[2017] AATA 1244
General information, not legal advice.
Administrative Appeals Tribunal of Australia
2017-08-10
Senior Member J
Original judgment source is linked above.
"Having considered his circumstances more broadly, the tribunal notes that, like most compensation recipients, Mr Bruinger has significant health issues and ongoing medical costs. However, it is because of such matters, and the related loss of earning capacity, that compensation was paid. Whilst Mr Bruinger maintains that he has insufficient funds to support himself until January 2019, he currently retains $39,000 of his settlement. As noted by the authorised review officer, the current maximum rate of age pension (including rent assistance) is just under $1,000 per fortnight. As such, Mr Bruinger's readily available funds are equivalent to more than a year and a half's worth of age pension, and, thus, should be sufficient to support himself for the majority of his remaining preclusion period. In addition, Mr Bruinger has potentially realisable assets and has the prospect of reduced living expenses once his daughter moves in and shares the cost of rent and utilities. On the evidence before the tribunal, Mr Bruinger is not currently in a position of financial hardship and was certainly not in such a position when his preclusion period was applied in 2015."
"This particular piece of legislation....was aimed specifically at preventing those people receiving compensation for loss of income because of incapacity for work, from being able also to receive benefit from the public purse...Primary responsibility for the payment of such compensation lies at the feet of those responsible for the compensable injury. Once that responsibility has been met, by way of a settlement sum agreed to by both parties, it is inequitable for the recipient to seek supplementary funds from the taxpayer."
"the statutory requirement for 'special circumstances' discloses an intention to proscribe waiver in ordinary cases. The hardship or unfairness...must be understood to be hardship or unfairness sufficient to justify departure from the general rule in the particular case."
"...the authorities have emphasised time and again the importance of maintaining flexibility in determining what constitutes special circumstances. The danger is that the test will be overstated if the word 'exceptional' is emphasised. It was not the intention of parliament to confine the exercise of the discretion to an exceptional case. There is less risk of overstatement if the words 'unusual' or 'uncommon' are emphasised. Those words indicate, correctly in my view, the fact that there must be something that distinguishes the case from the ordinary or usual case."
"The decision before the tribunal in this case arose under s 1184K of the Act. It was necessary to the exercise of the power conferred by that section that the tribunal identified 'special circumstances of the case' in which it thought it 'appropriate' to treat the whole or part of the relevant compensation payment as not having been made. In giving its reasons for a decision under that section to treat the whole or part of a compensation payment as not being made it would be expected, consistently with s 43, that the Tribunal would:
"Because of accident I was left disabled with no way of ever earning an income, I have had a few Govt people look at the formula and the figures that the Dept Centrelink have used and they note many inaccuracies. The same bill does not suit everyone. The newstart and age pension that was granted me was entirely paid back in full. I and my doctors know that soon I will be on oxygen 24 hrs a day and possibly in a nursing home. In 1965 as I left school, I was told that you work 50 yrs, pay high taxes and retire on a pension. I worked 50 years paid high taxes - 1/3 tax for single man 65-72. No super for first 30 yrs. Now have pulmonary fibrosis from working conditions. So I ask how much has this review cost so far with high salaried public servants too afraid to admit their mistake."
"The legislation provides for the payment of a variety of benefits to different classes of people who will usually have one thing in common: they will be impecunious and in straitened circumstances. Very often their stories will be quite tragic."
"Here the factual assumptions upon which the calculations are based, including that which treats 50% of the total compensation payment as representing the economic loss component, could not have been intended to be subject to rebuttal in the process of applying the formulae. The statutory purpose is to overcome the need in each case to determine what part of a lump sum compensation payment in truth represents economic loss. Although the assumptions to be made and the result reached are necessarily arbitrary, it is a course which has been taken for administrative simplicity."
I certify that the preceding 87 (eighty-seven) paragraphs are a true copy of the reasons for the decision herein of Senior Member J Sosso
..........................[Sgd]..............................................
Angelakos v Secretary, Department of Employment and Workplace Relations [2007] FCA 25
Davis and Secretary, Department of Family and Community Services [1999] AATA 84
Director General of Social Services v Hales [1983] FCA 81; (1983) 47 ALR 281
Gartside and Secretary, Department of Social Services [2017] AATA 45
Kertland v Secretary, Department of Family and Community Services [1999] FCA 1596; (1999) 95 FCR 64
Re Davy and Secretary, Department of Employment and Workplace Relations [2007] AATA 1114
Ryde v Secretary, Department of Family and Community Services [2005] FCA 866
Secretary, Department of Employment and Workplace Relations v Homewood [2006] FCA 779
Secretary, Department of Family and Community Services v Chamberlain [2002] FCA 67; (2002) 116 FCR 348
Secretary, Department of Social Security and Galea [1993] AATA 326; 35 ALD 749
Secretary, Department of Social Security v Smith [1991] FCA 280; (1991) 30 FCR 56
Secretary, Department of Social Security v Thompson [1994] FCA 1477; (1994) 53 FCR 580
Secretary, Department of Social Security and Turner [1993] AATA 160
Secretary, Department of Social Security and Winterbotham [1990] AATA 808
(1999) 95 FCR 64
(1991) 30 FCR 56
(1994) 53 FCR 580
(1983) 47 ALR 281
(2002) 116 FCR 348