[2022] WADC 100
General information, not legal advice.
District Court of WA
2022-11-23
Original judgment source is linked above.
JURISDICTION : DISTRICT COURT OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA
CITATION : RE RICHARDS [2022] WADC 100
MATTER : IN THE MATTER of Part 7 of the Criminal Injuries Compensation Act 2003
Jurisdiction : CRIMINAL INJURIES COMPENSATION ASSESSOR OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA
Criminal injuries compensation - Appeal - Adequacy of award - Whether amounts received by the appellant from RiskCover must be deducted from the award - Whether amounts received by the appellant from the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) must be deducted from the award
Ms E Tapsell on behalf of the Chief Executive Officer of the Department of Justice
AA v ARW [2020] WADC 131
Attorney General for Western Australia v Her Honour Judge Schoombee [2012] WASCA 29
B v B [2004] WASC 6
B v W (1989) 6 SR (WA) 79
Baker v His Honour Judge Stone of the District Court of Western Australia [2015] WASCA 56
Bennett v Minister of Community Welfare [1992] HCA 27; (1992) 176 CLR 408
Blackwell v Warren [2018] WADC 127
Bothma v Hildebrand [2019] WADC 92
Cahill v Smith [2015] WADC 148
CME [2018] WADC 69
Cooper v Smith [2017] WADC 82
East Metropolitan Health Service v Ellis [2020] WASCA 147
Fagan v Crimes Compensation Tribunal [1982] HCA 49; (1982) 150 CLR 666, 673
Fitzgerald v Penn [1954] HCA 74; (1954) 91 CLR 268
G & N v R [2006] WADC 208; (2006) 48 SR (WA) 301
Garton v McCormack (2002) 30 SR (WA) 307
Goodwin v Baker [2020] WADC 43
Gullelo v Halloran [2008] WADC 145
Hansen v Bolton [2017] WADC 25
Hatfield v Under Secretary for Law (Unreported, WASC, Library No 4012, 15 December 1980) 5
Hazart Pty Ltd v Rademaker (1993) 11 WAR 26
Houlahan v Pitchen [2009] WASCA 104
Hunt & Hunt Lawyers v Mitchell Morgan Nominees Pty Ltd [2013] HCA 10; (2013) 247 CLR 613
M R & R C Smith Pty Ltd t/as Ultratune (Osborne Park) v Wyatt [No 2] [2012] WASCA 110
M v J and J v J (Unreported, WASC, Library No 920598, 19 November 1992
Milburn-Thomas v Palmer [2020] WADC 158
Mulligan v National Disability Insurance Agency [2015] FCA 544
Nagel v Tahere [2020] WADC 110
Planet Fisheries Pty Ltd v La Rosa [1968] HCA 62; (1968) 119 CLR 118
Re Jackamarra [2014] WADC 9
Re Karra (1984) 2 SR (WA) 97
Re Matthews [2017] WADC 126
Re McHenry [2014] WADC 92
Re Wakelin [2018] WADC 165
Re Warrek [2019] WADC 50
RJE v Bandy (Unreported, WASC, Library No 1365, 31 May 1974)
Robinson [2017] WADC 18
S v Neumann (1995) 14 WAR 452
Savic v Duric [2021] WADC 53
Shepherd v Shepherd [2010] WADC 30; (2010) 71 SR (WA) 143
South Metropolitan Health Service v Westcott [2016] WASCA 225
T v Curnuck [2004] WASC 139 [27]
Townend v McAlindon [2017] WADC 63
Underwood v Underwood [2018] WADC 13
Winiarczyk v Tsirigotis [2011] WASCA 97
At about 3.10 pm Thursday the 29th of January 2016, the accused was at the front of the Busselton Hospital, on Craig Street, West Busselton.
The accused had been making repeated threats to self-harm and as such, uniformed Police approached the accused to make a decision in regards to the Mental Health Act.
The accused has told Police 'I just want to die' and 'Have you come to use your gun on me?'
Police and a Department of Health Social Worker have all told the accused that she is to come inside for the purposes of a Mental Health Assessment. The accused has remained seated, requiring Police to forcibly escort the accused into the hospital.
The accused has stiffened her body, withdrawing her arms to her chest. Fearing the accused would cause injury, Constable GILBERT has drawn her handcuffs.
Assault Public Officer 1:
The accused has thrown herself to the ground, Sergeant RICHARDS has reached down for the accused who has then bitten him to the left forearm (No puncture).
Assault Public Officer 2:
The Accused has kicked Constable GILBERT causing her to be knocked to the ground. Police managed to handcuff the accused who continued to struggle, kicking at Police then attaching herself to a nearby pole. The accused was removed, then a further officer arrived to assist escorting the accused inside the hospital.
The accused continued to pull against Police, dropping her body weight until she was carried to the doorway. The accused has kicked out her legs, then pushed against the doors in an effort to prevent her from being taken into hospital.
Police were directed to a hospital bed, where they carried the accused who continued to struggle, scream and swear.
The accused was issued a Transport Order to Bunbury Hospital for further mental health assessment. During the transport she tried to run away before being placed in the ambulance, then had to be physically removed from the ambulance at Bunbury.
On Saturday the 30th of January 2016, the accused was released from Hospital and arrested by Police. The accused refused to be interviewed, grabbing paper towels, throwing them on the floor along with plastic cups and cardboard boxes.
She was subsequently charged and bail refused.
As a result of the assault, Sergeant RICHARDS had swelling to his forearm. He had blood tests due to the accused's claims that she was a Hepatitis C carrier.
Constable GILBERT had tenderness and minor swelling to her hand which had been impacted on the kick.
Accused gave the explanation that she kicked one officer and bit the other as she was angry and did not want to go inside.
Introduction
This Victim Impact Statement recounts what I believe was the trigger event of my current diagnosis of Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD), Depression and Anxiety which resulted in my redundancy as a Police Officer and a career that has spanned 22 years since 1980.
Incident
...
Physical and Emotional Impact
As a result of the assault on myself, I had penetrating bite marks on my forearm, which the hospital staff began treating. I was informed that I was required to have mandatory blood tests as MOORE claimed she was a Hepatitis Carrier, hospital records confirm she was High Risk of Hepatitis C.
I was required to have 3 Blood Tests over a 6-month period to ensure that I had not contracted Hepatitis C. I was in shock, which was exasperated when I realised, I had to go home to my Wife and tell her that I had been bitten by a Female carrying Hepatitis C. This rocked me to the core, as I felt that I could not continue my relationship with my wife Alison. My wife at the time was in poor mental health and still finding it increasingly difficult to manage after the loss of our Son, Jonathon in June 2011.
I had been stationed in Perth and Rockingham since March 2012 and had transferred to the Busselton Police Station in August 2015 to reunite with my Wife and provide support to my Family. As I arrived home and informed my wife, she started to cry and be anxious about the event. This made me more upset as I was the sole provider for our family and my wife has not been able to work since our son's death in 2011.
My wife, Alison, told me she could not live without me, and that life would not be worth living without me. I tried to console her about the incident, but she was distraught, and I felt her emotionally pushing me away.
As 6 months passed, I received a negative result. I thought this would has brought me comfort, however I felt no change in my mental state and felt like I had been swallowed by the Earth with no possibility of escape.
My intimate relationship with Alison that we had since 1997 was diminishing as I receded into my own mind to the point where I could not hug her at nights. I found myself being insensitive and short with her as her own Mental Health continued to deteriorate.
At night, I would have dreams of the incident, acquiring Hepatitis C and my Wife taking my family and leaving me alone. I would wake up in cold sweats. I felt a change in myself and slowly other traumatic incidents that I had experienced in my career started to appear in my dreams at night and invading my thoughts during the day.
As the months followed, I felt that I had lost confidence in myself, my ability to make decisions under pressure and provide direction to my staff at the police station. I was unable to provide a guidance on a life decision when my staff came me, this resulted in my responsibilities being undermined and my staff phoning the OIC of the station for advice. This happened on multiple occasions.
On-going Psychological Impact
My family and friends would continuously ask me if I was Ok, I would put on a Front and say everything was Ok, when I knew it was not. I turned to alcohol to Block the thoughts I had during the day and stop the dreams at night, it was a source of comfort.
I was never a heavy drinker in the past and found myself consuming 2 bottles of wine a night along with Prescription drugs. The dreams, thoughts, initial incident with MOORE and countless other traumatic events felt relentless, I could not escape.
I felt like crawling into a hole, I would sit in the Police Station and only go on the road as a supervisor, allowing the other Police Officers to make the decisions. This made me feel helpless, in consultation with the OIC of the Police Station, I forced myself to rediscover my abilities and skills in my career that had spanned decades. It did not work; I was just going through the motions.
It took me months to get over the feelings of being upset, depressed, helpless, aggressive, and angry, I felt like I was dying inside. I continued to attend several other traumatic incidents, from major road crashes accidents that resulted in fatalities to members of the community completing suicide. I found myself increasingly emotional when I would attend these scenes, this was extremely out of character for me as I never used to show or be open with my emotions publicly. I was a professional Police Officer who could compartmentalise and process the scenes that I had witnessed.
I loved my Job, I loved being a Police Officer and assisting those in our Public that needed help. I joined in September 1980 and had enjoyed and felt purpose in my career until this incident and the subsequent incidents that followed. It was at this time that I started to attend Police health and Safety and speak with Psychiatrist Helen Piirto.
Diagnosis and Redundancy
To my shock, she diagnosed me with PTSD and placed me on prescription medication. I was upset, disappointed, confused and was confronted with the knowledge that my Policing Career was possibly over. I was referred to several Mental health professionals which resulted in receiving counselling and sessions of ERDM from Wayne McIntosh Counselling Psychologist, Bunbury.
This resulted in me accepting a redundancy in November 2018 after being told by the Police Hierarchy that by accepting a redundancy now it was better than accepting nothing later. As the Police Compensation Act was not in place at the time, there was no additional compensation, no pension and no financial security for me or my family, just the door that would see my career end. This absolutely devasted me.
My wife and I decided to move to Ballarat, Victoria and live with our eldest son Luke whilst we found our feet. In Ballarat, I was referred to a local Phycologist and placed on the Australian Disability Pension with my wife as my primary carer and minimal assistance from the NDIS. I was diagnosed with Anxiety and Depression in addition to my on-going PTSD.
I am still very depressed and feel that life has no meaning, I have had extraordinarily little to no improvement in my mental health since the initial incident. In fact, my life has spiralled in a downward direction due to the additional financial stress that my Wife and I must navigate through every day.
I continue to attend Sound Psychiatry every 2 weeks for on-going support. I am currently receiving Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation (TMS) through NeuroCentrix, Noble Park, Melbourne for Anxiety, Depression and PTSD, that involves 30 intensive sessions.
In August I will be attending The Geelong Clinic, Geelong, as an outpatient for a 12-week PTSD treatment Program which involves individual and group therapy exploring PTSD education, anxiety, and anger management, along with drug and alcohol education. My Partner is also invited to attend partner support groups and relationship sessions.
Conclusion
I still think of my time as a Police Officer, and this upsets me greatly because of the situation I have found myself in. I had given over 22 years of my life to the Police Force and honestly believe, with the correct help, guidance, and assistance I still could have be[en] working in the Police Force serving the West Australian Community.
Instead, my problems were diagnosed, the correct help not given, I was made redundant, shown the door, and given no compensation for something I did not contribute too or am at fault for. This has resulted in me being unable to work or seek additional financial ventures to improve my degrading situation and provide financial support to my family.
I miss being a Police Officer every day of my life and knowing that I gave over 22 years of my life to the West Australian Community to receive nothing back, breaks my heart.
Answer: This is reasonable insofar as Sergeant Richards has worked as an Operational Police Officer for many years, despite having chronic PTSD and associated chronic mood symptoms, as well as depressive phenomena following the death of his stepson. Hence there is every reason to believe that he can return to work effectively in an Operational capacity in the foreseeable future.
Question Six: Opinion on fitness for active service in the short, medium and long term.
Answer: Sergeant Richards is unlikely to be fit to return to Operational duties in the short term. However, in the medium term this will be possible, and in the long term quite probable.
He has never had psychiatric problems in the past. He has had a lot of trauma during his time as a policeman, including in his first year as a constable seeing someone's head blown off with a shot gun, and then seeing a 14 year old boy who had been crushed in a farm accident. However, closer to home, his stepson died in a car accident in 2011 and his wife's nephew died in her [sic] 40's from a myocardial infarction a year ago.
He had to attend a coronial this year for a 43 year old man who died suddenly from an infarct, and this brought up memories of his wife's nephew.
That's probably when he began to struggle and be distracted and withdrawn at work. This was noticed by his boss. He is very happy working. He has a good boss and good colleagues, and he wants to continue working up to the age of 70. However, he has been off work since March of this year, is seeing Wayne MacIntosh through the EAP and five weeks ago through WA Police Health and Welfare saw the psychiatrist Dr Helena Piirto, who started him on Lexapro 10 mg, and in the last week it has gone up to 20 mg. He also takes occasional Temazepam, Oxazepam and Mersyndol. None of them have really helped him and he still has sleep problems with nightmares and disturbing eidetic images. He has a moderate level of depression and anxiety but he is not suicidal. He does not own a gun.
He is on sick leave and I continued that for the next month. He has no lawyer or union but will be seeking workers compensation, but overall he wants to get back to work.
Dr Proud opined that Mr Richards had PTSD, moderate severity, 'chronic but because of his positive attitude to work at this stage he as a good prognosis'.[5]
Mr Richards reported that he has experienced two significant personal traumas in the last eight years including the tragic death of his stepson in an off-road traffic accident in 2011 and the sudden death of his 42-year-old nephew in 2017. In both cases Mr Richards reported that he was very involved in both men's lives offering the guidance and nurturing of a father type role. Mr Richards reported that he undertook the responsibility of arranging funerals and being the emotional supporter for his wife and his nephew's wife and family. A task that Mr Richards took on with pride and as a matter of duty, he now acknowledges that there was limited opportunity for him to grieve his own loss.
As a Police Sergeant Mr Richards reported that it was his duty to guide and inform the newer recruits and less experienced officers in the practice of policing and he acknowledged that at times he would take on the tasks of informing families in an official capacity of the death of their family member, and in a way protect his less experienced colleagues from having to deliver tragic news.
Similarly, in his position as Police Sergeant, it was his role to attend sudden or suspicious deaths, murders, suicide, traffic accidents and misadventures that included significant injuries and or death. Mr Richards reported on several scenes that he attended whereby he witnessed death, with a case involving a 14-year-old boy in a farming accident that had a significant impact on his emotional wellbeing. Mr Richards acknowledged that this incident resonated with him as he recognised the grief in the boy's father that Mr Richards had experienced with the death of his son.
Mr Richards reported that he felt as though he was unable to discuss his feelings with his wife, as although they are close, he didn't want to burden his wife with his own grief. Mr Richards also acknowledged that whilst mental health and the welfare of police officers had improved in the latter years of his service, he still adopted a 'I should be able to handle these situation' type attitude.
There are multiple examples of trauma that Mr Richards has disclosed.
...
As at the date of Mr McIntosh's report in February 2019, Mr Richards had taken a redundancy package and was in the process of moving to Ballarat. Mr Richards reported to Mr McIntosh that he was continuing to struggle with anxiety and recurring nightmares and was intending to access psychological support in Ballarat.[6]
Mental Health
Mr Richards has a history of exposure to traumatic events, both direct and indirect. These include:
The final coronial death in 2018 triggered flooding memories of many traumas, requiring several months off work.
Mr Richards said that in 2017 he had lack of performance and had 'cloud over my head'. He said that he was having recurring dreams of the events which he had attended in his role as a police officer and waking up with sweats. He said that he felt sick in the morning and had nerves, anxiety and dry retching. He said that he had lack of energy. He said that he had to depend on his wife to provide him support. He said that he could not think straight and the hierarchy picked it up.
Mr Richards reported 'memories of traumatic incidents he had attended both as a police officer and in his personal life'.
(a) a letter from psychologist, Mr Eitan Daniel of Sound Psychology Ballarat, dated 2 February 2022;
(b) a letter from consultant psychiatrist, Dr Louisa Du Toit of Geelong Psychiatry Practice, dated 23 April 2021;
(d) a letter from Ms Alison Richards (Mr Richards' wife), dated 1 July 2022;
(e) a Centrelink 2021/2022 PAYG Payment Summary, dated 6 July 2022;
(f) a letter from a RiskCover acting Commercial Claims Officer, Ms Leanne Tinsley, dated 5 July 2019;
(g) an NDIS Plan for period 21 May 2020 to 20 May 2023; and
(h) a letter from Victorian Mortgage Group dated 23 May 2022.
Should Mr Richards be given leave to commence the Application out of time?
An assessor may allow an application for compensation to be made after the three-year period if he or she thinks it is just to do so, and may do so on any conditions that the assessor thinks it is just to impose. The onus is on [the applicant] to explain to the satisfaction of the court the reasons for the delay in bringing the application. There are strong policy reasons for imposing limitation periods and ensuring they are complied with. The time limit set out in the Act is a substantive provision of the Act and not merely a procedural time limit imposed by the rules of court. As such, it ought not be treated with the indulgence appropriate to merely procedural rules. The burden on [the applicant] is thus no triviality and the applicant must make a substantial case for it being just and proper for the court to exercise its statutory discretion to extend time.
(a) the history of and background to the proposed application;
(d) the prospects of the compensation application succeeding;
(e) the consequences for the parties of the grant or refusal of an extension of time, including the extent of any prejudice to the offender; and
(f) whether injustice will be suffered if an extension of time is refused.
The reason that I had not completed my Criminal Compensation Application within the 3 years' time frame was that I was suffering from Anxiety, Depression and PTSD that affected my Mental Capacity in applying.
My ongoing treatments for Anxiety, Depression and PTSD have been addressed in my Victim Impact Statement.
Peter first displayed symptoms PTSD in 2016. This was in the context of attending the death of a young teenage boy and a few days later being bitten by an HIV-positive person. He recognises the cumulative effect of attending multiple incidents over his years working in the police force, which included attending traffic accidents, suicides, SIDS deaths, family violence and aggression. Trauma or deaths related to children tends to affect him more deeply.
At that time of his initial mental health difficulties he experienced increased anxiety and struggled to perform his normal day-to-day tasks. His concentration declined and he struggled with decision-making. He experienced vivid recurring dreams, especially nightmares of traffic accidents, and would often wake up in sweats. He also described flashbacks. In context of this he started struggling to find meaning and purpose in this job.
Peter appears to have PTSD relating to numerous assaults and traumatic incidents that he was witness to. He continues to experience PTSD symptoms, but is also greatly afflicted by moral injury/guilt/shame and reduced self-worth due to experiences as well as the PTSD. His wife and family are largely protective, and he has also enjoyed going to Men's Shed.
Dr Du Toit goes on to make some treatment suggestions and to confirm that Mr Richards would benefit from doing the PTSD group at her clinic.
Mr. Richards has been dealing with PTSD symptoms stemming from his accumulative exposure to traumatic incidents as part of his duties with the Western Australian Police force. An incident where he was bitten in 2016 is considered the tipping point of his PTSD onset however, this event was preceded by a large amount of exposure to a significant and large number of critical incidents.
It does appear that a complicating factor to this accumulative impact of stress and anxiety may be attributed to police culture, procedures including a lack of support to identify, reduce and track the impact of critical incident exposure of Mr. Richards.
Mr Daniel goes on the describe Mr Richards' positive attitude to his treatment to date and the gains he has made, noting that his long-term recovery will not be a linear one.
Were Mr Richards symptoms and injuries suffered injuries as a consequence of the commission of the Assault?
I felt a change in myself and slowly other traumatic incidents that I had experienced in my career started to appear in my dreams at night and invading my thoughts during the day.
So the Assault appears to have had a catalytic effect which the other events which I referred to at [55] did not.
(2) In the case of a victim who is injured, loss means -
(a) expenses actually and reasonably incurred by or on behalf of the victim -
(ii) that arise in obtaining any report from a health professional or a counsellor in relation to,
the injury suffered by the victim; or
(b) expenses that are likely to be reasonably incurred by or on behalf of the victim for treatment that the victim is likely to need as a direct consequence of the injury suffered by the victim; or
(c) loss of earnings suffered by the victim as a direct consequence of the injury suffered by the victim; or
(d) any loss arising from any damage caused as a direct consequence of the commission of the offence to any personal item that was being worn by the victim when he or she suffered the injury.
(e) depression, including low mood and decreased enjoyment of life;
(g) repetitive memories (flashbacks) of the Assault which intrude into his everyday life;
It is also evident that his symptoms have impacted his relationship with his wife.
Do the payments received from RiskCover have to be deducted from the award of compensation pursuant to CICA s 42(3)?
[T]he proposition that the purpose or object of the Act is, generally speaking, to provide compensation out of the public purse for all victims of crime, is incorrect. The provisions of the Act, construed in their ordinary and natural meaning, do not reveal that that is the purpose of the legislature. Rather, the amicus was correct to observe that the policy of the Act is evidently to provide a publicly funded means by which victims of crime can receive some payments of compensation for injury or loss incurred as a result of criminal activity 'in some circumstances' (as the long title indicates). It does so on the basis that there is to be a deduction from the award of the amount of compensation or damages which a victim receives from another source. In that manner, the limited public resources engaged by the Act are directed to victims of crime who would not otherwise be compensated for their injury or loss. This is confirmed by s 21, which provides, in effect, that an assessor may defer dealing with the question of compensation and require the victim first to take steps to recover any amounts to which he or she may be entitled independently of the operation of the Act. A provision of that kind indicates that the legislature was not merely concerned with the avoidance of 'double dipping' (itself a term the meaning of which is dependent upon context) as the appellant contended, but more broadly intended that the victim should exhaust other means of compensation available to him or her before there is any recourse to payment from the public purse.
And more specifically that 'the effect of s 42(3) is to prevent "double dipping" in the sense that other sources of compensation are to be deducted from a "compensation award'''.[60]
[T]here is no foothold in the language of s 42(3) for an argument to the effect that s 42(3) is addressing a notional compensation award which is split into different elements to which the deductions in s 42 are to be applied differentially. Under s 42(3) a (single) 'compensation award' in relation to any injury or loss is the subject of the deduction. The deduction is (relevantly) 'any amount' that the victim has received.
...
... there will be a deduction of any redress payment from any criminal injuries compensation payment ... People can go to criminal injuries compensation, but any money they have received under redress will be deducted from their criminal injuries compensation.
If an assessor is satisfied that a victim, or a close relative of a deceased victim, who has suffered injury or loss will receive an amount, whether under a contract of insurance or otherwise, for the injury or loss, the assessor may deduct the amount from a compensation award in relation to that injury or loss.
Do the payments received from NDIS have to be deducted from the award of compensation pursuant to CICA s 42(3)?
(1) A person meets the disability requirements if:
(a) the person has a disability that is attributable to one or more intellectual, cognitive, neurological, sensory or physical impairments or the person has one or more impairments to which a psychosocial disability is attributable ; and
(b) the impairment or impairments are, or are likely to be, permanent; and
(c) the impairment or impairments result in substantially reduced functional capacity to undertake one or more of the following activities:
(d) the impairment or impairments affect the person's capacity for social or economic participation; and
(e) the person is likely to require support under the National Disability Insurance Scheme for the person's lifetime.
Agency may provide funding to persons or entities
(1) The Agency may provide assistance in the form of funding for persons or entities:
(a) for the purposes of enabling those persons or entities to provide information in relation to disability and disability supports and services; or
(aa) for the purposes of enabling those persons or entities to provide assistance in building capacity within the community in connection with the provision of goods and services to people with disability and their families and carers; or
(ab) for the purposes of enabling those persons or entities to assist people with disability to realise their potential for physical, social, emotional and intellectual development; or
(ac) for the purposes of enabling those persons or entities to assist people with disability, and their families and carers, to participate in social and economic life; or
(b) otherwise in the performance of the Agency's functions.
The NDIS is designed to complement, not replace, existing compensation arrangements for personal injury. These Rules are about ensuring that where individuals receive compensation payments, the NDIS does not duplicate the funding for supports already provided for by these payments.
These Rules specify how compensation payments in respect of a compensable injury suffered by a participant are taken into account by the CEO in determining the reasonable and necessary supports that will be funded or provided under the NDIS.
Although it uses the word frequently, the Act does not define "disability". There is a definition in Art 1 of the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities:
Persons with disabilities include those who have long-term physical, mental, intellectual or sensory impairments which in interaction with various barriers may hinder their full and effective participation in society on an equal basis with others.
The Act also uses the word "impairment", especially in Ch 3. That is also not a defined term, although "participant's impairment" is: see s 9. The link between "disability" and "impairment" is not explained in the Act. The use of both the term "disability" and the term "impairment" in their context indicates that one matter the Act is not concerned with, at least in terms of access to the NDIS as a participant, is how a person came to have a disability. Whether it be through birth, disease, injury or accident, all persons with disabilities who meet the access criteria can be participants, and all persons with disabilities may be otherwise assisted in the way contemplated by Ch 2 of the Act. ...
For the purposes of the Social Security Act, the pension does not appear to be compensation.
The purpose of social security payments is 'to provide benefits to a class of person who would be otherwise in impecunious or straitened circumstances' ...
The payment is not dependent on a recipient having a loss or having suffered an injury. It relates to a person's inability to work as a result of disability.
I do not consider the disability support pension received by the appellant to be compensation for loss or injury pursuant to s 42(3)(d) of the Act. There is no evidence that it was intended to make up for or to offset or to make amends for a debt or a loss.
I do not reduce the appellant's award of compensation as a result of his receipt of the pension.
If an assessor dealing with a compensation application by or on behalf of a victim who suffered injury as a consequence of the commission of an offence is of the opinion that the victim -
(a) has reasonable grounds for taking proceedings independently of this Act to obtain compensation or damages for all or some of the claimed injury and any claimed loss; or
(b) may be entitled under a contract of insurance to payment for all or some of that injury or loss,
the assessor may require the victim to take proceedings to obtain the compensation, damages or payment and may defer the application pending the determination of those proceedings.
(a) the decision of the Assessor be varied to increase the amount of compensation to $23,189.91; and
I certify that the preceding paragraph(s) comprise the reasons for decision of the District Court of Western Australia.
[1] I will refer to the Matter Book provided by the Office of Criminal Compensation using the abbreviation 'MB' followed by the page number. In this instance MB 15.
[14] Criminal Injuries Compensation Act 2003 (WA) (CICA) s 55(3).
[15] These letters have been lodged as court documents.
[17] Savic v Duric [2021] WADC 53 [21] (Gething DCJ) (Savic); Underwood v Underwood [2018] WADC 13 [19] (Gething DCJ) (Underwood); Robinson [2017] WADC 18 [7] (Troy DCJ); Gullelo v Halloran [2008] WADC 145 [5] (Commissioner Staude) (Gullelo).
[18] Savic [21]; Hazart Pty Ltd v Rademaker (1993) 11 WAR 26, 28 (Malcom CJ).
[19] Savic [21]; Underwood [19]; Gullelo [5].
[22] Savic [23]; Underwood [36]; Cahill v Smith [2015] WADC 148 [8] (Wager DCJ).
[23] Savic [23]; Milburn-Thomas v Palmer [2020] WADC 158 [51] (Lonsdale DCJ) (Milburn-Thomas); Nagel v Tahere [2020] WADC 110 [35] (Gething DCJ) (Nagel); Underwood [37].
[24] CICA s 56(2)(b).
[25] Savic [27]; Nagel [28]; CME [2018] WADC 69 [11] (Bowden DCJ).
[26] See generally: Baker v His Honour Judge Stone of the District Court of Western Australia [2015] WASCA 56 [42] (judgment of the court) (Baker); Cooper v Smith [2017] WADC 82 [13] - [14] (Derrick DCJ) (Cooper).
[28] Hansen v Bolton [2017] WADC 25 [12] (Herron DCJ) (Hansen).
[29] Re McHenry [2014] WADC 92 [27] (Herron DCJ) (McHenry).
[30] Hansen [14]; McHenry [20] - [27]; Re Jackamarra [2014] WADC 9 [19] - [23] (Schoombee DCJ).
[33] Hatfield v Under Secretary for Law (Unreported, WASC, Library No 4012, 15 December 1980) 5 (Burt CJ); Savic [45]; Underwood [83].
[34] S v Neumann (1995) 14 WAR 452, 461 (Murray J) (Neumann); Savic [45]; Underwood [83].
[35] Neumann (461); Savic [45]; Underwood [83].
[36] Savic [45]; Underwood [83].
[39] Fagan v Crimes Compensation Tribunal [1982] HCA 49; (1982) 150 CLR 666, 673 (Mason & Wilson JJ) (Fagan); Savic [33]; Underwood [87]; Townend v McAlindon [2017] WADC 63 [36] (Sleight CJDC); T v Curnuck [2004] WASC 139 [27] (Barker J); B v B [2004] WASC 6 [14] (Barker J).
[40] Fitzgerald v Penn [1954] HCA 74; (1954) 91 CLR 268, 277 (Dixon CJ, Fullagar & Kitto JJ); Bennett v Minister of Community Welfare [1992] HCA 27; (1992) 176 CLR 408, 412 - 413 (Mason CJ, Deane & Toohey JJ); Fagan (673); East Metropolitan Health Service v Ellis [2020] WASCA 147 [277] (judgment of the court) (Ellis); Savic [33]; Underwood [87].
[41] Hunt & Hunt Lawyers v Mitchell Morgan Nominees Pty Ltd [2013] HCA 10; (2013) 247 CLR 613 [45] (French CJ, Hayne & Kiefel JJ); Ellis [597] - [699]; Savic [33]; Underwood [87].
[42] Fagan (673); AA v ARW [2020] WADC 131 [38] (Gething DCJ) (AA); Underwood [88].
[45] Savic [47]; AA [40]; Bothma v Hildebrand [2019] WADC 92 [40] (Gething DCJ) (Bothma); Underwood [113]; M v J and J v J (Unreported, WASC, Library No 920598, 19 November 1992 (Scott J); RJE v Bandy (Unreported, WASC, Library No 1365, 31 May 1974) 3 (Burt J) (RJE).
[47] Savic [49]; Underwood [112]; Neumann (463).
[48] Savic [50]; Underwood [115]; G & N v R [2006] WADC 208 [8]; (2006) 48 SR (WA) 301 (Goetze DCJ); B v W (1989) 6 SR (WA) 79, 89 (Williams DCJ).
[50] Savic [51]; AA [46]; M R & R C Smith Pty Ltd t/as Ultra Tune (Osborne Park) v Wyatt [No 2] [2012] WASCA 110 [113] (Pullin JA, with whom Newnes JA agreed & Murphy JA generally agreed).
[51] Planet Fisheries Pty Ltd v La Rosa [1968] HCA 62; (1968) 119 CLR 118, 125 (Barwick CJ, Kitto & Menzies JJ); South Metropolitan Health Service v Westcott [2016] WASCA 225 [133] (judgment of the court); Houlahan v Pitchen [2009] WASCA 104 [107] (Newnes JA with whom Pullin & Miller JJA agreed) (Houlahan); Winiarczyk v Tsirigotis [2011] WASCA 97 [71] (judgment of the Court) (Winiarczyk); Savic [51]; AA [46].
[52] Savic [51]; AA [46]; Houlahan [107]; Winiarczyk [71].
[53] Savic [51]; Underwood [118]; Shepherd v Shepherd [2010] WADC 30 [20]; (2010) 71 SR (WA) 143 (Wager DCJ); Garton v McCormack (2002) 30 SR (WA) 307 [15] (Yeats DCJ); Re Karra (1984) 2 SR (WA) 97, 100 - 101 (Heenan DCJ); RJE (3).
[54] Savic [52]; Re Warrek [2019] WADC 50 [37] (Troy DCJ) (Re Warrek); Blackwell v Warren [2018] WADC 127 [36] (Troy DCJ) (Blackwell).
[58] CICA s 6(2)(c).
[63] Cooper v Smith [2017] WADC 82 (Derrick DCJ).
[66] Cooper [72], [91], [100].
[67] Hansard, Legislative Assembly, 28 November 2018, pages 8813 - 8818.
[70] Re Wakelin [2018] WADC 165 [12] - [13] (Quail DCJ) (Re Wakelin).
[73] Goodwin v Baker [2020] WADC 43 [18] (Levy DCJ) (Goodwin).
[77] Letter dated 5 July 2019, part of the Further Evidence.
[83] Mulligan v National Disability Insurance Agency [2015] FCA 544 [15] - [16] (Mortimer J).
[84] Attorney General for Western Australia v Her Honour Judge Schoombee [2012] WASCA 29 [29] - [44] (Martin CJ, with whom Newnes & Murphy JJA agreed)(Attorney General).
[87] The Australian Oxford Dictionary (Second edition, 2004, Oxford University Press).
[88] Re Matthews [2017] WADC 126 [59] (Wager DCJ).
[89] Re Matthews [79] - [83].
[90] Re Matthews [79] - [82].
[91] Baker [45] (quoted in full at [80]).
[92] As to the principles for assessing damages for an aggravation of a pre-existing injury, see generally: Underwood [89] - [91], [108] - [120].
AA
ARW
(1992) 176 CLR 408
(1982) 150 CLR 666
(1954) 91 CLR 268
(1993) 11 WAR 26
(2013) 247 CLR 613
(1968) 119 CLR 118
(1995) 14 WAR 452