© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2004] VSC 272
Supreme Court of Victoria
2004-08-09
Hollingworth J
Original judgment source is linked above.
[2004] VSC 272
Appeal against a declaration made by the Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal - jurisdiction of the Tribunal under the Domestic Building Contracts Act 1995 - whether the Tribunal had jurisdiction to deal with the claim against the appellant - whether decision by insurer to sue indemnity provider was "arising from any required insurance" - Domestic Building Contracts Act 1995 - sections 54, 55, , and - - , ,
Whether or not for the purposes of ss. 60(1) and 61(1) of the Domestic Building Contracts Act 1995 ("DBC Act") the decision of the insurer to claim from Witherow under the indemnity deed was one with respect to anything arising from any required insurance under the Building Act that covers a builder in relation to domestic building work.
(a) reviewing the quantum of the amount demanded by the insurer from Witherow in respect of the O'Mahony claim as unreasonable and/or excessive, and substituting VCAT's own findings as to the reasonable cost of rectification;
(b) reviewing Witherow's liability, if any, and reviewing the quantum of the amount demanded by the insurer from Witherow in respect of the Williams claim as unreasonable and/or excessive and substituting VCAT's own findings as to the reasonable cost of rectification. [5]
(iii) not appropriate to be sought from Witherow pursuant to the indemnity deed.
No particulars are given of grounds (i) to (iii). Nor does the 2 January letter or its enclosures explain what is meant by grounds (i) to (iii).
"60 Tribunal may review and change an insurer's decision
(1) The Tribunal may review any decision of an insurer with respect to anything arising from any required insurance under the Building Act 1993 that a builder is covered by in relation to domestic building work or from a guarantee under the House Contracts Guarantee Act 1987 or from an indemnity under Part 6 of the House Contracts Guarantee Act 1987.
(2) Despite sub-section (1), the Tribunal does not have any power to review a decision of an insurer -
(a) to refuse to insure, or to refuse to renew or extend the insurance of, a builder; or
(b) concerning premiums or charges to be paid for any insurance or the conditions under which any insurance will be offered, renewed or extended.
(3) After conducting a review, the Tribunal may confirm, annul, vary or reverse the decision, and may make any order necessary to give effect to its decision.
61 Who can ask the Tribunal to review an insurer's decision?
(1) Any person whose interests are affected by a decision of an insurer with respect to anything arising from any required insurance under the Building Act 1993 that covers a builder in relation to domestic building work or from a guarantee under the House Contracts Guarantee Act 1987 or from an indemnity under Part 6 of the House Contracts Guarantee Act 1987 may apply to the Tribunal for a review of the decision.
(2) If the decision contains a direction that must be complied with within 27 days of the date the person receives notice of the decision, the application must be made before the date the decision must be complied with.
(3) In all other cases, the application must be made within 28 days of the date the person receives notice of the decision."
"The occasion for the Indemnity is the required insurance. The Indemnity is required to be given because of the insurance cover being available. There would be no Indemnity if there were no required insurance. The required insurance is the necessary condition to the Indemnity coming into existence. ... Of course it is a private commercial arrangement, but it comes into being because of the required insurance. And it does not come into being for any other reason."
Accordingly, Mr Moshidis argued that the demand for payment under the indemnity deed did "arise from" the required insurance.
"To my mind, the court should strive to construe the Act wherever possible to give effect to this objective. It would be regrettable indeed if, in a given case, disputants were obliged to submit part of their claim to the tribunal, part to the court and, perhaps subject to s.14 of the Act, a third part to arbitration."[16]
* Disputes between a builder and an insurer "in relation to a domestic building contract or the carrying out of domestic building work;"[22]
* Any dispute concerning an insurance claim concerning domestic building work or an insurer's decision on such a claim;[23]
* Any decision of an insurer with respect to anything arising out of any required insurance.[24]
(1) The Tribunal has jurisdiction to hear and determine any dispute concerning an insurance claim concerning domestic building work or an insurer's decision on such a claim.
(2) The Tribunal may make any order it considers fair to resolve a dispute referred to in sub-section(1).
(3) The Tribunal may hear and determine a dispute under this section on the application of-
(b) The Director acting on behalf of one or more building owners who are parties to the dispute."
(2) It is declared that the Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal does not have jurisdiction to determine the application in proceeding No D49/2002.
[1] The insurer subsequently released Witherow's mother from her obligations under the indemnity deed.
[10] The nature and terms of the guarantee are not discussed in the reasons for decision in that case.
[12] 9 October 1996, Supreme Court, unreported
[19] The rationale for that rule was explained by Gleeson CJ in Francis Travel Marketing Pty Ltd v Virgin Atlantic Airways Ltd (1996) 39 NSWLR 160 as being:
"When the parties to a commercial contract agree, at the time of making the contract, and before any disputes have yet arisen, to refer to arbitration any dispute or difference arising out of the agreement, their agreement should not be construed narrowly. They are unlikely to have intended that different disputes should be resolved by different tribunals, or that the appropriate tribunal should be determined by fine shades of difference in the legal character of individual issues, or by the ingenuity of lawyers in developing points of argument."
Of course, in the present case there is no question of construing the parties' intentions.
[20] Unreported, Federal Court of Australia, Tamberlin J, 4 December 1996.
[21] Being a director of a building company and the provider of an indemnity.
[25] I agree with the comments to that effect made in Clifton Properties Corporation Pty Ltd v Litewaite Constructions Pty Ltd [1999] VCAT 49 by Deputy President Cremean.
Vero Insurance Ltd
Witherow [2004] VSC 272
(1966) 114 CLR 437
(1996) 39 NSWLR 160