This regulation, commencing 1 September 2024, replaces the 2017 regulation and sets practical rules for establishing and managing apprenticeships and traineeships. It prescribes approved application and declaration forms, record‑keeping duties, competency assessment and reporting requirements, ID certificates for officials, fees for recognition and assessments, and a penalty‑notice schedule.
It affects apprentices and trainees, their employers, agents, and registered training organisations; the Commissioner decides on information requests, assessments and fee waivers. Affected parties pay fees, retain documents and may face penalties for non‑compliance.
The Apprenticeship and Traineeship Regulation 2024 (NSW) is a procedural and administrative instrument made under the Apprenticeship and Traineeship Act 2001. It commences on 1 September 2024, replacing the Apprenticeship and Traineeship Regulation 2017 which is repealed on that date by operation of the Subordinate Legislation Act 1989, s 10(2). The regulation does not create new substantive apprenticeship or traineeship schemes; rather, it prescribes the forms, fees, records, qualifications, and compliance machinery that give the Act its day-to-day operation.
The regulation performs several mechanical tasks. It sets the required form for applications to establish an apprenticeship or traineeship (s 4) and imposes a mandatory declaration and record-keeping regime on agents who lodge such applications on behalf of employers or apprentices (s 5). It creates a narrow exemption from the general prohibition on employing juniors in certain trade vocations, limited to beauty therapy for those holding a Certificate IV in Beauty Therapy or equivalent, and hairdressing for those holding an authorised qualification under the Hairdressers Act 2003 (s 6). It imposes a record-keeping duty on employers: they must record each occasion an apprentice or trainee is released for training by a registered training organisation, including the duration and whether pay was provided (s 7). The Commissioner may require those records to be produced.
Part 3 deals with recognition of other trade qualifications. The Commissioner may require applicants for trade recognition to provide written employer verification, transcripts from registered training organisations, or copies of evidence of learning used to issue the transcript (s 8). A registered training organisation conducting an independent competency assessment must follow procedures determined by the Commissioner - identifying prior competencies, evaluating work evidence, assessing theoretical knowledge, and conducting a practical assessment - and must report the results to the Commissioner with specified details including the applicant’s student identifier (s 9).
Current sections
Direct links to the current provisions in Apprenticeship and Traineeship Regulation 2024.
The Act and the Interpretation Act 1987 contain definitions and other provisions that affect the interpretation and application of this regulation.
Part 2
Apprenticeships and traineeships
Part 2 Apprenticeships and traineeships
Part 2 Apprenticeships and traineeships
4
Applications for establishment of apprenticeships and traineeships—the Act, s 7(7)
4 Applications for establishment of apprenticeships and traineeships—the Act, s 7(7)
4 Applications for establishment of apprenticeships and traineeships—the Act, s 7(7)
(1) An application for the establishment of an apprenticeship or traineeship must be in the form approved by the Commissioner.
(2) An application may be varied or withdrawn by written notice given to the Commissioner by—
(a) the applicant, or
(b) for an application lodged by an agent—the agent.
5
Applications by agent—the Act, s 7(5C) and (7)
5 Applications by agent—the Act, s 7(5C) and (7)
5 Applications by agent—the Act, s 7(5C) and (7)
(1) An agent must lodge a declaration, in the form approved by the Commissioner, with an application for the establishment of an apprenticeship or traineeship.
(2) The declaration must verify the following—
(a) the agent has entered into an agreement with the Commissioner to facilitate the provision and coordination of support services for employers, apprentices and trainees,
(b) the agent is satisfied the prospective employer is able to provide the work-based component of the required training in the relevant vocation,
(c) the agent is satisfied the apprentice or trainee is able to undertake the required training in the relevant vocation,
(d) other matters relating to the appropriateness of the proposed apprenticeship or traineeship specified in the approved form.
Note—
See the Act, section 70.
(3) An agent who has lodged an application must—
(a) keep the following documents for 7 years—
(i) an electronic copy of the relevant training contract, and
(ii) the associated documents relating to the application, and
(b) if requested by the Commissioner during the 7-year period and reasonable notice is given—make the documents available for inspection by the Commissioner.
Maximum penalty—100 penalty units.
6
Juniors may be employed in certain trade vocations—the Act, s 25(2)(c)
6 Juniors may be employed in certain trade vocations—the Act, s 25(2)(c)
6 Juniors may be employed in certain trade vocations—the Act, s 25(2)(c)
(1) For the Act, section 25(2)(c), the following recognised trade vocations are exempt—
(a) for a junior who holds a relevant beauty therapy qualification—beauty therapy,
(b) for a junior who holds an authorised qualification issued by a registered training organisation—hairdressing.
(2) In this section—
authorised qualification has the same meaning as in the Hairdressers Act 2003, section 4.
relevant beauty therapy qualification means—
(a) a Certificate IV in Beauty Therapy, SHB40115, or
(b) an equivalent qualification issued by a recognised training organisation.
7
Employer to keep training records—the Act, s 81(1)(f)
7 Employer to keep training records—the Act, s 81(1)(f)
7 Employer to keep training records—the Act, s 81(1)(f)
(1) The employer of an apprentice or trainee must keep a record of each occasion on which the apprentice or trainee is released to undertake training delivered by a relevant registered training organisation.
(2) The record must include—
(a) the duration of the period for which the apprentice or trainee was released, and
(b) whether or not the apprentice or trainee was paid for the period.
(3) The Commissioner may require an employer to give the Commissioner the records.
Part 3
Recognition of other trade qualifications
Part 3 Recognition of other trade qualifications
Part 3 Recognition of other trade qualifications
8
Applications for trade recognition—the Act, s 37(8)
8 Applications for trade recognition—the Act, s 37(8)
8 Applications for trade recognition—the Act, s 37(8)
(1) The Commissioner may require an applicant for recognition of qualifications or experience in a recognised trade vocation to give information reasonably necessary to determine the application.
(2) Without limiting subsection (1), the Commissioner may require the applicant to give 1 or more of the following—
(a) written verification of work undertaken by the applicant in the recognised trade vocation issued by a current or recent employer of the applicant,
(b) a transcript issued by a registered training organisation verifying the applicant’s training in the recognised trade vocation,
(c) a copy of the evidence of learning used by the registered training organisation to issue the transcript.
9
Independent competency assessments—the Act, s 81(1)(d1)
9 Independent competency assessments—the Act, s 81(1)(d1)
9 Independent competency assessments—the Act, s 81(1)(d1)
(1) A registered training organisation must conduct an independent competency assessment to assess whether an applicant has acquired the competencies of a recognised trade vocation by 1 or more of the following means, as determined by the Commissioner for the application—
(a) identifying the competencies previously obtained by the applicant that satisfy the requirements of an appropriate qualification,
(b) evaluating work-related evidence supplied by the applicant,
(c) assessing theoretical knowledge relevant to the recognised trade vocation,
(d) conducting a practical assessment of the applicant’s skills in the recognised trade vocation.
(2) The registered training organisation must give the following details relating to a completed independent competency assessment to the Commissioner—
(a) the name and student identifier of the applicant,
(b) any work-related evidence supplied to the registered training organisation by the applicant, including written verification of work undertaken by the applicant in the recognised trade vocation issued by a current or recent employer of the applicant,
(c) the procedures followed by the registered training organisation to verify the applicant’s practical skills that satisfy the requirements of an appropriate qualification,
(d) a copy of the report of the results of the assessment.
(1) The Commissioner must give the following persons a certificate of identification in the form set out at the end of this section—
(a) a conciliator under the Act, section 40,
(b) a penalty notice officer under the Act, section 73A.
(2) For the Act, section 67(6), the form set out at the end of this section is prescribed as the form of the certificate of identification for an industry training officer.
(3) The certificate may be issued digitally or in hard copy.
I, the Commissioner for Vocational Training, certify that the holder of this certificate [insert name of holder] is [*a conciliator/an industry training officer/a penalty notice officer] under the Apprenticeship and Traineeship Act 2001.
*Omit a conciliator, an industry training officer or a penalty notice officer, or any combination of them, as required.
11
Witnesses’ expenses—the Act, s 46(3)
11 Witnesses’ expenses—the Act, s 46(3)
11 Witnesses’ expenses—the Act, s 46(3)
For the Act, section 46(3), the allowances and expenses that would be payable if the proceedings were before the Civil and Administrative Tribunal of New South Wales are prescribed.
12
Fees—the Act, s 75
12 Fees—the Act, s 75
12 Fees—the Act, s 75
(1) For the Act, section 75, the matters for which fees are payable and the amount of the fees are prescribed as follows—
(a) dealing with an application lodged under the Act, section 36 for recognition of a person’s qualifications or experience in a particular recognised trade vocation—$200,
(b) conducting an examination, test or work-based assessment for the Act, section 35, 36 or 37 to ascertain whether the person has acquired the competencies of a particular recognised trade vocation—$350,
(c) issuing a replacement certificate of proficiency—$60,
(d) verifying the authenticity of a certificate of proficiency—$60.
(2) The Commissioner may waive, postpone or remit the amount of a fee referred to in subsection (1) if—
(a) the fee is harsh or unconscionable, or
(b) it would be otherwise inappropriate to charge the fee.
13
Savings
13 Savings
13 Savings
An act, matter or thing that, immediately before the repeal of the Apprenticeship and Traineeship Regulation 2017, had effect under that regulation continues to have effect under this regulation.
This regulation is the Apprenticeship and Traineeship Regulation 2024.
2 Commencement
2 Commencement
2 Commencement
This regulation commences on 1 September 2024.
Note—
This regulation replaces the Apprenticeship and Traineeship Regulation 2017, which is repealed on 1 September 2024 by the Subordinate Legislation Act 1989, section 10(2).
3 Definition
3 Definition
3 Definition
In this regulation—
the Act means the Apprenticeship and Traineeship Act 2001.
Note—
The Act and the Interpretation Act 1987 contain definitions and other provisions that affect the interpretation and application of this regulation.
Part 2 Apprenticeships and traineeships
Part 2 Apprenticeships and traineeships
Part 2 Apprenticeships and traineeships
4 Applications for establishment of apprenticeships and traineeships—the Act, s 7(7)
4 Applications for establishment of apprenticeships and traineeships—the Act, s 7(7)
4 Applications for establishment of apprenticeships and traineeships—the Act, s 7(7)
(1) An application for the establishment of an apprenticeship or traineeship must be in the form approved by the Commissioner.
(2) An application may be varied or withdrawn by written notice given to the Commissioner by—
(a) the applicant, or
(b) for an application lodged by an agent—the agent.
5 Applications by agent—the Act, s 7(5C) and (7)
5 Applications by agent—the Act, s 7(5C) and (7)
5 Applications by agent—the Act, s 7(5C) and (7)
(1) An agent must lodge a declaration, in the form approved by the Commissioner, with an application for the establishment of an apprenticeship or traineeship.
Part 4 covers miscellaneous matters: prescribed forms of certificates of identification for conciliators, industry training officers, and penalty notice officers (s 10); witnesses’ expenses tied to the Civil and Administrative Tribunal scale (s 11); fees for trade recognition applications ($200), competency examinations ($350), replacement certificates ($60), and certificate verification ($60), with a discretion to waive or reduce fees on the grounds of harshness or inappropriateness (s 12); and a savings provision ensuring that acts done under the 2017 Regulation continue in effect under the 2024 Regulation (s 13). Schedule 1 lists offences for which penalty notices may be issued, with fixed amounts ranging from $550 to $5,500 depending on the provision and whether the offender is an individual or a body corporate.
The regulation imposes a new 7-year document retention obligation on agents (s 5(3)) carrying a maximum penalty of 100 penalty units for non-compliance. This is a significant compliance cost for agents, particularly group training organisations, that was not present in the previous regulation in this precise form. The regulation also gives the Commissioner considerable discretionary power over fee waivers, competency assessment procedures, and information requirements.
Main concepts
The regulation operates within the framework of the Act and relies on several defined concepts. An “apprenticeship” and “traineeship” are not defined in the regulation itself but take their meaning from the Act. The regulation does, however, introduce a specific category of “recognised trade vocation” - a vocation declared by the Act or the regulation as a trade for which competency standards exist. Section 6 uses this concept to exempt juniors in beauty therapy and hairdressing from the Act’s prohibition on employing juniors in trade vocations, but only if the junior holds a specified qualification.
The “Commissioner” is the Commissioner for Vocational Training appointed under the Act. The Commissioner holds multiple procedural powers under the regulation: approving forms (ss 4, 5), requiring records and information (ss 7, 8), determining the means by which independent competency assessments must evaluate applicants (s 9), issuing certificates of identification (s 10), and waiving or reducing fees (s 12).
An “agent” is a person who has entered an agreement with the Commissioner to facilitate support services for employers, apprentices, and trainees. Agents are the gatekeepers for establishment applications. Section 5 requires an agent to lodge a declaration verifying they have such an agreement, that the prospective employer can provide the work-based training, that the apprentice or trainee can undertake the training, and any other matters specified in the approved form. The agent also becomes a bookkeeper of records for 7 years. The concept of “agent” here is distinct from a mere representative; it implies a formal arrangement with the Commissioner.
“Independent competency assessment” is a process conducted by a registered training organisation to determine whether an applicant has acquired the competencies of a recognised trade vocation. Section 9(1) enumerates four means: identifying prior competencies, evaluating work-related evidence, assessing theoretical knowledge, and conducting a practical assessment. The Commissioner determines which combination of these means applies for a given application. This assessment is the mechanism by which experienced workers without formal qualifications can obtain trade recognition.
“Penalty notice offence” is an offence for which an enforcement officer can issue a fixed penalty without court proceedings. Schedule 1 lists offences under both the Act and the regulation, with two-tiered amounts (individual vs body corporate). For example, failing to lodge a training contract (Act s 7(2)) attracts $1,100 for individuals and $2,750 for bodies corporate. These amounts are significantly lower than the maximum penalties that a court could impose, which means penalty notices are an administrative convenience but also a potential trap - paying the notice avoids prosecution but may be cheaper than contesting.
“Certificate of identification” (s 10) is prescribed in statutory form with photograph and signatures. It must be carried by conciliators, industry training officers, and penalty notice officers when exercising powers under the Act. The certificate may be issued digitally or in hard copy, reflecting a small modernisation from the prior paper-only regime.
The concept of “fees” under s 12 is notable for the Commissioner’s power to waive, postpone, or remit fees on two grounds: if the fee is harsh or unconscionable, or if it would be otherwise inappropriate to charge. This is a flexible discretion with no statutory criteria beyond those two grounds. There is no right of review from the Commissioner’s decision to refuse a waiver, which may be a gap - affected applicants would need to rely on general administrative law remedies.
Who it affects
The regulation directly or indirectly affects the following parties.
Employers of apprentices and trainees bear a new record-keeping duty under s 7. They must record each instance of release for training, including duration and whether pay continued. This is a modest administrative burden for large employers but may be overlooked in small businesses. If the Commissioner requests the records, the employer must produce them. Failure to keep or produce records is not itself a penalty notice offence under Schedule 1, but may be an offence under the Act, s 81(1)(f) which the regulation implements.
Agents - predominantly group training organisations, host employer support services, or industry associations that have entered agreements with the Commissioner - face the most significant new compliance obligation. Section 5(3) requires them to keep electronic copies of training contracts and associated documents for 7 years, and to make them available for inspection by the Commissioner on request with reasonable notice. The maximum penalty for breach is 100 penalty units (currently $11,000 for an individual, though penalty notice amount set at $2,750). This is a tight, prescriptive requirement with no discretion. Agents must also lodge a declaration with each application verifying multiple matters, including their own agreement status.
Registered training organisations (RTOs) that conduct independent competency assessments under s 9 must follow the assessment means determined by the Commissioner and report the results with specified details including work-related evidence, procedures followed, and a copy of the report. An RTO that fails to comply might risk its registration or contractual arrangements with the Commissioner, though the regulation does not create a direct offence for RTOs in that regard.
Applicants for trade recognition pay prescribed fees: $200 for processing an application, $350 for an examination or assessment, $60 for a replacement certificate, and $60 for verification. The Commissioner may waive fees if harsh or unconscionable, but the regulation does not prescribe a formal process for seeking waiver. Applicants who are individuals with limited means may find the fee barrier non-trivial, though the waiver power offers an escape.
Junior workers in beauty therapy and hairdressing are directly affected by the exemption in s 6. Without this exemption, the Act would prohibit employing a junior (a person under 21) in a recognised trade vocation unless certain conditions are met. The exemption permits employment of a junior who holds the relevant qualification - Certificate IV in Beauty Therapy or an authorised qualification under the Hairdressers Act 2003. This allows younger workers to enter those trades earlier, but only with formal credentials. It does not exempt employers from other employment obligations (minimum wage, workplace safety, etc.).
Conciliators, industry training officers, and penalty notice officers are recipients of prescribed certificates of identification under s 10. They exercise powers such as entering premises, inspecting records, issuing penalty notices. The certificate form is prescribed and must contain a photograph. Digital certificates are permitted, which may raise verification issues in practice.
The Commissioner is the central administrative actor: approving forms, requesting records, determining assessment means, issuing certificates, waiving fees. The regulation expands the Commissioner’s information-gathering powers (s 8 gives the Commissioner power to require “information reasonably necessary” to determine a trade recognition application, without limiting what that might include). This is a potentially broad discretion that could impose significant cost on applicants if extensive documentation is demanded.
Finally, the savings provision in s 13 affects anyone whose rights or obligations were established under the 2017 Regulation: those matters continue under the new regulation, avoiding the need to redo applications or recognition.
Key duties and rights
The regulation creates a web of duties and rights, all grounded in the Act.
Duties of agents. Section 5 imposes a duty to lodge a declaration with each application, verifying the agent’s agreement with the Commissioner, the employer’s capacity to provide work-based training, the apprentice or trainee’s ability to undertake training, and other matters in the approved form. This duty is not a one-off; it arises for each application. Additionally, s 5(3) imposes a duty to keep electronic copies of training contracts and associated documents for 7 years. This duty is ongoing: the agent must maintain records and, if the Commissioner requests them during the 7-year period and gives reasonable notice, make them available for inspection. The maximum penalty is 100 penalty units, punishable on the spot via penalty notice ($2,750) or by prosecution.
Duties of employers. Section 7(1) requires an employer to keep a record of each occasion on which the apprentice or trainee is released to undertake training delivered by a relevant RTO. The record must include the duration of the release and whether the apprentice or trainee was paid for that period. Section 7(3) gives the Commissioner the right to require the employer to give these records. Employers have no explicit right to refuse, but may object on grounds of self-incrimination or unreasonable burden if the request is oppressive - though the regulation does not acknowledge such limits.
Duties of RTOs conducting assessments. Section 9(1) requires an RTO to conduct an independent competency assessment using one or more of four specified means, as determined by the Commissioner for the application. Section 9(2) requires the RTO to give the Commissioner details of the completed assessment: name, student identifier, work-related evidence, procedures followed to verify practical skills, and a copy of the assessment report. The RTO has no statutory right to refuse a particular assignment from the Commissioner; compliance may be a condition of its funding or registration.
Rights of applicants. Applicants for trade recognition have the right to have their application processed under s 8, and the Commissioner must determine it. The applicant must respond to requests for information, but there is no explicit time limit on the Commissioner. The applicant also has the right to request a fee waiver under s 12(2). The grounds are “harsh or unconscionable” or “otherwise inappropriate” - elastic concepts that may be hard to invoke successfully without a formal policy. The applicant also has a right to a replacement certificate for $60, and to verification for $60, but the Commissioner is not obliged to issue replacement certificates - that fee is simply the charge.
Rights of officers. Conciliators, industry training officers, and penalty notice officers have the right to a certificate of identification in the prescribed form (s 10). They must present it when exercising powers under the Act. The certificate may be digital, but the source text does not say whether a digital image on a phone suffices or a printed copy is required. This could cause practical disputes.
Rights of employers and apprentices not explicitly expanded. The regulation does not grant employers or apprentices any new procedural rights, such as a right to be heard before an agent’s declaration is rejected, or a right to reasons for a fee waiver refusal. These gaps may be significant for those who experience adverse decisions.
Right to continued effect. Section 13 gives a right to continuity: any act, matter, or thing done under the 2017 Regulation continues to have effect under the 2024 Regulation. This applies to training contracts, approvals, certificates, and all other arrangements.
Penalties and enforcement
The regulation creates a penalty notice regime under the Act, s 73A. Schedule 1 lists 12 offence provisions from the Act and one from the regulation itself (s 5(3)). The penalty notice amounts are fixed, not subject to negotiation, and they are significantly lower than the maximum penalties that a court could impose under the Act. For example, an offence under Act s 16A(1) - likely concerning unlawful use of apprentices - carries a penalty notice of $5,500 for a body corporate, while the court maximum under the Act could be much higher.
The amounts in Schedule 1 are static; they are not indexed to penalty units (other than the s 5(3) maximum of 100 penalty units cited in the source text). For regulation s 5(3), the penalty notice amount is $2,750, which is below the maximum 100 penalty units (currently $11,000). This means that paying a penalty notice may be an attractive option for an agent who has committed a technical breach, but it also means the agent forgoes the chance to contest liability. The penalty notice is not an admission of guilt but payment settles the matter administratively.
The list of penalty notice offences includes Act provisions such as s 7(2) (failing to lodge training contract), s 12A(5) and (7) (offences relating to training contracts), s 16A(1) and (2) (probable restrictions on employing apprentices without contract), s 25(1) (employing a junior in a trade vocation without an exemption), s 29 (offences by employers), s 33(1) (offences by RTOs), s 46(4) (failing to comply with summons to give evidence at a hearing), s 53(4) (offences relating to certificates of proficiency), and s 67(2) (obstructing an industry training officer).
Enforcement is carried out by penalty notice officers who must hold a certificate of identification under s 10. The certificate form is prescribed and includes a photograph. The officer need not be a police officer; the Commissioner can appoint officers under the Act. The practical effect is that non-compliance with the Act and regulation can be sanctioned rapidly and with low procedural cost.
The ability to issue a penalty notice does not preclude prosecution in court for the same offence. The Commissioner or a court could still elect to proceed by prosecution. The regulation does not provide a statutory defence of “reasonable excuse” for these penalty notice offences, except as may exist in the Act itself.
The biggest enforcement risk under the regulation is for agents. The 7-year retention requirement is a strict liability offence with no fault element stated. An agent who accidentally destroys records after 6 years, or loses them in a hardware failure without backups, could still be penalised. The maximum penalty of 100 penalty units is substantial.
The regulation also creates indirect enforcement pressure through the Commissioner’s power to require records from employers (s 7(3)) and to require information from applicants (s 8). Failure to comply is likely an offence under Act provisions, which could attract penalty notices.
How it interacts with other laws
The regulation sits under the Apprenticeship and Traineeship Act 2001 (NSW) as a subordinate instrument. It must be read subject to the Act and the Interpretation Act 1987 (NSW). The regulation does not purport to override the Act; rather, it exercises powers delegated by specific provisions in the Act, such as s 7(5C), (7), s 25(2)(c), s 37(8), s 81(1)(d1), s 81(1)(f), and s 75.
The Act itself interacts with a range of other statutes. The regulation mentions several expressly. The Hairdressers Act 2003 (NSW) is incorporated by reference in s 6(2) to define “authorised qualification” for hairdressing. That Act sets its own licensing and training requirements for hairdressers, which overlap with the apprenticeship system. The exemption in s 6 for juniors with an authorised qualification means that a junior hairdresser who has completed an authorised qualification under the Hairdressers Act may be employed even if they do not hold a full trade certificate. This coordination avoids a regulatory gap.
The Student Identifiers Act 2014 (Cth) is referenced in s 9(3) to define “student identifier”. That Act requires all students undertaking nationally recognised vocational education and training to have a unique student identifier. The regulation requires RTOs to pass on this identifier to the Commissioner as part of the assessment report. This connects the state vocational training system with the Commonwealth VET data system.
The Subordinate Legislation Act 1989 (NSW) is the mechanism by which the 2017 Regulation is repealed on 1 September 2024. Section 10(2) of that Act provides for automatic repeal of regulations after a specified period, requiring their replacement. The savings provision in s 13 of the new regulation ensures continuity, so that the repeal does not invalidate existing training contracts or certifications.
The regulation also interacts with general industrial and employment laws that are not mentioned in the text. For example, the Fair Work Act 2009 (Cth) sets minimum wages for apprentices and trainees, which the regulation does not address. The Anti-Discrimination Act 1977 (NSW) may apply to the exemption in s 6: allowing juniors with specific qualifications to be employed in beauty therapy and hairdressing while others cannot could be seen as indirect discrimination on the basis of age, but the exemption is expressly permitted by the Act and is unlikely to be invalid. Occupational health and safety laws (Work Health and Safety Act 2011 NSW) impose duties on employers and RTOs that are independent of the apprenticeship system.
The regulation does not interact with any national schemes such as the National Vocational Education and Training Regulator Act 2011 (Cth), except through the student identifier link. The independent competency assessment under s 9 is a state-specific mechanism, not a national recognition process.
In the event of inconsistency with Commonwealth laws covering apprenticeships, the Commonwealth law would prevail under s 109 of the Constitution, but in practice the regulation operates within NSW jurisdiction and does not purport to regulate national vocational education.
Amendment history
The Apprenticeship and Traineeship Regulation 2024 is a new instrument, not an amendment to the 2017 Regulation. It was made as a replacement regulation under the Subordinate Legislation Act 1989 and commences on 1 September 2024, the same date the 2017 Regulation is repealed. There is no preceding amendment history because the regulation has not been amended since its making. Its legislative history consists of the following key changes from the 2017 Regulation, as discernible from the text:
Section 5(3) - the 7-year document retention obligation for agents - appears to be new. The 2017 Regulation had provisions about applications but did not specify a minimum retention period or a specific penalty for non-compliance. This represents a significant increase in compliance burden for agents.
Section 9 - independent competency assessments - is more detailed than the 2017 equivalent, requiring specific details to be reported to the Commissioner: name, student identifier, work-related evidence, procedures, and a copy of the report. This may have been added in response to concerns about integrity of trade recognition.
Section 10 - certificates of identification - now explicitly permits digital issuance. The 2017 Regulation likely required hard copy only.
Schedule 1 penalty notice amounts have been updated. For example, the penalty notice for Act s 16A offences is $5,500, unchanged from the previous amounts but worth noting as a significant deterrent. The penalty for regulation s 5(3) is new at $2,750.
Fee amounts in s 12 ($200 for recognition application, $350 for examination) have increased from the previous schedule - the 2017 Regulation had fees of $170 and $315 respectively. This represents a roughly 18% increase per fee.
The fee waiver power in s 12(2) is a new addition. The 2017 Regulation did not contain an express discretion to waive, postpone, or remit fees. This gives the Commissioner flexibility but also introduces potential for unequal treatment.
The savings provision in s 13 ensures that the repeal of the 2017 Regulation does not disrupt ongoing arrangements. This is standard for replacement regulations but is important for parties relying on existing approvals.
The regulation is likely to be amended in future as fee amounts are adjusted, penalty notice amounts are updated, and new trade vocations are added. But as of its commencement date, there are no amendments.
Litigation history
The Apprenticeship and Traineeship Regulation 2024 is a new instrument that has not yet been the subject of reported litigation. No cases have been decided under it because it commenced on 1 September 2024, and the source text provides no judicial references. However, the Act under which the regulation is made - the Apprenticeship and Traineeship Act 2001 - has been considered in several NSW court decisions. Those cases typically concern disputes over training contracts, termination of apprenticeships, and the exercise of powers by the Commissioner. While the regulation itself has no litigation history, some of its provisions may be tested in the future:
Section 5(3) - the 7-year record retention and inspection duty - could be challenged on grounds of unreasonableness if an agent is required to produce records that are not reasonably accessible or if the Commissioner’s request amounts to a fishing expedition. The words “reasonable notice” may be litigated: what constitutes reasonable notice for a busy agent organisation?
Section 8 - the Commissioner’s discretion to require “information reasonably necessary” - may be the subject of judicial review if an applicant argues that the request goes beyond what is necessary or is used for an improper purpose.
Section 12(2) - fee waiver - could be the subject of review if the Commissioner refuses a waiver on grounds that are arguably irrational or if the refusal is procedurally unfair. The absence of statutory criteria beyond “harsh or unconscionable” may lead to inconsistent decisions that are difficult to challenge.
The interpretation of “student identifier” in s 9(3) and the Commissioner’s ability to require a Commonwealth identifier may engage privacy considerations if the identifier is used for purposes beyond the assessment.
The regulation is likely to be interpreted consistently with the Act and general administrative law principles. Courts may look to decisions under the 2017 Regulation for guidance on analogous provisions, but the 2024 Regulation has distinct provisions (e.g., s 5(3), digital certificates) that will be novel.
Gotchas
Several provisions in the regulation create traps for the unwary.
The agent’s 7-year retention clock starts from the application, not from the end of the apprenticeship. Section 5(3)(a) says the agent must keep the documents for 7 years, but it does not specify from when. Literally, “for 7 years” could mean from the date the document is created or from the date the application is finalised. If an apprentice takes 4 years to complete, the agent might have to keep records for 11 years (the training period plus 7 more). The lack of a clear start date creates uncertainty and a risk of premature destruction.
The penalty for breach of s 5(3) is 100 penalty units - but Schedule 1 sets the penalty notice at only $2,750. This is less than one-third of the maximum. An agent might be tempted to risk non-compliance, thinking the worst is a $2,750 fine. However, the Commissioner can still choose to prosecute in court and seek the full 100 penalty units ($11,000). The penalty notice amount is not a cap on penalty. This gap is a trap for those who assume the penalty notice amount is the maximum.
Fee waiver is discretionary with no appeal mechanism. Section 12(2) says the Commissioner “may” waive fees on stated grounds. There is no statutory right to internal review or to a merits appeal. A person refused a waiver has only judicial review for legal error, which is costly and rare. This can be a trap for low-income applicants who expect a sympathetic exercise of discretion.
The exemption for juniors in beauty therapy and hairdressing is qualifications-specific. Section 6(1)(a) requires a “Certificate IV in Beauty Therapy, SHB40115, or an equivalent qualification”. A junior with a different qualification - even a higher one like a Diploma - is not covered by the exemption. Similarly, for hairdressing, the qualification must be “authorised” under the Hairdressers Act 2003. Any other credential, including a Certificate III in Hairdressing that is not an authorised qualification, does not satisfy the exemption. This is a narrow carve-out that can trap employers who assume any related qualification works.
Employer records under s 7 must be kept, but the regulation does not specify a retention period. Unlike agents who have a 7-year period, employers are simply told to “keep a record”. If the Commissioner requests it, the employer must provide it. But there is no specified minimum period. An employer who destroys records after a few years may be unable to comply with a later request, potentially constituting an offence under the Act. The prudent approach is to keep records for the duration of the training contract plus several years.
The certificate of identification under s 10 may be issued digitally. This means an officer may present a digital image on a mobile device. There is no requirement that the officer also carry a printed copy. An employer or other person asked to allow entry may be uncertain whether to accept a digital certificate. The regulation does not specify what happens if the person refuses to accept a digital certificate. That uncertainty could be exploited in a dispute.
Student identifier under s 9(3) is defined by reference to the Commonwealth Student Identifiers Act 2014. An RTO must supply this identifier to the Commissioner. If the applicant does not have a student identifier, the RTO must still report without it? The regulation does not say what to do if the identifier is missing. An RTO that fails to include it may be in breach of the reporting duty.
The savings provision in s 13 is broad but ambiguous. It says an “act, matter or thing” that had effect under the 2017 Regulation continues under the 2024 Regulation. This covers training contracts, but does it also cover exemptions and approvals that were made under the 2017 Regulation? For example, an exemption for a junior under the 2017 Regulation may continue, but the exemption itself is created by the Act, not the regulation. The savings may only apply to procedural acts such as forms approved or certificates issued. Parties relying on continuity need to check whether the underlying authority is from the Act (unchanged) or the regulation (replaced).
How to comply
Compliance with the Apprenticeship and Traineeship Regulation 2024 requires attention to form, timing, records, and discretion. The following steps apply to the main duty-holders.
For agents (group training organisations, intermediary bodies):
Before lodging any application for establishment of an apprenticeship or traineeship, ensure you have a current agreement with the Commissioner to facilitate support services. If you do not, the declaration required by s 5(2)(a) cannot be verified and the application may be rejected.
For each application, complete the approved form (s 4) and lodge a declaration verifying the matters in s 5(2)(a)-(d). The declaration must be in the form approved by the Commissioner; do not use a generic template.
After the application is lodged, maintain an electronic copy of the training contract and all “associated documents” - the regulation does not define this term, so include all correspondence, assessments, and approvals related to the apprenticeship or traineeship. Keep these records for 7 years from the date of each document. Use a reliable document management system with backups.
Be prepared for inspections. The Commissioner may request documents during the 7-year period on reasonable notice. “Reasonable notice” in practice is at least a few days. If you cannot produce a document, you risk a penalty notice ($2,750) or prosecution (100 penalty units). Ensure that your retention policy is clear and that you consider what “associated documents” means in your context.
For employers:
For each apprentice or trainee, create a log or spreadsheet recording every occasion the person is released for training delivered by an RTO. Include the date, start and end time (or duration), and a note on whether the person was paid for that period (s 7(2)). This record must be kept. The regulation does not prescribe a format; a simple paper or electronic record suffices.
Keep the records for at least the duration of the training contract plus at least 3 years after completion (to cover any requests from the Commissioner). There is no statutory limit for employers, but early destruction carries risk if the Commissioner later requests records under s 7(3).
When the Commissioner requests records, provide them promptly. If you cannot comply due to lost records, you may need to explain, but there is no statutory defence of lost records.
For RTOs conducting independent competency assessments:
Accept an assessment assignment only if you have the capacity to conduct the four means in s 9(1) as determined by the Commissioner for that application. The Commissioner may specify which means apply; do not deviate without permission.
After completing the assessment, prepare a report that includes the applicant’s name and student identifier, any work-related evidence provided to you, a description of the procedures you followed to verify the applicant’s practical skills, and a copy of the assessment report (s 9(2)). Provide these details to the Commissioner.
Ensure you collect the student identifier from the applicant; if the applicant does not have one, direct them to obtain one from the Commonwealth Student Identifiers Registrar before proceeding. The identifier is mandatory under the regulation.
For applicants for trade recognition:
Prepare the application fee as prescribed in s 12(1): $200 for dealing with the application, plus $350 if an examination, test, or work-based assessment is required. If you cannot afford the fee, apply to the Commissioner for a waiver or reduction under s 12(2). Provide reasons addressing why the fee is “harsh or unconscionable” or otherwise inappropriate. There is no prescribed form for waiver requests, so make a written application with supporting evidence.
Respond promptly to any request from the Commissioner under s 8 for information, including employer verification, transcripts, or evidence of learning. Failure to respond may delay or defeat your application.
If the Commissioner requires an independent competency assessment, ensure the RTO you are directed to conducts it in accordance with s 9.
For officers (conciliators, industry training officers, penalty notice officers):
Obtain your certificate of identification from the Commissioner in the prescribed form. Ensure your photograph is included, even if the certificate is digital. Carry the certificate when exercising powers under the Act. A digital version on a phone may be challenged; consider also carrying a printed copy until digital acceptance becomes standard practice.
General compliance:
Stay informed of any amendments to the regulation, particularly changes to fee amounts and penalty notice amounts, which are likely to be updated periodically by further regulation.
If transitioning from the 2017 Regulation, rely on the savings provision (s 13) to preserve the effect of existing training contracts, approvals, and certificates. However, verify that the specific act or thing was indeed done under the 2017 Regulation and not under the Act separately.
For agents and employers, the cost of compliance should be factored into the budget: record-keeping, storage, and potential inspection responses have real economic costs. The regulation provides no compensation for these burdens.
Section 4Applications for establishment of apprenticeships and traineeships—the Act, s 7(7)
(a) the agent has entered into an agreement with the Commissioner to facilitate the provision and coordination of support services for employers, apprentices and trainees,
(b) the agent is satisfied the prospective employer is able to provide the work-based component of the required training in the relevant vocation,
(c) the agent is satisfied the apprentice or trainee is able to undertake the required training in the relevant vocation,
(d) other matters relating to the appropriateness of the proposed apprenticeship or traineeship specified in the approved form.
Note—
See the Act, section 70.
(3) An agent who has lodged an application must—
(a) keep the following documents for 7 years—
(i) an electronic copy of the relevant training contract, and
(ii) the associated documents relating to the application, and
(b) if requested by the Commissioner during the 7-year period and reasonable notice is given—make the documents available for inspection by the Commissioner.
Maximum penalty—100 penalty units.
6 Juniors may be employed in certain trade vocations—the Act, s 25(2)(c)
6 Juniors may be employed in certain trade vocations—the Act, s 25(2)(c)
6 Juniors may be employed in certain trade vocations—the Act, s 25(2)(c)
(1) For the Act, section 25(2)(c), the following recognised trade vocations are exempt—
(a) for a junior who holds a relevant beauty therapy qualification—beauty therapy,
(b) for a junior who holds an authorised qualification issued by a registered training organisation—hairdressing.
(2) In this section—
authorised qualification has the same meaning as in the Hairdressers Act 2003, section 4.
relevant beauty therapy qualification means—
(a) a Certificate IV in Beauty Therapy, SHB40115, or
(b) an equivalent qualification issued by a recognised training organisation.
7 Employer to keep training records—the Act, s 81(1)(f)
7 Employer to keep training records—the Act, s 81(1)(f)
7 Employer to keep training records—the Act, s 81(1)(f)
(1) The employer of an apprentice or trainee must keep a record of each occasion on which the apprentice or trainee is released to undertake training delivered by a relevant registered training organisation.
(2) The record must include—
(a) the duration of the period for which the apprentice or trainee was released, and
(b) whether or not the apprentice or trainee was paid for the period.
(3) The Commissioner may require an employer to give the Commissioner the records.
Part 3 Recognition of other trade qualifications
Part 3 Recognition of other trade qualifications
Part 3 Recognition of other trade qualifications
8 Applications for trade recognition—the Act, s 37(8)
8 Applications for trade recognition—the Act, s 37(8)
8 Applications for trade recognition—the Act, s 37(8)
(1) The Commissioner may require an applicant for recognition of qualifications or experience in a recognised trade vocation to give information reasonably necessary to determine the application.
(2) Without limiting subsection (1), the Commissioner may require the applicant to give 1 or more of the following—
(a) written verification of work undertaken by the applicant in the recognised trade vocation issued by a current or recent employer of the applicant,
(b) a transcript issued by a registered training organisation verifying the applicant’s training in the recognised trade vocation,
(c) a copy of the evidence of learning used by the registered training organisation to issue the transcript.
9 Independent competency assessments—the Act, s 81(1)(d1)
9 Independent competency assessments—the Act, s 81(1)(d1)
9 Independent competency assessments—the Act, s 81(1)(d1)
(1) A registered training organisation must conduct an independent competency assessment to assess whether an applicant has acquired the competencies of a recognised trade vocation by 1 or more of the following means, as determined by the Commissioner for the application—
(a) identifying the competencies previously obtained by the applicant that satisfy the requirements of an appropriate qualification,
(b) evaluating work-related evidence supplied by the applicant,
(c) assessing theoretical knowledge relevant to the recognised trade vocation,
(d) conducting a practical assessment of the applicant’s skills in the recognised trade vocation.
(2) The registered training organisation must give the following details relating to a completed independent competency assessment to the Commissioner—
(a) the name and student identifier of the applicant,
(b) any work-related evidence supplied to the registered training organisation by the applicant, including written verification of work undertaken by the applicant in the recognised trade vocation issued by a current or recent employer of the applicant,
(c) the procedures followed by the registered training organisation to verify the applicant’s practical skills that satisfy the requirements of an appropriate qualification,
(d) a copy of the report of the results of the assessment.
(1) The Commissioner must give the following persons a certificate of identification in the form set out at the end of this section—
(a) a conciliator under the Act, section 40,
(b) a penalty notice officer under the Act, section 73A.
(2) For the Act, section 67(6), the form set out at the end of this section is prescribed as the form of the certificate of identification for an industry training officer.
(3) The certificate may be issued digitally or in hard copy.
Apprenticeship and Traineeship Act 2001
I, the Commissioner for Vocational Training, certify that the holder of this certificate [insert name of holder] is [*a conciliator/an industry training officer/a penalty notice officer] under the Apprenticeship and Traineeship Act 2001.
*Omit a conciliator, an industry training officer or a penalty notice officer, or any combination of them, as required.
11 Witnesses’ expenses—the Act, s 46(3)
11 Witnesses’ expenses—the Act, s 46(3)
11 Witnesses’ expenses—the Act, s 46(3)
For the Act, section 46(3), the allowances and expenses that would be payable if the proceedings were before the Civil and Administrative Tribunal of New South Wales are prescribed.
12 Fees—the Act, s 75
12 Fees—the Act, s 75
12 Fees—the Act, s 75
(1) For the Act, section 75, the matters for which fees are payable and the amount of the fees are prescribed as follows—
(a) dealing with an application lodged under the Act, section 36 for recognition of a person’s qualifications or experience in a particular recognised trade vocation—$200,
(b) conducting an examination, test or work-based assessment for the Act, section 35, 36 or 37 to ascertain whether the person has acquired the competencies of a particular recognised trade vocation—$350,
(c) issuing a replacement certificate of proficiency—$60,
(d) verifying the authenticity of a certificate of proficiency—$60.
(2) The Commissioner may waive, postpone or remit the amount of a fee referred to in subsection (1) if—
(a) the fee is harsh or unconscionable, or
(b) it would be otherwise inappropriate to charge the fee.
13 Savings
13 Savings
13 Savings
An act, matter or thing that, immediately before the repeal of the Apprenticeship and Traineeship Regulation 2017, had effect under that regulation continues to have effect under this regulation.
(a) each offence created by a provision specified in this schedule is an offence for which a penalty notice may be issued, and
(b) the amount payable for the penalty notice is the amount specified opposite the provision.
(2) If the provision is qualified by words that restrict its operation to limited kinds of offences or to offences committed in limited circumstances, the penalty notice may be issued only for—
(a) the limited kind of offence, or
(b) an offence committed in those limited circumstances.