Higher Education Support (HELP Tuition Protection Levy) Act 2020
In ForceCTH
Jurisdiction
Commonwealth
Act Number
4 of 2020
Collection
act
Plain English Summary
7/10 complexity
This Act creates a yearly HELP tuition protection levy on eligible higher education providers that receive HECS‑HELP or FEE‑HELP payments. The levy is a sum of three components (administrative fee, risk‑rated premium, special tuition protection) set by ministers and a Tuition Protection Director through annual instruments, indexed to CPI and subject to caps and exemptions. It matters because it imposes recurring, formulaic charges on providers that receive HELP funding and delegates key rate‑setting to executive instruments.
This Act imposes an annual levy on certain non-government higher education providers to fund the Higher Education Tuition Protection Fund. The levy is a compulsory payment with three components: an administrative fee component, a risk rated premium component, and a special tuition protection component (s 7). The levy is imposed on a provider for a calendar year if the provider is a leviable provider at any time during that year (s 6). A leviable provider is a higher education provider to which Part 5-1A of the Higher Education Support Act 2003 applies, but expressly excludes providers that are owned by the Commonwealth, a state or a territory, or established under specified TAFE legislation (s 5(1A)). That exclusion means the levy effectively targets private higher education providers, including private universities and non-university higher education providers that participate in the HELP loan scheme. The levy proceeds are paid into the Higher Education Tuition Protection Fund, which is used to make payments when a provider defaults on its obligations to students or when a provider ceases to provide a course. The Act is a financing mechanism; it does not itself set out the rules for paying out of the fund or for student protection. Those rules are contained in amendments to the Higher Education Support Act 2003 made by the Education Legislation Amendment (Tuition Protection and Other Measures) Act 2019. This levy Act provides the revenue side of the scheme. The Minister must set the administrative fee component amounts by legislative instrument, with statutory upper limits of $325 for the base per-provider amount and $31 per student (s 9(3)). Those upper limits are indexed to CPI annually from 1 August 2021 (s 10). The Higher Education Tuition Protection Director sets the risk rated premium and special tuition protection component parameters, subject to approval by the Treasurer (s 13(6)). The levy applies from 1 January 2020 (commencement table). The Act binds the Crown in all capacities (s 3) but does not impose a tax on state property within the meaning of section 114 of the Constitution (s 4). The practical effect is that private providers must pay an annual fee that varies according to their student numbers, the amount of HELP assistance they received in the prior year, and their assessed risk profile. Providers that are new to the system pay reduced amounts in their first year: a base administrative fee only, with zero for the risk rated and special tuition protection components (s 8(1), s 11(1), s 12(1)). The levy is not a one-off payment; it recurs each year and can increase with indexation and risk factor adjustments.
Current sections
Direct links to the current provisions in Higher Education Support (HELP Tuition Protection Levy) Act 2020.
18
Part 1
Preliminary
Part 1—Preliminary
1
Short title
1 Short title
This Act is the Higher Education Support (HELP Tuition Protection Levy) Act 2020.
2
Commencement
2 Commencement
(1) Each provision of this Act specified in column 1 of the table commences, or is taken to have commenced, in accordance with column 2 of the table. Any other statement in column 2 has effect according to its terms.
Note: This table relates only to the provisions of this Act as originally enacted. It will not be amended to deal with any later amendments of this Act.
(2) Any information in column 3 of the table is not part of this Act. Information may be inserted in this column, or information in it may be edited, in any published version of this Act.
3
Crown to be bound
3 Crown to be bound
This Act binds the Crown in each of its capacities.
4
Act does not impose tax on property of a State
4 Act does not impose tax on property of a State
(1) This Act does not impose a tax on property of any kind belonging to a State.
(2) Property of any kind belonging to a State has the same meaning as in section 114 of the Constitution.
5
Definitions
5 Definitions
(1) In this Act:
administrative fee component, for a leviable provider for a year, has the meaning given by section 8.
HELP tuition protection levy means levy imposed by section 6.
leviable provider means a higher education provider to whom Part 5‑1A of the Higher Education Support Act 2003 applies but does not include a provider covered by subsection (1A).
new provider, for a year, means a leviable provider that was not a higher education provider at any time during the previous year.
property of any kind belonging to a State: see subsection 4(2).
risk rated premium component, for a leviable provider for a year, has the meaning given by section 11.
special tuition protection component, for a leviable provider for a year, has the meaning given by section 12.
total HELP students, for a leviable provider for a year, means the total number of students who:
(a) were enrolled during the previous year in at least one unit of study that forms part of a course of study and that has its census date in the previous year; and
(b) were entitled to HECS‑HELP assistance or FEE‑HELP assistance for that unit.
year means calendar year.
(1A) A higher education provider is covered by this subsection if the provider is:
(a) owned by the Commonwealth, a State or a Territory; or
(b) established under one of the following:
(i) the Technical and Further Education Commission Act 1990 (NSW);
(ii) the Education and Training Reform Act 2006 (Vic.);
(iii) the TAFE Queensland Act 2013 (Qld);
(iv) the Vocational Education and Training Act 1996 (WA);
(v) the TAFE SA Act 2012 (SA);
(vi) the Training and Workforce Development Act 2013 (Tas.);
(vii) the Canberra Institute of Technology Act 1987 (ACT).
(2) An expression used in this Act that is also used in the Higher Education Support Act 2003 has the same meaning as in that Act.
Part 2
HELP tuition protection levy
Part 2—HELP tuition protection levy
6
Imposition of HELP tuition protection levy
6 Imposition of HELP tuition protection levy
Levy is imposed by this section on a body, for a year starting on or after the commencement of this section, if the body is a leviable provider at any time during the year.
7
Amount of HELP tuition protection levy
7 Amount of HELP tuition protection levy
The amount of HELP tuition protection levy for a year for a leviable provider is the sum of the following components:
(a) the provider’s administrative fee component for the year (see section 8);
(b) the provider’s risk rated premium component for the year (see section 11);
(c) the provider’s special tuition protection component for the year (see section 12).
Note: Classes of providers may be exempt from the requirement to pay one or more components of HELP tuition protection levy: see section 14.
8
Administrative fee component
8 Administrative fee component
(1) If a leviable provider is a new provider for a year, the amount of the provider’s administrative fee component for the year is the amount determined for the purposes of paragraph (2)(a) for the year.
(2) Otherwise, a leviable provider’s administrative fee component for a year is the sum of:
(a) the amount determined in an instrument under section 9 for the purposes of this paragraph for the year; and
(b) the amount determined in an instrument under section 9 for the purposes of this paragraph for the year, multiplied by the total HELP students for the provider for the year.
9
Legislative instrument for purposes of section 8
9 Legislative instrument for purposes of section 8
2020
(1) Before 1 August 2020, the Minister must, by legislative instrument, determine each of the following for that year:
(a) an amount for the purposes of paragraph 8(2)(a);
(b) an amount for the purposes of paragraph 8(2)(b).
Later years
(2) Before 1 August of the year 2021 or a later year, the Minister may, by legislative instrument, determine one or both of the following for the year:
(a) an amount for the purposes of paragraph 8(2)(a);
(b) an amount for the purposes of paragraph 8(2)(b).
Note: The amounts determined under this subsection may be indexed under section 10.
Upper limit
(3) The Minister must not determine an amount for the purposes of paragraph 8(2)(a) or (b) for a year that exceeds the following:
(a) for paragraph 8(2)(a)—$325;
(b) for paragraph 8(2)(b)—$31.
Note: The amounts in this subsection are indexed under section 10.
Having regard to matters
(4) In making a legislative instrument under this section, the Minister must have regard to the sustainability of the Higher Education Tuition Protection Fund.
(5) The Minister may also have regard to any other matter the Minister considers appropriate.
10
Indexation of administrative fee components etc.
10 Indexation of administrative fee components etc.
(1) On 1 August of the year 2021 (the current year) and each later year (the current year) an amount mentioned in paragraph 8(2)(a) or (b) or 9(3)(a) or (b) is replaced by the amount worked out using the formula:
View image in the official source
(2) Subsection (1) does not apply to an amount mentioned in paragraph 8(2)(a) or (b) if the Minister has determined an amount for the purposes of that paragraph for the current year.
Indexation factor
(3) The indexation factor for a 1 August is the number worked out using the formula:
View image in the official source
where:
base quarter means the last September quarter before the reference quarter.
index number, for a quarter, means the All Groups Consumer Price Index number from the original series (being the weighted average of the 8 capital cities) published by the Australian Statistician for that quarter.
reference quarter means the September quarter in the year before the current year.
Rounding factors and amounts etc.
(4) The indexation factor worked out under subsection (3) must be rounded up or down to 3 places (rounding up in the case of exactly halfway between).
(5) An amount worked out under subsection (1) for the purposes of paragraph 8(2)(a) or 9(3)(a) or (b) must be rounded to the nearest whole dollar (rounding up in the case of 50 cents).
(6) An amount worked out under subsection (1) for the purposes of paragraph 8(2)(b) must be rounded to the nearest whole cent (rounding up in the case of 0.5 cents).
(7) An indexation factor that is less than 1 is to be increased to 1.
(8) If at any time (whether before or after the commencement of this section) the Australian Statistician has changed or changes the index reference period for the Consumer Price Index, then, for the purposes of applying this section after the change, only index numbers published in terms of the new index reference period are to be used.
Publication
(9) The Minister must cause each amount worked out under subsection (1) to be made publicly available in any manner the Minister considers appropriate.
11
Risk rated premium component
11 Risk rated premium component
(1) If a leviable provider is a new provider for a year, the amount of the provider’s risk rated premium component for the year is zero.
(2) Otherwise, a leviable provider’s risk rated premium component for a year is worked out using the following method statement.
Method statement
Step 1: Multiply the total HELP students for the provider for the year by the amount determined in an instrument under section 13 for the purposes of this step for the year.
Step 2: Multiply the amount equal to the total amount of assistance paid to the provider under sections 96‑1 and 110‑1 of the Higher Education Support Act 2003 in the previous year by the percentage determined in an instrument under section 13 for the purposes of this step for the year.
Step 3: Add up the results of steps 1 and 2.
Step 4: For each risk factor determined in an instrument under section 13 for the purposes of this step for the year, work out the risk factor value for the provider for the year in accordance with the instrument.
Step 5: Add up the results of step 4 and add 1.
Step 6: Multiply the results of step 3 by the results of step 5. The result is the provider’s risk rated premium component for the year.
12
Special tuition protection component
12 Special tuition protection component
(1) If a leviable provider is a new provider for a year, the amount of the provider’s special tuition protection component for the year is zero.
(2) Otherwise, a leviable provider’s special tuition protection component for a year is an amount equal to the total amount of assistance paid to the provider under sections 96‑1 and 110‑1 of the Higher Education Support Act 2003 in the previous year, multiplied by the percentage determined in an instrument under section 13 for the purposes of this subsection for the year.
13
Legislative instrument for purposes of section 11 or 12
13 Legislative instrument for purposes of section 11 or 12
(1) Before 1 August 2020 and each later year, the Higher Education Tuition Protection Director must, by legislative instrument, determine each of the following for the year:
(a) an amount for the purposes of step 1 of the method statement in subsection 11(2);
(b) a percentage for the purposes of step 2 of the method statement in subsection 11(2);
(c) for the purposes of step 4 of the method statement in subsection 11(2):
(i) one or more risk factors that reflect the risk of payments being made out of the Higher Education Tuition Protection Fund in respect of leviable providers with that factor or those factors; and
(ii) for each risk factor—the risk factor value, or a method for working out the risk factor value, for leviable providers, or a class of leviable providers;
(d) a percentage for the purposes of subsection 12(2).
(2) The percentage determined in an instrument for the purposes of paragraph (1)(b) or (d) may be zero.
(3) A risk factor value for a risk factor determined for the purposes of subparagraph (1)(c)(ii) must be a number between zero and 10 (inclusive).
(4) In making a legislative instrument under subsection (1), the Higher Education Tuition Protection Director must have regard to:
(a) any advice of the Higher Education Tuition Protection Fund Advisory Board in relation to the matters referred to in that subsection; and
(b) the sustainability of the Higher Education Tuition Protection Fund.
(5) The Higher Education Tuition Protection Director may have regard to any other matter that the Director considers appropriate.
(6) Before the Higher Education Tuition Protection Director makes a legislative instrument under subsection (1), the Treasurer must approve the legislative instrument in writing.
Part 3
Other matters
Part 3—Other matters
14
Exemptions
14 Exemptions
The Higher Education Provider Guidelines may prescribe one or more classes of leviable providers who are exempt from the requirement to pay one or more of the following:
(a) the administrative fee component;
(b) the risk rated premium component;
(c) the special tuition protection component.
15
Regulations
15 Regulations
The Governor‑General may make regulations prescribing matters:
(a) required or permitted by this Act to be prescribed; or
(b) necessary or convenient to be prescribed for carrying out or giving effect to this Act.
Source text
Sourced from the Federal Register of Legislation (legislation.gov.au), CC BY 4.0.
Part 1 Preliminary
Part 1—Preliminary
1 Short title
1 Short title
This Act is the Higher Education Support (HELP Tuition Protection Levy) Act 2020.
2 Commencement
2 Commencement
(1) Each provision of this Act specified in column 1 of the table commences, or is taken to have commenced, in accordance with column 2 of the table. Any other statement in column 2 has effect according to its terms.
The Act establishes several key concepts that determine the scope and amount of the levy. A leviable provider is defined as a higher education provider to which Part 5-1A of the Higher Education Support Act 2003 applies, but excluding providers owned by the Commonwealth, a state, or a territory, or those established under listed TAFE legislation (s 5(1A)). The exclusions cover all government TAFEs and public universities. In practice, only private higher education providers are leviable. A new provider for a year means a leviable provider that was not a higher education provider at any time during the previous year (s 5). The concept matters because new providers face a lower levy in their first year. Total HELP students is defined as the total number of students who were enrolled during the previous year in at least one unit of study with a census date in that year and who were entitled to HECS-HELP or FEE-HELP assistance for that unit (s 5). This count drives the per-student component of the administrative fee and the risk rated premium. The levy itself is the sum of three components (s 7). The administrative fee component consists of a base amount per provider plus an amount per total HELP student (s 8(2)), with upper limits of $325 and $31 respectively (s 9(3)). For new providers, only the base amount is payable (s 8(1)). The risk rated premium component is calculated using a method statement in s 11(2). It starts with two base figures: the total HELP students multiplied by a per-student amount (step 1), plus the total HELP assistance paid to the provider in the previous year multiplied by a percentage (step 2). These are added (step 3). Then for each risk factor determined by the Director, a risk factor value between 0 and 10 is assigned (step 4). The sum of those values plus 1 becomes the multiplier (step 5). The step 3 total is multiplied by that multiplier to produce the risk rated premium component (step 6). A provider with high risk factors could see this component multiplied by up to 11 (if all risk factor values sum to 10). The special tuition protection component is simpler: it is the total HELP assistance paid to the provider in the previous year multiplied by a percentage set by the Director (s 12(2)). Both the risk rated and special tuition protection components are zero for new providers (s 11(1), s 12(1)). The Director must make a legislative instrument before 1 August each year setting the per-student amount, the percentage for step 2, the risk factors and their values or calculation methods, and the percentage for the special tuition protection component (s 13(1)). The percentage for step 2 and for the special component may be zero (s 13(2)). In making the instrument, the Director must have regard to the advice of the Higher Education Tuition Protection Fund Advisory Board and the sustainability of the fund (s 13(4)(a)-(b)). The Treasurer must approve the instrument in writing before it can be made (s 13(6)). The minimum risk factor value is zero and the maximum is 10 (s 13(3)). Indexation applies to the administrative fee component amounts and their statutory upper limits from 1 August 2021 using the All Groups Consumer Price Index number from the original series, weighted average of eight capital cities (s 10). The indexation factor cannot be less than 1, so amounts never decrease (s 10(7)). The Act also permits exemptions: the Higher Education Provider Guidelines may prescribe classes of leviable providers exempt from one or more components of the levy (s 14). This is a class-based exemption, not individual, and is at the discretion of the Minister via guidelines made under the Higher Education Support Act 2003.
Who it affects
The levy directly affects private higher education providers that are approved to offer courses to students using HECS-HELP or FEE-HELP loans. These include private universities, private colleges, and other non-public higher education institutions. Government-owned universities and TAFEs are excluded by the definition of leviable provider (s 5(1A)). The levy therefore creates a distinction between public and private providers in the funding of tuition protection. Private providers bear the entire cost of the scheme, while public providers contribute nothing despite their students also being eligible for the same tuition protection. Indirectly, the levy affects students enrolled in private higher education providers. Providers may pass on the cost of the levy through higher fees, though this is constrained by market competition and by the fact that HELP loans cap certain fee types. The levy is calculated based on a provider’s total HELP students and the amount of HELP assistance paid in the previous year. Thus providers with larger cohorts of HELP-eligible students or higher total loan amounts pay more. New providers are affected differently: they pay only the base administrative fee in their first year of operation (s 8(1), s 11(1), s 12(1)). This provides temporary relief for start-ups but the full levy kicks in from the second year. The Higher Education Tuition Protection Director is the key administrative actor, responsible for annually determining the per-student amount, the percentages, and the risk factors (s 13(1)). The Director must have regard to fund sustainability and advisory board advice. The Minister also plays a role in setting the administrative fee component amounts, either mandatorily for 2020 or optionally for later years (s 9). The Treasurer must approve the Director’s legislative instrument (s 13(6)). The Higher Education Tuition Protection Fund Advisory Board provides advice that must be considered. The Higher Education Provider Guidelines may prescribe exempt classes (s 14), which could affect providers if they fall within a prescribed class. The Act does not specify which class or classes might be exempt; that is left to the Minister’s discretion. Employees of private providers may be affected indirectly if the levy reduces institutional profitability or leads to cost-cutting. Taxpayers are affected because the HELP loans that underpin the levy calculations are ultimately guaranteed by the Commonwealth; the levy is intended to reduce the need for direct government bailouts when providers fail. However, the levy is paid by private providers, not by the government, so the cost is externalised from the government to the providers. Providers that are not leviable because they do not have HELP students are unaffected, but they are not in the scope of the Act. The Act binds the Crown in all capacities (s 3), but the exclusion of public providers means the Commonwealth, states and territories as owners of TAFEs and universities are not leviable, so the binding is nominal.
Key duties and rights
The primary duty under this Act is the obligation for a leviable provider to pay the HELP tuition protection levy each year (s 6). The amount is determined by the formula in s 7 and is due for each calendar year that the provider is a leviable provider at any time during that year. The Act does not itself specify a due date for payment, the method of collection, or consequences for late or non-payment. Those matters would be dealt with in the Higher Education Support Act 2003 or its regulations, which are not part of this Act. The provider must calculate its own liability based on the components set by the Minister and the Director each year. That calculation depends on the provider’s total HELP students from the previous year and the total HELP assistance paid in the previous year. The provider has a duty to accurately track and report those figures, as they are used in the levy calculation. New providers must determine whether they qualify as new providers for a year, which depends on whether they were a higher education provider at any time in the previous year (s 5). If a provider ceases to be a higher education provider during the year, it may still be liable for the full year levy if it was leviable at any time during that year. The Act does not provide for a pro-rata reduction for mid-year cessation. Providers have limited rights under the Act itself. They have no statutory right to object to the levy amount, to apply for an individual waiver, or to seek review of the legislative instruments that determine the amounts and risk factors. The only avenue for avoiding or reducing the levy is through a class exemption prescribed in the Higher Education Provider Guidelines (s 14). That exemption is entirely at the discretion of the Minister and applies only to a class of providers; individual providers cannot apply for an exemption unless they fall within a prescribed class. The Minister must set the administrative fee component amounts for 2020 before 1 August 2020 (s 9(1)), but for later years the Minister may choose not to determine new amounts, in which case the indexed previous amounts apply (s 10(2)). The Director must make an instrument each year setting the risk rated and special tuition protection component parameters before 1 August (s 13(1)). Providers have a right to know the applicable amounts because legislative instruments are publicly available, and the Minister must also cause indexed amounts to be made public (s 10(9)). The Act gives no right to a hearing or to be consulted before the instruments are made. Providers also have the right to expect that the Director will have regard to the sustainability of the fund and the advice of the Advisory Board when setting the parameters (s 13(4)). However, that is a procedural obligation on the Director, not a substantive right that a provider can enforce. The Treasurer must approve the Director’s instrument (s 13(6)), which adds a layer of executive oversight but also no provider input. In summary, the Act imposes a compulsory, non-negotiable levy with minimal procedural rights for those who must pay it.
Penalties and enforcement
The Act itself does not create specific penalties for non-payment of the levy. It imposes the levy (s 6) and sets out its calculation (ss 7-13), but does not include any provision for late payment penalties, interest, or criminal sanctions for failure to pay. That does not mean the levy is unenforceable. The Higher Education Support Act 2003, which governs the provider’s approval to offer HELP places, likely contains mechanisms for the Commonwealth to recover debts and to suspend or revoke a provider’s approval for non-compliance with its obligations. The levy is a debt due to the Commonwealth, and the Commonwealth can sue for recovery. The absence of penalty provisions in this Act suggests that the enforcement framework is located in the Higher Education Support Act 2003 or its associated legislation. Providers risk losing their status as an approved higher education provider if they fail to pay the levy, which would prevent them from accessing HELP loans for their students and could effectively force them to cease operations. That is a severe indirect penalty. The Act does not provide for any criminal offences, such as for providing false information to reduce the levy. However, general offences under the Criminal Code and the Higher Education Support Act 2003 relating to false or misleading statements would apply if a provider gave incorrect data about total HELP students or assistance amounts. The risk rated premium component relies on "risk factors" determined by the Director (s 13(1)(c)). If a provider fails to disclose information relevant to its risk profile, it may face consequences under the broader regulatory framework, but this Act does not specify them. The Director must have regard to fund sustainability when setting parameters, but there is no penalty for the Director if they fail to do so, though the instrument could be challenged on administrative law grounds if the Director failed to take into account a mandatory relevant consideration. The Act does not create a review mechanism for the levy itself. Affected providers would have to rely on judicial review of the legislative instruments under the Administrative Decisions (Judicial Review) Act 1977 if they wish to challenge the legality of the amounts or risk factors. The risk factor values are capped between 0 and 10 (s 13(3)), so the Director cannot assign a value outside that range. The indexation floor of 1 (s 10(7)) ensures the administrative fee amounts never decrease, meaning providers cannot benefit from deflation. The Act also provides that it does not impose a tax on state property (s 4), which is a constitutional limitation, not a penalty provision. Overall, the enforcement teeth of this Act lie outside the Act itself, in the broader regulatory system that governs higher education providers. Providers who fail to pay the levy risk losing their ability to operate in the HELP system.
How it interacts with other laws
This Act is a companion to Part 5-1A of the Higher Education Support Act 2003, which establishes the Higher Education Tuition Protection Fund and the rules for paying out of that fund. The levy imposed by this Act is the revenue source for that fund. The Act expressly adopts the definitions from the Higher Education Support Act 2003: an expression used in this Act that is also used in that Act has the same meaning (s 5(2)). The key definition of leviable provider relies on whether Part 5-1A of the Higher Education Support Act 2003 applies to the provider. That Part was inserted by the Education Legislation Amendment (Tuition Protection and Other Measures) Act 2019, which commenced on 1 January 2020 at the same time as this Act. The two Acts are thus part of a single legislative package. This Act also interacts with the Higher Education Provider Guidelines made under the Higher Education Support Act 2003. Those guidelines can prescribe classes of leviable providers exempt from one or more components of the levy (s 14). The guidelines are not part of this Act but are given effect by it. The indexation provisions in s 10 use the Consumer Price Index published by the Australian Statistician, which is a statistical standard under the Census and Statistics Act 1905. The legislative instruments made under ss 9 and 13 are disallowable instruments under the Legislation Act 2003 (unless specifically exempted). This Act does not purport to exempt them, so they are subject to parliamentary scrutiny. The Minister’s instrument under s 9 must be made by the relevant date (1 August 2020 mandatory, later years permissive). The Director’s instrument under s 13 must be made before 1 August each year and requires the Treasurer’s approval (s 13(6)). The Act does not interact directly with the Education Services for Overseas Students Act 2000, which has its own tuition protection scheme for international students. However, providers that also offer courses to overseas students may have dual obligations. The Act binds the Crown in all capacities (s 3) but does not impose a tax on state property (s 4). This interacts with the constitutional limitation in section 114 of the Constitution. The exclusion of publicly-owned providers from the definition of leviable provider means that in practice the Act does not need to rely on that constitutional protection; the exclusion already avoids the issue. The Act does not alter the operation of the Competition and Consumer Act 2010 or the Australian Consumer Law; providers remain subject to their obligations thereunder in relation to student enrolments and fees. The levy is a tax-like impost but is not described as a tax in the Act; however, its character may be relevant for constitutional purposes. The Act is silent on state taxes, so it does not affect state payroll tax, land tax, or other state imposts on providers. The regulations power under s 15 allows the Governor-General to prescribe matters necessary or convenient for carrying out or giving effect to the Act. This could include matters such as collection and recovery, but no such regulations are specified in the source text. The Act also interacts with the Higher Education Tuition Protection Fund Advisory Board, which is established under the Higher Education Support Act 2003. The Director must have regard to any advice of the Board when making the instrument under s 13 (s 13(4)(a)). The Board is not established by this Act, but its advice is given statutory weight. Overall, the Act is tightly integrated into the broader higher education regulatory framework and cannot be understood in isolation.
Amendment history
Based on the source text provided, this Act appears as originally enacted. The commencement table indicates it commenced on 1 January 2020, at the same time as Part 1 of Schedule 2 to the Education Legislation Amendment (Tuition Protection and Other Measures) Act 2019. The source does not contain any subsequent amendments or annotations. There is no amendment history within the text, such as footnotes or marginal notes, that would indicate later changes. The note under the commencement table states that the table relates only to the provisions as originally enacted and will not be amended to deal with later amendments. That suggests the source is a compiled version that does not include later amendments, or that no amendments have been made. Without access to the official Federal Register of Legislation, it is impossible to state from this source alone whether the Act has been amended. The user instructed us to rely only on the source provided. Therefore, we can only report what the source shows: the Act was enacted with a commencement date of 1 January 2020, and the source contains no amendment history. The lack of amendment history is itself significant: it may indicate that the Act has remained unchanged since its commencement, which would mean the levy structure, the upper limits of $325 and $31, and the indexation mechanism have operated as originally enacted for several years. However, the Minister has the power to vary amounts under s 9 for years after 2020, but those variations are made by legislative instrument, not by amending this Act. Similarly, the Director’s instruments under s 13 change annually without amending the Act. So the Act’s framework is stable, but the financial parameters can shift. The indexation provisions in s 10 also operate automatically without amendment. Any substantive changes to the Act would require a separate amending Act, and none is mentioned in the source. The conclusion is that the Act’s text as provided is pristine; we cannot speculate about later amendments.
Litigation history
The source text does not mention any litigation related to this Act. There are no references to court cases, challenges to the validity of the levy, or interpretative disputes. The Act is a relatively recent piece of legislation, having commenced on 1 January 2020. The absence of any litigation history in the source does not necessarily mean none exists, but we can only report what the source contains. Given the Act imposes a mandatory levy on a limited set of private higher education providers, it is possible that legal challenges have been mounted, particularly on constitutional grounds (such as whether the levy is a tax on property of a state, which s 4 denies, or whether it imposes an arbitrary burden). However, the Act’s explicit exclusion of state-owned providers (s 5(1A)) and its constitutional savings provision (s 4) were likely drafted to avoid such challenges. The risk factor system could be challenged on grounds of excessive delegation or unreasonableness, but the Act caps risk factor values at 10 (s 13(3)) and the Director must have regard to fund sustainability and advisory board advice. A provider could seek judicial review of a legislative instrument under the Administrative Decisions (Judicial Review) Act 1977 if it believes the Director failed to take into account a mandatory consideration. However, no such litigation is recorded in the source. The Act also does not provide for merits review of the levy amount, so a provider’s only avenue for dispute is judicial review of the underlying instruments, which is a high hurdle. There are no statutory immunity provisions for providers who dispute the levy; payment is required regardless of any pending challenge, unless a court grants an injunction. In the absence of litigation history in the source, we cannot comment on whether any cases have been decided. The user instructed us not to invent cases. Therefore, the safe statement is that the source does not contain any references to litigation history concerning this Act.
Gotchas
The Act contains several features that may catch practitioners and providers by surprise. First, the levy applies to a provider if it is a leviable provider at any time during the year (s 6). There is no pro-rata reduction if a provider ceases to be a higher education provider partway through the year. A provider that exits the system mid-year still owes the full levy for that year. Conversely, a provider that becomes leviable mid-year also owes the full levy for that year, not a partial amount. New providers receive favourable treatment: zero risk rated and zero special tuition protection components for the year they are a new provider (ss 11(1), 12(1)). However, the definition of new provider depends on whether the provider was a higher education provider at any time during the previous year (s 5). This could catch providers that have a short gap in their approval. For example, if a provider ceased to be a higher education provider for a few months in the previous year but resumed in the current year, it would not be a new provider and would face the full levy. Second, the administrative fee component for a new provider is only the base amount under s 8(2)(a); the per-student amount under s 8(2)(b) does not apply (s 8(1)). This means new providers pay less than established providers with even one student. Third, the risk rated premium component can be dramatically increased by risk factors. Step 4 of the method statement sums the risk factor values, then adds 1 in step 5, then multiplies the base premium by that total. If a provider has a risk factor value of 10 for a single factor, the multiplier becomes 11. That means the risk rated premium could be eleven times the base amount calculated from student numbers and assistance amounts. The Director has broad discretion to set risk factors and their values, subject only to the upper limit of 10 and a requirement to have regard to fund sustainability and advisory board advice. There is no requirement for the risk factors to be linked to actual provider risk of default; they simply reflect the Director’s view. Fourth, the indexation provisions contain a floor of 1 (s 10(7)), meaning even if CPI is negative, the administrative fee amounts never decrease. Inflation-adjusted amounts only ever go up. Fifth, the special tuition protection component is based on the total HELP assistance paid to the provider in the previous year, multiplied by a percentage. That percentage can be set to zero (s 13(2)), but if it is not zero, the component could be significant for providers that receive large amounts of HELP funding. Sixth, the Act provides no statutory right for a provider to apply for an individual exemption. Exemptions are class-based only, and the Minister has complete discretion whether to prescribe any exempt class in the Higher Education Provider Guidelines (s 14). A provider that is in financial distress cannot ask for a waiver; it must pay the levy in full. Seventh, the legislative instruments that set the annual amounts and risk factors are made before 1 August each year (s 13(1)). This timing means providers may not know their levy liability for the current year until after the year has already started. For example, the 2020 levy was imposed from 1 January 2020, but the first instrument was not required until before 1 August 2020. That creates uncertainty for budgeting and financial planning. Eighth, the definition of total HELP students counts students enrolled in at least one unit with a census date in the previous year who were entitled to HELP assistance. This includes students who enrolled but later withdrew; as long as the census date passed, they count. Providers cannot reduce their levy by offering fewer HELP places in the current year; the levy is based on the previous year’s data. Ninth, the Act does not cap the total levy payable. While the administrative fee per-student amount has an upper limit ($31 indexed), the risk rated premium component and special tuition protection component have no prescribed maximum except through the percentages and risk factor caps. A provider with high risk factors could face a very large levy. Tenth, the exclusion of government providers creates an uneven competitive landscape. Private providers pay a levy that funds protection for all HELP students, including those who may have transferred from a failed private provider. Government providers pay nothing for that protection, effectively receiving a subsidy from private providers. This may affect the relative cost of offering courses and could be passed through to fees, making private providers less competitive.
How to comply
Compliance with the HELP Tuition Protection Levy Act 2020 involves several steps that a leviable provider must undertake each year. First, the provider must determine whether it is a leviable provider for the year. That requires checking whether Part 5-1A of the Higher Education Support Act 2003 applies to it and whether it falls within the exclusion in s 5(1A) for public providers. If the provider is private and approved to offer HELP places, it is leviable. If the provider is a new provider (not a higher education provider at any time in the previous year), it will have different levy components. Second, the provider must ascertain its total HELP students for the year, defined as the total number of students enrolled during the previous year in at least one unit with a census date in the previous year and who were entitled to HECS-HELP or FEE-HELP assistance for that unit (s 5). The provider needs accurate records from the previous calendar year. Third, the provider must know the total amount of HELP assistance paid to it under sections 96-1 and 110-1 of the Higher Education Support Act 2003 in the previous year. This figure is used in both the risk rated premium component (step 2) and the special tuition protection component. Fourth, the provider must monitor the legislative instruments made each year. The Minister may make an instrument under s 9 setting the administrative fee component amounts (base and per-student). If the Minister does not make a new instrument, the indexed amounts from s 10 apply. The Higher Education Tuition Protection Director must make an instrument under s 13 before 1 August each year setting the per-student amount for step 1, the percentage for step 2, the risk factors and their values or calculation methods, and the percentage for the special tuition protection component. The provider needs to apply these parameters to calculate its levy. Fifth, the provider must calculate the levy using the formulas in ss 8, 11 and 12. For a new provider, the administrative fee component is the base amount only (s 8(1)), and the risk rated and special tuition protection components are zero (s 11(1), s 12(1)). For established providers, the administrative fee component is base amount plus per-student amount times total HELP students (s 8(2)). The risk rated premium component requires the method statement: multiply total HELP students by the step 1 amount; multiply total HELP assistance in previous year by the step 2 percentage; add the two results; then for each risk factor, determine the risk factor value for the provider; sum the risk factor values and add 1; then multiply the sum from step 3 by that multiplier (s 11(2)). The special tuition protection component is total HELP assistance in previous year multiplied by the percentage set by the Director (s 12(2)). Sixth, the provider must pay the levy by the due date. The Act does not specify a due date, but it is likely that the Higher Education Support Act 2003 or regulations thereunder will provide for payment dates and methods. Providers should check those requirements. Seventh, the provider should keep detailed records of all data used in the calculation: total HELP students, HELP assistance amounts, risk factor information, and the applicable legislative instruments. The provider may need to justify its calculations if audited. Eighth, the provider should monitor whether the Minister prescribes any class exemptions under s 14 in the Higher Education Provider Guidelines. If the provider falls within an exempt class, it may not need to pay one or more components of the levy. Ninth, the provider should ensure that any data reported to the Commonwealth for the purposes of determining HELP student numbers and assistance amounts is accurate. Errors could lead to underpayment or overpayment of the levy. If an error is discovered, the provider should correct its records and adjust its levy payment accordingly, subject to any mechanisms for correction under the Higher Education Support Act 2003. Tenth, the provider should budget for the levy each year, recognising that the amount can change based on indexation, new legislative instruments, and changes in the provider’s student numbers and risk factors. The levy is not fixed; it increases with CPI and can increase significantly if risk factor values are applied. The provider should engage with the Director and the Advisory Board if it believes its risk factors are wrongly assessed, though the Act does not provide a formal mechanism for input. Finally, the provider should seek legal or compliance advice to ensure that it is correctly classified and to stay abreast of any changes to the legislative instruments or the Higher Education Provider Guidelines. Compliance is largely a matter of data management and monitoring of annually changing parameters, rather than one-time setup.
Note: This table relates only to the provisions of this Act as originally enacted. It will not be amended to deal with any later amendments of this Act.
(2) Any information in column 3 of the table is not part of this Act. Information may be inserted in this column, or information in it may be edited, in any published version of this Act.
3 Crown to be bound
3 Crown to be bound
This Act binds the Crown in each of its capacities.
4 Act does not impose tax on property of a State
4 Act does not impose tax on property of a State
(1) This Act does not impose a tax on property of any kind belonging to a State.
(2) Property of any kind belonging to a State has the same meaning as in section 114 of the Constitution.
5 Definitions
5 Definitions
(1) In this Act:
administrative fee component, for a leviable provider for a year, has the meaning given by section 8.
HELP tuition protection levy means levy imposed by section 6.
leviable provider means a higher education provider to whom Part 5‑1A of the Higher Education Support Act 2003 applies but does not include a provider covered by subsection (1A).
new provider, for a year, means a leviable provider that was not a higher education provider at any time during the previous year.
property of any kind belonging to a State: see subsection 4(2).
risk rated premium component, for a leviable provider for a year, has the meaning given by section 11.
special tuition protection component, for a leviable provider for a year, has the meaning given by section 12.
total HELP students, for a leviable provider for a year, means the total number of students who:
(a) were enrolled during the previous year in at least one unit of study that forms part of a course of study and that has its census date in the previous year; and
(b) were entitled to HECS‑HELP assistance or FEE‑HELP assistance for that unit.
year means calendar year.
(1A) A higher education provider is covered by this subsection if the provider is:
(a) owned by the Commonwealth, a State or a Territory; or
(b) established under one of the following:
(i) the Technical and Further Education Commission Act 1990 (NSW);
(ii) the Education and Training Reform Act 2006 (Vic.);
(iii) the TAFE Queensland Act 2013 (Qld);
(iv) the Vocational Education and Training Act 1996 (WA);
(v) the TAFE SA Act 2012 (SA);
(vi) the Training and Workforce Development Act 2013 (Tas.);
(vii) the Canberra Institute of Technology Act 1987 (ACT).
(2) An expression used in this Act that is also used in the Higher Education Support Act 2003 has the same meaning as in that Act.
Part 2 HELP tuition protection levy
Part 2—HELP tuition protection levy
6 Imposition of HELP tuition protection levy
6 Imposition of HELP tuition protection levy
Levy is imposed by this section on a body, for a year starting on or after the commencement of this section, if the body is a leviable provider at any time during the year.
7 Amount of HELP tuition protection levy
7 Amount of HELP tuition protection levy
The amount of HELP tuition protection levy for a year for a leviable provider is the sum of the following components:
(a) the provider’s administrative fee component for the year (see section 8);
(b) the provider’s risk rated premium component for the year (see section 11);
(c) the provider’s special tuition protection component for the year (see section 12).
Note: Classes of providers may be exempt from the requirement to pay one or more components of HELP tuition protection levy: see section 14.
8 Administrative fee component
8 Administrative fee component
(1) If a leviable provider is a new provider for a year, the amount of the provider’s administrative fee component for the year is the amount determined for the purposes of paragraph (2)(a) for the year.
(2) Otherwise, a leviable provider’s administrative fee component for a year is the sum of:
(a) the amount determined in an instrument under section 9 for the purposes of this paragraph for the year; and
(b) the amount determined in an instrument under section 9 for the purposes of this paragraph for the year, multiplied by the total HELP students for the provider for the year.
9 Legislative instrument for purposes of section 8
9 Legislative instrument for purposes of section 8
2020
(1) Before 1 August 2020, the Minister must, by legislative instrument, determine each of the following for that year:
(a) an amount for the purposes of paragraph 8(2)(a);
(b) an amount for the purposes of paragraph 8(2)(b).
Later years
(2) Before 1 August of the year 2021 or a later year, the Minister may, by legislative instrument, determine one or both of the following for the year:
(a) an amount for the purposes of paragraph 8(2)(a);
(b) an amount for the purposes of paragraph 8(2)(b).
Note: The amounts determined under this subsection may be indexed under section 10.
Upper limit
(3) The Minister must not determine an amount for the purposes of paragraph 8(2)(a) or (b) for a year that exceeds the following:
(a) for paragraph 8(2)(a)—$325;
(b) for paragraph 8(2)(b)—$31.
Note: The amounts in this subsection are indexed under section 10.
Having regard to matters
(4) In making a legislative instrument under this section, the Minister must have regard to the sustainability of the Higher Education Tuition Protection Fund.
(5) The Minister may also have regard to any other matter the Minister considers appropriate.
10 Indexation of administrative fee components etc.
10 Indexation of administrative fee components etc.
(1) On 1 August of the year 2021 (the current year) and each later year (the current year) an amount mentioned in paragraph 8(2)(a) or (b) or 9(3)(a) or (b) is replaced by the amount worked out using the formula:
(2) Subsection (1) does not apply to an amount mentioned in paragraph 8(2)(a) or (b) if the Minister has determined an amount for the purposes of that paragraph for the current year.
Indexation factor
(3) The indexation factor for a 1 August is the number worked out using the formula:
where:
base quarter means the last September quarter before the reference quarter.
index number, for a quarter, means the All Groups Consumer Price Index number from the original series (being the weighted average of the 8 capital cities) published by the Australian Statistician for that quarter.
reference quarter means the September quarter in the year before the current year.
Rounding factors and amounts etc.
(4) The indexation factor worked out under subsection (3) must be rounded up or down to 3 places (rounding up in the case of exactly halfway between).
(5) An amount worked out under subsection (1) for the purposes of paragraph 8(2)(a) or 9(3)(a) or (b) must be rounded to the nearest whole dollar (rounding up in the case of 50 cents).
(6) An amount worked out under subsection (1) for the purposes of paragraph 8(2)(b) must be rounded to the nearest whole cent (rounding up in the case of 0.5 cents).
(7) An indexation factor that is less than 1 is to be increased to 1.
(8) If at any time (whether before or after the commencement of this section) the Australian Statistician has changed or changes the index reference period for the Consumer Price Index, then, for the purposes of applying this section after the change, only index numbers published in terms of the new index reference period are to be used.
Publication
(9) The Minister must cause each amount worked out under subsection (1) to be made publicly available in any manner the Minister considers appropriate.
11 Risk rated premium component
11 Risk rated premium component
(1) If a leviable provider is a new provider for a year, the amount of the provider’s risk rated premium component for the year is zero.
(2) Otherwise, a leviable provider’s risk rated premium component for a year is worked out using the following method statement.
Method statement
Step 1: Multiply the total HELP students for the provider for the year by the amount determined in an instrument under section 13 for the purposes of this step for the year.
Step 2: Multiply the amount equal to the total amount of assistance paid to the provider under sections 96‑1 and 110‑1 of the Higher Education Support Act 2003 in the previous year by the percentage determined in an instrument under section 13 for the purposes of this step for the year.
Step 3: Add up the results of steps 1 and 2.
Step 4: For each risk factor determined in an instrument under section 13 for the purposes of this step for the year, work out the risk factor value for the provider for the year in accordance with the instrument.
Step 5: Add up the results of step 4 and add 1.
Step 6: Multiply the results of step 3 by the results of step 5. The result is the provider’s risk rated premium component for the year.
12 Special tuition protection component
12 Special tuition protection component
(1) If a leviable provider is a new provider for a year, the amount of the provider’s special tuition protection component for the year is zero.
(2) Otherwise, a leviable provider’s special tuition protection component for a year is an amount equal to the total amount of assistance paid to the provider under sections 96‑1 and 110‑1 of the Higher Education Support Act 2003 in the previous year, multiplied by the percentage determined in an instrument under section 13 for the purposes of this subsection for the year.
13 Legislative instrument for purposes of section 11 or 12
13 Legislative instrument for purposes of section 11 or 12
(1) Before 1 August 2020 and each later year, the Higher Education Tuition Protection Director must, by legislative instrument, determine each of the following for the year:
(a) an amount for the purposes of step 1 of the method statement in subsection 11(2);
(b) a percentage for the purposes of step 2 of the method statement in subsection 11(2);
(c) for the purposes of step 4 of the method statement in subsection 11(2):
(i) one or more risk factors that reflect the risk of payments being made out of the Higher Education Tuition Protection Fund in respect of leviable providers with that factor or those factors; and
(ii) for each risk factor—the risk factor value, or a method for working out the risk factor value, for leviable providers, or a class of leviable providers;
(d) a percentage for the purposes of subsection 12(2).
(2) The percentage determined in an instrument for the purposes of paragraph (1)(b) or (d) may be zero.
(3) A risk factor value for a risk factor determined for the purposes of subparagraph (1)(c)(ii) must be a number between zero and 10 (inclusive).
(4) In making a legislative instrument under subsection (1), the Higher Education Tuition Protection Director must have regard to:
(a) any advice of the Higher Education Tuition Protection Fund Advisory Board in relation to the matters referred to in that subsection; and
(b) the sustainability of the Higher Education Tuition Protection Fund.
(5) The Higher Education Tuition Protection Director may have regard to any other matter that the Director considers appropriate.
(6) Before the Higher Education Tuition Protection Director makes a legislative instrument under subsection (1), the Treasurer must approve the legislative instrument in writing.
Part 3 Other matters
Part 3—Other matters
14 Exemptions
14 Exemptions
The Higher Education Provider Guidelines may prescribe one or more classes of leviable providers who are exempt from the requirement to pay one or more of the following:
(a) the administrative fee component;
(b) the risk rated premium component;
(c) the special tuition protection component.
15 Regulations
15 Regulations
The Governor‑General may make regulations prescribing matters:
(a) required or permitted by this Act to be prescribed; or
(b) necessary or convenient to be prescribed for carrying out or giving effect to this Act.