austlii:nsw/NSWPICPD/2025/76
General information, not legal advice.
NSWPICPD
2025-10-29
Mr P
Original judgment source is linked above.
DETERMINATION OF APPEAL AGAINST A DECISION OF THE COMMISSION CONSTITUTED BY A MEMBER
BOH v Engineering Solutions and Services Pty Ltd [2025] NSWPICPD 76
WORKERS COMPENSATION - application to extend time for the bringing of an appeal pursuant to s 352(4) of the Workplace Injury Management and Workers Compensation Act 1998 and r 133A of the Personal Injury Commission Rules 2021; 'exceptional circumstances' - application of Bryce v Department of Corrective Services [2009] NSWCA 188; s 352(6) of the 1998 Act and 'fresh evidence' on appeal - Chep Australia Ltd v Strickland [2013] NSWCA 351; extension of time to appeal - Jackamarra v Krakouer [1998] HCA 27; 195 CLR 516; Nanschild v Pratt [2011] NSWCA 85; Shapkin v Lorenzato [2024] NSWSC 1620
BOH v Engineering Solutions and Services Pty Ltd [2025] NSWPIC 34
"[The appellant] described his injuries as head injury which involved traumatic brain injury, cervical whiplash including mild disc herniations causing nerve compression, two broken ribs affecting the chest wall shoulder and neck, thoracic kyphosis resulting in significant pain and functional limitation, dislocated hip, puncture in the lumbar region causing significant functional impairment, issues in the thoracic spine and moderate hypertension."[14]
"The clinical notes indicate that the [appellant] had a fall from a ladder of 2.5m, injury in the mid thoracic and right scapular pain with a denial of neck pain and nil motor or sensory deficit. There was no head strike, no loss of consciousness and no complaints of neurological symptoms or other injuries."[15]
"I believe that [the appellant] is psychotic, with prominent somatic delusions and some persecutory delusions and misinterpretation of normal body sensations. Some of the paranoia reinsurance agency, may be based in reality, re-surveillance for fraud. His Mood is incongruent. Diagnosis - somatic symptom disorder requires a further period of observation. Diagnosis psychotic depression."[22]
"Strain of muscle, fascia and tendon at neck level; Unspecified sprain of left hip; Strain of muscle, fascia and tendon of lower back; Contusion of left lower leg; Unspecified sprain of right hip; Injury of axillary nerve, unspecified arm; Contusion of right lower leg."
"We dispute that you have suffered any spine fractures, internal puncture wound, post-traumatic stress disorder, spinal compression, hypertension, whiplash, chronic pain syndrome or thoracic kyphosis as claimed as a result of your injury at work on 24 December 2020."[35]
RESPONDENT'S APPLICATION FOR LEAVE TO BE LEGALLY REPRESENTED
"(3) In proceedings in respect of a claim within the meaning of the Workplace Injury Management and Workers Compensation Act 1998, the Commission must refuse to permit an insurer to be represented by an Australian legal practitioner if the claimant is not represented by an Australian legal practitioner unless leave is granted by the Commission under subsection (4).
(4) The Commission may, on the application of an insurer, grant leave for an insurer to be represented by an Australian legal practitioner only if satisfied that -
(a) the representation would enable the matter to be dealt with more efficiently, taking into account the complexity of the matter, or
(b) it would be unfair not to allow the insurer to be represented because the insurer is unable to represent the insurer effectively, or
(c) it would be unfair not to allow the insurer to be represented, taking into account fairness between the insurer and other parties in the proceedings.
(5) The Commission may at any time revoke leave it has granted under subsection (4).
(7) The Commission must take into account any written submission prepared by an Australian legal practitioner acting for a party to proceedings and submitted by or on behalf of the party (whether or not the party is represented by an Australian legal practitioner at any conference or hearing in the proceedings)."
"Ground 1: Error of Law - Misapplication of Section 38 of the Workers Compensation Act 1987
The Member erred in law by misapplying Section 37 of the Workers Compensation Act 1987, leading to an incorrect determination of my entitlement to weekly compensation.
I sustained a significant physical injury and a resultant psychiatric and psychological injury during the course of my employment. Medical evidence confirms that I have no current work capacity.
According to Section 38(1) of the Workers Compensation Act 1987, an injured worker who possesses no current work capacity is entitled to receive weekly payments amounting to 80% of their average weekly earnings prior to the injury, applicable during the third entitlement period, which extends beyond 130 weeks. The decision rendered by the Member did not adequately apply the relevant provision, leading to an unjust denial of my rightful weekly compensation. The individual in question has disregarded any relevant medical findings and claims, thereby engaging in work that is ill-suited to their capacity. This has resulted in exacerbated disabilities and exploitation, culminating in circumstances that have led to involvement in sex trafficking as a means of generating income for survival, placing them at significant risk of homelessness.
Orders Sought: I respectfully request that the Commission set aside the Member's decision regarding weekly compensation and determine that I am entitled to weekly payments in accordance with Section 38 of the Act and medical findings.
Ground 2: Error of Fact - Incorrect Finding on the Onset of Psychiatric Injury
Statement of Issue: The Member made an error of fact by concluding that my psychiatric condition did not predated [sic] the workplace incident, contrary to the medical evidence presented.
Statement of Facts: The medical reports authored by Doctor Chow and Dr Hamid Waqar, dated 23rd June 2022 and 25th March 2022 respectively, elucidate that my psychological symptoms, notably major depression, began subsequent to the workplace incident that occurred on 24th December 2022. A psychiatric disorder arose as a consequence of disputes related to insurance, coupled with experiences of medical torture through the claim period and involvement in sex trafficking to pay medication and living.
Argument: The Member's finding disregards the contemporaneous medical evidence, which clearly links the onset of my psychological condition to the workplace incident and psychiatric condition result from torture and exploiation [sic]. This misinterpretation of the evidence constitutes an error of fact.
Orders Sought: I request that the Commission correct the factual error and acknowledge that my psychiatric injury arose as a direct result of the workplace incident and insurance torture as well trafficing [sic].
Ground 3: Procedural Unfairness - Lack of Proper Guidance on Withdrawal of ARD
Statement of Issue: The Member failed to ensure procedural fairness by not providing adequate guidance regarding the withdrawal of the Application for Review of Determination (ARD) and not assessing my capacity to self-represent.
Statement of Facts: As a self-represented litigant, I was not informed of the implications of withdrawing the ARD. There is no record of any advice or assessment of my capacity to make such a decision.
Argument: Procedural fairness requires that self-represented parties are given appropriate assistance to understand the proceedings. The absence of such guidance in my case constitutes a breach of procedural fairness.
Orders Sought: I request that the Commission acknowledge the procedural unfairness and take appropriate steps to rectify the situation, including reconsideration of the withdrawal of the ARD.
Ground 4: Unreasonable Exercise of Discretion - Denial of Entitlement to Medical Expenses and Weekly Benefits
Statement of Issue: The Member's decision to deny entitlement to medical expenses and weekly benefits under Sections 60 and 65A of the Workers Compensation Act 1987 represents an unreasonable exercise of discretion.
Statement of Facts: My claim includes medical expenses related to both physical and psychiatric injuries sustained during the workplace incident and medical torture incident caused by the insurer. The denial of these expenses overlooks the statutory provisions that entitle injured workers to reasonably necessary medical and treatment expenses arising from their injuries.
Argument: Section 60(1)(a) of the Workers Compensation Act 1987 provides that an employer is liable to pay the cost of any medical or related treatment that is reasonably necessary as a result of a work injury. Additionally, Section 65A outlines special provisions for psychological and psychiatric injuries. The Member's decision failed to consider these provisions appropriately.
Orders Sought: I request that the Commission set aside the Member's decision regarding medical expenses and weekly benefits and determine that I am entitled to compensation for all reasonably necessary medical treatments related to my injuries, including physical and psychiatric care.
Ground 5: New Evidence - Emergence of Material Evidence Post-Decision
Statement of Issue: New evidence has emerged post-decision that was not available during the initial proceedings, however the patient disclosed them verbally which substantiates the inadequacies of the treating doctors and medical examiners, leading to continued physical suffering and exacerbation of mental health issues.
Statement of Facts: The newly presented evidence encompasses 'Quantitative and technological Engineering of CT/Spect, MRI, and X-ray.' The findings reflect a notable accuracy in identifying medical conditions, revealing the extensive harm inflicted upon the individual, which has been consistently dismissed by the insurer. The documented evidence within the liability dispute correspondence underscores a clear pattern of negligence and abuse, directly correlating with the injuries and offences committed and currently commiting by the personal injury comission [sic], employer and the insurer.
Argument: This new evidence is material and has the potential to significantly impact the outcome of the case. It reinforces the assertion that psychological and psychiatric conditions are fundamentally linked to the injuries and mismanagement by the employer and insurer.
Orders Sought: I request that the Commission admit the new evidence and reconsider the case in light of this material information."
"Pursuant to Rule 133A of the Personal Injury Commission Rules 2021, I seek an extension of time to lodge my appeal beyond the statutory period. The reasons for this request are as follows:
(a) Ground 1: The appellant submits the finding that there was a pre-existing psychological condition, which deteriorated following the injury, involved factual error. The appellant submits the Principal Member "did not explicitly conclude there was a pre-existing psychological condition, but the absence of a proper causation and contribution analysis renders the findings unintelligible". The appellant refers to Murphy and submits the Principal Member was required to distinguish between secondary psychological injury and primary psychological conditions. There was error of fact and law and the respondent's submission on Ground No. 1 should be rejected.
(b) Ground 2: The appellant submits it involved error that the Principal Member and the respondent's solicitors concurred on several occasions regarding the psychological illness stemming from the injury. The appellant makes various observations regarding what the respondent submitted.
(c) Ground 3: The appellant submits he was not given adequate guidance regarding withdrawal of his Application and assessment of his capacity to self-represent. He submits there is no record of these matters being the subject of advice. He submits this constituted a breach of procedural fairness.
(d) Ground 4: The appellant submits the weekly compensation to which he was entitled was "terminated due to misconduct involving insurance and medical professionals following the third entitlement period." He was obliged to resume work before he was fully recovered, which exacerbated his injuries and reduced his capacity. He was entitled to additional weekly compensation beyond that already paid.
(e) Ground 5: The appellant submits the Principal Member exercised his discretion unreasonably in denying weekly compensation and medical expenses in respect of the psychiatric injury, given the protective scope of ss 60 and 65A of the 1987 Act.
(f) Ground 6: The appellant, in his submissions in reply, has added a sixth ground. He submits: "The statutory scheme under Section 38 supports ongoing entitlement if either no current work capacity or limited work capacity with indexed earnings and inability to earn more is proven."[70]
"(3) If the Commission is satisfied that sufficient information has been supplied to it in connection with proceedings, the Commission may exercise functions under this Act and enabling legislation without holding any conference or formal hearing."
SUBMISSIONS DEALING WITH THE DECISION OF STATE OF NEW SOUTH WALES v CULHANA
"Culhana clarified that appeals under s 352 should entail a thorough re-examination of all evidence, rather than merely assessing whether a finding was 'open'. This indicates that the Tribunal is not required to evaluate comprehensively whether the psychiatric injury of the victim van be correctly linked to the workplace incident, in accordance with our medical evidence, and whether external criminal factors were not permitted to be exaggerated, given that the offenders are indeed criminals. The PIC did not adhere to this standard in the vivitms [sic, victim's] case, rendering their conclusions about causation legally inadequate."
(a) 28 days after the decision appealed against is made, or
(b) a longer period determined or allowed, whether generally or for the kind of proceedings, in accordance with the Commission rules."
"133A Extension of time for making certain applications
(1) This rule specifies the procedure for determining a period of time, longer than the statutory period, within which 1 of the following (a relevant application) may be made -
The listed provisions specify that a relevant application must be made within the statutory period or a longer period determined or allowed in accordance with these Rules.
(2) A party seeking to make a relevant application after the end of the statutory period may make an additional application (an extension application) for an order determining a longer period within which the party may make the relevant application.
(a) must be made at the same time as the relevant application to which it relates, and
(c) must include full details of the arguments relied on in favour of granting the order, and
(d) is taken to form part of the relevant application for the purposes of the requirements relating to service under rules 123 and 129.
(4) The extension application must be decided by the following (the decision-maker) -
(a) for an appeal under the 1998 Act, section 352 - a presidential member,
(5) The decision-maker may make the order if satisfied by the party making the extension application, in exceptional circumstances, that to lose the right to make the relevant application would work demonstrable and substantial injustice.
(a) for the 1998 Act - the period specified in section 352(4)(a), ...".
"The principles governing an extension of time are not in doubt: Jackamarra v Krakouer (1998) 195 CLR 516; [1998] HCA 27 at [4] (Brennan CJ and McHugh J). In Tomko v Palasty (No 2) (2007) 71 NSWLR 61; [2007] NSWCA 369 Basten JA (Hodgson and Ipp JJA agreeing) identified four factors of general relevance (although these are by no means exhaustive of the matters that may be relevant): (1) the length of the delay; (2) the reason for the delay; (3) whether the applicant has a fairly arguable case; and (4) the extent of any prejudice suffered by the respondent to the application. The plaintiff bears the burden of persuading the Court that there are proper grounds to grant an application for an extension of time: Nanschild v Pratt [2011] NSWCA 85 at [38], [41], [44]."[72]
"It is for the party seeking to persuade the decision-maker that [the extension] should be granted. Such persuasion will usually depend upon the provision of an acceptable explanation of how the time default occurred."[74]
"The discretion to extend time is given for the sole purpose of enabling the court to do justice between the parties. This means that the discretion can only be exercised upon proof that strict compliance with the rules will work an injustice upon the applicant. In order to determine whether the rules will work an injustice, it is necessary to have regard to the history of the proceedings, the conduct of the parties, the nature of the litigation, and the consequences for the parties of the grant or refusal of the application for extension of time: Gallo v Dawson [1990] HCA 30; (1990) 64 ALJR 458 (at 459) per McHugh J."[75]
"A question arises in the circumstances as to whether the phrase 'in exceptional circumstances' is a jurisdictional fact required to be proved objectively or whether it is one of the matters in respect of which the Presidential member must be satisfied."[77]
"Whether or not there are exceptional circumstances and whether in those circumstances it is shown to the satisfaction of the Deputy President that demonstrable or substantial injustice would occur if leave were not granted is a composite expression in the rule to be dealt with within jurisdiction, and all of the matters identified by the Deputy President in [23] can be seen as relevant to the consideration of that composite expression."[78]
"It cannot be denied that, if the legislature see fit to do it, any event or fact or circumstance whatever may be made a condition upon the occurrence or existence of which the jurisdiction of a court shall depend. But, if the legislature does make the jurisdiction of a court contingent upon the actual existence of a state of facts, as distinguished from the court's opinion or determination that the facts do exist, then the validity of the proceedings and orders must always remain an outstanding question until some other court or tribunal, possessing power to determine that question, decides that the requisite state of facts in truth existed and the proceedings of the court were valid. Conceding the abstract possibility of the legislature adopting such a course, nevertheless it produces so inconvenient a result that no enactment dealing with proceedings in any of the ordinary courts of justice should receive such an interpretation unless the intention is clearly expressed."[79]
"66. In San v Rumble (No 2) (2007) NSWCA 259 at [59]-[69], I gave consideration to the expression 'exceptional circumstances' in a different statutory context to the present. Without repeating that discussion in full, I shall state such of the conclusions as seem to me applicable in the construction of rule 31.18(4).
(a) Exceptional circumstances are out of the ordinary course or unusual, or special, or uncommon. They need not be unique, or unprecedented, or very rare, but they cannot be circumstances that are regularly, routinely or normally encountered: R v Kelly (Edward) [1999] UKHL 4; [2000] 1 QB 198 (at 208).
(b) Exceptional circumstances can exist not only by reference to quantitative matters concerning relative frequency of occurrence, but also by reference to qualitative factors: R v Buckland [2000] EWCA Crim 1; [2000] 1 WLR 1262; [2000] 1 All ER 907 (at 1268; 912-913).
(c) Exceptional circumstances can include a single exceptional matter, a combination of exceptional factors, or a combination of ordinary factors which, although individually of no particular significance, when taken together are seen as exceptional: Ho v Professional Services Review Committee No 295 [2007] FCA 388 (at [26]).
(d) In deciding whether circumstances are exceptional within the meaning of a particular statutory provision, one must keep in mind the rationale of that particular statutory provision: R v Buckland (at 1268; 912-913).
(e) Beyond these general guidelines, whether exceptional circumstances exist depends upon a careful consideration of the facts of the individual case: Awa v Independent News Auckland [1996] NZHC 2245; [1996] 2 NZLR 184 (at 186)."
The length of the delay and the reasons for it
"Evidence that is fresh evidence or evidence in addition to or in substitution for the evidence received in relation to the decision appealed against may not be given on an appeal to the Commission except with the leave of the Commission. The Commission is not to grant leave unless satisfied that the evidence concerned was not available to the party, and could not reasonably have been obtained by the party, before the proceedings concerned or that failure to grant leave would cause substantial injustice in the case."
"New evidence [that] has emerged post-decision that was not available during the initial proceedings, however the patient [sic] disclosed them verbally which substantiates the inadequacies of the treating doctors and medical examiners ...".
"This Court has stated on many occasions that the task of statutory construction must begin with a consideration of the text itself. Historical considerations and extrinsic materials cannot be relied on to displace the clear meaning of the text. The language which has actually been employed in the text of legislation is the surest guide to legislative intention. The meaning of the text may require consideration of the context, which includes the general purpose and policy of a provision, in particular the mischief it is seeking to remedy."[86] (excluding references)
"(3) A worker (other than a worker with high needs) who is assessed by the insurer as having current work capacity is entitled to compensation after the second entitlement period only if -
(a) the worker has applied to the insurer in writing (in the form approved by the Authority) no earlier than 52 weeks before the end of the second entitlement period for continuation of weekly payments after the second entitlement period, and
(b) the worker has returned to work (whether in self-employment or other employment) for a period of not less than 15 hours per week and is in receipt of current weekly earnings (or current weekly earnings together with a deductible amount) of at least $155 per week, and
(c) the worker is assessed by the insurer as being, and as likely to continue indefinitely to be, incapable of undertaking further additional employment or work that would increase the worker's current weekly earnings."
"No one doubts that questions of law must be determined afresh by a Presidential member if it is said that the member erred. Nor is it doubted that where the member has seen the applicant or other witnesses and made findings of fact based on their evidence, the member will be in a position of advantage over a Presidential member who will, in the ordinary case, determine the appeal on the papers."[95]
"If the Presidential member, after making appropriate allowance for the advantages enjoyed by the member, would reach a different conclusion on a question of fact, he or she should not shrink from giving effect to it."[96]
"A court of appeal is bound to conduct a 'real review' of the evidence given at first instance and of the judge's reasons for judgment to determine whether the trial judge has erred in fact or law. Appellate restraint with respect to interference with a trial judge's findings unless they are 'glaringly improbable' or 'contrary to compelling inferences' is as to factual findings which are likely to have been affected by impressions about the credibility and reliability of witnesses formed by the trial judge as a result of seeing and hearing them give their evidence. It includes findings of secondary facts which are based on a combination of these impressions and other inferences from primary facts. Thereafter, 'in general an appellate court is in as good a position as the trial judge to decide on the proper inference to be drawn from facts which are undisputed or which, having been disputed, are established by the findings of the trial judge'."[98] (excluding references)
"PRINCIPAL MEMBER: Well, with respect, ... this case was filed four weeks ago. I'm dealing with this case and this case was only commenced four week ago.
PRINCIPAL MEMBER: That was discontinued and the case starts again when you refiled four weeks ago."[104]
"PRINCIPAL MEMBER: You realise you're adversely affecting your case by not getting legal representation?
PRINCIPAL MEMBER: Well, it's free, it's legally-aided and I've had countless people say that and it's legally-aided and there's lots of lawyers that will act for you so you're entitled to legal representation. So you can take it up, it's a legally-aid scheme, that's what you can do but if you don't get it I'm not assisting you beyond being an umpire and trying to assist where possible."[105]
"MS COLEMAN: Member, ..(not transcribable 00:46:16).. been our position that this matter is not well prepared and that it should be discontinued so that [the appellant] can seek legal advice.
PRINCIPAL MEMBER: That's a matter for [the appellant].
PRINCIPAL MEMBER: That's a matter for [the appellant]. I've already said that he should get legal advice, it's not a matter for the insurer. I've told him he should get legal advice, it's a matter for him whether he discontinues or not. It's not a matter for the insurer, ma'am."[106]
"PRINCIPAL MEMBER: You understand this case is being seriously defended by the other side? You understand they're disputing your claim?
PRINCIPAL MEMBER: You understand your case would be assisted by legal representation which is provided free to you?
PRINCIPAL MEMBER: You understand - you understand you're making mistakes in the preparation of your case by not having legal representation?
PRINCIPAL MEMBER: Well, I can tell you, sir, you're making mistakes and it's not assisting your preparation."[107]
"PRINCIPAL MEMBER: Yes, I understand that, ... This is a directions hearing, we're not arguing your case today. ... at the hearing you'll have to refer me to the evidence, filed evidence. That's why I asked you in the directions to get legal representation. You'll have to take me to the evidence that supports your case rather than just saying that you're in pain and that's why you should win. You'll have to refer to the medical evidence and your own statements.
PRINCIPAL MEMBER: And I want you to - and - and when we start the hearing I keep on saying page reference, I will keep on saying page reference, where is the evidence in support of this. Do you understand that?
"PRINCIPAL MEMBER: ... the problem about acting for yourself is every time you say something it can be used against you.
PRINCIPAL MEMBER: I put in writing that you should get legal advice but you've declined that.
[BOH]: That's okay. That's okay."[109]
"The applicant is again advised that he should contact the Independent Review Office to obtain free legal advice." (emphasis in original)
"The certificates are of little probative value in the absence of a medical report to explain them or to set out the history on which they are based: Greif Australia Pty Ltd v Ahmed [2007] NSWWCCPD 229; 6 DDCR 461."
"194. There is otherwise no medical evidence that these disputed injuries were ongoing at the time when the respondent denied liability in April 2023.
"... his conclusion would involve a problem far beyond his capacity and qualifications and one to which he did not purport to address himself. It was not evidence based upon a branch of knowledge or an art in which the witness was skilled but a wild and unsophisticated conjecture."[113]
The appropriate decision-maker for applicable proceedings must, when informing itself or themselves on any matter in the proceedings, have regard to the following principles -
(b) evidence should be relevant to the facts in issue and the issues in dispute,
(c) evidence based on speculation or unsubstantiated assumptions is unacceptable,
"The statutory scheme under Section 38 supports ongoing entitlement if either no current work capacity or limited work capacity with indexed earnings and inability to earn more is proven."
(a) the period of the delay is moderately substantial, a little less than three months;
(b) the appellant's explanation does not adequately explain the period of the delay or the reasons for it;
(c) 'exceptional circumstances' are not present;
(d) the appeal does not have reasonable prospects of success, and
(e) loss of the right to make the relevant application would not work demonstrable and substantial injustice.
[1] BOH v Engineering Solutions and Services Pty Ltd [2025] NSWPIC 34 (the reasons), [287].
[2] Application to Resolve a Dispute (ARD), pp 32-39.
[4] Transcript 14/1/25 (T3), T3 5.12-18.
[8] Reasons, [13]-[14], [18], [20].
[12] ARD, pp 1 and 10. Reasons, [44].
[13] Reasons, [45]-[46], [51]-[52].
[23] St Vincent's Hospital clinical notes, Application to Lodge Additional Documents 7/1/25, p 83. Reasons, [133]-[134].
[31] Reasons, [164]-[165], [170].
[37] [2024] NSWPIC 167, [11]-[26].
[40] [2015] NSWWCCPD 49 (Murphy).
[47] [2023] NSWPICPD 67 (Lee).
[52] BOH v Engineering Solutions and Services Pty Ltd [2025] NSWPIC 283 (reconsideration decision).
[53] Reconsideration decision, [13]-[17], [18]-[22].
[54] Reconsideration decision, [23]-[37].
[55] Reconsideration decision, [39]-[42].
[58] Reconsideration application, [46]-[52].
[59] Respondent's submissions, [1]-[3].
[60] Appellant's submissions in reply, [1]-[3].
[61] Respondent's submissions, [6]-[10], [12].
[62] Respondent's appeal submissions, [25]. Transcript of hearing 12/11/24 (T1), T1 35.19-31.
[63] Respondent's appeal submissions, [26].
[64] Respondent's appeal submissions, [30]-[32].
[65] ARD, p 153 (Dr Awit) and p 257 (Dr Faux).
[66] Respondent's appeal submissions, [45]-[46], [49]-[54].
[67] Appellant's submissions in response, [14].
[68] Appellant's submissions in response, [14]-[16].
[69] Appellant's submissions in response, [28]-[29].
[70] Appellant's submissions in response, [33].
[71] [2025] NSWCA 157 (Culhana).
[72] [2024] NSWSC 1620 (Shapkin), [32].
[73] [1998] HCA 27; 195 CLR 516 (Jackamarra), [4].
[74] Jackamarra, [66], applied in Tomko v Palasty (No 2) [2007] NSWCA 369; 71 NSWLR 61, [80].
[75] [2011] NSWCA 85 (Nanschild), [38].
[76] [2009] NSWCA 188 (Bryce).
[79] [1938] HCA 7; (1938) 59 CLR 369 (Whyte), 391.
[81] [2007] NSWCA 290 (Yacoub).
[83] Chep Australia Ltd v Strickland [2013] NSWCA 351, (per Barrett JA, Macfarlan JA agreeing), [27].
[86] [2009] HCA 41; 239 CLR 27, [47].
[89] [2023] NSWPICPD 67, [22]-[23].
[97] [2019] HCA 28; 266 CLR 129 (Lee).
[103] Reasons, [75], [92], [114], [154]-[156].
[106] T1 38.17-31. See also T1 43.32-44.22, 52.29-32.
[108] Transcript 26/11/24 (T2), T2 24.13-30.
[111] [2011] NSWWCCPD 22, [86]-[100].
[112] [1949] HCA 59; 79 CLR 442 (Bugg).
[114] Bale v Mills [2011] NSWCA 226, [56]-[57], [61].
BOH
Engineering Solutions and Services Pty Ltd [2025] NSWPICPD 76;
(1998) 195 CLR 516
(1990) 64 ALJR 458
(2007) 71 NSWLR 61
(1938) 59 CLR 369