[2008] VCAT 587
General information, not legal advice.
Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal
2008-04-10
Coghlan DP
Original judgment source is linked above.
You are advised to read Circular No 3 issued to the Principal/Branch Head regarding amendments to the Superannuation Act effective from 1 January 1982.
It is common ground that the applicant would have received a payslip of this nature.
During the period 22 February, 1982 - 20th Aug 1982, I was on long service leave at half pay. Throughout this period I was travelling overseas with my husband and child. The above method of notifying teachers would not realistically apply to someone on extended leave in Europe.
LWOP Greater than 1 month and all Long Service Leave
25/04/83 to 30/07/84 CONFINEMENT LEAVE (TEACHERS ONLY)
14/09/79 to 30/11/80 CONFINEMENT LEAVE (TEACHERS ONLY)
State Superannuation Act 1975
Part 1 establishes the new Lump Sum Scheme
Part II makes amendments to the Superannuation Act 1958
s59(1) Teaching Service Act : a woman who married could be notice remain in permanent employment
But s60(1) also provided that married women shall not be "officers" for the purposes of the Superannuation Act 1958
MWSF Act : s 4 establishes the MWSF s6(2) provides that married women may elect to join the MWSF
s 47 amends s 3A(2)(b) with the effect that the Superannuation Act 1958 now expressed to apply to a female officer who is married as at 1 March 1975 who elects contribute to Fund prior to 1 July 1975
s 4(2) amends s 3A further, with effect that a married woman may elect not to contribute within 6 months. Referred to as the 1980 "opt out".
s 3(1) creates a new Fund called the Lump Sum Scheme
s3(2)(a)provides that the assets of the MWSF are rolled over into the new Fund
s5 provides that prior contributors to MWSF become contributors to the new scheme
s26 amends s3A(b) of the Superannuation Act 1958 with the effect that it introduces a 6 month amnesty enabling married women to join the Fund between 1 January 1982 and 30 June 1982: see s 26(1)(b) and (2)
The Act repealed the MWSF legislation and wound up that scheme.
Members of the former MWSF were entitled to roll over their contributions into the Lump Sum Scheme
Categories of members include: original scheme members; revised scheme members and new scheme members. See definitions in s 3
Section 3(1) State Superannuation Act 1988 which provided that officers "employed" (whether they had previously been contributors or not) were eligible to join the Fund prior to 30 June 1988. Those who did so obtained the advantage of a generous "catch up provision".
Those who did not join prior to 30 June 1988 were automatically became members as at 30 June 1988
The 1975 Amnesty Women who married as at 1 March 1975 had until 1 July 1975 to elect to join : see s47 of the amending Act, the State Superannuation Act which amended s 3A of the Superannuation Act 1958
The 1982 Amnesty Married female employees could elect to join or rejoin the scheme between 1 January 1982 -30 June 1982: see s26 of amending act, the Lump Sum Benefits Scheme Act 1981 - which makes amendments to s 3A of the Superannuation Act 1958
"recognised service" in relation to an officer, means the total period (calculated in years, months and days) during which the officer contributed (or in the case of a new scheme member, was entitled to contribute) to the State Superannuation Fund and the Fund and includes -
(b) any additional period of service (if any) determined by the Board in accordance with the regulations -
(1) On and from 30 November 1993, for the purposes of paragraph (b) of the definition of 'recognised service' in section 3(1) of the Act, the Board may on application by an officer recognise part or all of a period of continuous employment in accordance with this regulation.
(4) The Board must not recognise a period of prior employment which was not continuous and which did not immediately precede the date on which the applicant became an officer or any part of such period during which the applicant -
(a) was or was entitled to become an officer or a member of a prescribed superannuation scheme within the meaning of regulation 8; or
Regulation 14(1) confers a discretion on the Board to recognise all or part of a period of continuous employment. Regulation 14(4)(a) limits the breadth of the Board's discretion. It operates as a "carve out" from the area of discretion otherwise conferred on the Board. It provides that the Board must not recognise a period of prior service during which the applicant "was or was entitled to become an officer or a member of a prescribed superannuation scheme within the meaning of regulation 8".
A "prescribed Superannuation Scheme" includes any superannuation scheme established and maintained by an Act of Victoria. This includes the Fund established under the Superannuation Act 1958 and continued by the Superannuation Act 1988 in all its various forms, and the Married Women's Superannuation Fund.
As a result of the operation of regulation 14(4)(a), the Board is prohibited from recognising any part of the Applicant's prior service during which she was a member of the Fund or the MWSF or its equivalents or eligible to be such a member. An assessment of the periods during which the Applicant was a member or eligible to be a member turns on an analysis of the legislation governing eligibility during the relevant period. This history is set out in table form attached to these submissions. (see paragraphs 17 of these reasons).
As I have no recollection of receiving a cheque in 1980, especially for such a large amount of money, I undertook research to find evidence of my super history and cessation of payments.
In order for a member to receive a refund of contributions in 1980, the Fund must either have received a resignation benefit application form or an election by an eligible married woman not to contribute to the scheme. In each case a written application form was required.
I joined the Superannuation Fund and remained so until married women were given the option and encouraged to leave the Super Fund particularly women who were considering beginning a family.
Quite clearly this sentence could only mean that the applicant herself had opted out of the Fund.
The rationale for this policy is that where eligibility is affected by a mandatory time limit (as was the case in relation to the six month 1982 amnesty) that time limit must be strictly observed and applied by the Board.
An eligibility period with a strict time limit will always appear 'unfair' to an applicant who misses the cut off date. But the Board's policy is that an express time limit, particularly those set by statute, must be adhered to. As a result, a member who now seeks recognition of prior service having failed to take advantage of a limited amnesty period will not have their service in the period after the cut off date recognised.
In formulating this policy, the Board has also been mindful of the rationale referred to above, namely that the Board must '...strive to reach a balance between on one hand, committing Government eventually to a significant proportion of any pensions or lump sums that may become payable as a result of recognising prior service, and on the other hand, the anomalies that would be created in rigidly applying existing policies to special and unique circumstances'.
The policy is applied even in circumstances where it is demonstrated that a member was not informed of the applicable 'cut off date'. The policy is uniformly applied to ensure equity across the entire Fund membership. Deviation from this approach may have far reaching consequences in terms of increasing the liability of the Fund and causing disadvantage to long-standing contributing members to the Fund.
(a) The Board will recognise up to a maximum of five years of full time private sector employment
(b) balance the "significant portion of any pension or lump sums that may become payable as a result of recognising prior service, and on the other hand the anomalies that would be created in rigidly applying existing policies to special and unique circumstances".
... in relation to revised scheme members to provide that industrial experience will not be recognised after the 31st March 1990 and that employing authorities are to be advised that claims received after the 31st March 1990 will not be recognised.
In relation to new scheme members the Board confirmed its decision of the 19th October 1989 that industrial experience would not be recognised for current members from the date of the meeting.
It was further agreed that persons who became new scheme members prior to the 19th October 1989 be given until the 31st March 1990 to apply for recognition of service.
That industrial experience will not be recognised after 31 March 1990. Prior to that date revised scheme members to whom the Board policy for recognition of prior service may be applicable may apply to the Board for consideration of their cases.
In my view the Board was entitled, and indeed required, to establish policies in respect of the administration of the Act and to adopt strategies designed to achieve those policies and to ensure that the decisions and operations of the Board are directed towards achieving its objectives. Indeed, it seems to me that any decision-making body invested with a discretion is entitled to lay down guidelines or policies for the exercise of its discretions and where numerous decisions are called for the exercise of that discretion, it is inevitable that policies and guidelines will evolve and be enunciated. This is necessary and desirable so that its decisions can be consistent and be seen to be consistent ....
However, I accept that in reviewing a decision this Tribunal must take into account all relevant considerations including any policies which have been established by the maker of the decision under review.
Be that as it may, before me the appellant was given every opportunity to put forward any facts or circumstances which he considered would amount to special or unique circumstances which would make it inappropriate or unfair to deny his application on the basis that it was lodged after the cut off date. In that regard the Appellant relied upon the fact that, at the time he made his application, he was not aware that a cut off date had been announced by the Board and made part of its policy. I fully accept that the Appellant did not know of the cut off date or that it was part of the policy of the Board at the time he put in his application but I cannot see how his ignorance of that part of the policy, at the time he made his application, could possibly amount to special or unique circumstances so as to make it inappropriate or unfair to deny his application because it was late in being lodged. I cannot see how he has been put at any disadvantage because he did not find out about the cut off date at the same time as he was led to believe he was eligible to have prior industrial experience added to his period of recognised service.
In these circumstances I cannot see how his ignorance of the Board's policy, which introduced a cut off point for the implementation of its altered policy, could possibly amount to special or unique circumstances ...
A person in the position of the Appellant has no vested right to have the policies of the Board remain unaltered. Indeed, in my view an applicant might make an application at a point of time when the Board was applying a policy which would ensure the success of his application but on the hearing of the application, and after full argument on both sides, the Board would be entitled to change its policy, and indeed would be obliged to do so if it were satisfied it was no longer appropriate, and on that basis deny the application. (underlining supplied).
TABLE OF ELIGIBILITY AND CONTRIBUTIONS BY STELMACHIW
Not eligible to contribute to Fund by reason of marriage
Arguably eligible to contribute to Fund by reason of changes to Act in 1975: eligibility expanded from 1 July 1975 to include a married woman who married prior to 1/3/75 and who "elected" to contribute prior to 1 July 1975
Ms Stelmachiw was eligible if continuing to contribute constitutes an "election" within the meaning of the amendment.
On the other hand, possibly was not eligible if continuing to contribute prior to 1 July 1975 is not correctly to be treated as an "election" to contribute prior to 1 July 1975.
Married women could opt out of Fund during six month window in 1980: amendment to Act provided could opt out within six months of commencement of amending provision.
Fund evidence is that Ms Stelmachiw opted out and ceased to be a member or contribute on 27 June 1980.
Amendments to s3A of the Act permitted a female officer who was not contributing to Fund to join under six months amnesty between 1 Jan 1982 and 30 June 1982.
Ms Stelmachiw did not join during amnesty and was not contributing to Fund
Not eligible to join the Fund after expiration of amnesty
Eligibility in relation to any other prescribed Fund
Eligible to contribute to MWSF until commencement of Lump Sum Act 1981
MWSF no longer in existence and not eligible to join Lump Sum Fund
Despite possible intelligibility contributing to Fund
Despite possible intelligibility contributing to Fund
Opted out and rec'd refund of contributions 27 June 1980
Stelmachiw
Emergency Services Superannuation Board