austlii:tas/TASCAT/2026/27
General information, not legal advice.
TASCAT
2026-03-13
Original judgment source is linked above.
10 December 2025, 19 January 2026, 2 March 2026, 4 March 2026
Compensation by way of weekly payments and the costs of any benefits payable under Division 2 of Part VI of the Workers Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 are not to be paid by the employer to the worker.
Workers compensation - Section 81A referral - Whether a gap in certification pursuant to s 69(13) - Provision of certificates to insurer and not employer - Whether the Tribunal has jurisdiction - Whether a reasonably arguable case exists.
Care Assessment Consultants Pty Ltd t/as Care Forward ABN 67098161105 v LMN [2024] TASCAT 239;
Dale v Cigarette & Gift Warehouse (Franchising) Pty Ltd [2026] TASSC 5;
Lamont v MRD Supermarkets Pty Ltd [2016] TASSC 16;
Vos Construction and Joinery Pty Ltd v Norton-Smith [2016] TASSC 38;
St Helens Oysters Pty Ltd v Coatsworth [2007] TASSC 90;
State of Tasmania (Department for Education, Children & Young People) v ENX [2025] TASCAT 124;
M v Allianz Australia Services Pty Ltd (No. 2) [2019] TASWRCT 35;
Kean v Workers Rehabilitation and Compensation Corporation (1998) 71 SASR 42;
Bropho v Human Rights and Equal Opportunity Commission [2004] FCAFC 16.
This decision has been anonymised for the purposes of publication.
69. Amount of compensation in case of incapacity > > ... > > (13) If the period specified in a medical certificate provided by a worker under this section expires and the worker provides a further certificate more than 14 days after the expiration of that specified period, the employer, on receipt of the subsequent certificate, may treat that certificate as a claim for compensation to which section 81A applies.
(i) Workers compensation claim form dated 21 March 2025;
(ii) Initial workers compensation medical certificate dated 3 March 2025;
(iii) Continuing workers compensation medical certificates dated 10 June, 8 July, 7 August, 4 September 2025.
(iv) Notice to the worker pursuant to s 81A(1)(a) and (b);
(v) Statement of evidence of Rosanne Brash dated 17 November 2025.
It is the responsibility of the worker to provide ongoing certification to the employer. An employer may or not decide to take advantage of the opportunity to dispute its ongoing liability to pay compensation where s 69(13) applies. It is not under any obligation to make enquiries of the worker for further certification if it decides to take that opportunity.
Section 69(13) clearly requires a two-step process. The worker must provide the certificate, and the employer must receive the certificate. The critical event that enlivens s 69(13) is the receipt of the subsequent certificate. It is the receipt of the subsequent certificate that entitles the employer to treat the certificate as a claim for compensation to which s 81A applies. If the worker provides the certificate, the worker is in control of when the insurer receives it and is therefore fully aware of the operation of any relevant time frames. Because of the prospect that satisfaction of the s 69(13) criteria gives rise to the employer being able to treat a medical certificate as, in effect, a new claim which permits reliance upon s 81A of the Act, certainty is required as to the mechanism by which the relevant certificates are to be provided and received. Such certainty lies in the section being applied in accordance with its unambiguous wording. > > If there is to be any movement away from the obvious requirements of the section, it must be with the clear and unambiguous authorisation and agreement of all parties. That is, the worker must expressly authorise a third party to provide the certificates to the employer on his/her/their behalf and the employer must specifically authorise the third party to receive the certificates on its behalf, or at the very least, agree that it will receive the certificates from the third party rather than directly from the worker. ...
(i) The employer disputes the factual basis of the initial incapacity and injury and therefore says that the worker has not suffered an injury which is a disease and to which her employment contributed to a substantial degree within the meaning of s 3(2A) and s 25(i)(b); and further or in the alternative;
(ii) That if the worker is suffering from an injury which is a disease which an illness of the mind or a disorder of the mind, it arises substantially from:
(a) Reasonable administrative action taken in a reasonable manner by the employer in connection with the worker's employment (s 25(1A)(c); and further or in the alternative;
(b) Reasonable action taken in a reasonable manner by the employer to discipline or counsel the worker (s 25(1A)(a).
(vii) A function was held on 24 February 2025. This involved a luncheon event celebrating the Employer's 80th birthday celebrations. > > (viii) The Manager of the site believed the execution of the event had been sloppy. The Manager then sent an all staff email providing general feedback on the event and identified some areas of delivery that needed improving the next time an event of that nature was delivered. > > (ix) Ms Tutt was not personally mentioned in the email, and the feedback was general in nature. > > (x) On 3 March 2025, the Employer received a complaint from Ms Tutt regarding alleged inappropriate workplace behaviour. The complaint was acknowledged, and Ms Tutt was offered EAP. > > (xi) A meeting was arranged to discuss the complaint in further detail and the Employer conducted an investigation. > > (xii) A meeting was held on 19 March 2025. Ms Tutt said her feelings had started in October 2024 when she was removed from fire safety training. Ms Tutt said following the function the email was sent but acknowledged she was not directly referenced in the email. > > (xiii) Ms Tutt requested a further meeting to discuss her concerns which went ahead on 25 March 2025. > > (xiv) On 28 March 2025 the Employer met with the Manager to obtain her response. > > (xv) Ms Tutt remained incapacitated for any work. > > (xvi) The investigation concluded and Ms Tutt was advised on 14 May 2025 that it did not find sufficient evidence to establish that a breach of workplace practices had occurred. > > (xvii) There is nothing to substantiate Ms Tutt's allegations in the claim form that her manager has harassed her at all, let alone on multiple occasions. Based on the employer's investigations, it disputes and denies that this occurred.
15. The only statement evidence presented by the employer to support the allegations is the statement of Rozanne Brash dated 18 November 2025. The employer has not provided statement evidence from any of the witnesses who were specifically involved in any of the issues, including from Robyn Jones, my manager, and the person who caused my work-related injury. > > 16. The workers compensation claim form refers to my injury having occurred due to harassment by my manager on multiple occasions. My manager was Robyn Jones. I used the word "harassment" to describe the negative interactions I had with my manager over a period of time from approximately October 2024. The circumstances were further outlined in my email to Maryann D'Costa, the Operation Manager of Baptcare, on 3 March 2025. The effect on me, of those interactions, was that I felt anxious and depressed and constantly stressed. > > 17. I had raised my workload concerns with Robyn Jones (Program Manager) numerous times, in face-to-face conversations, as I was struggling to cope with the physical tasks, the administration tasks, as well as planning activities and outings. My coworker Paul Beckett did not like to share the load, leaving me to shoulder the responsibilities of making sure these things were complete and up to date. I spoke to Robyn Jones about this, but nothing changed. > > 18. The allegations contained in my email to Maryann D'Costa, on 3 March 2025, where the subject of an internal investigation by the employer. Ultimately, the employer determined that there was insufficient evidence to establish a breach of workplace practices. The investigation outcome, and all material considered by the employer, have not been provided as evidence to TASCAT. The only evidence is that of the outcome which is described in the statement by Rozanne Brash who was not involved in the investigation. > > 19. The statement evidence from Rozanne Brash of the outcome of the investigation relates to a workplace relations issue. Determining that there was insufficient evidence to establish a breach of workplace practices is not the same as investigating a workers compensation claim to establish whether the actions of the employer caused a work injury or that it establishes whether the action of the employer were reasonable or undertaken reasonably. The statement by Rozanne Brash, so far as its reference to the investigation outcome, should be ignored as not being relevant to determining whether I was injured at work. > > 20. The only comment in Rozanne Brash's statement about the specific interactions I had with Robyn Jones noted that I complained about being removed from fire safety training, about being overworked and about being ignored by Robyn Jones. The statement merely states is that Robyn Jones denies that she was ignoring me. This is the only evidence of a factual dispute. > > 21. The multitude of issues raised by me in my email to Maryann D'Costa, on 3 March 2025 are not addressed in any detail in the statement by Rozanne Brash. > > 22. As such the circumstances referred to in email to Maryann D'Costa, on 3 March 2025 should be regarded as uncontroverted evidence of those facts. > > Medical evidence and cause > > 23. My medical condition and its cause are evidenced by my medical certificates and the letter from my treating psychologist to QBE dated 18 November 2025. > > 24. The employer has not provided any evidence that I am not suffering from psychological injury, or that my psychological injury has been caused by factors external to my employment. The letter from Altius Psychology to QBE has been filed by me with TASCAT. > > Interaction on 24 February 2025- Whether reasonable action undertaken reasonably > > 25. The statement by Rozanne Brash refers to a function which was held at "Orana" on 24 February 2025 and to an "all staff" email providing feedback about that event. The statement describes the feedback as "general" and that it identified areas needing improvement. Further the statement notes that I was not referred to directly in the email. The email itself was not attached to the statement but has been filed by me with TASCAT. > > 26. Contrary to the indications in the statement by Rozanne Brash, the email included the following words - "The meals served up looked like slop on a plate, gravy was spilling over the plates, looks like something that would be served in prisons." > > 27. These words could not be described as general in nature, nor can they be described as identifying areas needing improvement. Further, as I was the person in charge of the service of the meals, while I was not specifically named, it is quite clear that responsibility for the failure had been directed primarily at myself, and in a most humiliating and public way. > > 28. The action by the employer was not reasonable from an administrative point of view, but if it was, it was not undertaken in a reasonable manner. It is not reasonable to humiliate or denigrate staff. > > 29. The action by the employer was not to discipline or counsel me, but if it was it was not undertaken in a reasonable manner. It is not reasonable to humiliate or denigrate staff.
A case will not be reasonably arguable unless the case itself is reasonable in the sense that there is a reasonable prospect of the claim being rejected following a final hearing...the very notion of a "reasonably arguable case" like the very notion of a prima facie case, includes a final determination of a disputed question of fact...on the face of s 81A, a reasonably arguable case would exist concerning the liability of an employer to pay a worker if it is reasonably arguable on the material available in relation to the claim or identified deficiencies or weaknesses in the claim that following a contested hearing it may be rejected.
In this case where administrative action is taken in a reasonable manner is very much a question of objective fact, and is to be determined against the ordinary standards of reasonable employers in all the circumstances of the case. Whether administrative action is reasonable or is taken in a reasonable manner depends first on the findings of the primary facts as to what occurred in the taking of the administrative action, namely what decision was made, who made it, and why it was made, what was done, what was omitted to be done, and the factual background against which the decision was made or implemented. > > Although it is a finding of fact as to whether the action was taken in a reasonable manner, that fact depends in part on inferences to be drawn from the primary facts, or the weight to be given to particular primary facts and on the fact finder's assessment of what is reasonable in all of the circumstances.
In this context, that means a judgement independent of what the actor thinks is reasonable.
Baptcare Ltd
BU [2026] TASCAT 27
(1998) 71 SASR 42