[2025] ICQ 20
General information, not legal advice.
Industrial Court of Queensland
2025-09-23
Davis J
Original judgment source is linked above.
APPEAL AND NEW TRIAL - APPEAL - GENERAL PRINCIPLES - ADMISSION OF FURTHER EVIDENCE - GENERAL - where the appellant claimed to be injured when struck by a car walking home from his place of employment - where the Workers' Compensation and Rehabilitation Act 2003 (Workers' Compensation Act) provides that a claim for workers' compensation must be made within six months of the date of entitlement to compensation - where the appellant lodged his application late - where the Workers' Compensation Act allowed the insurer to waive the time limit - where the Workers' Compensation Act provided that the entitlement to compensation runs from the date 20 days before the claim was made - where the Workers' Compensation Act provides that the insurer may extend the period of cover - where the insurer waived the time limit - where the insurer did not extend the period of cover - where the appellant sought review of the insurer's decision not to extend the period of cover - where the respondent set aside the insurer's determination extending time for the claim - where the respondent decided that the appellant did not have a valid and enforceable claim - where the appellant appealed to the Queensland Industrial Relations Commission - where the appellant sought to adduce fresh evidence - where the Commission refused that application - where the Commission dismissed the appeal - where the appellant appealed to the Industrial Court of Queensland - where the appellant sought to adduce further evidence on the appeal - where the appellant sought to take other steps before the hearing of the appeal - whether the further evidence ought be admitted on appeal - whether further steps need to be taken before the hearing of the appeal
Industrial Relations Act 2016 (Qld), Chapter 11
Industrial Relations (Tribunals) Rules 2011 (Qld), r 61
Carlton v Simon Blackwood (Workers' Compensation Regulator) [2015] ICQ 029, cited
Church v Simon Blackwood (Workers' Compensation Regulator) [2015] ICQ 031, considered
Gerlach v Clifton Bricks Pty Ltd (2002) 209 CLR 478; [2002] HCA 22, cited
Kim v Workers' Compensation Regulator [2019] ICQ 14, cited
Lawless v The Queen (1979) 142 CLR 659; [1979] HCA 49, followed
Local Government Association of Queensland Ltd v Queensland Services Industrial Union of Employees and Ors [2017] ICQ 002, cited
R v Katsidis; ex parte Attorney-General (Qld) [2005] QCA 229, followed
R v Young (No 2) [1969] Qd R 566, followed
Ratten v The Queen (1974) 131 CLR 510; [1974] HCA 35, followed
Regan v WorkCover Queensland (2003) 174 QGIG 1009; [2003] ICQ 55, followed
Shrimpton v The Commonwealth (1945) 69 CLR 613; [1945] HCA 4, followed
Turay v Workers' Compensation Regulator [2023] ICQ 13, cited
Wang v Workers' Compensation Regulator [2023] QIRC 071, related
Wang v Workers' Compensation Regulator (No 2) [2023] QIRC 163, related
Wang v Workers' Compensation Regulator (No 3) [2023] QIRC 164, related
Wang v Workers' Compensation Regulator (No 4) [2023] QIRC 187, related
Workers' Compensation Regulator v Glass (2020) 4 QR 693; [2020] QCA 133, cited
Worker's Compensation Regulator briefed Mr Sapsford directly
(1) An application for compensation for an injury is valid and enforceable only if the application is lodged by the claimant within 6 months after the entitlement to compensation for the injury arises.
(2) If an application is lodged more than 20 business days after the entitlement to compensation arises, the extent of the insurer's liability to pay compensation is limited to a period starting no earlier than 20 business days before the day on which the valid application is lodged.
(3) Subsection (2) does not apply if death is, or results from, the injury.
(4) An insurer must waive subsection (1) for a particular application if it is satisfied that special circumstances of a medical nature, decided by a medical assessment tribunal, exist.
(5) Also, an insurer may waive subsection (1) for a particular application if -
(a) it is satisfied that a doctor, nurse practitioner or dentist has assessed the injury as resulting in total or partial incapacity for work; and
(b) the claimant lodged the application within 20 business days after the first assessment under paragraph (a).
(6) An insurer may waive subsection (1) or (2) for a particular application if the insurer is satisfied that a claimant's failure to lodge the application was due to -
(a) mistake; or
(b) the claimant's absence from the State; or
(c) a reasonable cause." (emphasis added)
(a) whether WorkCover should waive non-compliance with the six months' time limit for lodgement of the claim;[4] and
(b) whether WorkCover should waive the effect of s 131(2) and assess the entitlement to compensation for a period starting earlier than 20 business days prior to 23 April 2021.
(a) waived non-compliance with the time limit prescribed by s 131(1); but
(b) did not extend the period of cover beyond the period commencing 20 business days before 23 April 2021.
"[6] By Application in existing proceedings filed on 13 March 2023, Mr Wang seeks orders that:
[7] The reasons Mr Wang gives for the orders he seeks in the 13 March application are:
"[9] By Application in existing proceedings filed on 27 March 2023, Mr Wang seeks orders that the following documents be admitted into evidence for the reasons stated:
[10] Mr Wang also seeks an order that the identity of Mr Wang's previous lawyer, who he claims told him that '... he do [sic] not have a 'Workers' Compensation and other type of claim' on 12 September 2019' be supplied by him to the Commission."[11]
"1. Leave to appeal on grounds other than those in s 557(1) and pursuant to s 557(2) of the Industrial Relations Act 2016 (Qld).
"1. The Commissioner erred in failing to appropriately consider the interests of persons immediately concerned with the appeal, pursuant to s 531(3) of the Industrial Relations Act 2016(Act 2016) in relation to equity, good conscience and the substantial merits of the case required. Because on the Commissioner decision dated 5 June 2023, the Commissioner failed to appropriately consider the following are facts:
a). On 28 August 2019, the Appellant sustained a significant work-related injury; the majority injuries are left foot, left ribs and Trapezius injury.
b). On 20 May 2020, Dr. Angus Nicoll, the Independent Medico-legal Expert assessed that the Appellant's injuries sustained on 28 August 2019 resulted 8% of Whole Person permanent impairment.
c). On 30 June 2020, Evelyn Ross, the Occupational Therapist assessed that the Appellant is precluded for pursuing further work as Motor Mechanic and Service Engineer which the Appellant experienced or trained because of the injuries sustained on 28 August 2019.
d) On 18 March 2021, the Appellant's work-related injuries were deteriorated and Dr. Robert Pozzi performed a surgery for the Appellant's left foot, which resulted the Appellant in total or significant incapacity for work for more than 12 months.
e). On 21 April 2021, the Appellant obtained the 1st "Work Capacity Certificate" which issued by Dr. Yelena Krasnova, and the certificate lodged to Workcover Queensland on 23 April 2021.
f). On 12 August 2021, WorkCover Queensland has accepted the Appellant's application for compensation for Lisfranc injury to left foot, left rib injury, Trapezius injury they sustained on 28 August 2019. In addition, Workcover Queensland accepted liability from 26 March 2021.
g). On 21 August 2021, the appellant lodged "Application for claim review" to the Respondent to review to waive the limited of period for starting pay compensation, which relevant the s 131(2) and the s 141(5) of the Workers' Compensation and Rehabilitation Act 2003(Act 2003).
h). On 2 December 2021, when the Respondent made a decision and added s 131(1) of the Act 2003 to reject the Appellant's Workcover compensation, the Appellant was still in total incapacity for work.
j). Until to the date of the hearing on 8 March 2023, the Appellant's work-related injuries:
"1. Leave to appeal on grounds other than those in s 557(1) and pursuant to s 557(2) of the Industrial Relations Act 2016 (Qld).
"1. The Commissioner erred in failing to appropriately consider that the Respondent admitted that the Appellant sustained work-related injuries on 28 August 2019 and entitled to compensation from and on 28 August 2019 pursuant to the Act 2003.
(a) the review by the Commission was one that is conducted de novo; and
(b) what is heard "de novo" are the issues which were before the Regulator.
(a) Mr Wang relied on ss 131(5), 131(6) and 36A of the WCR Act to ground his appeal seeking a waiver of the time limit prescribed by s 131(1);
(b) as Mr Wang did not rely on either ss 131(5) or 36A of the WCR Act in his review to the Regulator, the only issue before the Regulator was whether the time for lodgement of the claim for compensation should be waived by force of s 131(6);
(c) as Mr Wang did not seek to rely upon s 131(5) in the review by the Regulator, s 131(5) was not in issue before the Commission; and
(d) Mr Wang sought to rely upon s 36A but as that was not raised in the review by the Regulator, consideration of it was also not in issue before the Commission.
(a) is diagnosed by a doctor after the commencement of this section as having a latent onset injury; and
(b) applies for compensation for the latent onset injury.
(2) The following questions are to be decided under the relevant compensation Act as in force when the injury was sustained -
(a) whether the person was a worker under the Act when the injury was sustained;
(b) whether the injury was an injury under the Act when it was sustained.
(3) Section 131 applies to the application for compensation as if the entitlement to compensation arose on the day of the doctor's diagnosis.
(4) Subject to subsections (2) and (3), this Act applies in relation to the person's claim as if the date on which the injury was sustained is the date of the doctor's diagnosis. ..." (emphasis added)" (emphasis added)
"I acknowledge your submission that your solicitor failed to act on your behalf, nor advise you of your potential workers' compensation rights. However, I am unable to substantiate on the evidence available to me that this in fact occurred. There is no evidence available to suggest you were provided with incorrect legal advice and relied on that incorrect advice, nor that any steps were taken to lodge an application by either yourself or a legal representative, that may amount to a mistake. Further, I am unable to substantiate that any omission of your previous legal representative to advise you of your workers' compensation rights was in fact the reason for you not lodging the application within time. I consider there are multiple reasons you have submitted as causing the delay in lodging your application and accordingly, given the definitions set out in the case law above, I am unable to substantiate that the delay in lodging your application was due to a mistake."
"I acknowledge your submission that you were unaware of the six month time period in which to lodge an application under section 131(1) of the Act. The decision in Mayne Group Limited v Q-COMP is authority for the proposition that a workers' unawareness as to their rights or obligations under the Act does not amount to a reasonable cause for a failure to lodge an application within the required time period.
I also acknowledge your submission that you reported your injury to your employer and that your employer failed to report an injury to WorkCover, in accordance with section 133 of the Act. I have had regard to the decision in Alan Russell Wiley v Q-COMP where it was considered that an omission of the employer to inform WorkCover of an injury does not take away the worker's responsibility to act in a reasonable time, unless there are circumstances beyond the worker's control which make the worker incapable of lodging a claim for compensation. I do not consider the available evidence proposes a circumstance beyond your control which made you incapable of lodging an application within the relevant time period.
Further, I consider the case law suggests it is the worker's responsibility to take action to apply for workers' compensation in accordance with the six month time period under section 131(1) of the Act. I am satisfied a decision was made to manage your injury outside of the workers' compensation scheme. Accordingly, I do not consider the available evidence suggests a circumstance existed that amounts to a reasonable cause for the six month time limit to be waived under section 131 (6) of the Act.
Upon consideration of the evidence in its entirety, I am not satisfied a reasonable cause has been established to waive the time period for applying for compensation. Therefore, I have determined the failure to lodge your application within the six month time period was not due to a reason set out in section 131(6) of the Act."
"• the doctors at the Cairns Hospital, where he was admitted on 28 August 2019 after he was struck by the vehicle, mistakenly did not determine his injury was one under the Act and did not issue him a Work Capacity Certificate;
(1) A party aggrieved by the industrial magistrate's or the industrial commission's decision may appeal to the industrial court.
(2) The Industrial Relations Act 2016 applies to the appeal.
(3) The appeal is by way of rehearing on the evidence and proceedings before the industrial magistrate or the industrial commission, unless the court orders additional evidence be heard.
(4) The court's decision is final." (emphasis added)
"I accept that the statutory power to hear 'additional evidence' is constrained only by the proper exercise of discretion and is not to be exercised only in those cases in which 'fresh evidence' would be received in a civil matter at common law, compare Chalk v WorkCover Queensland [2002] QIC 100; (2002) 171 QGIG 327 at 328. However, I can see no reason why the accumulated wisdom of the common law should be ignored. Having regard to the desirability of finality in litigation, the upset and cost of litigation after a trial is completed and the need to encourage litigants to prepare for trial in a proper way, I can see no justification for exercising the statutory discretion to let in additional evidence which might, by the exercise of reasonable diligence, have been discovered by the appellant prior to the trial."
(a) the time limit should be waived so that the claim was valid and enforceable; but
(b) Mr Church had not sustained an "injury" within the meaning of s 32 of the WCR Act.[49]
"[34] Mr Wang then contends that he then had no medical treatment in respect of his injuries until 3 February 2020 when he consulted Dr Pozzi and that on 18 March 2021, he had '... left foot Lisfranc fusion surgery'. Dr Pozzi confirmed that he conducted that surgery on Mr Wang's left foot on that date. Mr Wang then contends the '... surgery hugely changed the Appellant's working and life living circumstances.' On these statements of fact by Mr Wang and the other evidence to which I have referred, which were not disputed by the Regulator, a reasonable inference to draw is that any incapacity Mr Wang suffered in April 2021 was as a result of his recovery from the left foot surgery and not as a direct result of any injury he suffered on 28 August 2019.
[35] In those circumstances, it is unlikely that s 131(5) of the Act could have any application to Mr Wang's circumstances as a result of the Work Capacity Certificate issued by Dr Krasnova dated 21 April 2021. Further, as I stated in Wang v Workers' Compensation Regulator (No. 2), the Work Capacity Certificate issued by Dr Krasnova dated 21 April 2021 was not tendered into evidence. This was because I upheld an objection made by the Regulator to the tender of that document because Mr Wang attempted to tender that document in his final submissions in the absence of Mr Wang calling Dr Krasnova to give evidence."
"544 Decision-maker must give information to Regulator
(1) The Regulator may, by written notice, require the decision-maker to give the Regulator -
(a) within 5 business days after receiving the notice -
(i) all relevant information and documents in relation to the application that is in the decision-maker's possession; or
(ii) the information asked for by the Regulator; or
(iii) if the Regulator believes on reasonable grounds that the reasons given by the decision-maker for the decision-maker's decision have not addressed the matters prescribed under a regulation for section 540(4) - reasons for the decision that address those matters; or
(b) within the period stated in the notice, any further information the Regulator needs to decide the matter.
(2) The notice may state the way the information, documents and reasons must be given.
(3) The decision-maker must comply with the notice.
(4) The decision-maker must pay the cost of obtaining the further information."
[3] Section 131(3) does not apply.
[4] Section 131(1), (4), (5) and (6).
[5] W_o_rkers' Compensation and Rehabilitation Act 2003, Chapter 13, Part 2.
[6] W_o_rkers' Compensation and Rehabilitation Act 2003, Chapter 13, Part 3, Division 1.
[7] Industrial Relations (Tribunals) Rules 2011, Part 2, Division 1, Subdivision 7, r 61.
[8] Wang v Workers' Compensation Regulator [2023] QIRC 071.
[9] Wang v Workers' Compensation Regulator (No 2) [2023] QIRC 163.
[12] Wang v Workers' Compensation Regulator (No 2) [2023] QIRC 163 at [3] and [4].
[13] Wang v Workers' Compensation Regulator (No 2) [2023] QIRC 163.
[14] Wang v Workers' Compensation Regulator (No 3) [2023] QIRC 164.
[15] Wang v Workers' Compensation Regulator (No 4) [2023] QIRC 187.
[16] See paragraphs [76] to [80] of these reasons.
[18] Workers' Compensation and Rehabilitation Act 2003, s 7 and Schedule 6.
[19] See paragraph [36] of these reasons.
[20] Wang v Workers' Compensation Regulator (No 3) [2023] QIRC 164 at [34] and [35].
[26] Wang v Workers' Compensation Regulator (No 3) [2023] QIRC 164, shown by the various headings appearing between paragraphs [47]-[97].
[27] Wang v Workers' Compensation Regulator (No 3) [2023] QIRC 164 at [48].
[42] Workers' Compensation Regulator v Glass [2020] QCA 133; (2020) 4 QR 693.
[43] Lawless v The Queen [1979] HCA 49; (1979) 142 CLR 659 at 674-676; and Ratten v The Queen [1974] HCA 35; (1974) 131 CLR 510 at 516-517.
[44] R v Young (No 2) [1969] Qd R 566; and see generally, the judgment of Jerrard JA in R v Katsidis; ex parte Attorney-General (Qld) [2005] QCA 229 at [10]- [19].
[45] Shrimpton v The Commonwealth [1945] HCA 4; (1945) 69 CLR 613 at 629-630; and Gerlach v Clifton Bricks Pty Ltd (2002) 209 CLR 478 at [69]-[70] per Kirby and Callinan JJ in dissent on other points.
[47] Regan was followed in Kim v Workers' Compensation Regulator [2019] ICQ 14 at [18]; in turn following Carlton v Simon Blackwood (Workers' Compensation Regulator) [2015] ICQ 029 at [4]; and Local Government Association of Queensland Ltd v Queensland Services Industrial Union of Employees and Ors [2017] ICQ 002 at [13].
[49] The decision that Mr Church had not sustained an "injury" was made after the decision to waive the time limit. The claim had been remitted to WorkCover to determine whether an "injury" had been suffered, WorkCover decided it had not, and the Regulator affirmed that decision on review.
[52] Transcript, 30 July 2024, T1-14; and Exhibit 12.
[54] The file note made by Ms Dunnell is Exhibit 16.
Wang
Workers' Compensation Regulator [2025] ICQ 20
(2002) 209 CLR 478
(1979) 142 CLR 659
(1974) 131 CLR 510
(1945) 69 CLR 613