austlii:nsw/NSWPICPD/2026/9
General information, not legal advice.
NSWPICPD
2026-03-05
Original judgment source is linked above.
DETERMINATION OF APPEAL AGAINST A DECISION OF THE COMMISSION CONSTITUTED BY A MEMBER
Taylor v John Thompson Racing [2026] NSWPICPD 9
WORKERS COMPENSATION - section 4(b)(ii) of the Workers Compensation Act 1987 - time within which claim for compensation must be made - section 261 of the Workplace Injury Management and Workers Compensation Act 1998 - exception to s 261(4) of the Workplace Injury Management and Workers Compensation Act 1998 - expert report does not indicate that employment was the main contributing factor in the aggravation of a disease condition
Taylor v John Thompson Racing [2025] NSWPIC 424
(a) the appellant failed to provide notice of injury within the period provided for in s 254 of the Workplace Injury Management and Workers Compensation Act 1998 (the 1998 Act);
(b) the appellant failed to submit a claim for compensation within the period provided for by s 261 of the 1998 Act, and
(c) the appellant did not sustain injury to the knees.
"There is no dispute the [appellant] first gave notice of her bilateral knee injury to the respondent on 2 October 2024, the same date she submitted the claim for compensation. That was 11 years, three months and nine days after the pleaded deemed date of injury (23 June 2013). Alternatively, it was six years, six months and 20 days after the date referred to during the hearing as the date she became aware of the employment connection. Even taking the most generous and liberal view, neither period could be found to have been 'as soon as possible after the injury happened' as is required by s 254 of the 1998 Act."[2]
"24. It was submitted for the [appellant] that she was ignorant of her rights regarding workers compensation until the consultation with her treating doctor on 12 March 2018. After that date she consulted a solicitor, BTC Lawyers (BTC), for advice. If 12 March 2018 is accepted as the date the [appellant's] ignorance of rights ended, as has been contended, a claim should have been made by no later than 11 September 2018, which was not done.
"19. Section 261 of the 1998 Act requires a claim for compensation to be made within six months after the date of injury, where that date can be when an injured worker first becomes aware of their work-related injury. The six-month limit can be extended to three years if the failure to make a claim 'was occasioned by ignorance, mistake, absence from the State or other reasonable cause'. The [appellant's] claim for compensation was submitted after even the extended three-year period.
"32. The history outlined by Dr Reiter refers to the [appellant's] work as a rider and trainer, which is relevant to her prior employment, but not that with the respondent. Dr Reiter apparently conflates the [appellant's] prior work as a track rider and trainer with her work with the respondent as a stable hand. There is no explanation as to how, if at all, the [appellant's] prior employment was taken into account by Dr Reiter when forming her opinion. It cannot be determined from that opinion whether the [appellant's] stated incapacity for work and requirement for right knee replacement surgery is a result of her duties as a stable hand with the respondent, her prior employment as a track rider and trainer, the underlying osteoarthritis condition, or some combination of those, and, if so, the extent of each.
"38. The medical evidence establishes the [appellant] has a knee condition that causes disability, the right more so than the left. The disability is apparently serious, according to Dr Reiter a total right knee replacement will be necessary, and it can be reasonably inferred from the various medical reports that the condition is permanent given it has been longstanding and there is no indication it will resolve. Although the knee condition was not specifically identified as the cause, Dr Reiter considered the [appellant] unfit for employment, the extent to which the knee condition is responsible for that incapacity is unclear.
"For the reasons already outlined above, Dr Reiter's findings lack sufficient precision, and I am unable to determine the extent to which, if any, the [appellant's] employment with the respondent contributed to her knee condition. There is no support for a work-related link from Dr Powell or the treating specialists."[7]
"The expert opinion provided by Dr Reiter suggests the [appellant's] work as a stable hand for the respondent is a relevant consideration for determining the cause of any worsening of an underlying osteoarthritis condition. It is not possible though, based on the specialist's report, to determine the extent of contribution from that employment. She did not adequately address the other factors relevant to the [appellant's] knee condition and provided no proper explanation for how the [appellant's] pre-existing condition was impacted by the various periods of work with different employers. I cannot determine whether the [appellant's] period of employment with the respondent would have been the main contributing factor in the circumstances and on the available evidence. In short, and on balance, the medical evidence does not support the [appellant's] claim that her employment with the respondent was the main cause of any worsening of her bilateral knee condition."[8]
(a) The Member erred in law in finding that the exception to s 261(4) of the 1998 Act did not apply (Ground 1).
(b) The Member erred in fact and law in not considering all the evidence in determining whether the appellant's employment with the respondent was the main contributing factor in the aggravation of her disease condition (Ground 2).
(c) The Member erred in fact and in law in finding that Dr Reiter's evidence was not specific and lacked precision in determining the extent that the appellant's work with the respondent contributed to her knee condition (Ground 3).
(d) The Member erred in law in finding that the appellant's employment with the respondent was not the main contributing factor to the aggravation of her bilateral knee condition (Ground 4).
GROUND 1 - THE MEMBER ERRED IN LAW IN FINDING THAT THE EXCEPTION TO S 261(4) OF THE 1998 ACT DID NOT APPLY
(a) the failure to do so was occasioned by ignorance, mistake, absence from the State or other reasonable cause, and
(b) the injury resulted in death or serious and permanent disablement.
"(4) The failure to make a claim within the period required by this section is not a bar to recovery of compensation if it is found that the failure was occasioned by ignorance, mistake, absence from the State or other reasonable cause, and either -
(a) the claim is made within 3 years after the injury or accident happened or, in the case of death, within 3 years after the date of death, or
(b) the claim is not made within those 3 years but the claim is in respect of an injury resulting in the death or serious and permanent disablement of a worker."
GROUND 2 - THE MEMBER ERRED IN FACT AND LAW IN NOT CONSIDERING ALL THE EVIDENCE IN DETERMINING WHETHER THE APPELLANT'S EMPLOYMENT WITH THE RESPONDENT WAS THE MAIN CONTRIBUTING FACTOR IN THE AGGRAVATION OF HER DISEASE CONDITION
"based on this evidence it is more likely than not, that the work that she performed for the Respondent was the main contributing factor to any aggravation of her knee condition, given that it was over a much longer period than the work she performed prior to working for the Respondent."
"The problem with my knee started when I was riding because I had to ride short and that meant keeping my knees up high."
"In regard to her right knee, she has severe right knee osteoarthritis and mild left knee osteoarthritis which has been contributed to by her employment given that her role involved a lot of bending, squatting and kneeling to oil the horses' feet." (Emphasis added in the submissions)
"7.35 There is an absence of medical opinion which establishes the changes shown in the radiological investigations in 2017 and 2022, compared with investigations performed in 2008, were caused, or contributed to, by the appellant's employment with the respondent.
7.36 Member Halstead addressed the appellant's allegation of a worsening of the condition in her knees after 2008 and was not satisfied on the evidence [that] her employment with the respondent was the main contributing factor to the alleged injury to her knees."
GROUND 3 - THE MEMBER ERRED IN FACT AND LAW IN FINDING THAT DR REITER'S EVIDENCE WAS NOT SPECIFIC AND LACKED PRECISION IN DETERMINING THE EXTENT THAT THE APPELLANT'S WORK WITH THE RESPONDENT CONTRIBUTED TO HER KNEE CONDITION
"7.45. That is, Dr Reiter was of the opinion the appellant's work duties as a trackwork rider (with her former employer) and stable hand had caused osteoarthritis in her knees. When addressing whether her employment as a stable hand (the relevant employment duties with the respondent) was causative of the osteoarthritis in her knees the doctor said they 'had been contributed to by her employment'. The opinion of Dr Reiter does not establish the [appellant's] employment with [the] respondent was the 'main contributing factor' to the alleged injury to her knees as required by s 4(b)(ii) of the 1987 Act."
GROUND 4 - THE MEMBER ERRED IN LAW IN FINDING THAT THE APPELLANT'S EMPLOYMENT WITH THE RESPONDENT WAS NOT THE MAIN CONTRIBUTING FACTOR TO THE AGGRAVATION OF HER BILATERAL KNEE CONDITION
[1] Taylor v John Thompson Racing [2025] NSWPIC 424 (reasons).
[10] State of New South Wales v Culhana [2025] NSWCA 157, [91].
[11] [2000] NSWCC 47, per Burke J.
[12] [2010] NSWWCCPD 22, [228], [236].
[13] Application to Resolve a Dispute (ARD), p 2.
[15] Worker's statement dated 18 August 2023, ARD, pp 42-47.
[16] [2020] NSWWCCPD 9 (AV v AW).
Taylor
John Thompson Racing [2026] NSWPICPD 9;