[1999] NTCA 138
General information, not legal advice.
Court of Appeal (NT)
1999-12-09
Bailey JJ, Mildren J, Martin CJ
Original judgment source is linked above.
Ansett Australia v Van Nieuwmans [1999] NTCA 138
This is an appeal from Martin CJ who dismissed an appeal from the Work
Health Court which had found that three notices given by the appellant
employer to the respondent worker pursuant to s69 of the Work Health Act
were "ineffectual in cancelling the entitlements of the worker". His
Worship ordered that the employer pay compensation to the worker and
The grounds of appeal raise a number of issues including a challenge to the
Chief Justice's disposition of the appeal on the basis that the proceedings in
the Work Health Court were an appeal under s69 of the Act. The appellant
contends that the worker did not restrict his claim to such an appeal and that
wider issues were to be determined by the Court. If this contention is
correct, the appellant seeks to challenge a number of findings made by the
learned Magistrate on the basis that his Worship was wrong in law. In what
appears to have been an alternative submission, the appellant challenges the
findings below as to the effectiveness of the notices given by the emplo yer
terminating or reducing the worker's entitlements to receive weekly
The respondent has sought to raise by a Notice of Contention a question
concerning the time at which the interest ordered to be paid is to commence
In my opinion, it is clear that the proceedings in the Work Health Court
were at all times dealt with by the learned Magistrate as an appeal by the
worker pursuant to s69 of the Act. Counsel for the worker, on a number of
occasions, told his Worship that the matter before him was restricted to such
an appeal. In the course of dealing with an application by the employer to
It is apparent from the foregoing that the employer's argument that
this is in fact a full hearing to the worker's entitlement is wrong. The
sole issues are whether or not the employer was justified in stopping
Further, his Worship commenced his written reasons for judgment as
This is an appeal by the worker under s104 of the Work Health Act
(the "Act") against three notices of cancellation and/or reduction of
The appellant's contention is that the issues before the learned Magistrate
were wider than that. I do not consider that the learned Magistrate was
wrong to restrict the issues to be resolved by him in the manner in which he
did. The worker's statement of claim pleaded the employment, the injury,
the admission of his claim for compensation, the fact that payments were
made, the fact that the worker was made redundant after having returned to
work doing light clerical duties, and that the employer's insurer paid
compensation according to the difference between the amount he was paid in
the pre-accident employment and the amount he was paid doing light clerical
duties. In paragraphs 9-12 the worker pleaded that he obtained temporary
employment with TAFE Centralian College as an administrative assistant on
11 December 1995; that three days later he was unable to continue due to his
injury which lead to an anxiety attack and caused him to resign that position
on 15 December, and that the temporary work led to anxiety and depression.
In paragraphs 13-19, the worker pleads that he has since then received th ree
Form 5 notices cancelling or reducing his compensation on various grounds
therein specified and that these grounds are denied. In paragraph 20 it was
pleaded that he continues to suffer from his back injury and its
consequences, including anxiety and depression. In paragraph 21 it is
pleaded that "The worker has been totally incapacitated for work since 15
December 1995 to date and continues to be totally incapacitated for work at
this stage". In paragraph 22, the worker pleads the amount of compensation
paid, and that he seeks weekly compensation since 15 December 1995 and
interest. Although paragraphs 20 and 21 of the statement of claim appear to
raise a case that the worker has a continuing disability, going beyond the
circumstances at the time of the notices, on looking at the pleading as a
whole, I think that it is tolerably clear that the worker intended to appeal the
employer's decision to terminate or reduce his payments. If the appeal
succeeded, the worker would have been entitled to an order restoring his
weekly payments, and in the absence of a further notice or a claim brought
by the employer to cease or reduce his payments, the effect of such an order
would have been to restore his weekly payments until the date of judgment
and continuing, unless the employer thereafter took further steps to cease or
reduce his payments. In other words, I do not consider that, in the
circumstances of this case, paragraphs 20 and 21 added anything to the
worker's claim or widened the scope of the applicati on from a mere appeal.
No facts were raised by either the worker or the employer to suggest that
there was any change of circumstances which had occurred after the giving
of the notices. This may be contrasted with the situation in Disability
Services of Central Australia v Regan [1998] NTCA 77; (1998) 8 NTLR 73 where the
pleadings raised the question as to whether or not, after the giving of the
relevant notices, the worker either ceased to be incapacitated or remained
partially incapacitated. Further, in that case, the worker sought benefits
under s78 of the Act, whereas appeals under s69 are restricted to weekly
payments. The worker's pleading in this case is closer in form to that
considered by the Court of Appeal in Ju Ju Nominees Pty Ltd ((1999) NTSC
20, but otherwise unreported). In that case, as in this, counsel for the worker
made it clear that the worker's claim was limited to an appeal under s69.
The claim included paragraphs similar to paragraphs 20 and 21 herein.
Martin CJ said, at para [16] that, subject to the question of prejudice to the
other side, there was no reason why the worker should not clarify a
statement of claim and the relief sought so as to make it clear that the
worker is limiting the issue to an appeal under s69. Thomas J considered
that the worker's claim was limited to an appeal against s69 (see para 57),
Bailey J agreed with both Martin CJ and Thomas J (see para 79).
In the Court below, Martin CJ repeated what he had said in Ju Ju Nominees
Pty Ltd. After referring to the worker's counsel having made it plain at the
trial that he was only appealing under s69, and that that was the intention of
the pleadings, his Honour observed that there was no reason why, prejudice
not having been raised by the employer, that could not have been done. I
agree. If the employer had reason to expect the claim was more than a mere
appeal, the employer could have sought an adjournment to enable it to bring
its own claim, and to have the two claims heard together. I note that the
employer in its amended answer, sought an order pursuant to s69(2)(d) of
the Act based on the allegations contained in paragraph 19, viz., that the
injury sustained on 11 July 1992 was a soft tissue injury which recovered
over a period of four weeks. If the statement of claim was limited to an
appeal under s69, this could not have been raised by way of defence; and as
there was at the time no provision for a counter-claim in the Work Health
Rules, could not be raised at all. However, no objection was taken to this
because the matters therein pleaded went to the substance of one of the Form
5 notices. Nevertheless, the issue had practical significance because if the
employer was permitted to raise paragraph 19 and to rely on it to the fullest
extent, no notice under s69 was required to raise the issue and perhaps the
employer could have obtained repayment of any compensation overpaid.
However, this issue was formally adjourned by the Court (AB403) which
adjourned paragraph 20 of the employer's answer (which sought to provide
the remedy upon which paragraph 19 was predicated). That order has since
been taken out by the Registrar. Mr Parker, counsel for the appellant,
submitted that on the true construction of the Work Health Court's order,
that issue was still alive. There are several answers to this. First, the order
is clear in its terms. Even if the order was made by mistake, the order still
stands until it is corrected, and it has not been corrected. Secondly, it would
be inconsistent with the Court's ruling that the claim was limited to an
appeal under s69 and with rulings of this Court, to allow the employer to
agitate that issue in an appeal under s69. Thirdly, although his Worship
considered the factual basis for the giving of the notice relating to this issue
(and thereby the factual basis for paragraph 19 of the amended answer), it is
plain that his Worship only did so in case his ruling that the notice was
invalid, was wrong. There is nothing to indicate that his Worship
considered himself as hearing anything else other than an appeal under s69,
which is consistent with the order he made. Further, on the facts, his
Worship found against the employer, and if the employer has any hope of
success, the employer would have to show that not only was the notice in
fact valid, but that his Worship's decision on the facts was wrong in law.
The ground of appeal relating to whether or not his Worship erred in this
respect, does not allege any error of law. His Worship's reasons indicate
that he accepted the evidence of the worker and his medical specialist in
preference to that of the evidence called by the employer. This was a
question of fact for his Worship to decide. Mr Parker submitted that his
Worship erred because there was no evidence from the worker to support the
opinion of his specialist, but I consider that that ground is not made out.
Further, Mr Parker submitted that his Worship erred in taking into account,
in accepting the worker's evidence, his observations of the worker in Court
and whilst giving evidence in the witness box. It was submitted that his
Worship could not rely on the worker's demeanour in Court, except whilst
giving evidence. Reliance was placed on a number of authorities, including
Minagall v Ayres (1966) SASR 151, Stead v State Government Insurance
Commission [1986] HCA 54; (1986) 161 CLR 141, and Government Insurance Office of New
South Wales v Bailey (1992) 27 NSWLR 304, per Kirby P at pps 309-316.
In this case, the learned Magistrate did not record what it was that he noted
about the appellant when in Court but whilst not giving evidence, and which
may or may not have been observed by counsel, which assisted him to
accept the respondent's evidence. I would have expected anything of real
significance to be specifically mentioned. The modern rule, as stat ed by the
Full Court in Jobst v Inglis (1986) 41 SASR 399, and adopted by the Court
of Appeal in G.I.O. of N.S.W. v Bailey, supra, is that a judge is not required
to draw to the attention of counsel every observation he makes, if it merely
confirms impressions formed whilst the witness gave evidence, or if there
was nothing of real significance to be attached to what was observed. Here
there is nothing to show that the learned Magistrate's observations went
beyond that which, as a matter of fairness, requi red him to draw whatever he
saw to the attention of counsel. I would therefore dismiss this ground of
The next submission related to the validity of what I shall call the first
notice. In fact three notices were served on the worker on the same day.
The first notice was in the following terms (omitting formal parts):
You are hereby advised that your employer ANSETT AUSTRALIA
Cancels payment of weekly benefits to you pursuant to s69 of
On 14 December 1995, as a result of a medical examination
performed on 8 December 1995, Dr Joseph T Black stated in his
"In relation to the incident on 11 July 1992, it is probable th at
effects of any muscular and/or fibro ligamentous strain would have
resolved and the effects of any aggravation of any pre-existing
The learned Magistrate found that this notice did not comply with the Act
because it did not have attached to it a medical certificate as required by
s69(3), and that compliance with the Act in that respect was mandatory.
Martin CJ held that his Worship was correct, and that Collins Radio
Constructors Inc v. Day [1998] NTCA 15; (1998) 143 FLR 425 was directly on point. In that
case, this Court held that, to be valid, a notice must strictly comply with the
requirements of s69. In the Court below, Mr Parker sought to raise an
argument not raised in the Work Health Court, i.e., that the notice in this
case did not require to have attached to it a medical certificate. The learned
Chief Justice declined to deal with that argument, relying on University of
Wollongong v. Metwally (No 2) (1985) 59 ALJR 481. Given that the issue
sought to be raised was a question of law only, I consider that his Honour
ought to have allowed the appellant to raise this point: see Water Board v.
Moustakas [1988] HCA 12; (1988) 180 CLR 491 at 497. However, I consider there is no
substance to this submission. The notice clearly failed to comply with s69
in a number of respects. First, I consider that it failed to comply with s69(4)
provide sufficient detail to enable the worker...to understand fully
why the amount of compensation is being cancelled or reduced.
The notice does not specify when the effects would have ceased. It is
accompanied by two other notices, one of which purports to reduce his
compensation. This apparent inconsistency is not explained. The notice
does not give fourteen days' notice of cancellation as required by the Act,
but purports to cancel the payment forthwith: see Collins Radio
Constructors v. Day, supra, at 431. Further, I reject the submission that no
medical certificate was required. Mr Parker submitted that the notice only
went to causation; it was not disputed by the notice that the worker was
incapacitated for work � what was disputed was whether that incapacity was
caused by the injury. He submitted therefore that s69(3) did not apply.
Where compensation is to be cancelled for the reason that the worker
to whom it is paid has ceased to be incapacitated for work, the
statement under subsection (1) shall be accompanied by the medical
certificate of the medical practitioner certifying that the person has
Clearly, where s69(3) refers to incapacity for work, it means incapacity for
work because of the injury. S3(1) of the Act defines "incapacity" to mean
"an inability or limited ability to undertake unpaid w ork because of an
injury". There is no reason why the word "incapacity" in s69(3) should not
receive its defined meaning, and every reason why it should. Clearly, the
critical question is always whether the worker is incapacitated for work
because of an injury: see ss53, 64 and 65. I would dismiss this ground of
The next issue relates to the second and third notices given under s69. The
You are hereby advised that your employer ANSETT AUSTRALIA
Varies the amount of weekly benefits payable to you pursuant
to section 69 of the Work Health Act to the sum of $259.38 per week.
On Monday, 11 December 1995, you commenced employment
with TAFE Centralian College in the position of enrolment officer on
a salary of $504.00 gross per week. On or about 14 December 1995,
in breach of 75B (sic) of the Work Health Act, you resigned that
employment. Pursuant to section 75B of the Work Health Act, you
are deemed to be able to undertake employment of enrolment officer
with TAFE and your weekly compensation is reduced to $259.38.
You are hereby advised that your employer ANSETT AUSTRALIA
Cancels payment of weekly benefits to you pursuant to s69 of
Pursuant to section 75B(2) of the Work Health Act, you have
unreasonably failed to undertake rehabilitation treatment or to
participate in rehabilitation training or a workplace base (sic) return
to work program which could enable you to undertake more
profitable employment; accordingly, you are deemed to be able to
undertake such employment and your compensation is cancelled.
The learned Magistrate held that the employment obtained by the worker
was found by himself; it was not offered to him by his employer, the
employer's insurer or the employer's rehabilitation consultant.
Consequently, the employment was not "reasonable medical , surgical (or)
rehabilitation treatment" or "rehabilitation training" or a "workplace based
return to work program" within the meaning of s75B of the Act.
Consequently, the employer failed on the second and third notices.
I note in addition, that both notices fail to comply with the strict provisions
of s69. Neither notice gives fourteen days' notice of intention to cancel or
reduce the compensation, but purport to reduce or cancel the compensation
forthwith. This is fatal to the validity of the notices . Further, the third
notice is so lacking in particularity that it does not comply with s69(4) of
The Chief Justice upheld the learned Magistrate's decision, holding that the
finding that the worker found the job for himself took him outside the
provisions of s75B and that this employment was not part of a workbased
return to work program as it was not part of a plan implemented in the
workplace and devised by the employer to assist the worker to return to
I consider that the learned Magistrate and the Chief Justice were plainly
correct. S75B is contained in Division 4 of Part V of the Act dealing with
"Rehabilitation and Other Compensation". S75(1) provides that the purpose
of the Division is to ensure the rehabilitation of injured workers . S75A
places an obligation on employers to take reasonable steps to find
employment for injured members and, as far as practicable, to participate in
efforts to retrain workers. S75B(1) requires the worker to engage in
reasonable medical, surgical and rehabilitation treatment, or participate in
rehabilitation training, or in workplace based return to work programs at the
employer's expense. S75B(2) provides that where a worker unreasonably
fails to undertake medical, surgical and rehabilitation treatmen t or to
participate in rehabilitation training or a workplace based return to work
program which would enable him to undertake more profitable employment,
he is deemed to be undertaking such employment and his compensation may,
subject to s69, be reduced accordingly. The appellant's contention was that
the work at TAFE found by the worker was part of a workplace based return
to work program. In my opinion that argument must be rejected. In order
for the employer to succeed the employer must show first th at there was a
program of some kind, and in my view this means a program devised by the
employer. Secondly, the work must be part of that program. There was no
finding (and no evidence) to support either of these contentions. Mr Parker
submitted that if this employment was not part of a program, the worker
could resign with impunity. This is not so; the worker is under a duty to
mitigate his loss: Fazlic v. Milingimbi Community Inc. [1982] HCA 3; (1982) 150 CLR 345
at 353-4. However this was not the ground relied upon in the s69 notice,
and the appellant is limited to such grounds at the hearing in the Work
Health Court. This ground of appeal must therefore be dismissed.
The respondent has filed a notice of contention seeking an order that the
appellant pay interest from 5 January 1996 when the appellant ceased
making weekly payments to the respondent. Mr Parker submitted that it is
inappropriate for this Court to deal with the matter. The Work Health
Court's order does not state when the interest is to run. Ther efore this
question should be resolved by that Court. Alternatively, Mr Parker
submitted that the point was decided by the decision of this Court in
Passmore v Plewright [1997] NTCA 140; (1997) 118 NTR 28. In that case, the learned Chief
Magistrate had held that the employer, which had ceased to make payments
to the worker pursuant to a notice given under s69 of the Act, was not
justified in cancelling the worker's weekly payments. The learned Chief
Magistrate ordered interest to be paid on weekly payments due for payment
on or after 4 November 1994, the date of the Court's finding that the
cancellation made on 16 November 1988 was not justified. On appeal,
Martin CJ held that this was incorrect, but on further appeal to this Court,
the order of the learned Chief Magistrate was restored. In that case, no
question of the validity of the s69 notice was in issue. Mr Reeves QC for
the worker submitted that in cases where the notices are invalid, there is no
statutory authority to stop or reduce the payments; whereas in the case of a
valid notice, s69 authorises the cessation or reduction of the payments,
The point raised by Mr Reeves QC was not considered in Passmore v.
Plewright, although there is guidance therein to be found at page 35 where
the Court observed that the issue is when was the employer "required" to
make a weekly payment of compensation within the meaning of s89 of the
Act? However, as that matter has not been determined by the Work Health
Court which has granted liberty to apply, I do not consider that this Court
has jurisdiction under s116 of the Act to entertain the point at this time.
In conclusion, I would dismiss the appeal with costs.
I have read the draft reasons for judgment prepared by Mildren J. I agree
I have had the advantage of considering the judgment of Mildren J in draft.
I agree that the appeal should be dismissed with costs for the reasons stated
Ansett Australia
Van Nieuwmans [1999] NTCA 138; 9 NTLR 125
(1998) 8 NTLR 73
(1986) 161 CLR 141
(1992) 27
NSWLR 304
(1986) 41 SASR 399
(1998) 143 FLR 425
(1985) 59 ALJR 481
(1988) 180 CLR 491
(1982) 150 CLR 345
(1992) 27 NSWLR 304