austlii:nsw/NSWPICMP/2025/822
General information, not legal advice.
NSWPICMP
2025-10-23
Original judgment source is linked above.
Byron Shire Council v Bridge [2025] NSWPICMP 822
WORKERS COMPENSATION - Workplace Injury Management and Workers Compensation Act 1998; review of Medical Assessment Certificate (MAC); respondent worker suffered an injury of post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) due to his employment as a police officer between 1990 and 2010 for which he received compensation for a permanent impairment of 17% whole person impairment (WPI); the respondent also suffered an injury of PTSD due to stressors to which he was exposed in his employment with the appellant between January 2021 and September 2022; Medical Assessor (MA) did not make any deduction pursuant to section 323 when assessing the respondent's permanent impairment resulting from his injury with the appellant on the basis that the respondent's PTSD due to his employment as a police officer had been successfully treated and that the respondent was functioning normally when he commenced his employment with the appellant; whether the MA erred by not making a deduction under section 323; Held - the MA erred; MAC revoked.
Dr Himanshu Singh, a Medical Assessor, who issued a Medical Assessment Certificate (MAC) on 1 July 2025. 2. The appellant relies on the following grounds of appeal under s 327(3) of the Workplace Injury Management and Workers Compensation Act 1998 (the 1998 Act): * the assessment was made on the basis of incorrect criteria, and * the MAC contains a demonstrable error. 3. The delegate is satisfied that, on the face of the application, at least one ground of appeal has been made out. The Appeal Panel has conducted a review of the original medical assessment but limited to the ground(s) of appeal on which the appeal is made. 4. Rule 128 of the Personal Injury Commission Rules 2021 (the PIC Rules) and Procedural Direction PIC7 - Appeals, reviews, reconsiderations and correction of obvious errors in medical disputes set out the practice and procedure in relation to the medical appeal process under s 328 of the 1998 Act. An Appeal Panel determines its own procedures in accordance with r 128(1) of the PIC Rules. 5. The assessment of permanent impairment is conducted in accordance with the SIRA NSW Workers Compensation Guidelines for the Evaluation of Permanent Impairment, 4th ed
1 September 2024 that his solicitors had obtained and wherein Dr Rastogi advised she diagnosed the respondent's injury as post-traumatic stress disorder and further advised she assessed the degree of the respondent's permanent impairment from his injury as 22% whole person impairment (WPI). Dr Rastogi noted within her report that the respondent had a previous history of post-traumatic stress disorder for which he had been treated with psychological counselling and from which he had made a "recovery". Dr Rastogi did not make any deduction when assessing the degree of the respondent's permanent impairment from his injury for any proportion of the respondent's permanent impairment due to his prior history of post-traumatic stress disorder. It can be inferred therefore that Dr Rastogi considered that the respondent's prior post-traumatic stress disorder did not contribute to the respondent's permanent impairment from the injury he suffered due to his employment with the appellant. 3. The Appeal Panel observes at this point that the respondent was previously employed between 1990 and 2010 by the State of New South Wales as a police officer. He suffered an injury in the form of post-traumatic stress disorder due to matters that occurred within that employment. He instituted proceedings in the former Workers Compensation Commission (WCC) seeking the WCC determine a disputed claim he had made against the State of New South Wales for compensation for permanent impairment from that injury. The WCC referred the matter to Approved Medical Specialist Dr Robert Gertler who assessed the respondent's permanent impairment from the injury he suffered from his employment as a police officer resulted in his having a degree of permanent impairment of 17% WPI. 4. Returning to the narrative regarding the respondent's current claim, the appellant denied it was liable to pay compensation to the respondent for permanent impairment. It relied on a report its solicitors obtained from psychiatrist Dr Abhishek Nagesh dated 22 January 2025. Dr Nagesh diagnosed the respondent's injury as post-traumatic stress disorder and major depressive disorder. Dr Nagesh assessed the degree of the respondent's permanent impairment from those psychiatric illnesses as 24% WPI. Dr Nagesh however considered that 40% of this permanent impairment is due to the respondent's pre-existing post-traumatic stress disorder and hence made a deduction of that order when assessing the degree of the respondent's permanent impairment from his injury due to his employment with the appellant. Hence, Dr Nagesh advised in his report he assessed the degree of the respondent's permanent impairment from his injury with the appellant is 14% WPI. That is beneath the threshold imposed by s 65A(3) of the Workers Compensation Act 1987 for a worker to be entitled to compensation for permanent impairment from a psychiatric injury, and hence the appellant's refusal of the respondent's claim. 5. Following that, the respondent instituted proceedings in the Personal Injury Commission (Commission) by lodging an Application to Resolve a Dispute dated 25 March 2025. The matter found its way to Member Glenn Capel to deal with preliminary issues. The Commission issued a Certificate of Determination that was amended on 16 June 2025 recording determinations that Member Capel made with the parties' consent, one of which included that the matter be remitted to the President for referral to a Medical Assessor to assess the degree of the respondent's permanent impairment from his injury. A delegate of the President duly attended to that task by issuing a referral to the Medical Assessor that was amended on 23 June 2025. 6. As said, the Medical Assessor issued a MAC in response to that referral on 1 July 2025. In that he certified he assessed the degree of the respondent's permanent impairment from his injury is 24% WPI. The Medical Assessor diagnosed the respondent's injury arising from his employment with the appellant is post-traumatic stress disorder. 7. The Medical Assessor noted within the MAC that his assessment was based on his clinical interview with the respondent, his mental state examination of the respondent and documentation received "including previous IME". At the commencement of the MAC under the heading "evidence" the Medical Assessor provided very brief summaries of the reports of "independent medical experts", that included the reports of Dr Rastogi and Dr Nagesh on which the parties relied, and also a brief summary of the Medical Assessment Certificate that Approved Medical Specialist Dr Robert Gertler issued on 26 October 2010. 8. The Medical Assessor recorded within the MAC the respondent's previous diagnosis of post-traumatic stress disorder that was a consequence of his exposure to multiple traumatic events during his policing career. The Medical Assessor noted the respondent received treatment for that until 2010. The Medical Assessor noted that the respondent reported that he had recovered from his symptoms and was symptom free when he commenced his employment with the appellant. 9. The Medical Assessor did not make any deduction under s 323(1) of the 1998 Act for any proportion of the respondent's permanent impairment due to his pre-existing post-traumatic stress disorder. Indeed, at the appropriate place with the approved form for a MAC, the Medical Assessor stated that no proportion of the respondent's permanent impairment is due to his pre-existing posttraumatic stress disorder.
"To measure the impairment caused by a work-related injury or incident, the psychiatrist must measure the proportion of WPI due to a pre-existing condition. Pre-existing impairment is calculated using the same method for calculating current impairment level. The assessing psychiatrist uses all available information to rate the injured worker's pre-injury level of functioning in each of the areas of function. The percentage impairment is calculated using the aggregate score and median class score using the conversion table below. The injured worker's current level of WPI% is then assessed, and the pre-existing WPI% is subtracted from their current level, to obtain the percentage of permanent impairment directly attributable to the work-related injury. If the percentage of pre-existing impairment cannot be assessed, the deduction is 1/10th of the assessed WPI."
(a) an Appeal Panel or a Medical Assessor can assess a worker's pre-injury level of functioning in all areas of PIRS and assess that level of functioning as unimpaired, that is 0% WPI, but
(b) the worker's prior injury does contribute to the worker's current level of impairment.
That is, in such circumstance there must be a deduction of one-tenth, in accordance with s 323(2), for the proportion of the worker's permanent impairment that is due to the prior injury, if the evidence reveals that a proportion of the worker's current permanent impairment is due to the previous injury notwithstanding that the worker's pre-injury impairment from the prior injury at the time the worker suffers the subsequent injury is at that time assessed at 0%. That ensures that the final sentence of paragraph of 11.10 is read harmoniously with s 323(2). If it were otherwise, it would be inconsistent with s 323(2).
This Certificate is issued pursuant to s 328(5) of the Workplace Injury Management and Workers Compensation Act 1998.
The Appeal Panel revokes the Medical Assessment Certificate of Medical Assessor Himanshu Singh and issues this new Medical Assessment Certificate as to the matters set out in the Table below:
Chapter, page and paragraph number in NSW workers compensation guidelines
Chapter, page, paragraph, figure and table numbers in AMA 5 Guides
Proportion of permanent impairment due to pre-existing injury, abnormality or condition
Sub-total/s % WPI (after any deductions in column 6)
Total % WPI (the Combined Table values of all sub-totals)
[1] [2025] NSWSC 213 (Matheson).
[4] Matheson [22]-[29] and [35].
[5] Elcheikh v Diamond Formwork (NSW) Pty Ltd (in liq) [2013] NSWSC 365 at [95]; Pereira v Siemens Ltd [2015] NSWSC 1133 at [88]- [90].
[6]Cullen Woodbrae Holdings Pty Ltd [2015] NSWSC 1416 at [46].
[7] Calman v Commissioner of Police [1999] HCA 60 at [38]- [30] which dealt with an incapacity resulting from injury but the principle discussed is germane for a permanent impairment resulting from a work injury.
[8] Secretary, NSW Department of Education v Johnson [2019] NSWCA 321 at [49]- [55].
Byron Shire Council
Bridge [2025] NSWPICMP 822;