austlii:cth/ARTA/2025/1056
General information, not legal advice.
ARTA
2025-07-22
Original judgment source is linked above.
I am looking at NDIS assistance to try and maintain some kind of quality of life and slow further deterioration. > > I am also very concerned that the comment about Diabeties (sic) was in there. It was not part of my application so I would assume this was simply cut and pasted from a previous application. Not only is the disturbing to me but my understanding is the review would be independently (sic) reviewed. This clearly was not the case. > > The simple truth is that I have a serious disability that is permanent and I have proven this with numerous supporting documents and my only hope of slowing my decline is with some help to maintain my current situation as per the Occupational Therapy FCA.
(a) the age requirements in section 22; and > > (b) the residence requirements in section 23; and > > (c) the disability requirements in section 24; or > > (d) the early intervention requirements in section 25.
(a) the CEO is satisfied that the person meets the age requirements (see section 22); and
(b) the CEO is satisfied that, at the time of considering the request, the person meets the residence requirements (see section 23); and
(c) the CEO is satisfied that, at the time of considering the request:
(i) the person meets the disability requirements (see section 24); or
(ii) the person meets the early intervention requirements (see section 25).
(a) whether or not the prospective participant meets the disability requirements; and
(b) whether or not the prospective participant meets the early intervention requirements.
(a) the CEO does not do a thing referred to in paragraph 20(1)(a) or (b) within the period applicable under section 20; or
(b) if subsection 26(2) applies--the CEO does not do one of the things referred to in that subsection within the 14-day period referred to in that subsection.
Note 2: Notice of a decision that the CEO is taken to have made must be given because of subsection 100(1) and will be automatically reviewed because of subsection 100(5).
(a) the person has a disability that is attributable to one or more intellectual, cognitive, neurological, sensory or physical impairments or the person has one or more impairments to which a psychosocial disability is attributable; and > > (b) the impairment or impairments are, or are likely to be, permanent; and > > (c) the impairment or impairments result in substantially reduced functional capacity to undertake one or more of the following activities: > > > (i) communication; > > > > (ii) social interaction; > > > > (iii) learning; > > > > (iv) mobility; > > > > (v) self-care; > > > > (vi) self-management; and > > (d) the impairment or impairments affect the person's capacity for social or economic participation; and > > (e) the person is likely to require support under the National Disability Insurance Scheme for the person's lifetime.
(a) the person: > > > (i) has one or more identified intellectual, cognitive, neurological, sensory or physical impairments that are, or are likely to be, permanent; > > > > (ii) has one or more identified impairments to which a psychosocial disability is attributable and that are, or are likely to be, permanent; social interaction; > > > > (iii) is a child who has developmental delay; and > > (b) the CEO is satisfied that provision of early intervention supports for the person is likely to benefit the person by reducing the person's future needs for supports in relation to disability; and > > (c) the CEO is satisfied that provision of early intervention supports for the person is likely to benefit the person by: > > > (i) mitigating or alleviating the impact of the person's impairment upon the functional capacity of the person to undertake communication, social interaction, learning, mobility, self-care or self-management; or; > > > > (ii) preventing the deterioration of such functional capacity; or > > > > (iii) improving such functional capacity; or > > > > (iv) strengthening the sustainability of informal supports available to the person, including through building the capacity of the person's carer.
Justice or injustice is not found within a policy. It is found by looking at the overall circumstances of an individual's case with the principal focus bring on the purpose and context of the statutory power, not the executive policy framed to guide it ...
I work from home, full time, 38 hours, OT business, bookkeeping, cannot work from an office, previously office manager, work from home since 3 years. I get up at around 8am, shower and get dressed, have brekkie which my husband and prepare for the day. Log in for work around 9am, lunch depending on needs, can make an own salad sandwich, heating up food, but not low or high reach. I have a sit and stand desk and work until around 5pm unless something urgent. May then go to shops with daughter with Emely a couple of times a week. I usually shower at night unless wash hair than in morning, my husband prepares dinner, then we watch tv but I cannot sit for long so we usually watch from sit-up in bed. Go so sleep around 10.30pm.
Subsection 24(1)(a) - a disability attributable to an impairment
(a) Dr Michael Bryant, Neurosurgeon, confirmed the diagnosis of a sizable disc protrusion in the Applicant's lumbar spine, which needed to be operated on in 2013. Dr Bryant treated the lumbar spinal condition of the Applicant in 2013 when the Applicant presented with a disc protrusion compressing her left-sided S1 nerve. Dr Bryant said in a letter dated 19 June 2023 that the Applicant had a 'sizable disc protrusion and we were able to retrieve a lot of the disc material but not all of it and she has been left with significant ongoing disablement as a result'.[18] It became apparent after the 2013-surgery that the nerve had sustained some internal damage and incomplete resolution of her symptoms eventuated. The Applicant has been left with significant post nerve injury pain that has caused a 'permanent incapacity'. Dr Bryant is of the opinion that 'all available treatment strategies have now been undertaken'. In his written answers to questions dated 13 February 2024, Dr Bryant said the Applicant has 'widespread degenerative changes throughout the cervical spine'.[19] Dr Bryant said the Applicant's condition should be considered as 'prognostically poor'.[20] > > (b) Dr Hamish Alexander, Neurosurgeon, confirmed the Applicant's 'cervical and lumbar spinal problems'. Dr Alexander undertook a C7-T1 anterior cervical discectomy and fusion procedure in 2020. It appeared that the Applicant was experiencing widespread degenerative changes throughout the cervical spine. In his letter of 26 March 2021, Dr Alexander said the cervical and spinal problems of the Applicant cause 'persistent leg and arm pain' for which there is 'no surgical solution' and it would have to be managed as a 'chronic problem'.[21] The CT Scan of Cervical Spine Report and Ultrasound of Right Hip Report by Dr Winston Erng on 25 April 2025 notes 'multilevel intervertebral disc narrowing, worse at the lower cervical spine'.[22] > > (c) Dr Renu Rayani, General Practitioner, confirms a diagnosis of a 'back disability with multiple ruptures and crushed nerves' and fibromyalgia. He says the Applicant has been diagnosed with fibromyalgia for 'several years' and this causes restricted movements of her upper limbs.[23] He adds that despite undergoing neck fusion surgery, she continues to have neck pains and lower back pains. She also has 'numbness of her fingers'. > > (d) Dr Sherry Girgis in his letter of 2 May 2024 says that the Applicant describes 'daily pain, with pain in both shoulders'.[24] > > (e) Occupational Therapist Natalie Tathem, in her report of 12 October 2022 describes the impairment of the Applicant as follows: > > Robyn's diagnosis and the related symptoms of Fibromyalgia resulting in Chronic pain greatly impact on Robyn's ability to complete her activities of daily living. Robyn also has multiple adhesions surrounding her Sciatic nerve which impact on the sensation in her legs and increase pain in lower back. Robyn has also had surgery to her neck to insert screws which has cause nerve damage affecting her gross and fine motor ability in her hands.[25]
Although this assessment was done by telehealth and not by personal observations, I am satisfied that the description of impairments is consistent with the other expert evidence as well as evidence of the Applicant.
(f) Occupational Therapist Catherine Cummings, in her report of 25 March 2024, describes some of the symptoms experienced by the Applicant as weakness in the left hand, left foot can drag when walking, left leg gives way without warning, reduced walking tolerance, and reduced range of motion in the back.[26]
(a) Dr Bryant speaks of the 'significant ongoing disablement' of the Applicant due to disc material that had not been able to be cleared. He says the Applicant now has a 'permanent incapacity' as a result of her condition and that her spine shows a 'propensity for injury and a weakness in her discs'. Finally, he opines that 'her condition should not be considered maximally treated and stable and stationary'.[30] > > (b) Dr Alexander says the Applicant has 'persistent radicular leg and arm pain for which there is no ongoing solution'.[31] > > (c) Dr Girgis says the fibromyalgia is not related to the spinal problems of the Applicant.[32] The fibromyalgia is therefore a separate disability. > > (d) The Applicant gave evidence about the nature of the impairments she experiences, how the impacts thereof on her daily functioning have worsened since her surgery in 2013, and how she has been told that there are no surgical solutions left other than pain management and pain medication.[33] The Agency accepts the evidence of the Applicant.
Sub-Section 24(1)(c) - substantially reduced functional capacity
For present purposes I note that WHODAS 2.0 assesses the "degree of difficulty" a person experiences in doing specified activities of daily living in terms of "increased effort", experience of "discomfort or pain", "slowness" and "changes in the way the person does the activity" (the difficulty factors) according to a five-point scale which is "none" ("1"), "mild"("2"), "moderate"("3"), "severe" ("4") and "Extreme or cannot do" ("5") (the difficulty ratings). For present purposes I note that "moderate" refers to an approximate 25-50% reduced functional capacity to perform and activity and "severe" refers to an approximate greater than 50% reduced functional capacity to perform the activity. In my opinion this analytical framework is helpful in giving meaning to the concept of substantially reduced function. In my view, "substantial" should be understood as connoting a degree of difficulty in performing a task that is more than "moderate", and "reduced" should be understood as being in one of the four ways specified by the difficulty factors.
(a) her movements are constrained by relentless pain; > > (b) she cannot bend or reach to perform household duties or personal care; > > (c) the functions she performs are severely constrained by the impairments; > > (d) the help and assistance she requires exceed what is reasonable for her husband to provide; > > (e) she should not be prejudiced by a withholding of services by the Agency because of her being strong-willed, the adjustments she has made to mitigate the impact of the impairments, and her doing her best to cope on her own and with the assistance of her husband with the challenges brought about by the impairments; and > > (f) the supports she needs are low-cost and relatively minor, but those would assist her to improve her quality of life and mitigate the impacts of the impairments on her daily living.
The first task: Whether the Applicant can rely on the deeming effect of rule 5.8 of the Access Rules to establish that she has a substantially reduced functional capacity
An impairment results in substantially reduced functional capacity of a person to undertake one or more of the relevant activities - communication, social interaction, learning, mobility, self-care, self-management (see paragraph 5.1(c)) - if its result is that:
(d) the person is unable to participate effectively or completely in the activity, or to perform tasks or actions required to undertake or participate effectively or completely in the activity, without assistive technology, equipment (other than commonly used items such as glasses) or home modifications; or
(e) the person usually requires assistance (including physical assistance, guidance, supervision or prompting) from other people to participate in the activity or to perform tasks or actions required to undertake or participate in the activity; or
(f) the person is unable to participate in the activity or to perform tasks or actions required to undertake or participate in the activity, even with assistive technology, equipment, home modifications or assistance from another person.
(i) What are the prospective applicant's permanent impairments (as found in the s24(1)(a) and (b) enquiries)? > > (ii) What is the bundle of tasks and actions that falls within the scope of the life activity area? > > (iii) In the prospective participant's intrinsic state, do the impairments result in a reduction in their functional capacity to undertake any of these tasks and actions? > > (iv) If the answer to (iii) is "yes" go to Rule 5.8 and ask:
(a) Is the prospective participant only able to undertake any of these tasks and actions (in the sense of completing them, or in a way that achieves their intended result) with assistive technology, equipment or home modifications? or
(b) b. is the prospective participant only able to undertake these tasks and actions with assistance? or
(c) is the prospective participant unable to undertake these tasks and actions even with assistive technology, equipment, home modifications or assistance from another person?
(v) If the answers to anyone or more of the parts of question (iv) is "yes", what is the extent to which this is the case considering each of the tasks and actions that falls within the life activity area?
(vi) Do the prospective participant's impairments otherwise than in the circumstances specified in the Rule result in them having substantially reduced functional capacity to carry out the tasks and actions within the scope of the activity area?
(a) The prospective participant's impairments, and
(b) The scope of the tasks and actions that fall within the activity area, and
(c) The number of tasks and actions within the activity area in relation to which the prospective participant in their intrinsic state experiences reduced functional capacity, and
(d) The degree of reduction in functional capacity the prospective participant experiences with respect to each task or action. The WHODAS2.0 difficulty factors and ratings are a helpful aid with respect to this issue, but are not determinative of the ultimate result, and
(e) The overall impact of the prospective participant's reduced functional capacity in relation to those tasks and actions in the life activity area taken as a whole.
(a) generally accessible; > > (b) can be used without the need for complex or specialised customisation or installation; > > (c) relatively simple to use; and > > (d) relatively inexpensive.
(a) only able to undertake any of these tasks and actions (in the sense of completing them, or in a way that achieves their intended result) with assistive technology, equipment or home modifications? or > > (b) is the prospective participant only able to undertake these tasks and actions with assistance? or > > (c) is the prospective participant unable to undertake these tasks and actions even with assistive technology, equipment, home modifications or assistance from another person?
(a) In respect of social interaction, the evidence of the Applicant is that she can interact unassisted with persons in her household, her family, her friends, and in society; she engages by way of technology and personal interaction with persons in her household and in society; she does not require assistance to participate in social interaction and communication; she is employed on a full-time basis and engages with clients via telephone and email from her home; she freely communicates with other persons; she actively participated in the compiling of the application to the Agency and reports filed for purposes of this proceeding; and she expressed herself properly and coherently during the hearing. The support that the Applicant may require to be transported from time to time to attend an appointment or to do shopping, is not captured by this deeming provision. > > (b) In respect of mobility the evidence of the Applicant is that she moves within the house unassisted; she walks with a slight limp but she does not use a walking stick or any other assistance when moving; her left foot sometimes goes limp but that does not occur constantly; she self-showers and self-toilets; she can walk up to 500m in the garden or shopping centre before resting; she can self-drive her car for up to 30 minutes; she can take herself to medical appointments and do limited shopping; she accompanies her husband when he does shopping; she can park her car and attend to her business; she can swim and help herself into and out of the pool with limited assistance by leaning on a chair next to the pool;[42] and she has developed techniques to assist her when she walks, showers, goes to the toilet, gets out of bed, and in general day-to-day functioning. The observations made by Ms Cummings confirm that the Applicant does not 'usually requires assistance' with the general tasks of mobility. Although Ms Cummings made recommendations for home alterations, for example at the shower and pool, the Applicant indicated that she did not require those modifications at this stage. The assistance required by the Applicant is not captured by this deeming provision. > > (c) In respect of self-care the evidence of the Applicant is that she generally copes with self-care unassisted except for cutting her toenails and washing her back. She can put on her pants, but her husband also sometimes helps her. She generally puts on her own shoes unassisted. The Applicant explained, and some of the activities were observed by Ms Cummings, that she can dress herself, get out of bed, shower and wash her hair; dry herself; do make up and comb her hair; make a sandwich and help with home chores provided she does not have to bend or reach; enter and exit her car unassisted; and walk unassisted. Ms Cummings recommended some basic equipment and home modification options, but the Applicant indicated in oral evidence that she had either adjusted her practices, or she does not otherwise need the specific assistance at this stage. Even if she were to adopt some of those recommendations of Ms Cummings, such as the use of a front loader washing machine, a long handled reacher, a long handled sponge, a long handled shoehorn, a dressing stick, a no-bend pet bowl, a foldable trolley, or pool rails,[43] I find that they constitute 'commonly used items' for the purpose of rule 5.8(a) of the Access Rules. The assistance required by the Applicant is not captured by this deeming provision.
The second task: Does the Applicant have a 'substantially' reduced functional capacity in respect of the activities in subsection 24(1)(c) of the NDIS Act?
Further, and in respect of the operation of subsection 24(1)(c) of the NDIS Act itself, Mortimer J also held in Mulligan:[45]
Socialising - how you make and keep friends or interact with the community... .We also look at your behaviour, and how you cope with feelings and emotions in social situations.
Social interaction as referred to in 24(1)(c)(ii) doesn't, in our view, mean social interaction with the whole of the community. It means social interaction with elements of the community, sections of the community.
Mobility, or moving around - how easily you move around your home and community, and how you get in and out of a bed or a chair. We consider how you get out and about and use your arms or legs.
... unable to access social activities and outings I previously enjoyed such as Horse Riding, tennis, Squash, Ten Pin Bowling, walks on the beach and travelling > > Due to cinema seating, I can no longer go to the movies in a normal theatre as a social outing. The seat causes to much discomfort to my back, more difficulty walking after and increased pain. > > Due to my physical limitations, I am not able to complete heavy work domestic tasks. I am not able to complete laundry tasks or gardening that require active bending or lifting. Other tasks I cannot complete that involve lifting, reaching, and grasping are vacuuming, mopping, taking bins to the sidewalk and daily household cleaning. > > My ability to go for walks and utilise stairs is severely hampered due to my balance issues and instability with walking, where I favour my right leg. This has now caused me to have tendonitis in my hips and heels. My walking is limited by discomfort, where I can only walk short distances at a maximum of 200 metres in the community and at the shops, where I will then need to sit down.[56] > > When I am experiencing extreme discomfort, my ability to sustain a seated position is limited 30 minutes at home. On low set furniture I require help to get up out of chairs and couches to stand. I am limited to remain seated in a car for no more than half an hour whilst driving. When in the passenger seat, my ability to remain seated is limited to 45 minutes, but I will have to adjust my posture regularly if travelling for this duration of time. > > My risk of falling within the community has significantly increased as I am not able to lift and clear my left leg properly from the ground when I am walking. I have found myself on more than five occasions where I have had to use nearby benches or rails to stop myself from falling. This has now made me feel hesitant to access the community.
Ms Tomlinson may benefit from attending a multidisciplinary pain management program to improve her function in day-to-day activities and wholistic pain management, she can receive referral to a pain management program through her GP or a pain specialist.[58]
Self-care - personal care, hygiene, grooming, eating and drinking, and health. We consider how you get dressed, shower or bathe, eat or go to the toilet.
Section 25 of the NDIS Act: The Early Intervention Requirements
be given to the Explanatory Memorandum_,_ National Disability Insurance Scheme Bill 2012 (Cth) ('Bill') which enacted the Act and states:
Clause 25 [of the Bill] sets out the early intervention requirements a person must satisfy, as an alternative to satisfying the disability requirements, in order to become a participant in the NDIS launch. This clause recognises that a person may need support to help minimise the impact of a disability from its earliest appearance, and that the provision of support may improve the person's functioning or prevent the progression of their disability over their lifetime.[65]
(a) the Applicant is now 63-years-old and there is inadequate evidence that the provision of supports is likely to reduce her future needs for supports in relation to her disability; > > (b) it appears from the evidence that the needs for supports of the Applicant are likely to increase as the Applicant ages; > > (c) the Applicant has been living with the disability for more than a decade and she had made adjustments to her daily living, which means the supports sought by the Applicant at this stage cannot be regarded as 'early intervention'; > > (d) the impairments of the Applicant are unlikely to be mitigated by intervention;[66] and > > (e) the future needs of the Applicant are unlikely to be reduced by intervention at this stage.
I certify that the preceding 135 (one hundred and thirt-five) paragraphs are a true copy of the reasons for the decision herein of Senior Member De Villiers
.................[SGD].....................................................
[3] Subsection 24(1)(b) of the NDIS Act.
[4] Subsection 24(1)(a) of the NDIS Act.
[6] HB pp 27-32; section 103 of the NDIS Act.
[8] Subsection 21(1)(a) of the NDIS Act.
[9] Subsection 21(1)(b) of the NDIS Act.
[10] G v Minister for Home Affairs [2019] FCAFC 79, [18].
[11] [1979] 24 ALR 577, [590].
[12] [2018] FCA 1229, [171].
[13] National Disability Insurance Agency v Davis [2022] FCA 1002, [42].
[14] Mulligan v National Disability Insurance Agency [2015] FCA 544; (2015) 233 FCR 201 ('Mulligan'), [55] cited in Re Schwass and National Disability Insurance Agency [2019] AATA 28, [29]; National Disability Insurance Agency v Davis [2022] FCA 1002, [61].
[27] Beezley v Repatriation Commission [2015] FCAFC 165; (2015) 150 ALD 11, [68]; HPSC and National Disability Insurance Agency [2021] AATA 727, [85]: 'In any case before a merits review tribunal (or a first instance decision-maker), a decision can only be made on the basis of relevant and probative material. The material must be probative of the matters for which the statute provides: see Minister for Immigration and Ethnic Affairs v Pochi [1980] FCA 85; (1980) 44 FLR 41, Deane J. If an applicant does not provide evidence and information sufficient to meet the statutory requirements, an applicant is unlikely to have the statutory power exercised in her or his favour. And unless and until a decision-maker is satisfied, or persuaded, that the requirements are met, then no occasion to exercise the power in favour of an applicant arises. In that sense, as a practical matter, it is not incorrect to say that a person 'must satisfy' the requirements in the statute. To say that is not to impose an onus of proof on an applicant, but rather to recognise the operation of the legislative scheme under which the person seeks a benefit or interest: see generally, McDonald v Director-General of Social Security (1984) 1 FCR 354, 356-8 (per Woodward J), 366 (per Northrop J), 369 (per Jenkinson J); Ward v Western Australia [1996] FCA 1452; (1996) 69 FCR 208, 215-8; Evans v Secretary, Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs [2012] FCAFC 81; (2012) 289 ALR 237, [18] and the cases there cited.'
[28] National Disability Insurance Agency v Davis [2022] FCA 1002, [131]; Kelly v National Disability Insurance Agency [2024] FCA 1462, [22].
[29] The written submissions the Agency questioned whether the permanency condition had been met, but in oral submissions during the hearing the Agency accepted that permanency had been established.
[33] The Applicant is currently on the following pain medication: Gabapentin twice per day; and Panadol osteo 665mg twice a day: HB p 150. The Applicant says Dr Richard Pendleton only recommended medication and no other pain management course or treatment.
[34] Burrows and CEO, National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIS) [2025] ARTA 607 ('Burrows'), [60].
[38] Foster and National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIS) [2025] ARTA 718 ('Foster'), [104]-[108].
[39] [2021] AATA 3523 ('Rooney').
[42] The Applicant said in oral evidence that she regularly swims in the summer and that she can get in and out of the pool by leaning on a chair that has been placed next to the pool. Sometimes her husband or daughter would stabilise the chair. HB p 154.
[49] [2020] AATA 4025 ('Madelaine').
[51] [2017] AATA 186, [18].
[56] I note in oral evidence the Applicant says she can walk up to 500m before resting for about 30 minutes, before she can again walk.
[61] The Applicant says she attends a podiatrist every 6-8 weeks.
[65] Explanatory Memorandum, National Disability Insurance Scheme Bill 2012 (Cth) 13.
[66] The Applicant said during oral evidence that she was not 'asking much', just some housekeeping assistance and funding to take pressure off husband, funds to buy a better back-support chair, and a 'few little things she needs'.
Beezley v Repatriation Commission [2015] FCAFC 165; (2015) 150 ALD 11
Burrows and CEO, National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIS) [2025] ARTA 607
Evans v Secretary, Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs [2012] FCAFC 81; (2012) 289 ALR 237
Foster and National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIS) [2025] ARTA 718
G v Minister for Home Affairs [2019] FCAFC 79
G v Minister for Immigration and Border Protection [2018] FCA 1229
Garcia Albiol v National Disability Insurance Agency [2024] AATA 496
HPSC and National Disability Insurance Agency [2021] AATA 727
Kilgallin v National Disability Insurance Agency [2017] AATA 186
Madelaine v National Disability Insurance Agency [2020] AATA 4025
Minister for Immigration and Ethnic Affairs v Pochi [1980] FCA 85; (1980) 44 FLR 41
Mulligan v National Disability Insurance Agency [2015] FCA 544; (2015) 233 FCR 201
National Disability Insurance Agency v Foster [2023] FCAFC 11
National Disability Insurance Agency v Davis [2022] FCA 1002
Rooney and National Disability Insurance Agency [2021] AATA 3523
Ward v Western Australia [1996] FCA 1452; (1996) 69 FCR 208
(1984) 1 FCR 354
(1980) 44 FLR 41
(2015) 233 FCR 201
(1996) 69 FCR 208
(2012) 289 ALR 237