austlii:nsw/NSWPIC/2025/328
General information, not legal advice.
NSWPIC
2025-06-19
Original judgment source is linked above.
Strachan v Colourwise Nursery (NSW) Pty Ltd [2025] NSWPIC 328
WORKERS COMPENSATION - Workers Compensation Act 1987 (1987 Act); (1998 Act); knee injury in 2014 but no claim for compensation until 2021; section 261 of the 1998 Act - ; section 261(9) - register of injuries; ignorance - and Gregson v L & M Dimasi Pty Ltd; other reasonable cause - , , and ; serious and permanent disablement - ; incapacity; - award for weekly compensation and section 60 expenses.
(a) the application of s 261 of the 1998 Act, and
(b) the extent of any incapacity for work.
"261 Time within which claim for compensation must be made
(1) Compensation cannot be recovered unless a claim for the compensation has been made within 6 months after the injury or accident happened or, in the case of death, within 6 months after the date of death.
(3) For the purposes of this section, a person is considered to have made a claim for compensation when the person makes any claim for compensation in respect of the injury or death concerned, even if the person's claim did not relate to the particular compensation in question.
(4) The failure to make a claim within the period required by this section is not a bar to the recovery of compensation if it is found that the failure was occasioned by ignorance, mistake, absence from the State or other reasonable cause, and either -
(a) the claim is made within 3 years after the injury or accident happened or, in the case of death, within 3 years after the date of death, or
(b) the claim is not made within that 3 years but the claim is in respect of an injury resulting in the death or serious and permanent disablement of a worker.
(9) When particulars of any injury received by a worker are entered in a register of injuries kept by the employer under this Act, the making of that entry suffices for the purposes of this section as the making of a claim for compensation in respect of the injury."
PROCEDURE BEFORE THE PERSONAL INJURY COMMISSION
(a) Application to Resolve a Dispute and attached documents (ARD), and
(b) Reply.
"On this same day I phoned a lawyer and Workcover. However I did not obtain comprehensive legal advice or pursue workers compensation at this time because I was very worried about losing my job.
On the 3rd September 2015 I spoke with Malcolm and informed him that I was not pursuing work cover as it was too stressful and I would be paying out of my own pocket to have surgery on my right knee. As soon as I informed Malcolm of this, he told me that I could return to work."
"Until I had legal advice earlier this year. I only had a very basic understanding of workers was compensation. I did not know what my entitlements were or what my employer's obligations were regarding workers compensation. I did not know I may have been eligible for treatment such as physiotherapy and have my surgery in a private hospital without waiting 12 months or that I may have been eligible to be paid weekly workers compensation whilst I was off work and recovering some surgery, or that I had may have been eligible for post surgery. Rehabilitation at home help."
"I had previously injured my left shoulder at Colourwise in 2005. I had given notice of the injury and there were no difficulties in the claim being lodged. I had treatment and was off work a bit and then returned. The insurer EML paid my doctors, physio and when I was off work. It was all very straight forward."
"I felt pressured not to pursue a claim. I had seen Malcolm poorly treat other injured workers. I was financially dependent on my employment. I was single at the time and had a mortgage."
Location of accident on site: On concrete entry to despatch (near gravel)
Nature of injury - seriousness; required hospital etc
Nature of incident: FALL Was it a Near Miss? Yes/No (No is circled)
Object/equipment/substance that inflicted injury/damage:
From your investigation state clearly how the accident occurred:
I was carrying a tray of 12 tall mona lavenders to pack onto vellex racks and fell over the pallet that was in my path to the rack.
"On 3rd August 2015 Deborah Braithwaite came to work limping and using a walking stick. Malcolm Thompson and Cambell Turner met with Deborah to discuss the cause of the incident. Deborah explained that the injury was to her right knee and was sustained outside of work hours from general day to day activities. Deborah said she will need to get the knee operated on and asked for some time off work to have the procedure as well as some recovery time. Deborah has approx. 3 weeks sick leave owing and Colourwise are more than happy for her to use this as her recovery time."
"The mechanism of the injury was that on 1 December 2014, whilst carrying a tray of plants, Mrs Strachan fell heavily onto her knees, when she tripped over a pallet that was not supposed to be in her path.
She subsequently had investigations and management to deal with the intra-articular damage and the meniscal tears, ultimately requiring a partial knee replacement, performed by Dr Stenlng in 2018, on the right side. She has gone on to develop significant arthritis In her knees and is in pain, making it difficult for her to perform her activities of daily living, Including caring for herself.
Mrs Strachan is at a stage where her symptoms, clinical examination and investigations are all consistent with post traumatic arthritis related to her work injury. She needs to have a left total knee replacement as this Is her most symptomatic joint and once she has recovered, her unicompartmental replacement revised to a total knee replacement."
"With regard to her work capability, she would not be able to work in a nursery as a nursery hand as she did at the time of her accident. At most, she may be able to do 12-15 hours per week of very sedentary work in a position where she is able to stand or sit at will, not lift anything more than 5 kg in weight, not do a lot of standing, walking, going up and down stairs, squatting or kneeling. This could be light sales work or light cleaning work or similar work within the above parameters."
"Some of Deborah's ongoing incapacity is a direct result of the fall on 1st December 2014. In particular, her restricted mobility, difficulty with activities that involve bending as well as the cracking and swelling of the knee are a result of the fall. However, the majority of her symptoms are not related to the fall but are due to degenerative changes."
"In my opinion, any, symptoms that Ms Strachan has with her left knee are unrelated to the fall of 1st December 2014. Ms Strachan's left knee symptoms include pain around the medial side associated with standing and walking which is due to early medial compartment wear. These symptoms are unrelated to the fall of 1st December 2014."
Did the injury report constitute a claim for compensation?
(1) A register of injuries must be kept in some readily accessible place at every mine, quarry, construction site, factory, workshop, office or shop.
(2) A worker employed at any such mine, quarry, factory, workshop, office or shop, or any person acting on the worker's behalf, may enter in the register of injuries particulars of any injury received by the worker.
(3) The regulations may prescribe the form of a register of injuries and the particulars to be entered in the register.
(4) If particulars of an injury are duly entered in a register of injuries as soon as possible after an injury happened, the entry is sufficient notice of the injury for the purposes of this Act.
(5) If subsection (1) is contravened, the manager of the mine or quarry, or the occupier of the factory, workshop, office or shop, is guilty of an offence..."
"40 Form of register of injuries to be kept at workplace
(1) The register of injuries required to be kept under section 256 of the 1998 Act may be kept in written or electronic form.
(2) The register of injuries may be kept in electronic form only if the employer provides education, training and facilities to ensure that workers are able to access the register.
(3) The particulars to be entered in the register of injuries are the following -
(a) the name of the injured worker,
(b) the worker's address,
(c) the worker's age at the time of injury,
(d) the worker's occupation at the time of injury,
(e) the industry in which the worker was engaged at the time of injury,
(f) the time and date (or deemed date) of injury,
(g) the nature of the injury,
(h) the cause of the injury."
"The ignorance referred to is ignorance of the rights deriving from the Act and the obligations imposed by it. Effectively the Court is required to be satisfied that the applicant was unaware of those rights and obligations and thus failed to make the requisite claim."
"In G C Singleton & Co Pty Ltd v Lean (Seymour) [1970] ALR 129 ('Seymour') it was held that 'ignorance' will include the case where the worker does not know of the need to give the notice within the specified time. Seymour was applied to similar legislation by the South Australian Workers Compensation Tribunal in Zac Paul Williams v WorkCover/GIO Australia (Simar Transit Mixers) [1998] SAWCT 101 where Judge Cawthorne said:
'In my view the failure on the worker's part to make his claim within the prescribed period should not create a bar to the making of the claim. In reaching that conclusion to my mind two factors stand out. First until the worker saw Dr. Tolis in February 1997 and was told of the seriousness of his injury he had no intention of making a claim for compensation being under the misapprehension that his problem was only one of muscular strain which would eventually resolve. In the light of all of the evidence and in particular that of Mr. McCulloch that was clearly a mistaken view on the worker's part. Second, although I am prepared to accept that the worker had some understanding of the compensation system having made earlier claims, I accept his evidence that he was not aware that a time limit existed for the making of a claim for compensation. In those circumstances it is my view that the failure of the worker to make a claim within the prescribed period was also occasioned by ignorance (G.C. Singleton and Co. Pty. Ltd. V. Lean (Seymour) 1970 A.L.R. 129) or mistake on his part.'"
"The phrase 'reasonable cause' was considered in Garratt v Tooheys Ltd [1949] WCR 80 ('Garratt') at 86-7. In that case Judge Rainbow said at 86:
'The next question is whether the applicant's failure was occasioned by some reasonable cause. In its context, cause means the grounds which led the workmen to omit to claim. And the mixture of facts, circumstances and motive which constitute the explanation of the failure must be reasonable. It is sometimes argued that the reasonableness of the cause is only to be measured and considered from the viewpoint of the worker and reference is made for example to King v Port of London Authority [1920] AC 1 where Lord Atkinson at page 24 said: 'Of course it is reasonable cause having reference to the workman himself'. If this argument means that the inquiry is to be limited to discovering whether the worker believed himself to be acting or thinking reasonably that is not the law: cf Brown v Aveling and Porter, (22 BWCC 165 at 169). It is not the worker who is to be reasonable, it is the cause. As Lord Birkenhead said in King v Port of London Authority, 'the general atmosphere must always be considered'. The reasonableness is to be measured objectively in the light of every circumstance in the case relevant to showing why the failure to claim occurred: cf Atherton v Chorley Colliery Co Ltd (19 BWCC 314)'."
Commenting on Garratt C P Mills said at page 468:
"The mixture of facts, circumstances and motive which constitute the explanation of the omission must be reasonable, considered from the view point of the worker not in the sense that he considered his omission reasonable, but rather in the sense that the cause of the omission is reasonable in the light of all the circumstances in which the worker found himself."
In Garratt the facts were that the worker delayed in making his claim because he did not want to prejudice any retirement benefit he might receive from his employer. It was held that such a reason for delaying was not a 'reasonable cause' within the terms of the Act. The word 'ignorance' was not in the relevant legislation at that time.
"In my view 'other reasonable cause' can be any other event, situation or circumstance that resulted in a claim not being made within six months of the date of injury. I agree with the comment by C P Mills that it is the 'mixture of facts, circumstances and motive which constitute the explanation of the omission" that must be reasonable. If the explanation is 'reasonable' and if the failure to claim within six months was occasioned by that 'cause', then the subsection has been satisfied.'"
'In the present case, there was evidence that the worker not only suffered an impairment but that that impairment affected his physical capacity to undertake work. The argument, as I understand it, on behalf of the employer is that the disablement cannot be said to be serious because, before such a finding could be made, it was necessary for the learned trial Judge to consider the whole range of the worker's activity and, it is ubmited, that was not done.'
That submission by the employer was rejected on appeal. Cripps JA added that the fact that the worker may have been earning as much as he would have been earning had he remained an underground miner "did not mandate a conclusion that he had not been seriously and permanently disabled" (at 406G).
In a short judgment Mahoney JA agree with Cripps JA and added at 402B:
'No doubt the word 'disablement' primarily refers to disablement in respect of capacity to perform work. But provided the disablement or interference with capacity is 'serious', the provision may be satisfied notwithstanding that other work may be undertaken and even undertaken more remuneratively.'
Gregson concerned the meaning of "serious and permanent disablement" in section 65(13), though the consideration of the phrase by Judge Burke was strictly obiter. Nevertheless the facts and his Honours comments are instructive. At [78] his Honour said:
'In this matter the question becomes whether Mr Gregson suffers a serious and permanent disablement. Does he have a disability, is it serious, is it permanent, does it impinge adversely upon his capacity to work? If all questions were answered in the affirmative then he would satisfy that requirement. The basic question then presenting is the degree of the applicant's incapacity and losses before a considered answer to those previous questions is available.'"
"I have carefully considered the Respondent Employer's argument that Mr Eason's complaints are not of great magnitude, have not prevented him from engaging in full time employment, and that he does not require ongoing medical treatment. These submissions ignore the fact that Mr Eason is now working in suitable employment, has a proven disc prolapse with objective evidence of nerve root irritability and radiculopathy, and that he has continuing back and leg symptoms which are aggravated with activity. Lack of regular treatment does not necessarily indicate that a disability is not severe. In respect of medication, it is relevant to note that Mr Eason stopped taking anti inflammatory medication because he developed an allergy to such medication..."
(a) Colourwise is to pay Ms Strachan weekly compensation of $659.80 as indexed from 4 June 2021 until the end of the second entitlement period;
(b) I grant liberty to apply if the parties are unable to agree on the compensation payable as a result of order (a);
(c) Pursuant to s 60 of the 1987 Act, the respondent is to pay the applicant's past medical, hospital and related expenses, and
(d) Pursuant to s 60 of the 1987 Act, the respondent is to pay the applicant's costs of and incidental to left total knee replacement surgery.
[6] (1949) WCR 80, 86-87.
Strachan
Colourwise Nursery
(2000) 20 NSWCCR 520
(1992) 8 NSWCCR 401