austlii:cth/ARTA/2026/67
General information, not legal advice.
ARTA
2026-01-22
Original judgment source is linked above.
(i) Bundle of "T" documents; > > (ii) Copy of first review decision and copy of the Applicant's application for a second review; and > > (iii) Statement of Facts, Issues and Contentions prepared by the Respondent, dated 8 December 2025, with attachment.
[The Applicant] was granted DSP when she travelled overseas, she had also given the travel advise (sic), she didn't require any further assessments to get paid her DSP overseas, centrelink didn't continue her payment, also Centrelink dint (sic) conduct the review for suspension untill (sic) 18 months and subsequently cancelled DSP. She was granted DSP from special Team of Centrelink.
We favour the construction of subpar 94(1)(e)(i) which requires the decision-maker to determine when the actual impairment identified for the purposes of pars 94(1)(a), (b) and (c) was first such as to prevent the claimant from doing any work within the two year period identified for the purposes of par 94(1)(c)... in most cases, the decision-maker will have only to determine whether or not the impairment as it is at the relevant time was present at the time at which the claimant became an Australian resident. It is only where the condition has become more or less acute, or where one of the other variable factors to which we have referred has come into operation that the matter will become more difficult.
It is plain that par (e) of the sub-section was intended by Parliament to ensure that a non-Australian resident who enters Australia with an impairment that is sufficient to satisfy s94(1)(c)(i) will not be entitled to a disability support pension until the person has resided in Australia for the substantial period of time sufficient to amount to "10 years qualifying Australian residence"...
Section 94(1)(e)(i) should therefore be read as requiring the pension applicant to be an Australian resident when the person first suffers from the particular impairment which is found, as at the date of determination of the pension claim, to be sufficient to prevent the person from doing any work within the two years immediately following that date.
(a) a person is an Australian resident; and
(b) the person ceases to be an Australian resident; and
(c) the person again becomes an Australian resident; and
(d) within the period of 2 years after the person again becomes an Australian resident, the person is granted, or is transferred to:
(e) after the pension is granted, or the person is transferred to the pension, but before the end of that period of 2 years, the person leaves Australia; and
(f) financial assistance is not payable in respect of the person's absence from Australia under the Medical Treatment Overseas Program administered by the Minister who administers the National Health Act 1953 ;
[The Applicant] was admitted to [hospital] on 23 October 2018 with reduced conscious state and neuroimaging demonstrated basilar artery thrombosis with large acute ischaemic stroke affecting the thalami, posteromedial temporal, left superior and middle cerebellar and brain stem structures.
[The Applicant] received thrombolysis treatment for the stroke, and repeated neuroimaging demonstrated persisting though smaller and non-occlusive thrombus in the basilar artery. [The Applicant] was managed in the Intensive Care Unit for the first 8 days of hospital admission, and has remained an inpatient of the [hospital], on a general ward, since then.
[The Applicant] has made small improvements over her 7 month hospital stay, though significant cognitive and functional deficits remain. She has impaired cognition and has impaired ability to communicate. She is able to open her eyes more consistently but remains non-verbal. She can follow simple commands and communicates yes or no with head nod or shake. She is not able to participate in discussions or decision-making about her health, accommodation and finances.
[The Applicant's] swallow remains unsafe and she receives her nutritional requirements through her percutaneous endoscopic gastrostomy (PEG) tube which was inserted on 23 January 2019. [The Applicant's] mobility remains limited. She requires 1-person assist to sit on the edge of the bed, and is currently hoist transfer, and is sat out of bed in a special tilt-in-space wheelchair daily. [The Applicant] wears continence aids.
[The Applicant] is expected to continue to show small improvements with regular therapy, but functional gain will be limited. [The Applicant's] impaired decision-making capacity will most likely be permanent. We expect that [the Applicant] in the long term will still require high level care and assistance with all activities of daily living.
[The Applicant] has significant cognitive and functional deficits. She is unlikely to make significant further improvement given the time since her stroke. She has impaired cognition and ability to communicate. She is able to open her eyes spontaneously and indicate yes or no through movement of her head. She remains non-verbal. She is able to express when she is in pain. She can write a few specific short words in a barely legible manner on a whiteboard with some support.
She is not able to participate meaningfully in discussions about her healthcare, personal or financial matters. Her husband [name] is her guardian.
[The Applicant] is unable to swallow safely and is fed through a percutaneous endoscopic gastrostomy tube. [The Applicant] requires full nursing care and is transferred with a hoist. She requires the assistance of one person to sit up and uses continence pads.
[The Applicant] will not be able to re-enter the workforce.
[The Applicant] has remained an inpatient of the [hospital] since 23 October 2018. [The Applicant] has impaired mobility and function and is dependent upon assistance for all activities of daily living. She requires a 1-person assist to sit on the edge of the bed, and is currently hoist transfer, and is sat out of bed in a special tilt-in-space wheelchair daily. As a result of her stroke [the Applicant] has urinary and faecal incontinence. [The Applicant] has dysphagia and is fed via a percutaneous endoscopic gastrostomy (PEG) tube. [The Applicant] continues to have impaired cognition and impaired ability to communicate. She is non-verbal but able to follow simple commands, and communicate yes or no with head nod or shake. She can write some simple words. She is under adult guardianship, with her husband [name] appointed as her guardian and substitute decision maker for personal and financial matters.
[The Applicant] has no other significant past medical history. She has had a routine CXR and HIV testing which are normal. [The Applicant] does not have evidence of active tuberculosis and her health condition does not pose a threat to the Australian community and is not infective in nature.
As outlined above, the functional impairment [the Applicant] has sustained means that she will require permanent, full time care for the rest of her life. [The Applicant] is currently an inpatient in the [hospital] acute medical ward...
(e) the person either:
(i) is an Australian resident at the time when the person first satisfies paragraph (c); or
(ii) has 10 years qualifying Australian residence, or has a qualifying residence exemption for a disability support pension; or
(A) is not an Australian resident; and
(B) is a dependent child of an Australian resident;
and the person becomes an Australian resident while a dependent child of an Australian resident...
94(1)(e)(i) - Was the Applicant an Australian resident when she first satisfied paragraph (c)?
(ii) the Secretary is satisfied that the person is participating in the program administered by the Commonwealth known as the supported wage system..
(aa) in a case where the person's impairment is not a severe impairment within the meaning of subsection (3B) or the person is a reviewed 2008 - 2011 DSP starter who has had an opportunity to participate in a program of support--the person has actively participated in a program of support within the meaning of subsection (3C), and the program of support was wholly or partly funded by the Commonwealth; and
(a) in all cases--the impairment is of itself sufficient to prevent the person from doing any work independently of a program of support within the next 2 years; and
(i) the impairment is of itself sufficient to prevent the person from undertaking a training activity during the next 2 years; or
(ii) if the impairment does not prevent the person from undertaking a training activity--such activity is unlikely (because of the impairment) to enable the person to do any work independently of a program of support within the next 2 years.
Note: For work see subsection (5).
(a) the availability to the person of a training activity; or
(2) An Australian resident is a person who:
(ii) the holder of a permanent visa;
(iii) a special category visa holder who is a protected SCV holder.
94(1)(e)(ii) - Did the Applicant have 10 years qualifying residence or an exemption?
(6) A person has a qualifying residence exemption for a social security pension (other than carer payment) or a social security benefit (other than youth allowance, austudy payment, jobseeker payment or special benefit) if, and only if, the person:
(i) a refugee; or
(ii) a former refugee.
(b) except in relation to pension PP (single), benefit PP (partnered), youth allowance, austudy payment, jobseeker payment, carer payment, carer allowance, mobility allowance, a seniors health card or a health care card--was a family member of a refugee, or former refugee, at the time the refugee or former refugee arrived in Australia; or
94(1)(e)(iii) - Was the Applicant a dependent child of an Australian resident?
(1) If the Secretary is satisfied that a social security payment is being, or has been, paid to a person:
(a) who is not, or was not, qualified for the payment; or
(b) to whom the payment is not, or was not, payable (other than because of the operation of Division 3AA);
the Secretary is to determine that the payment is to be cancelled or suspended.
The Applicant was represented at the hearing by her husband
[1] Social Security Guide 1.1.Q.35: Visa Subclass 852 (a Referred Stay visa).
Secretary, Department of Family and Community Services
Michael
Secretary, Department of Family and Community Services v Michael [2001] FCA 1811