[2012] SAWCT 41
General information, not legal advice.
Workers Compensation Tribunal (SA)
2012-10-09
Original judgment source is linked above.
"A disability is not compensable unless it is established on the balance of probabilities that it arises from employment".
"However, if a worker suffers a disability of a kind referred to in the first column of Schedule 2 and has been employed in work of a type referred to in the second column of Schedule 2 opposite the disability, the worker's disability is presumed, in the absence of proof to the contrary, to have arisen from that employment."
"Subject to this section, where a claim is made under this Act in respect of noise induced hearing loss by a worker (not being a person who has retired from employment on account of age or ill-health), the whole of the loss shall be deemed to have occurred immediately before notice of the disability was given and, subject to any proof to the contrary, to have arisen out of employment in which the worker was last exposed to noise capable of causing noise induced hearing loss."
"Where a claim is made in respect of noise-induced hearing loss by a worker, the whole of the loss is deemed to have occurred immediately before notice of the disability was given and, subject to any proof to the contrary, to have arisen out of employment in which the worker was last exposed to noise capable of causing noise-induced hearing loss (Section 113(2) of the Act).
Transfield notes that you were employed by it between 1997 and December 2002.
Transfield notes from the statement you provided to Dewing Ergonomics & Safety Pty Ltd ... that after ceasing employment with Transfield, you have been employed by six other employers.
On the basis of the statement you provided, Transfield considers that you were last exposed to noise capable of causing noise-induced hearing loss in the course of our employment with Cove Tavern or, alternatively D&A Sellar Plumbing or alternatively, Welsh & Leo.
Transfield therefore determines to reject your claim on the basis that it was not the employer in whose employment you were last exposed to noise capable of causing noise-induced hearing loss."
"I do not agree with Mr Gilchrist's submission that the worker must establish on the balance of probabilities that he is entitled to the benefit of the deeming mechanism contained in s 113(2) of the Act by establishing that Transfield was the employment where he was last exposed to noise capable of causing noise induced hearing loss rather than some subsequent employment."[3]
'Parliament resolved these difficulties by categorising the disabling condition and the types of employment which cause them in Sch 2 and providing for the presumptions in s 31(2) and 113 and in their predecessors in earlier legislation.'
His Honour set out the process envisaged by those provisions when he said[6]:
'The worker is required to prove that he has noise-induced hearing loss and that he has been employed in work involving exposure to noise. The burden of proof then shifts to the Corporation or an exempt employer, as the case may be. I shall refer only to the Corporation. It must prove that the hearing loss could not have arisen from the employment. In the case of employment involving only minimal noise such as employment in a library or some other quiet place, in the absence of any extraordinary circumstances, that task should be discharged without difficulty. In other cases, the task may be difficult, but if it cannot be discharged, the policy of the legislation is that the benefit falls to the worker. That position accords with fairness and commonsense as the conditions of the workplace at relevant times may be expected to be more easily established by the employer, and therefore the Corporation, than the employee.' "
"I accept the worker's evidence that in the trades assistant job with D and A Sellars he worked eight hours, three days per week and used various hand tools, such as snips and spanners. He also used battery operated drills and other equipment. He did not use pneumatic tools. He also used a pick and shovel as well as an electric rock breaker to break up concrete when undertaking pipe work. When undertaking this kind of work he used hearing protection. He worked in the vicinity of others who were also using a variety of equipment.
The work at the Cove Tavern also involved the use of hand tools and on occasions using a battery operated drill to put brackets on walls and the like.
I accept the worker's evidence that the work at D and A Sellars involved very occasional low background noise and that he was exposed to even less noise at Cove Tavern."[9]
"Dr Matison's report, dated 5 August 2010, confirms that 'pure tone audiometry demonstrated symmetrical severe high tone sensorineural losses consistent with the effects of noise trauma'. Having taken a history of the nature of the worker's duties with ANR and Transfield and exposure to excessive noise over long periods of time and the quality of that noise, including the use of air compressor tools and the noise of train movement, and having noted the history that there was no exposure to excessive noise in subsequent employment, or in a non-occupational setting, Dr Matison expressed the opinion that the worker suffers from occupational noise trauma in his employment with ANR and Transfield, comprising noise induced hearing loss and noise induced tinnitus.
I am satisfied that the worker's evidence establishes that he was exposed to noise in his employment with Transfield. Dr Matison's evidence establishes that he suffers from noise induced hearing loss and noise induced tinnitus. The worker's evidence about his significant noise exposure at Transfield, his evidence about the nature of his subsequent employment and Dr Matison's evidence linking noise induced hearing loss to the Transfield employment activated the s 113(2) presumption.
Transfield did not provide proof to rebut the presumption that the worker's employment with Transfield was the last where he was exposed to noise capable of causing noise induced hearing loss.
I conclude that the worker's noise induced hearing loss is attributable to his employment with Transfield."[10]
"The expression 'burden' or 'onus' of proof, 'As applied to judicial proceedings ... has two distinct and frequently confused meanings: (1) the burden of proof as a matter of law and pleading - the burden, as it has been called, of establishing a case, whether by preponderance of evidence, or beyond a reasonable doubt; and (2) the burden of proof in the sense of introducing evidence' (Phipson on Evidence, 10th ed. (1963) par 92). This is a proposition which has been frequently acknowledged (See eg Fitzpatrick v Walter E Cooper Pty Ltd [1935] HCA 82; (1935) 54 CLR 200 at p218 and Mummery v. Irvings Pty Ltd [1956] HCA 45; (1956) 96 CLR 99 at p118 et seq). The position is, we think, correctly stated by the learned author of the work to which we have referred when he says: 'the burden of proof in the first sense is always stable, the burden of proof in the second sense may shift constantly, according as one scale of evidence or the other preponderates' (ibid par 95)".[13]
"I am satisfied that the worker's evidence establishes that he was exposed to noise in his employment with Transfield. Dr Matison's evidence establishes that he suffers from noise induced hearing loss and noise induced tinnitus. The worker's evidence about his significant noise exposure at Transfield, his evidence about the nature of his subsequent employment and Dr Matison's evidence linking noise induced hearing loss to the Transfield employment activated the s 113(2) presumption."
"10 There are several statutory provisions relevant to a claim for noise induced hearing loss. Section 31(1) provides that a disability is not compensable unless it is established on the balance of probabilities that it arises from employment; s 31(2) contains a presumption that if a worker suffers a disability of a kind set out in Schedule 2 of the Act and is employed in work of a corresponding type set out in that schedule the worker's disability is presumed, in the absence of proof to the contrary, to have arisen from employment.
'Subject to this section, where a claim is made under this Act in respect of noise induced hearing loss by a worker (not being a person who has retired from employment on account of age or ill-health), the whole of the loss shall be deemed to have occurred immediately before notice of the disability was given and, subject to any proof to the contrary, to have arisen out of employment in which the worker was last exposed to noise capable of causing noise induced hearing loss.'
'Parliament resolved these difficulties by categorising the disabling condition and the types of employment which cause them in Sch 2 and providing for the presumptions in s 31(2) and 113 and in their predecessors in earlier legislation'
'The worker is required to prove that he has noiseinduced hearing loss and that he has been employed in work involving exposure to noise. The burden of proof then shifts to the Corporation or an exempt employer, as the case may be. I shall refer only to the Corporation. It must prove that the hearing loss could not have arisen from the employment. In the case of employment involving only minimal noise such as employment in a library or some other quiet place, in the absence of any extraordinary circumstances, that task should be discharged without difficulty. In other cases, the task may be difficult, but if it cannot be discharged, the policy of the legislation is that the benefit falls to the worker. That position accords with fairness and commonsense as the conditions of the workplace at relevant times may be expected to be more easily established by the employer, and therefore the Corporation, than the employee.' "[16] (footnotes omitted)
"...detailed evidence of the nature and extent of the exposure and the need for an expert's opinion as to whether the 'tendency incidence or characteristics' of that employment are such to give rise to a real risk of deafness."
"Subject to this section, where a claim is made under this Act in respect of noise induced hearing loss by a worker (not being a person who has retired from employment on account of age or illhealth), the whole of the loss shall be deemed to have occurred immediately before notice of the disability was given and, subject to any proof to the contrary, to have arisen out of employment in which the worker was last exposed to noise capable of causing noise induced hearing loss."
"38 I am satisfied that the worker's evidence establishes that he was exposed to noise in his employment with Transfield. Dr Matison's evidence establishes that he suffers from noise induced hearing loss and noise induced tinnitus. The worker's evidence about his significant noise exposure at Transfield, his evidence about the nature of his subsequent employment and Dr Matison's evidence linking noise induced hearing loss to the Transfield employment activated the s 113(2) presumption.
It is the practice of this Tribunal to publish its reasons for decision in full on the Internet. If any party or person contends that these reasons for decision should not be published in full the party or person must make an application within seven days of the delivery of these reasons. The application shall be by an Application for Directions with a supporting affidavit and should be addressed to the presiding member(s). If no such application is lodged within the time specified these reasons will be published in accordance with the Tribunal's usual practice.
[5] with whom Doyle CJ and Wick J agreed
[13] [1965] HCA 34; (1965) 114 CLR 164 at 167-8
[14] (undated but having a computer file print date of 2010-10-12)
[15] Sellar v Transfield Services (Australia) Pty Ltd [2012] SAWCT 16 para 14
[16] Sellar v Transfield Services (Australia) Pty Ltd [2012] SAWCT 16 paras 10- 13
Transfield Services (Australia) Pty Ltd
Sellar [2012] SAWCT 41
(1999) 76 SASR 95
(1965) 114 CLR 164
(1991) 24 NSWLR 156
(1935) 54 CLR 200
(1956) 96 CLR 99