[2000] FCA 779
General information, not legal advice.
Federal Court of Australia
2000-06-09
Hely JJ
Original judgment source is linked above.
Zoe will write a short plain-English summary of this judgment and email it to you for free: what it was about, what the court decided and why. It can take up to a minute.
General information, not legal advice.
Or create a free account to save it and ask Zoe follow-up questions.
REASONS FOR JUDGMENT THE COURT 1 This is an application in the original jurisdiction of the Court, but it was heard by us as a Full Court pursuant to a direction of the Chief Justice given under s 20(1A) of the Federal Court of Australia Act 1976. 2 What is involved is a review, pursuant to s 5 of the Administrative Decisions (Judicial Review) Act 1977, of a decision of a delegate of the Repatriation Commission made under s 105 of the Veterans' Entitlements Act 1986. By subs (1) of this section: "(1) The Commission may, by instrument in writing, prepare a scheme, called the Vehicle Assistance Scheme, for the provision of motor vehicles to veterans eligible under this section to participate in the scheme and for the payment of allowances towards the cost of running and maintaining vehicles so provided." Sub-sections (2), (3) and (4) provide for the variation or revocation of a scheme; that it has "no force or effect unless approved by the Minister"; and that, following approval, the Minister shall cause copies to be laid before each House of the Parliament. Sub-sections (5), (6) and (7) then continue: "(5) A veteran is, subject to subsection (7), eligible to participate in the Vehicle Assistance Scheme if the veteran is incapacitated from war-caused injury or war-caused disease by reason of: (a) amputation of both legs above the knee; (b) amputation of one leg above the knee and, in addition: (i) amputation of the other leg at or above the ankle and amputation of one arm at or above the wrist; or (ii) amputation of both arms at or above the wrists; (c) complete paraplegia resulting in the total loss of voluntary power in both legs to the extent that there is insufficient power for purposeful use for stance or locomotion; or (d) a condition that, in the opinion of the Commission, is similar in effect or severity to a condition described in paragraph (a) or (b). (6) The Commission may provide benefits for veterans eligible to participate in the Vehicle Assistance Scheme under and in accordance with the provisions of that Scheme. (7) For the purposes of subsection (5): (a) a leg that has been rendered permanently and wholly useless above the knee shall be treated as if it had been amputated above the knee; (b) a veteran shall not be taken to be incapacitated by reason of the disability described in paragraph (5)(c) unless the disability is such that surgical or other therapeutic measures are not reasonably capable of restoring power for purposeful use for stance or locomotion; and (c) a reference to the Vehicle Assistance Scheme shall, unless the contrary intention appears, be read as a reference to: (i) the Vehicle Assistance Scheme prepared under subsection (1) and approved by the Minister, but not being such a Scheme that has been revoked; or (ii) if that Scheme has been varied under subsection (2) by an instrument approved by the Minister - that Scheme as so varied." 3 The question in this case concerns the meaning of s 105(5)(d). It arises in the following circumstances. On 24 February 2000, one Mr W R Maxwell, a delegate of the Repatriation Commission, made a decision upon what he described as a reconsideration of the application of Mr Tracy (the applicant) for assistance under the Vehicle Assistance Scheme. The application, which had originally been made on 25 September 1998, had been "returned to the Commission for determination according to law" by a decision of Lee J, made on 4 November 1999, following two applications to the Court, one on the ground of the Commission's unreasonable delay in making a decision, and the other, when a decision to refuse the application was made on 11 August 1999, to set that decision aside. The decision of 11 August 1999 was set aside, as was inevitable, on the ground that the delegate who reached it had done so without taking into account at all the most recent evidence available to him, showing a deterioration of Mr Tracy's condition since September 1998: see Minister for Aboriginal Affairs v Peko-Wallsend Limited (1986) 162 CLR 24 at 45, per Mason J; Canwest Global Communications Corp v Australian Broadcasting Authority (1998) 50 ALD 877 at 892-893. It is curious that the later decision of a delegate of the Commission cites the decision given on 11 August 1999 as one where "another delegate of the Repatriation Commission reviewed [an earlier rejection on 29 January 1999] but again found that [Mr Tracy's] circumstances did not meet any of the criteria that would enable [him] to participate in the Scheme", without appearing to notice the serious nature of the flaw in the decision of 11 August 1999 which led to his being required to look at the matter again. If Mr Maxwell was merely reciting the history of the application, no harm was done; but if he meant that there had been successive findings against Mr Tracy which could be taken into account when he "reconsidered" the matter, he fell into error. There had been no finding in accordance with law by the previous delegate, and no finding at all upon the circumstances which Mr Maxwell was bound to examine. He was required by law to look at the matter completely afresh. 4 Addressing his reasons directly to Mr Tracy, and after some preliminary remarks, the delegate wrote: "9. I have considered all the evidence and other material provided to the Repatriation Commission, including all of the evidence and other material referred to in your application to the Federal Court dated 27 July 1999 and the evidence and other material on your Departmental files. These include a copy of a pulmonary function report dated 15 May 1998, a copy of a report by Dr A.C. Harper Occupational Physician dated 19 October 1998, and records of your medical oxygen usage during 1998 and 1999. I have also noted your affidavit dated 20 July 1999 in which you stated that 'I now rely on oxygen 24 hours a day. I use it continuously when I am at rest and I cannot perform any activity without it.'
(a) You suffer from Chronic Obstructive Airways Disease; (b) You now rely on medical oxygen 24 hours a day; (c) You use medical oxygen continuously when you are at rest; (d) You cannot perform any activity without medical oxygen; (e) All your 'movements are slow' and in your 'general movements' you 'avoid carrying and bending'; (f) You have difficulties entering and getting out of a car; (g) The use of medical oxygen does not overcome your movement limitation, however the use of medical oxygen enables you to 'mobilise short distances'.
(a) You have not had any limbs amputated; (b) Your legs are not permanently and wholly useless; and (c) You do not suffer from paraplegia.
Solicitor for the Applicant: George Turnbull, Director of Legal Aid WA
Solicitor for the Respondent: Australian Government Solicitor
Tracy
Repatriation Commission
(1986) 162 CLR 24
(1992) 175 CLR 408
(1997) 72 FCR 467
(1997) 80 FCR 58
(1999) 92 FCR 26
(1987) 162 CLR 514
(1955) 92 CLR 390
(1994) 125 ALR 203
(1997) 191 CLR 85
(1993) 117 ALR 225
(2000) 170 ALR 553
(1997) 191 CLR 559
(1989) 167 CLR 637
(1993) 178 CLR 408