WorkCover Queensland has reviewed the medical information on [your] claim. Despite Dr Andrews supporting your surgery was required as a result of the work related event on 4 July 2021, as both Dr Tamba-Lebbie and Dr Holt agree the surgery undertaken was not required as a result of the work related injury sustained on 4 July 2021, WorkCover Queensland has accepted the surgery you have undertaken is not work related. It is reasonable to conclude that as WorkCover Queensland has not accepted liability for your surgery, any associated incapacity and requirement for treatment is also therefore not funded by WorkCover Queensland. Dr Holt has further confirmed there is no ongoing incapacity or requirement for treatment as result of the work related aggravation sustained on 4 July 2021.
After a careful review, I confirm your work-related aggravation no longer prevents you from working and will not improve with further treatment.
20 April 2022 for a work-related aggravation of a pre-existing right shoulder injury that occurred on 3 July 2021 and that WorkCover determined in a decision dated 6 December 2022, that ongoing incapacity and requirement for treatment was no longer attributable to the work-related injury from 18 November 2022.[4]
WorkCover issued reasons for decision dated 6 December 2022 and advised
Mr Chapman that his claim had been accepted as a work-related aggravation (worsening) of a pre-existing condition. WorkCover also advised they considered the medical evidence indicated Mr Chapman no longer had an incapacity for work or requirement for treatment for the aggravation of right shoulder cuff tear sustained on 4 July 2021, beyond 18 November 2022. WorkCover made the decision to terminate
Mr Chapman's entitlement to compensation in accordance with sections 144A and 144B of the Act.
It is this decision Mr Chapman seeks to be reviewed.
Section 144A of the Act states that a worker's entitlement to weekly payments of compensation stops when the incapacity because of the work-related injury stops. Section 144B of the Act states that a worker's entitlement to payment of medical treatment, hospitalisation and other expenses stops when the worker's entitlement to weekly payments stops, and the injury is not likely to improve with further medical treatment or hospitalisation so that medical treatment is no longer required to manage the injury.
(a) Does Mr Chapman have a total or partial incapacity for work because of the work-related injury (beyond 18 November 2022)?
(b) Does Mr Chapman require further medical treatment or hospitalisation for the management of the work-related injury (beyond 18 November 2022)?
I have confirmed the decision of WorkCover to terminate Mr Chapman's entitlement to compensation from 18 November 2022, in accordance with sections 144A and 144B of the Workers' Compensation and Rehabilitation Act 2003 (the Act).[5]
(a) the Commission does not have jurisdictional power to make a decision on matters outside of the Workers' Compensation Regulator review decision "to terminate
Mr Chapman's entitlement to compensation from 18 November 2022, in accordance with section 144A and 144B of the WCR Act";
(b) the Commission will not be able to consider whether the Appellant is entitled to weekly benefits from 16 May to 18 September 2022; and
21 August 2022, 22 August 2022 to 4 September 2022, 5 September 2022 to 18 September 2022, the appellant was paid a mixture of personal, annual and long service leave whilst he was off work as a result of the injury.[6]
Issue One - What is the nature and scope of the appeal?
"An order made by a Registrar is reviewable by way of a hearing
de novo. That means that the court reviewing the order begins afresh and exercises for itself any discretion exercised below by the Registrar. The parties commence the application again, subject to any restrictions in the rules upon the calling of evidence or provisions relating to the use before the court of evidence called before the Registrar. A hearing de novo involves the exercise of the original jurisdiction and 'the informant or complainant starts again and has to make out his case and call his witnesses': Builders Licensing Board v. Sperway Constructions (Syd.) Pty. Ltd.; see also Reg. v. Pilgrim; Campbell, 'Judicial Review and Appeals as Alternative Remedies', Monash University Law Review.
A hearing de novo may be contrasted with an appeal stricto sensu and an appeal by way of rehearing. In an appeal stricto sensu the question is whether, upon the material before the tribunal below, the conclusion which was reached was correct. An appeal by way of rehearing involves the rehearing of the matter as at the date of the appeal, but upon the evidence called before the tribunal below, subject to a power to receive further evidence. On an appeal by way of rehearing the rights of the parties must be determined by reference to the circumstances, including the law, as they exist at the time of the rehearing. But an appeal by way of rehearing does not call for a fresh hearing as does a hearing de novo; the appeal court does not hear the witnesses again: see Builders Licensing Board v. Sperway Constructions (Syd.) Pty. Ltd.; Quilter v. Mapleson; and Victorian Stevedoring and General Contracting Co. Pty. Ltd. and Meakes v. Dignan ." (citations omitted, emphasis added)
"Generally speaking, on appeal to the quarter sessions the justices are not limited to the evidence before the petty sessions, but they have to hear the whole matter de novo, and the issue is the same, and the justices are put in the same position as the justices in the court below." (emphasis added)
"(1) The Regulator must, within 25 business days after receiving the application, review the decision and decide (the review decision) to -
(c) set aside the decision and substitute another decision; or
(d) set aside the decision and return the matter to the decision-maker with the directions the Regulator considers appropriate."
Mr Wang could, both before the Commission and this Court, rely upon
... The ambit of a Commission hearing is determined by the case which was before the Regulator. However, the Regulator's actual decision is irrelevant. The parties start the case again and the appellant must make out their case anew ...[14]
(a) the nature of the hearing is a hearing de novo;
(b) a hearing de novo requires the parties to start the case again; and
(c) the scope of the appeal is determined by reference to the case or issue that was before the Regulator and any specific statutory provision which impinges on the boundaries of the case or issue to be determined.
Issue Two - What was the case or issue before the Regulator and what were the matters to be determined?
Issue Three - Does the Commission have jurisdiction to decide whether the Appellant should be reimbursed his leave and be back paid weekly compensation for the period 16 May 2022 to 18 September 2022?
[2] Workers' Compensation Regulator, 'Affidavit of Renee Matheson', Affidavit in Chapman v Workers' Compensation Regulator, WC/2023/84, 20 March 2024, Attachment RM1 ('WorkCover's Decision letter dated
[3] The Appellant's legal representative confirmed at the hearing on 27 May 2024 that the actual date of the injury was 3 July 2021, and not 4 July 2021, although throughout the documents in the review decisions, the injury date was noted as 4 July 2021; T1-18 ll 42-6.
[4] Workers' Compensation Regulator, 'Submissions on behalf of the Regulator', Submission in Chapman v Workers' Compensation Regulator, WC/2023/84, 13 May 2024, [3].
[5] Workers' Compensation Regulator, 'Affidavit of Renee Matheson', Affidavit in Chapman v Workers' Compensation Regulator, WC/2023/84, 20 March 2024, Attachment RM2, 1 ('Review decision dated 29 May 2023').
[6] Russell Chapman, 'Appellant's statement of facts and contentions physical and/or psychiatric/psychological secondary injuries', Form 9B in Chapman v Workers' Compensation Regulator, WC/2023/84, 24 August 2023, [17].
[8] [2015] ICQ 31 ('Church').
[9] Church (n 8) [28]-[30] (emphasis in original) (citations omitted).
[11] Wang v Workers' Compensation Regulator [2025] ICQ 20 ('Wang').
[12] Wang (n 11) [64]-[66] (citations omitted).
[15] Russell Chapman, 'Amended Submissions on behalf of the Respondent Russell Chapman', Submission in Chapman v Workers' Compensation Regulator, WC/2023/84, 23 May 2024, [26]. Appellant's amended submissions, [26] ('Appellant's Amended Submissions filed 23 May 2024').
[17] Appellant's Amended Submissions filed 23 May 2024 (n 15) [28].
[22] Workers' Compensation and Rehabilitation Act 2003 (Qld) s 145(1) ('WCR Act').
[23] Workers' Compensation Regulator v Scofield [2018] ICQ 3, [5].
[24] WCR Act (n 22) s 144A(1)(a)-(c); WCR Act (n 22) s 144B(1)(a)-(b).
Chapman
Workers' Compensation Regulator [2025] QIRC 307