© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2001] VSCA 85
Court of Appeal (Vic)
2001-06-06
WINNEKE, A.C.J., PHILLIPS and CHARLES, JJ.A.
Original judgment source is linked above.
[ 2001] VSCA 85
Accident compensation - Worker's compensation - Compulsory insurance by employer with "authorised insurer" - Statutory scheme - Calculation of premiums - Dependent upon industry classification - Employer distributing petroleum products from suppliers to retail outlets - Whether "wholesaling" or "freight transport" - Whether classification accorded by insurer correct - Whether open to insurer to alter given classification - Effect of notice by insurer that classification altered and premiums increased for past years and current year - Accident Compensation (WorkCover Insurance) Act 1993 ss. 7, 9, 17, , Premiums Orders 93/94, 94/95, 95/96.
(a) the auditors considered that the respondent had been incorrectly classified since 1985 and that the correct classification should be "G5112K - Long Distance Intrastate Road Freight Transport"; and
(b) QBE should amend the effective date of change of classification to 1 July 1993.
Not surprisingly, this action on the part of VWA and the insurer met with spirited resistance from the employer, not only on the basis (as was contended) that VWA and the insurer had no power to alter the industry classification "retrospectively" and, thus, to impose "premium adjustments" increasing the respondent's obligations for past years, but also because the classification which VWA sought to impose was inappropriate and that the former classification was the appropriate one because it "most closely corresponded to the predominant activity" of the respondent. Much correspondence passed between an expert employed by the respondent (Chris Knight & Associates) and the relevant officers of VWA seeking to convince VWA that the nature of the respondent's business (namely the use of specialized tankers and drivers to carry LPG to "nominated outlets" at its own risk) was not to be equated with the business of an intra-state road freight transport business but was much more closely aligned with a petroleum product distribution business on a wholesale basis. It was further contended that the VWA, or the insurer, had no power to impose "adjusted premiums" in respect of years prior to the decision that a new classification should apply; and that because that decision was not formally made, nor communicated until July 1996, there was no liability imposed upon the respondent to pay adjusted premiums until the year commencing July 1996. The respondent pointed out that, over the years, officers of the ACC had frequently visited the business premises of the respondent and had never suggested that the classification which it was according to the respondent's business was other than appropriate.
"On 20 January 1997, the Authority issued the result of the review following receipt of an application, dated 23 September 1997 (sic) from the employer's representative for review of the audit result. That response, by the Authority, contained advice regarding the employer's rights to a further determination in a court of competent jurisdiction, if that were the employer's chosen course. In the circumstances, the Authority is not prepared to conduct a further review on the same audit."
Further correspondence ensued, in the course of which the respondent contested VWA's power to "back-date" its adjusted premiums to 1 July 1993 again asserting that, at all times, the respondent had acted bona fide - an assertion which appears not to have been in contest. The VWA simply asserted that, whereas under the ACA it might not have been appropriate to recover from an employer "adjusted levies" for years preceding the re-classification, its advice was that it was entitled to do so - at least from 1 July 1993 - pursuant to the scheme implemented by the WCIA.
"In my opinion, the predominant activity of the [respondent] was `LPG dealing in bulk' and hence I consider that Work Cover (sic) correctly determined the [respondent's] industry classification in 1985 and that the premium demanded of it was not on the wrong footing."
"I refer to telephone conversations with you on 29 January 1996 where we discussed the change in industry classification from Petroleum Products Wholesalers to Long Distance Interstate Road Freight."
The insurer then referred to Schedule 7.1 of the relevant "Premiums Order" and s.22 of WCIA and continued:
"Based on the above Schedule, your industry classification has changed effective from 1995/6 financial year only. You are therefore paying a total premium amount of $91,724.12 based on a rateable remuneration of $4.350 million ... ." (emphasis added)
His Honour took the view that this letter demonstrated that the insurer was exercising a discretion not to adjust the premiums for the years 1993/4 and 1994/5 and that, the insurer having decided not to do so, it was not open to VWA to "override" that decision.
"The Authority (i.e. the VWA) or the authorized insurer may by notice in writing to the employer at any time after the commencement of the policy period adjust the amount of premium in accordance with the premiums order, and the adjusted amount is the premium for the purposes of this Act."
This, so the appellant argues, is specific statutory power in the VWA and the authorized insurer to adjust at any time, and for any reason, a premium which has been fixed and received in respect of any previous policy period. Such a general power, so it is said, is supported by clause 10 and schedule 7 which appear to be in common form in the relevant Premiums Orders. Clause 10 provides:
"(1) Unless otherwise expressly stated, any determination or calculation required to be made for the purposes of calculating a premium under this order is to be made - (a) in respect of all premiums payable in relation to policy periods commencing on 30 June 1993 - by the Authority; (b) in respect of all premiums payable in relation to policy periods commencing on a day after 30 June 1993 - by the authorized insurer; (c) in respect of all adjustments to the premiums referred to in paragraphs (a) and (b) - by the authorized insurer. (2) An employer may, in accordance with the policy, apply to the Authority for review of, or the Authority may of its own volition review, a determination or calculation made by an authorized insurer under sub-clause 1(b) or (c), and on review the Authority may make any determination or calculation that the authorized insurer may make."
Schedule 7 of the relevant Premiums Orders provides:
"1. Where the authorized insurer or the Authority becomes aware of any new information affecting the calculation of the premium, after the premium payable is calculated, the authorized insurer or the Authority may re-calculate the premium in accordance with this Order and the difference must be met by a further payment by the employer or by a refund to the employer, as the case requires. 2. (1) The circumstances under which an employer may apply under s.22 of the [WCIA] to have the premium adjusted are - (a) where there is a change in industry classification; or (b) where there is a significant change in rateable remuneration. (2) If the employer applies for an adjustment under item 2(1)(a) of this Schedule, the change of industry classification takes effect from the date of application."
It should not be forgotten that these provisions form part of a Premiums Order which has been promulgated for a particular "policy period", and that they do not in terms authorize the VWA or the insurer to demand an "adjusted premium" in lieu of one which has been demanded of, and paid by, an insured employer in a policy period which has expired.
"... whereas the insured ... named in the Premium Notice attached hereto ... is conducting operations at or from the workplace(s) listed in the Notice in respect of which rateable remuneration is paid or payable ... and has provided to [the VWA] or authorized insurer specified in the Notice ... particulars under the [ACA or WCIA] which it is hereby agreed shall be the basis of this contract and be considered as incorporated in this Policy." (my emphasis)
Thus, it seems to me that it is the basis of the agreement between the employer and the insurer that the employer/insured has provided information or particulars to the insurer or the VWA sufficient to enable the insurer or the VWA to determine the appropriate industry classification for a relevant policy period. In circumstances where, as here, the information has been provided bona fide by the employer and accepted by the insurer as sufficient for its purposes to fix a premium, and the parties have thereafter conducted their affairs on the basis of the premium so fixed and paid, it is not open to the insurer to maintain that the premium so fixed and paid was not the appropriate one. In the absence of the clearest statutory language giving to the insurer the right to adjust the premium, it is estopped. Indeed, I did not understand appellant's counsel to argue to the contrary. Their contention is that the clarity of statutory language prevents the estoppel from arising - a contention which I cannot accept. If, of course, the information sought and received from the insured was misleading or deceptive and amounted to what clause 9 of the policy describes as "avoid(ing) or attempt(ing) to avoid the payment of the premium due" by "any wilful act default or neglect or by any fraud, art or contrivance", then that would amount to a breach of the policy within the meaning of clause 22 thereof, entitling the insurer to recover any loss suffered by way of damages.
"Based on the above schedule, your industry classification has changed effective from 1995/96 financial year only. You are therefore paying a total premium amount of $91,724.12 based on a rateable remuneration of $4,350,001.00."
On 15 July 1996, the Authority, after noting that the authorised insurer had changed the employer's industry classification to G5112K "effective from 1 July 1995", directed the insurer "to amend the effective date of the change of classification to 1 July 1993", and that direction led thereafter to the first formal notice to the employer that the change in industry classification was being applied to the policy periods 93/94 and 94/95, with consequential demands for more premium for those years.
"has provided to the Victorian WorkCover Authority (hereinafter called `the Authority') or authorised insurer specified in the Notice (in this Policy called `the insurer') particulars under the [Accident Compensation] Act or the WorkCover Insurance Act which it is hereby agreed shall be the basis of this contract and be considered as incorporated in this Policy."
Such a "basis clause" is common enough, confirming the contractual nature of the arrangement evidenced by the policy, and conditions 9 and 22 in particular reinforced the obligations involved. Thus, condition 9 prohibited the employer from, inter alia, avoiding or attempting to avoid the payment of premium due under the 1993 Act or "this policy", "by any wilful act, default or neglect or by any fraud, art or contrivance whatever"; while condition 22 authorised the insurer to recover damages or to deny indemnity upon "a breach by the employer of any condition of the policy".
"PROVIDED lastly that this Policy shall be subject to the [Accident Compensation] Act, the WorkCover Insurance Act and the regulations and orders made under those Acts and unless the contrary intention appears all words and expressions in the Policy shall have the same meaning as those words or expressions have in those Acts, regulations and orders."
"(2) An insurer must not demand or receive an amount for the issue or renewal of a WorkCover insurance policy which is different from the premium payable by the employer in accordance with the relevant premiums order."
More will have to be said of this provision later, but obviously it is to be read and understood in context and, as I have said, in my opinion that context is generally one of a scheme for private insurance by employers against their liability for work-related injury.
"The premium for this Policy or any renewal thereof is the amount fixed by the Insurance Premiums Order in force under the WorkCover Insurance Act in respect of the relevant policy period."
As already indicated, under the respective premiums orders which were relevant to the three policy periods here in question, the rate of premium depended upon determining the industry classification for the employer's business activities.
" ... to which the predominant activity for that employer at that workplace corresponds or most closely corresponds".
In clause 3 of Schedule 1 "predominant activity" was defined as being -
"... the activity of the employer which contributes or is likely to contribute more than any other activity to the value of goods or services or goods and services produced or provided by the employer from operations carried on in the workplace."
"Within Victoria LP gas is available in bulk quantities at two locations one being at Dandenong and the other at Long Island Point. The actual location makes no difference for our client and shall be referred to as the Bulk Terminal in this explanation. Product is also available from the oil refineries.
Our client I R Cootes Pty Ltd has contracts with a number of Marketers and Oil Companies (Marketers/Oil Companies) with the main ones being Elgas, .... [and] Gogas and the remainder with Mobil, BP, Boral and others.
The distribution of LP gas throughout Victoria and interstate is effected by the Marketers/Oil Companies, i.e. Gogas, Elgas etc. entering into contracts with retail suppliers i.e. service stations etc. (the `outlets') for them to have `outlets' for their particular brand of LP gas. After the agreement between the Marketers/Oil Companies and the `outlets' has been finalised the `outlet' is supplied, by the Marketers/Oil Companies with the necessary tank and discharge facilities. This equipment is not supplied by our client nor do they have any involvement in this area.
Once the facilities are in place the Marketers/Oil Companies i.e. Gogas, Elgas etc. notify our client that this `outlet' is to be provided with the required LP Gas. The notification does not include any mention as to the volume of LP Gas to be supplied nor the frequency of supply. Only that the `outlet' is to be supplied with LP Gas.
Our client has several contracts with the Marketers/Oil Companies for the supply of LP Gas to these `outlets' throughout Victoria. There is no one contract as the numbers of `outlets' is continually being either added to or in some cases decreased as `outlets' close or change the brand of LP Gas.
On receipt of the Marketers/Oil Company's authority to supply their LP Gas to an `outlet' it is our clients responsibility to establish the volume that is to be supplied, the frequency of delivery and the system by which that delivery will take place.
To achieve this our client has to develop and maintain a system that maintains each and every `outlet's' supply at safe levels and ensures that the `outlet' is never unable to meet an order.
This is achieved by the driver of each tanker being totally responsible for the `outlets' within their own nominated/allocated sector. It is their responsibility to be continually in contact with each `outlet' throughout the day to ensure that at the end of the sector at the end of the day each `outlet' has been supplied with the necessary LP Gas and that the tanker is not returning to base with excess LP gas. Each and every driver is totally responsible for the management of the supply of LP gas to all of the `outlets' within their sector.
"In all aspects other than one our client [the employer] is obviously involved in the wholesaling of LP Gas. They incur liability on the acceptance of a tanker load, they deliver it to `outlets' which resell it to the final consumer and they initiate all of the documentation from which invoices and the transfer of ownership eventuate. The only aspect missing is the actual payment of money to our client by the `outlets'. This situation is one driven more by the advancement of technology where invoices, payment etc. are all raised, transferred and funds transferred via computer based systems rather than a decisive decision to exclude our client from the process. There would be no difficulty nor barrier stopping our client collecting the required payments other than it is a practice which is obsolete, expensive, inefficient and raises unnecessary security risks."
Thus, the argument was not that the employer was a wholesaler, but that the "predominant activity" of the employer most closely corresponded to that described in item F4741J, that of the wholesaler, especially as that classification was labelled "Petroleum Products Wholesalers". As pointed out by counsel at trial, the detail of activities relevant to this item went beyond mere wholesaling; for they were described as including "retailing liquefied petroleum gas (in bulk or containers), heating oil and other fuel oils" and the "Predominant Activities" which were listed included "Liquefied petroleum gas (L.P.G.) dealing (in bulk or in containers)". In contrast, it could be said, item G5112K - Long Distance Intrastate Road Freight Transport, so far as relevant here, appeared to treat of the transporting of goods generally, more in line perhaps with the task of a common carrier than the highly specialised transport operation of this insured.
(1) Unless otherwise expressly stated, any determination or calculation required to be made for the purposes of calculating a premium under this Order is to be made by the authorised insurer.
(2) An employer may, in accordance with the policy, apply to the Authority for review of, or the Authority may of its own volition review, a determination or calculation made by an authorised insurer under sub-clause (1) and on review the Authority may make any determination or calculation that the authorised insurer may make."
Consistently with this, but adding some detail, condition 10 of the policy provided:-
(i) If the employer claims that the insurer has in demanding a premium, or any part of premium, breached a premiums order, the employer may apply to the Victorian WorkCover Authority for a determination as to the premium to be charged. Such an application must be made within 28 days after the date of demand for the premium;
(ii) Where the Authority makes a determination as to the premium to be charged, the insurer must, within 28 days after the date of the decision by the Authority, issue or renew a policy of insurance for the employer at the premium determined by the Authority;
(iii) Nothing in this clause is intended to abrogate or detract from the rights of either the insurer or the employer to bring proceedings in any court of competent jurisdiction in respect of any matter or thing arising out of a demand, application or determination referred to in sub-clauses (i) or (ii)."
It can be seen that clause 10 of the premiums order uses the word "review", but it was made plain that, on review, the Authority might substitute its own determination or calculation for that made by the authorised insurer, and hence condition 10 of the policy spoke of the employer applying to the Authority "for a determination as to the premium to be charged". Moreover, the power of the Authority to make such a determination was conferred expressly without prejudice to the right of either party to bring proceedings in court - which is what happened here - and in court the question must be the correct industry classification, not whether the determination below was attended by error.
"(4) The Authority or the authorised insurer may by notice in writing to the employer at any time after the commencement of a policy period adjust the amount of premium in accordance with the premiums order and the adjusted amount is the premium for the purposes of this Act."
"1. Where the authorised insurer or the Authority becomes aware of any new information affecting the calculation of the premium after the premium payable is calculated, the authorised insurer or the Authority may recalculate the premium in accordance with this Order and the difference must be met by a further payment by the employer or by a refund to the employer, as the case requires. 2. (1) The circumstances under which an employer may apply under section 22 of the WorkCover Insurance Act to have the premium adjusted are-
(a) where there is a change in industry classification; or
(b) where there is a significant change in rateable remuneration.
(2) If an employer applies for an adjustment under item 2(1)(a) of this Schedule, the change of industry classification takes effect from the date of the application."
(1) The industry classification of the respondent as F4741J was not the correct classification: the correct classification was, during the three policy periods in question, G5112K.
(2) In relation to the policy period 95/96, the authorised insurer notified the employer of the reclassification and its consequences on premium before any premium was demanded or paid for that period and therefore in time for it to be acted upon. Having demanded the premium according to what it considered to be the correct classification, the authorised insurer was entitled to be paid the increased premium and the respondent was not entitled to recover any part of the premium paid for that year.
(3) In respect of previous years, if, as decided below, the reclassification proceeded upon "new information" within clause 1 of Schedule 7 of the relevant premiums order, the authorised insurer was none the less not allowed to recalculate premium for past years: neither s.26(4) nor Schedule 7 clause 1 gave it such power. Section 26(4) authorised adjustment only "in accordance with the premiums order " and Schedule 7 clause 1 is concerned only with the policy period during which the premium is being recalculated.
orders, and having regard to s.17 of the Accident Compensation (WorkCover Insurance) Act 1993, there could be only one correct industry classification and, accordingly, only one correct premium. In my view the premiums orders do not necessarily contemplate that only one classification can be the correct one. Rather there will, as the President has said, be occasions where minds can reasonably differ. In that situation it becomes the task under clause 10 of the premiums orders for the years in question, first, for the authorized insurer to select the appropriate industry classification. If the insured objects that the selection has been wrongly made, a review may be sought under clause 10(2). But then it would be for the insured to show that the selection had been wrongly made by the authorized insurer (or the Victorian WorkCover Authority, "VWA"). The insured would have to establish that another activity contributed or was likely to contribute more than the assigned classification to the value of goods or services produced or provided by the insured from operations carried on in the workplace. And if the insured could show no more than that two classifications were equally open, the review would fail, the onus of proof being of course on the insured. The present appeal, in my view, is an example of such a situation.
"The industry to which a workplace is classified for an employer is the WorkCover industry classification in Schedule 9 to which the predominant activity for that employer at that workplace corresponds or most closely corresponds."
In clause 3 of Schedule 1 the "predominant activity" in relation to a workplace of an employer is said to mean
"the activity of the employer that ... is the activity of the employer which contributes or is likely to contribute more than any other activity to the value of the goods or services and services produced or provided by the employer from operations carried on in the workplace."
Schedule 9 set out the detailed WorkCover Industry Classification. There is a large number of such classifications. The item numbered F4741J appears under Division F, Trade, whereas items G5111J and G5112K appear under Division G, Road Freight Transport. Clauses 1 and 2 of Division F provided -
"1. This Division includes all workplaces predominantly engaged in the trading of goods either as a retailer, wholesaler (physically handling the goods and, usually, taking title to the goods) or as an agent or purchasing, marketing or buying office. The term 'agency' is used here to include those operations which trade in goods but do not usually take title to the goods traded and do not physically handle the goods. Typically an agency receives commission or fees which are directly related to the value of goods traded. A purchasing, marketing or buying office is a separate workplace, of a multi workplace employer, which is predominantly engaged in buying or marketing goods for use by other workplaces of the employer. Such an workplace which buys or markets for other workplaces of the employer does not physically handle the goods. 2. The term 'wholesale trade' is used here in the broad sense to include the sale (as principals) of new or used goods to retailers or other wholesalers. The more important types of businesses engaged in wholesale trade are wholesale merchants who take title to the goods they sell; separately located sales branches or sales offices (not being retail stores), operated by manufacturing enterprises, which do not merely take orders but supply goods to customers from stocks physically held at their own premises."
In Division F, under the heading "Minerals, Metals and Chemicals Wholesalers" there appears -
"F4741J PETROLEUM PRODUCTS WHOLESALERS (INCLUDING BLENDING INDUSTRIAL AND LUBRICATING OILS FROM REFINERY BASE STOCK) This class consists of workplaces predominantly engaged in wholesaling petroleum or petroleum products or in retailing liquefied petroleum gas (in bulk or containers), heating oil or other fuel oils. This class also includes workplaces predominantly engaged in blending industrial or lubricating oils from refinery base stock. EXCLUSIONS/REFERENCES: Workplaces predominantly engaged in distributing liquefied petroleum gas through a mains system are included in Class D3620V. Predominant Activities Bitumen wholesaling Lubricating oils blending Crude oil wholesaling Oils or greases, industrial or Crude petroleum wholesaling lubricating, blending Diesel oil wholesaling Oils or greases, industrial or Distillate wholesaling lubricating, wholesaling Fuel oil wholesaling or retailing Paraffin wholesaling Heating oil wholesaling Petrol wholesaling Kerosenes wholesaling Petroleum products wholesaling Liquefied petroleum gas (LPG) dealing (in bulk or in containers)"
In Division G, under the heading "Road Freight Transport (Including Renting Vehicles With Drivers)" appear the two separate classifications, G5111J - Long Distance Interstate Road Freight Transport) and G5112K - Long Distance Intrastate Road Freight Transport, which cover workplaces predominantly engaged in the transportation of freight by road across or within State or Territory borders involving journeys of 100 kms or more radial distance from pick-up point.
(a) initially accepted and incurred liability for the LPG;
(b) on direction supplied it to a range of outlets;
(c) was responsible for the design, management and maintenance of the system for distribution;
(d) initiated all of the documentation for verification of delivery and the raising of invoices;
(e) undertook significant responsibility on behalf of the companies whose product was involved;
(f) had invested heavily in developing a specialty service;
(g) had contractual responsibility with both the oil companies and the outlets; and
(h) was required to ensure that the product complied with specifications and was of merchantable quality.
"[A]s a general rule, 'wholesale' merchants dealt only with persons who bought to sell again, whilst 'retail' merchants dealt with the consumers."
In D'Oro v. The Superintendent[11], Bray C.J. said that "the word 'wholesale' is capable of two relevant significations, one as meaning simply sales in bulk, the other as meaning sales to retailers, presumably also normally in bulk". These two meanings of the word "wholesale" were also noted by Walters J in Lonie v. Willmott[12] and Gobbo J. in City of Brighton v. Eura Nominees[13]. In Attorney-General (ex rel. Franklins) v. Lizelle[14], Reynolds J.A.[15] and Samuels J.A.[16] took the view (quoting from a definition of "wholesaler" settled by the American Marketing Association in 1963) that the meaning of the word "wholesaler" in the community was -
"A business unit which buys and re-sells merchandise to retailers and other merchants and/or industrial institutional and commercial users but does not sell any significant amount to ultimate consumers."
"wholesale is to sell in the manner customarily adopted by wholesale enterprises, even though the purchasers can include ultimate consumers."
In Woolworths v. Campbells Cash and Carry Pty Ltd[18] Bignold J. canvassed the differing views expressed in Lizelle and then quoted the definition of "wholesale trade" adopted by the Australian Standard Industrial Classification Catalogues number 1201 and 1202 which stated that the -
"term 'wholesale trade' is used here in the sense to include the resale (as agents or principals) of new or used goods to retailers or other wholesalers, or to institutional (including government), professional or other business users (including farmers and builders) ..."
This definition of course accepts that a party could be engaged in wholesale trade as an agent as well as a principal.
[1] Warren v. Coombes [1979] HCA 9; (1979) 142 C.L.R. 531 at 551.
[2] cf. Hall (Inspector of Taxes) v. Lorimer [1992] 1 W.L.R. 939 at 944.
[3] Mobilio v. Baliotis [1998] 3 V.R. 833 at 841-2 per Brooking, J.A.
[5] cf. The Commonwealth v. Baume [1905] HCA 11; (1905) 2 C.L.R. 405 at 414 per Griffith, C.J.
[6] The notice of appeal describes the judgment as given on 29 October 1999.
[7] The reference to interstate transport arose from a mistake by the "auditors", a mistake they corrected before premium was adjusted. In his reasons for judgment the trial judge thought the mistake a significant one; on this appeal the parties were agreed that it had no significance in the events which happened.
[9] This is at least in line with the original notification to the insured, in October 1995, of the change in the industry classification "effective from [the current policy period] only". See also and compare under the previous legislation the decision of the Full Court in Peter Isaacson Publications Pty. Ltd. v. VWA (formerly ACC) [1996] VicRp 6; [1996] 1 V.R. 49.
[11] [1968] S.A.S.R. 220, 224.
[12] [1996] S.A.S.R. 368 at 371.
[13] (1983) 56 LGRA 262 at 269.
[18] (1993) 80 LGERA 104 at 110-111.
[19] (1888) 9 L.R. (N.S.W.) 30 at 40, 43
[20] [1961] N.S.W.R. 1091, at 1096 - 1097.
[21] (1848) 17 LJEX 209 at 210.
Victorian WorkCover Authority
I R Cootes Pty Ltd [2001] VSCA 85
(1993) 80 LGERA 104