austlii:cth/ARTA/2025/1129
General information, not legal advice.
ARTA
2025-07-28
Original judgment source is linked above.
...[the applicant] was 80 years of age at the time he made his claim and is 88years of age now. Despite that, [the applicant] gave his evidence in a clear and cogent manner and he was able to write a lengthy letter to Centrelink clearly explaining his objections to the raising of the debt. As already noted, [applicant's] memory of events was not perfect but as eight years have passed since the events in question, that is not surprising. The Tribunal is satisfied that [applicant's] age has not been an impediment to his dealings with Centrelink and as such it should not be considered a special circumstance.
4/07/2022 - ... Advised customer that I have read the letter dated 18/02/2021 in relation to overpayment and the reasons customer is appealing the decision. Asked customer if there was any other information he wanted me to consider. Customer advised that he simply went into the service centre to see if he would be eligible for pension but was made to submit claim forms which he wasn't ready to submit. He advised he needed more assistance to complete the form and was told that we would contact him to progress his claim. Customer advised that it was not till a few months later that he realised that we had paid him. Customer on the appeal document stated he didn't receive any correspondence from us in relation to pension grant, however in my conversation with the customer, he went through his communication and found the Age Pension grant letter dated 20/11/2014. When asked customer why he didn't contact us in relation to this letter and the fact that in his mind his application wasn't fully completed so to query the rates paid to him. Customer advised that the wait times for the agency was too long and he just was waiting for us to call him. I also asked did he converse with his financial advisers after claim was granted in 2014 and he said he did and when asked why didn't the nominee contact us to query the rates paid to him...
As already noted, [the applicant's] evidence to the Tribunal was inconsistent with his letter dated 18 February 2021 with regards to his awareness that the form he had submitted was incomplete. Given the written account was first in time, the Tribunal prefers it, although it is apparent, and understandable given the passage of time, that [the applicant's] recollection of events is not perfect. For example, in the letter he stated that he had never received a letter from Centrelink regarding his claim, but he has subsequently located a copy of the grant letter dated 20 November 2014.
Should the applicant be required to repay any or all of that debt?
Total Assets . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $470,339.00 > > Annual Income . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $9,784.01
126. This Tribunal in Secretary, Department of Social Services and Gilmartin [2022] AATA 723 (Gilmartin) at paragraph [62] rejected the claims of sole administrative error in circumstances where Ms Gilmartin had not taken steps to correct information communicated to her by Centrelink. The Tribunal provided: > > 62. The notice provisions of the FA Administration Act make it clear that upon being issued with such a notice, a positive obligation is placed on the FTB payment recipient to not only advise Centrelink if their circumstances change, but to also check the details outlined in the notice and advise Centrelink if they are incorrect. The Respondent in failing to engage with the letters (which constitute notices for the purposes of the FA Administration Act) she received from Centrelink has failed to meet the obligation to ensure that the information being used to calculate her entitlements to FTB were correct. Regardless of the fact that the Respondent considered her circumstances had not changed and that Centrelink had access to all relevant information it may need, she has through her failure to positively engage with Centrelink contributed to the circumstances in which the FTB debts in question arose. > > 127. The Applicant contended that the Respondent breached a duty to protect her from being overpaid, however it is not up to the Respondent to make payment elections for the Applicant between annual and fortnightly payments. > > 128. In Saab and Secretary, Department of Education, Skills and Employment [2021] AATA 2766 (Saab), Senior Member Puplick provided at paragraphs [66] and [68] that it is not up to the Respondent to police the behaviour of benefit recipients: > > 66. While it might be argued that the department had a responsibility to check up on such matters as to whether or not the children were actually receiving the care in question, this is not a sustainable argument. The Department has no responsibility to "police" the behaviour of benefit recipients, rather the obligation lies on the recipients to ensure and maintain conformity with the benefit conditions or requirements, especially when benefits are paid directly to a recipient, but it also applies when the recipient knows that payments are being made to third parties (in this case the alleged service provider) on their behalf or via their instructions. Their personal responsibility includes responding to departmental correspondence and notices... > > 68. It is accepted that sole administrative error cannot arise where an applicant has failed in their personal statutory duty to report relevant matters to the Department.
• The debt was not the result of the debtor, or another person, knowingly making false statements or false representations, or knowingly failing or omitting to comply with provisions in the social security law; and
• It is more appropriate to waive, rather than write off, the recovery of the debt.
I also note that the authorities have emphasised time and again the importance of maintaining flexibility in determining what constitutes special circumstances. The danger is that the test will be overstated if the word 'exceptional' is emphasised. It was not the intention of Parliament to confine the exercise of the discretion to an exceptional. There is less risk of overstatement if the words 'unusual' or 'uncommon' are emphasised. Those words indicate, correctly in my view, the fact that there must be something that distinguishes the case from the ordinary or usual case. It may not be easy to postulate the ordinary or usual case other than in quite general terms and, in doing so, close attention must be given to the particular statutory context.
The Tribunal affirms the decision of Centrelink made on 4 February 2021 to raise an age pension debt of $36,216.25 for the period 7 November 2014 to 14 September 2020.
Represented by the applicant's son (power of attorney)
Dranichnikov v Centrelink [2003] FCAFC 133 Greene and Secretary, Department of Social Services (Social services second review) [2024] AATA 811
Greene and Secretary, Department of Social Services (Social services second review) [2024] AATA 811