(i) throughout the period starting on the day on which the Department was contacted and ending on the day on which the person lodged the claim, the person was suffering from a medical condition; and
(ii) that medical condition, or circumstances related to that medical condition, had a significant adverse effect on the person’s ability to lodge the claim earlier;
the person is taken to have made a claim for the concession card on the day on which the Department was contacted.
(3) For the purposes of the social security law, if:
(a) the Department is contacted by or on behalf of a person (the claimant) in relation to a claim for a concession card; and
(aa) the claimant is, on the day on which the Department is contacted, included in a class of persons determined in an instrument under section 14A; and
(b) the claimant is, on the day on which the Department is contacted, qualified for the concession card; and
(d) the claimant lodges a claim for the concession card more than 14 days, but not more than 13 weeks, after the Department is contacted; and
(e) the Secretary is satisfied that:
(i) throughout the period starting on the day on which the Department was contacted and ending on the day on which the claimant lodged the claim, the claimant was caring for, or was the partner of, another person; and
(ii) throughout that period, the other person suffered from a medical condition; and
(iii) the medical condition, or circumstances related to the medical condition, from which the other person was suffering had a significant adverse effect on the claimant’s ability to lodge the claim earlier;
the claimant is taken to have made a claim for the concession card on the day on which the Department was contacted.
(3A) For the purposes of the social security law, if:
(a) the Department is contacted by or on behalf of a person in relation to a claim for a concession card; and
(aa) the person is, on the day on which the Department is contacted, included in a class of persons determined in an instrument under section 14A; and
(b) the person is, on the day on which the Department is contacted, qualified for the concession card; and
(d) the person lodges a claim for the concession card more than 14 days, but not more than 13 weeks, after the Department is contacted; and
(e) the Secretary is satisfied that, in the special circumstances of the case, it was not reasonably practicable for the person to lodge the claim earlier;
the person is taken to have made a claim for the concession card on the day on which the Department was contacted.
(4) A reference in this section to the Department being contacted includes a reference to the Department being contacted by post or telephone or by the transmission of a message by the use of fax, computer equipment or other electronic means.
14A Determination for purposes of sections 13 and 14
The Minister may, by legislative instrument, determine a class of persons for the purposes of paragraphs 13(1)(aa), (2)(aa), (3)(aa) and (3A)(aa) and 14(1)(aa), (2)(aa), (3)(aa) and (3A)(aa).
15 Deemed claim—incorrect or inappropriate claims
(1) For the purposes of the social security law, if:
(a) a person makes an incorrect claim; and
(b) the person subsequently makes a claim for a social security payment for which the person is qualified; and
(c) the Secretary is satisfied that it is reasonable that this subsection be applied;
the person is taken to have made a claim for that social security payment on the day on which he or she made the incorrect claim.
(2) For the purposes of this section, a claim made by a person is an incorrect claim if:
(a) the claim is for a social security payment, other than a supplementary payment; and
(b) when the claim was made, the person was not qualified for the payment claimed but was qualified for another social security payment, other than a supplementary payment.
(3) For the purposes of this section, a claim made by a person is an incorrect claim if:
(a) the claim is for a supplementary payment; and
(b) when the claim was made, the person was not qualified for the payment claimed but was qualified for another supplementary payment.
(4) For the purposes of the social security law, if:
(a) a person makes a claim for a pension, allowance, benefit or other payment under a law of the Commonwealth, other than this Act or the 1991 Act, or under a program administered by the Commonwealth, that is similar in character to a social security payment, other than a supplementary payment (the initial claim); and
(b) when the claim was made, the person was qualified for a social security payment, other than a supplementary payment; and
(c) the person subsequently makes a claim for the social security payment referred to in paragraph (b) (the later claim); and
(d) the Secretary is satisfied that it is reasonable that this subsection be applied;
the person is taken to have made the later claim on the day on which the initial claim was made.
(4A) For the purposes of the social security law, if:
(a) a person makes a claim for an income support payment (the initial claim); and
(b) on the day on which the initial claim is made, the person is qualified for another income support payment (the other income support payment); and
(c) the person subsequently makes a claim for the other income support payment (the later claim); and
(d) the Secretary is satisfied that it is reasonable that this subsection be applied;
the person is taken to have made the later claim on the day on which the initial claim was made.
(4B) For the purposes of the social security law, if:
(a) a person makes a claim for a supplementary payment (the initial claim); and
(b) on the day on which the initial claim is made, the person is qualified for another supplementary payment (the other supplementary payment); and
(c) the person subsequently makes a claim for the other supplementary payment (the later claim); and
(d) the Secretary is satisfied that it is reasonable that this subsection be applied;
the person is taken to have made the later claim on the day on which the initial claim was made.
(5) In this section:
supplementary payment means:
(a) carer allowance; or
(b) double orphan pension; or
(c) education entry payment; or
(i) mobility allowance; or
(j) pensioner education supplement.
15A Deemed claim—certain claims for carer allowance
Claim for carer payment rejected
(1) For the purposes of the social security law, if:
(a) on or after 1 July 2009, a person (the carer) makes a claim for a carer payment for caring for a person because the carer is qualified for the payment other than under paragraph 198(2)(d); and
(b) the Secretary makes a determination rejecting the claim; and
(c) within 28 days of being notified of the determination, the carer makes a claim for carer allowance for caring for the person; and
(d) the carer is qualified under section 953 of the 1991 Act for carer allowance for the person; and
(e) the Secretary is satisfied that it is reasonable that this section be applied;
the carer is taken to have made a claim for carer allowance on the day on which the carer made the claim for a carer payment.
Carer payment suspended or cancelled
(2) For the purposes of the social security law, if:
(a) on or after 1 July 2009, a person (the carer) is receiving the carer payment for caring for one or more persons because the carer is qualified for the payment other than under paragraph 198(2)(d); and
(b) the Secretary makes a determination cancelling or suspending the carer’s carer payment; and
(c) within 28 days of being notified of the determination, the carer makes a claim for carer allowance for caring for the person; and
(d) the carer is qualified under section 953 of the 1991 Act for carer allowance for the person; and
(e) the Secretary is satisfied that it is reasonable that this section be applied;
the carer is taken to have made a claim for carer allowance on the day after the day on which the cancellation or suspension took effect.
Subdivision C—Manner of making a claim
16 How to make a claim
(1) A person makes a claim for a social security payment or a concession card:
(a) by lodging a written claim for the payment or card; or
(b) by making the claim in accordance with subsection (7).
(2) A written claim for the purpose of subsection (1) for one social security payment or for a concession card must be in accordance with a form approved by the Secretary.
(3) Two or more written claims by the same person may be combined in one claim. Such a claim must be made in accordance with a form approved by the Secretary for the purposes of this subsection.
(4) A written claim is lodged by being delivered:
(a) to a person apparently performing duties at a place approved for the purpose by the Secretary; or
(b) to a person approved for the purpose by the Secretary; or
(c) in a manner, and to a place, approved for the purpose by the Secretary.
(5) Subject to subsection (6), a place or person approved for the purposes of subsection (4) must be a place or person in Australia.
(6) The Secretary may approve a place or person outside Australia for the purposes of subsection (4) for the lodgment of:
(a) claims made under a scheduled international social security agreement; or
(b) claims for AGDRP in relation to a major disaster that occurred outside Australia; or
(c) claims for AVTOP.
(7) A person may make a claim in a manner approved by the Secretary for the purposes of this subsection.
(8) The power of the Secretary to make an approval under subsection (7) is not limited by any other provision of this section.
17 Special requirements regarding claims for pension bonus
(1) A claim for pension bonus must be:
(a) attached to a proper claim made by the person for age pension and lodged together with that claim for age pension; or
(b) made in accordance with an invitation under subsection (3); or
(c) the subject of a determination under subsection (5).
(2) A claim for pension bonus may be made even though it is not certain whether the person will start to receive an age pension at or after the time when the person makes the claim. The claim has effect as a claim that is contingent on the person receiving an age pension.
(3) If:
(a) a person makes a claim for an age pension; and
(b) the claim is in accordance with a form that does not require the claimant to disclose whether the claimant is registered as a member of:
(i) the pension bonus scheme; or
(ii) the corresponding scheme under Part IIIAB of the Veterans’ Entitlements Act; and
(c) the person is, to the knowledge of the Secretary, registered as a member of the pension bonus scheme; and
(d) a claim by the person for pension bonus is not attached to the claim for age pension;
the Secretary must give the claimant a written notice inviting the claimant to lodge a claim for pension bonus:
(e) within such period after the lodgment of the claim for age pension as is specified in the notice; and
(f) at such place as in specified in the notice.
(4) If a claim for pension bonus is made in accordance with an invitation under subsection (3), the person is taken to have claimed the pension bonus at the same time as the person claimed age pension.
(5) If:
(a) a person who is a registered member of the pension bonus scheme lodges a claim for age pension; and
(b) a claim for pension bonus for the person is lodged after the claim for age pension; and
(c) the Secretary is satisfied that, having regard to guidelines (if any) made under subsection (6), special circumstances apply in relation to the lodgment of the claim for pension bonus;
the Secretary may determine that the claim for the pension bonus is taken to have been made at the time the person claimed age pension.
(6) The Secretary may, by legislative instrument, make guidelines for the purposes of subsection (5).
18 Additional provisions regarding claim for special employment advance
(1) A claim for special employment advance must specify the amount of special employment advance sought.
(2) Subject to subsection (3), if a claim based on the effect of the unreceived income on the claimant’s special employment advance qualifying entitlement is lodged before the first day for which the entitlement is not payable or is reduced as a result of the claimant, or the claimant’s partner, having earned the income, the claim is taken to have been made on that day.
(3) If:
(a) the claimant’s special employment advance qualifying entitlement referred to in subsection (2) is an entitlement in respect of which the Secretary has determined that this subsection applies; and
(b) the claim is lodged before the day referred to in subsection (2);
the Secretary may treat the claim as having been made on a day earlier than the day referred to in subsection (2) that the Secretary considers appropriate having regard to the kind of entitlement concerned.
(4) A claim based on the need for financial assistance from the Commonwealth to take up offered employment must set out:
(a) particulars (including the duration) of the employment; and
(b) the way in which the financial assistance is to be expended to enable the claimant to take up the employment.
19 Special requirements regarding claims for essential medical equipment payment
(1) A claim for an essential medical equipment payment must include a statement by the person making the claim that the medical equipment to which the claim relates is used in the relevant EMEP residence.
(2) If:
(a) a person who provides care and attention for a person with medical needs makes a claim for an essential medical equipment payment; and
(b) the person with medical needs is not a dependent child of that or any other person;
the claim must be signed by the person with medical needs.
Subdivision E—Time limits for claims for pension bonus
20 Interpretation
An expression used in this Subdivision has the same meaning as it has in Part 2.2A of the 1991 Act.
21 General rule
(1) A claim for pension bonus must be made within the lodgment period fixed by this Subdivision.
(2) However, the Secretary may in special circumstances allow a person a longer period to make a claim than the period fixed by this Subdivision. If the Secretary does so, the lodgment period for the person’s claim is the period allowed by the Secretary.
(3) Subsection (2) does not apply in relation to a claim for which the lodgment period is fixed by subsection 23(1).
22 Last bonus period a full‑year period
(1) If a person’s last bonus period is a full‑year period, the lodgment period for a claim by the person for pension bonus is the period of 13 weeks immediately following that bonus period. However, this rule does not apply if:
(a) the person is an exempt partnered person for the purposes of section 24 at the end of the person’s last bonus period; or
(b) the person’s membership of the pension bonus scheme becomes non‑accruing immediately after the end of the person’s last bonus period; or
(c) the person is a post‑75 member of the pension bonus scheme and has a post‑75 work period (see subsection 26(2)).
(2) For the purposes of this section, if a person has accrued only one full‑year bonus period, that period is the person’s last bonus period.
23 Last bonus period a part‑year period
(1) If a person’s last bonus period is a part‑year period, the lodgment period for a claim by the person for pension bonus is:
(a) the period of 13 weeks beginning at the end of that bonus period; or
(b) if the Secretary allows a longer period—that longer period.
However, this subsection does not apply if:
(c) the person is an exempt partnered person (see subsection 24(2)) at the end of the person’s last bonus period; or
(d) the person’s membership of the pension bonus scheme becomes non‑accruing immediately after the end of the person’s last bonus period; or
(e) the person is a post‑75 member of the pension bonus scheme and has a post‑75 work period (see subsection 26(2)).
(2) If:
(a) subsection (1) applies to a person’s claim for pension bonus; and
(b) the claim is lodged within a period allowed under paragraph (1)(b);
Division 6 of Part 2.2A of the 1991 Act has effect, in relation to the calculation of the amount of that pension bonus, as if the person had not accrued the part‑year bonus period.
24 Claim by exempt partnered person
(1) If a person is an exempt partnered person at the end of the person’s last bonus period, the lodgment period applicable to the person’s claim for pension bonus is the period:
(a) beginning at the end of that bonus period; and
(b) ending at:
(i) the time of the last occasion on which the person’s partner could have lodged a claim for a pension bonus; or
(ii) the end of the period of 13 weeks after the person ceases to be a member of the same couple (whether because of the death of the person’s partner or for any other reason);
whichever comes first.
(2) For the purposes of this section, a person is an exempt partnered person at a particular time if, at that time, the person is a member of a couple and:
(a) the person’s partner is an accruing or non‑accruing member of the pension bonus scheme; or
(b) the person’s partner is an accruing or non‑accruing member of the corresponding scheme under Part IIIAB of the Veterans’ Entitlements Act.
25 Claim where membership has become non‑accruing
If a person’s membership of the pension bonus scheme becomes non‑accruing immediately after the end of the person’s last bonus period, the lodgment period applicable to the person’s claim for pension bonus is the period:
(a) beginning at the end of the person’s last bonus period; and
(b) ending 13 weeks after the time when the person’s membership of the scheme ceases to be non‑accruing.