© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2001] VSCA 48
Court of Appeal (Vic)
2001-04-26
CHARLES, CALLAWAY and BUCHANAN, JJ.A.
Original judgment source is linked above.
[ 2001] VSCA 48
Insurance - Fraudulent claim - Underlying loss covered by policy - Insurer entitled to refuse payment.
Insurance Contracts Act 1984 (Cth.) ss.54, .
G.R.E. Insurance Ltd. v. Ormsby (1983) 29 S.A.S.R. 498, not followed.
would suffice and I would leave open for some future occasion a lie that was not told for the purpose of inducing the insurer to meet the claim but was nevertheless material to the question whether, or perhaps when, a payment or other benefit under the policy would be made or conferred. It might be material in the mind of the insurer but not of the insured or it might seriously (and not just in some minor respect) affect the investigation.
"(1) Where a claim under a contract of insurance, or a claim made under this Act against an insurer by a person who is not the insured under a contract of insurance, is made fraudulently, the insurer may not avoid the contract but may refuse payment of the claim. (2) In any proceedings in relation to such a claim, the court may, if only a minimal or insignificant part of the claim is made fraudulently and non-payment of the remainder of the claim would be harsh and unfair, order the insurer to pay, in relation to the claim, such amount (if any) as is just and equitable in the circumstances. (3) In exercising the power conferred by subsection (2), the court shall have regard to the need to deter fraudulent conduct in relation to insurance but may also have regard to any other relevant matter."
"(1) Subject to this section, where the effect of a contract of insurance would, but for this section, be that the insurer may refuse to pay a claim, either in whole or in part, by reason of some act of the insured or of some other person, being an act that occurred after the contract was entered into but not being an act in respect of which subsection (2) applies, the insurer may not refuse to pay the claim by reason only of that act but the insurer's liability in respect of the claim is reduced by the amount that fairly represents the extent to which the insurer's interests were prejudiced as a result of that act."[9]
"(A) Having regard to his findings that the insured had - (a) given a completely false account of the circumstances of loss when submitting her claim; and (b) done so with the purpose of obtaining insurance benefits when she (wrongly) believed that she had, in the circumstances, no entitlements to such benefits - did the learned Magistrate err in holding the claim was not a claim 'made fraudulently' within the meaning of Section 56(1) of the Insurance Contracts Act? (B) Did the learned Magistrate err in failing to apply the provisions of Section 56 of the said Act to the circumstances of this case so as to entitle the insurer to refuse payment of the claim?"
"The law is, that a person who has made such a fraudulent claim could not be permitted to recover at all. The contract of insurance is one of perfect good faith on both sides, and it is most important that such good faith should be maintained ... It would be most dangerous to permit parties to practise such frauds, and then, notwithstanding their falsehood and fraud, to recover the real value of the goods consumed."[13]
Again, avoidance ab initio entitled an insurer to deny a prior claim untainted by fraud.[14] It was recognized that the law could result in an insured being denied indemnity to which he would have been entitled in the absence of fraud and the insurer thus escaping payment of a valid claim. As Goddard, J. said of a fraudulently exaggerated claim in London Assurance v. Clare[15]:
"[The insurers] repudiated the contract and they did not pay thereby getting, of course, a great advantage because they did not have to pay what they would have had to pay if the claim had not been fraudulent. They pay nothing ..."
"Now, insurance is a contract of the utmost good faith, and it is of the gravest importance to commerce that that position should be observed."[17]
"It is absolutely necessary that there should be the purest good faith between the parties and the most accurate representation of all material particulars."[18]
Their Lordships were speaking of a proponent's duty of disclosure to an insurer contemplating issuing a policy of insurance, but the requirement of the utmost good faith applies equally to events after as well as before the conclusion of the contract of insurance, and the justification for the requirement is the same in both cases.
"[T]he rule that remedial provisions are to be beneficially construed so as to provide the most complete remedy of the situation with which they are intended to deal must, as has been said, be restrained within the confines of 'the actual language employed' and what is 'fairly open' on the words used."
In my view the appellant's construction is not fairly open on the words found in s.56.
"If the learned magistrate ought to have found that the claim was a claim made fraudulently within the meaning of s.56(1) of the Insurance Contracts Act, should the magistrate have gone on to apply the provisions of s.54 of the Act?"
[2] Section 56(1) will also be of practical utility to an insurer where there might otherwise have been doubt or a dispute as to the validity of the claim.
[5] [1974] UKHL 4; [1975] A.C. 819 at 839.
[6] See Peters v. R. [1998] HCA 7; (1998) 192 C.L.R. 493.
[7] Compare some of the cases cited in GRE Insurance Ltd. v. Ormsby (1982) 29 S.A.S.R. 498. I agree with Buchanan, J.A. that the latter does not represent the law now in force.
[8] [2001] UKHL 1; [2001] 2 W.L.R. 170. The case has to be read mindful of the fact it concerned marine insurance and of the wide language of s.13 of the Insurance Contracts Act 1984. As to the question, raised in argument in the present case, whether a fresh claim may be made in respect of the same casualty after a fraudulent claim is rejected, see and compare Lord Hobhouse of Woodborough's speech at [62].
[9] No mention was made of s.12, which provides that the effect of the Part in which s.13 is found is not limited in any way by the subsequent provisions of the Act. In Entwells Pty. Ltd. v. National and General Insurance Co. Ltd. (1991) 6 A.N.Z. Insurance Cases 61-059 Ipp, J. held that s.54 did not limit or restrict the effect of s.13, for it merely provided the extent of the remedy for the duty imposed by s.13. It is not necessary to decide the question for the purpose of resolving this appeal.
[10] (1885) 1 T.L.R. 460, at 461.
[11] Britton v. The Royal Insurance Co. [1865] EngR 66; (1866) 4 F.& F. 905 at 909 per Willes, J.; Goulstone v. Royal Insurance Co. [1858] EngR 38; (1858) 1 F. & F. 276 at 279 per Pollock, C.B. In Black King Shipping Corporation and Wayang (Panama) S.A. v. Massie [1985] 1 Ll.Rep. 437 Hirst, J. rejected an argument that avoidance for breach of the duty of utmost good faith was not avoidance ab initio, but rather avoidance as far as the loss in relation to which the breach was committed. This "half-way house" position was characterized as "a pure expedient to avoid the hardship caused by avoidance ab initio where there were prior valid claims." But see Manifest Shipping Co. Ltd. v. Uni-Polaris Shipping Co. Ltd. [2001] UKHL 1; [2001] 2 W.L.R. 170 at [71] per Lord Hobhouse of Woodborough.
[13] See also Chapman v. Pole (1870) 22 L.T. 306; Grenier v. Monarch Fire and Life Assurance Co. (1859) 3 L.C.J. 100; Seghetti v. Queen Insurance Co. (1866) 10 L.C.J. 243; Haase v. Evans (1934) 48 Ll.L.Rep.131; Galloway v. Guardian Royal Exchange (UK) Ltd [1999] Lloyd's Rep. I.R. 209.
[14] Moraitis v. Harvey Trinder (Qld) Pty. Ltd. [1969] Qd.R. 226.
[17] Greenhill v. Federal Insurance Co.Ltd. [1927] 1 K.B. 65 at 76.
[18] Everett v. Desborough [1829] EngR 490; (1829) 5 Bing 503 at 518.
[19] [1984] HCA 55; (1984) 165 C.L.R. 622 at 638.
[20] In a claim for the cost of fire damaged fixtures and stock in trade the plaintiff deliberately overstated the value of the damaged property.
[21] [1974] UKHL 4; [1975] A.C. 819 at 839.
[23] In Vermeulen v. S.I.M.U. United Insurance Association (1987) 4 ANZ Insurance Cases 60-812 at 74,987 Hardie Boys, J. said that he had "considerable difficulty with the decision in the Ormsby case ..." In New Zealand Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Forbes (1988) 5 ANZ Insurance Cases 60-871at 75,455 it was suggested that Ormsby was an exceptional case decided on its own facts. Cf. Clarke, The Law of Insurance Contracts, 3rd ed. at p.750.
[24] See, for example, Berkshire Mutual Insurance Co. v. Moffett [1967] USCA5 493; (1967) 378 F2d 1007; Security Insurance Company of New Haven v. Smith (1931) 35 S.W.2d 581.
[25] Longobardi v. Chubb Insurance Co. (1990) 582 A2d 1257 at 1263. See also Chaachou v. American Central Insurance Co. [1957] USCA5 112; (1957) 241 F2d 889; St. Paul Mercury Insurance Co. v. Salovich (1985) 705 P2d 812.
[26] It may be observed that at common law an insurer could avoid a policy of insurance if a misrepresentation made prior to its inception was either fraudulent or material. See Babatsikos v. Car Owners' Mutual Insurance Co. Ltd. [1970] V.R. 297 at 307 per Pape, J. See also The Bedouin [1894] P.1 at 12 per Lord Esher, M.R. A different regime applies under the Act. See s.28.
[27] The only example given by the explanatory memorandum to the Insurance Contracts Bill was: "[I]t may be unfair for an insured to have the whole of the legitimate claim for the loss of contents worth $100,000 disallowed because he fraudulently claimed for the loss of a non-existent watch worth $50."
[28] There is power to do so under Rule 64.22(1). See also s.10(3) of the Supreme Court Act.
To
Australian Associated Motor Insurers Ltd [2001] VSCA 48