austlii:cth/ARTA/2026/173
General information, not legal advice.
ARTA
2026-02-12
Original judgment source is linked above.
(a) the Agency is the primary funding agency for disability supports of the nature of the disputed support; > > (b) the housing authority only provides housing, but it does not provide additional improvements such as the disputed support; > > (c) the brother of the Applicant has had his request for funding of an air conditioner approved by the Agency based on similar facts, expert reports, and under the same statutory framework; > > (d) the medical evidence is consistent, namely that for the improved regulating of the Applicant's body temperature to reach her goals, it is reasonable and necessary for the disputed support to be funded; > > (e) the Agency provides in its policy under the item MHM - Airconditioning [39] specific budgetary allowance under the heading for 'all costs associated with the supply, installation and labour involved in the provision of approved air conditioning unit/s in a participant's home.'
(a) The disputed support is not reasonable and necessary because it is not an NDIS support under s 10 and therefore does not satisfy s 34(1)(f). > > (b) The disputed support is a 'standard item' pursuant to rule 4(1) of the Transitional Rules as being an item not modified or adapted to address the functional impairments of the Applicant. > > (c) The housing authority, who leases the dwelling in which the Applicant and her family live, is primarily responsible for an item such as the disputed support. > > (d) The disputed support is caught by item 1(i) or (j) of Schedule 2 respectively as a day-to-day living cost falling within 'standard household appliances' or 'standard fixtures or fittings'. The disputed support has not been modified in any way, and it is not disability related. > > (e) The disputed support is 'reasonable adjustment' to make the dwelling accessible for the Applicant, and therefore the funding falls within the scope of the housing authority. Therefore, the disputed support is an NDIS support pursuant to item 19(e) of Schedule 2. > > (f) The Agency is not responsible to supplement shortcomings that may arise in funding by other agencies. > > (g) The Applicant may apply directly to the CEO of the Agency under ss 10(6)(c) and 10(7) for a replacement support determination.
INTERACTION BETWEEN SCHEDULE 1 AND SCHEDULE 2 TO THE TRANSITIONAL RULES
(a) For a support to be covered by Schedule 2, the support sought must be one of those supports listed in Schedule 2, or the support sought must be clearly covered by the scope of a support that is not an NDIS support. This approach flows from the use of the introductory words - 'The following ...' - in respect of each of the categories of supports in Column 2 of Schedule 2. The Tribunal must be slow to insert or imply a support into the list of not NDIS supports, or expand upon the listed supports to thereby imply additional excluded supports. > > (b) For a support to be covered by Schedule 1, the support sought must either be one of those supports listed in Schedule 1, or the support sought must fall within the category of supports listed in Column 1 of Schedule 1. This approach flows from the use of the words - 'This includes the following ...' - in respect of each of the categories of supports in Schedule 1.
[25] However, what is significant when it comes to the interpretation of s 36 in the context of the Act as a whole is to bear in mind that the six criteria are concerned with the extent to which it may be appropriate for a reasonable and necessary support to be funded from the NDIS. They are not concerned with defining the scope of the concept 'reasonable and necessary support. > > ... > > [29] Therefore, although it is convenient shorthand to refer to the statutory task as being whether a support is 'reasonable and necessary', that terminology is deficient in exposing the precise nature of the deliberative task that is required to be undertaken. Rather, the task of the CEO is to consider as to each support that might be included in the participant's plan: (a) whether it is a reasonable and necessary support; and (b) whether the CEO is affirmatively satisfied as to each of the six criteria in s 34(1) in respect of the support.
Looked at as a whole, the system she seeks is not identical to one which would be installed by a person without her impairments. It is different because it contains elements which address her impairments and would be not required by a sighted person, in particular the customised gate operator, sensor beam and battery pack. In our view, it is therefore not 'standard home security' or a 'standard household item'. [148]
(a) The reference to a home modifications budget in the email of 13 February 2025 is consistent with my categorisation of the disputed support as being a home improvement. I do not see a difference in substance between modification and improvement in this context. > > (b) As far as the apparent inconsistency of decision-making is concerned, I do not have the benefit of the reasoning of the earlier decision-maker in respect of the brother of the Applicant available to me. I note the decision was made administratively without a hearing. I am, however, required to apply the relevant legislative provisions as I understand it to be without being bound to follow an administrative decision. > > (a) The policy documents of the Agency entitled Assistive Technology, Home Modifications and Consumables Code Guide cannot be interpreted to achieve an outcome that amends or contradicts the statutory requirements under which the approval is sought. I interpret the reference to air-conditioning in this policy document to mean if an air conditioner had been approved and included as part of a home modification [38], then the budget line applies. > > (b) I find that the disputed support is not an NDIS support pursuant to s 34(1)(f) since it is excluded by Schedule 2, item 1(e).
I certify that the preceding 71 (seventy-one) paragraphs are a true copy of the reasons for the decision herein of Senior Member De Villiers
..............................[SGD].................................
[11] McGarrigle v National Disability Insurance Agency [2017] FCA 308 ('McGarrigle').
[13] National Disability Insurance Agency v WRMF [2020] FCAFC 79 ('WRMF').
[14] Minister for Home Affairs v G [2019] FCAFC 79, [18].
[15] [1979] AATA 179 (1979); 2 ALD 634.
[18] Re Drake and Minister for Immigration and Ethnic Affairs (No 2) (1979) 2 ALD 634, [635]. Under rule 7 of the Miscellaneous Transitional Rules, a decision-maker must also be satisfied the support is most appropriately funded or provided through the NDIS, and not more appropriately funded or provided through other general systems of service delivery or support services.
[30] Minister for Immigration and Citizenship v Li [2013] HCA 18; (2013) 249 CLR 332, [143].
[31] See for example Hill and National Disability Insurance Agency [2023] AATA 3626, [85] - [86].
ATIF and National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIS) [2025] ARTA 821
Butler and National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIS) [2025] ARTA 1579 (28 August 2025)
FSWN and National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIS) [2025] ARTA 114 (20 February 2025)
G v Minister for Immigration and Border Protection [2018] FCA 1229
Hyde; Chief Executive Officer, National Disability Insurance Agency and (Guidance and Appeals Panel) [2025] ARTA 2597 (5 December 2025)
McGarrigle v National Disability Insurance Agency [2017] FCA 308
Minister for Immigration and Citizenship v Li [2013] HCA 18; (2013) 249 CLR 332
National Disability Insurance Agency v WRMF [2020] FCAFC 79
Public Trustee of South Australia (as litigation representative for Isherwood) v National Disability Insurance Agency (No 2) [2023] FCA 852
WVGM and Chief Executive Officer of the National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIS) [2025] ARTA 47
XYZ v Commonwealth [2006] HCA25; [2006] HCA 25; (2006) 227 CLR 532
YCTK and Chief Executive Officer, National Disability Insurance Agency [2025] ARTA 536
(2006) 227 CLR 532
(2013) 249 CLR 332