austlii:nsw/NSWPIC/2025/394
General information, not legal advice.
NSWPIC
2025-08-11
Original judgment source is linked above.
2 February 2024 to date and continuing, with a residual capacity to earn of $468.98 per week. 3. At the date of her injury, the applicant's pre-injury average weekly earnings were $2,164.46, subject to periodic indexation from time to time. . 4. Pursuant to s 37 of the 1987 Act, the respondent is to pay the applicant weekly compensation as follows:
(a) from 2 February 2024 to 31 March 2024 at the rate of $1,291.02 per week;
(b) from 1 April 2024 to 30 September 2024 at the rate of $1,339.02 per week;
(c) from 1 October 2024 to 31 March 2025 at the rate of $1,371.02 per week, and
(d) from 1 April 2025 to date and continuing at the rate of $1,379.02 per week.
A brief statement is attached setting out the Personal Injury Commission's reasons for the determination.
(a) whether the applicant suffered an injury to her cervical spine;
(b) whether the applicant has suffered incapacity for employment during the period claimed, and if so to what extent;
(c) whether the cervical fusion surgery was reasonably necessary as a result of the applicant's injury;
(d) the applicant's pre-injury average weekly earnings (PIAWE), and
(e) the effect, if any, of the operation of s 46 of the 1987 Act.
PROCEDURE BEFORE THE PERSONAL INJURY COMMISSION (Commission)
19 March 2025 a Certificate of Determination and Statement of Reasons was issued refusing the application to strike out the proceedings. 3. The parties then attended a hearing before me on 23 May 2025 and 6 June 2025. On those occasions, Mr Hickey of counsel appeared for the applicant and Mr Robison of counsel appeared for the respondent. 4. At the conclusion of the hearing, directions for written submissions were made in relation to the application of s 46 of the 1987 Act. The parties lodged and served written submissions in accordance with that timetable. 5. A Certificate of Determination in this matter was originally issued on 15 July 2025. That certificate contained directions for the lodging of source material in relation to the applicant's PIAWE together with written submissions. Those Directions were issued in error, as documentation which had been filed by the respondent on 10 April 2025 containing relevant source material during the proceedings had been overlooked. Upon that error being identified, the Certificate of Determination was rescinded.
(a) Application to Resolve a Dispute (the Application) and attached documents;
(b) Reply and attachments;
(c) applicant's Application to Lodge Additional Documents (ALAD) dated
15 May 2025and attachments;
(d) applicant's ALAD dated 20 May 2025 and attachments;
(e) respondent's ALAD dated 10 April 2025 and attachments, and
(f) respondent's ALAD dated 16 May 2025 and attachments.
"An aggravation or exacerbation of a disease occurs where the experience of the disease by the patient is increased or intensified by an increase or intensifying of symptoms (Federal Broom Co Pty Ltd v Semlitch) [1964] HCA 34; (1964) 110 CLR 626)" (Semlitch).
8 April 2014 and Mylonas v The Star Pty Ltd [2014] NSWWCC 174. 2. The approach of the Commission and its predecessors is consistent with the decision of the Court of Appeal in Australian Conveyor Engineering Pty Ltd v Mecha Engineering Pty Ltd [1998] NSWCC 51; (1998) 45 NSWLR 606 (Mecha), where the Court of Appeal held (per Sheller JA at 616) that injuries in the nature of an aggravation "should be construed as not referring to something which is an injury independently of its aggravating effects on previously existing disease, but is being confined to what are entirely injuries by aggravation". 3. It can therefore be said that the proper test is whether the aggravation has impacted the individual concerned. It is not necessary for the particular disease itself to be made worse: Cabramatta Motor Body Repairers (NSW) Pty Ltd v Raymond [2006] NSWWCCPD 132 (Raymond). In Raymond, Roche ADP (as he then was) was satisfied that, on whole of the evidence, it was open to the arbitrator to conclude that the worker suffered an aggravation of his occupational asthma, in the sense that the symptoms increased and became more serious whilst employed. 4. In AV v AW [2020] NSWCCPD 9, Snell DP held the test of main contributing factor is more stringent than that of substantial contributing factor which is contained in s 4(a) of the 1987 Act. The Deputy President noted the requirement in s 4(b) of the 1987 Act that employment be "the main contributing factor to... an aggravation" permits the existence of only one such factor. The test involves a more stringent connection with employment than the requirement of a substantial contributing factor. It is therefore clearly established there can only be one main contributing factor to an injury. 5. In this matter, the factual background of the applicant's condition is somewhat complicated by her having suffered three motor vehicle accidents when she was a child. Additionally, in 2008 the applicant suffered a serious boat accident whilst working as a volunteer surf lifesaver. In her statement, the applicant said:
"7. ... I injured both my hamstrings and my left knee in that accident. I made a claim for workers compensation which was accepted by Surf Life Saving NSW. I have had a number of surgeries to repair my hamstrings with Dr Darrin Marshall and left knee meniscus. And in 2020, I had a left total knee replacement surgery with Dr David Wood. My treatment and surgeries have been paid for as part of that claim. I have also experienced back pain since that accident as I walked with a limp. My right knee has also become very painful as I have been favouring it for several years due to the weakness and restrictions in my left knee. Dr Wood has now advised me that I will need to have a right total knee replacement as well."
22 May 2023, the applicant attended her GP four days later and complained of left shoulder pain. She was referred for an ultrasound and X-ray. She again attended on 14 June 2023, at which time the GP recorded symptoms consistent with cervical radiculopathy. She was referred to Dr Kennedy, orthopaedic surgeon. 11. The applicant consulted Dr Kennedy on 11 August 2023. He confirmed the left shoulder SLAP tear, however, was of the view the applicant's shoulder symptoms were caused by pathology in her cervical spine. He recommended she consult a spinal surgeon, noting there were no neurosurgeons in the Coffs Harbour region. 12. On 29 August 2023, the applicant consulted Dr Sherlock, orthopaedic surgeon. He also opined her symptoms were emanating from the neck rather than the shoulder and said the applicant would benefit from review by a neck surgeon. 13. The applicant was then referred to Prof Stoodley, neurosurgeon, who she consulted in October 2023. Prof Stoodley noted a consistent history of neck and left upper limb pain, with paraesthesia into the thumb and index finger. He recorded the onset of the symptoms coincided with heavy and repetitive duties as a nurse and recommended surgical intervention. 14. This diagnosis was confirmed after a further examination on 8 May 2024 by Dr Siu, a neurosurgeon from Prof Stoodley's practice, at which time a CT guided foraminal injection was recommended. 15. The applicant came to fusion surgery at C4/5-C5/6 at the hands of Dr Siu on
11 November 2024. Dr Siu sought payment for that surgery by the respondent's insurer, which was declined. The applicant has, by all reports, had a good outcome from the surgery. 16. Dr Hopcroft, IME, has also provided three reports in which he supports the view of the applicant's neck issues relate to her employment, noting her underlying pathology only became symptomatic once she began working with the respondent. 17. In summary therefore, the applicant's GP accepted her symptoms arose from her employment. She was referred to an orthopaedic surgeon who opined her symptoms were due to a neck injury, not her shoulder. A second orthopaedic surgeon confirmed this to be the case. The applicant then consulted no less than a professor of neurosurgery who agreed her issues were caused by her neck, accepted her version of their onset arising from heavy work as a nurse with the respondent and noted surgery may be necessary. A second neurosurgeon from that professor's practise agreed, carried out a cervical fusion and plainly thought the problems were work-related, as he attempted to bill the respondent for the procedure. 18. Against this evidence, the respondent offers the opinion of Dr Walker, IME, who states the requirement for surgery was brought about by the underlying pathology in the applicant's neck rather than any work-related aggravation. 19. Dr Walker provides this opinion without, in my view, adequately explaining why this is the case. The applicant does not resile from the underlying pathology in her neck. However, there is no evidence which points to it being symptomatic until she commenced carrying out her heavy duties as a nurse. 20. It is axiomatic to say symptomology, not pathology, necessitates treatment. A worker may have underlying pathology in a given body system for many years which is asymptomatic until a precipitating event or series of events causes the onset of symptoms, at which time they require either conservative treatment and/ or surgery. Such a course of events is well known and widely accepted not only in this jurisdiction, but more broadly. 21. Dr Walker's views seem to fly in the face of the accepted understanding of injuries in the nature of aggravations. In cases involving such injuries, as previously stated in these reasons, it is necessary to examine what has been caused by an aggravation itself rather than any underlying condition. Dr Walker does not make this important differentiation in his report. 22. It is trite to say any requirement for surgery is brought about by the presence of some pathology, as absent such pathology there can be no onset of symptoms to or in it. 23. However, if the mere presence of underlying but previously asymptomatic pathology is said to be the cause of a requirement for surgery, it follows treatment can never be said to be necessary because of an aggravation to the pathology. Such a conclusion flies in the face of long-standing authority which has its genesis in the High Court's decision in Semlitch, referred to earlier in these reasons. 24. In my view, the evidence in this matter overwhelmingly supports a finding of injury in the nature of aggravation to the applicant's neck, and it is apparent the symptomology of that aggravation has made a material contribution to the requirement for surgery, which is all that is required to satisfy s 60 of the 1987 Act. 25. It follows that in a claim for medical expenses where both an aggravation and the underlying condition have played a part in causing the need for surgery, the aggravation at issue must have made a material contribution to the necessity of the procedure. It is long settled that such a contribution satisfies the "as a result of the injury" requirements of s 60 of the 1987 Act.
"44. I returned to work for a brief period in or around August 2023, however due to my pain and the physical restrictions in me being able to work I could not keep working.
"It is my opinion this patient should be considered totally incapacitated for her pre-injury employment as an enrolled nurse, as to return to such employment would simply see an acceleration of the development of Adjacent Segment Disease, and the degree of that deterioration would be significant.
It is my opinion that this patient has very limited realistic capacity for alternative suitable work following that surgery, and at best cold be considered for part-time sedentary work where repetitive bending and lifting and protracted head and neck flexion manoeuvres can be avoided.
It is my opinion it could be possible to predict that she could do three hours of work per day five days a week, with rest breaks, that did not involve protracted flexion of her head and neck or repetitive bending and lifting activity."
"Her current spinal pain would make it very difficult for her to return to general nursing duties. She would certainly be able to fulfil other jobs however of a sedentary nature perhaps even whilst remaining in the nursing field...."
"(1) The relevant earning period for a worker is to be adjusted in accordance with this clause if, during the unadjusted earning period, there was a change of an ongoing nature to the employment arrangement resulting in a financially material change to the earnings of the worker (for example, a change from full-time to part-time work).
(2) The relevant earning period is to be adjusted by excluding from the period any period before the change to the earnings of the worker occurred."
29 weeks. Her earnings between 31 October 2022 and the date of injury were $62,769.70 and accordingly the applicant's PIAWE is calculated at $2,164.46, subject to periodic indexation.
"The Commission may, on the determination of an application for any weekly payment of compensation or on a review under this Act of any weekly payment of compensation, order that the weekly payment be reduced to prevent dual benefits of the same kind being payable by the employer during and in respect to the incapacity for work."
"...fundamental problem... that [the employer] has not established any dual benefits of the same kind being paid by the employer during and in respect of the incapacity to work. Any such payments that were received by the worker in the nature of superannuation came from the Superannuation Board, not the employer." (emphasis
"The other ground mentioned by his Honour Cripps is one with which I also agree, and
that s that the evidence in this case falls far short of showing that any benefits, apart
from workers compensation, were paid by the appellant to the respondent during and in respect of his incapacity."
"Further, s 46 refers to 'dual benefits of the same kind', not to the payment of compensation and damages. The benefits are to be payable 'by the employer', which does not engage the present case.
Of critical importance in this context is that the primary purpose of the Workers Compensation Act is to confer on a worker who has received an injury (being a personal injury arising out of or in the course of his or her employment) a right to receive compensation from the worker's employer. The Dust Diseases Act does not provide for payments of compensation by an employer, but by the Board, albeit from a fund created under s 6 of the Dust Diseases Act which will include payments by workers' compensation insurers."
"... the reference to 'dual benefits' is, in its context, a reference to duplicated Workers Compensation Act benefits and does not refer to common law damages. These observations confirm that section 46 is narrowly tailored to prevent duplication of
workers' compensation benefits paid by the employer, excluding other forms of redress
"The power conferred by section 46 is discretionary and operates to prevent payment of 'dual benefits of the same kind'. The submission made by the worker is that the settlement in the Industrial Relations Commission of NSW was 'of all claims the worker brought against his former employer', and one cannot distinguish what part of the settlement is 'actual wages'. The evidence does not include the pleadings in the Industrial Commission of NSW, nor the deed (or whatever other document) effected the settlement. Accordingly, the only information available for the purpose of characterising the settlement payment is the worker's evidence at T11 to 14."
"(3) The weekly payment of compensation to which an injured worker who has current work capacity and has returned to work for less than 15 hours per week (or who has not returned to work) is entitled during the second entitlement period is to be at the lesser of the following rates--
(a) 80% of the worker's pre-injury average weekly earnings, less the worker's current weekly earnings,
(b) the maximum weekly compensation amount, less the worker's current weekly earnings."
1 April 2024, the indexed amount rose to $2,260 before increasing on 1 October 2024 to $2,300 and on 1 April 2025 to $2,310. 3. Having found the applicant has had capacity for employment for 15 hours per week at her pre-injury hourly rate, I find her ongoing capacity for the period of the claim and continuing totals $468.98. 4. I therefore find the respondent liable to pay the applicant weekly compensation pursuant to s 37 of the 1987 Act as follows:
(a) from 2 February 2024 to 31 March 2024 at the rate of $1,291.02 per week;
(b) from 1 April 2024 to 30 September 2024 at the rate of $1,339.02 per week;
(c) from 1 October 2024 to 31 March 2025 at the rate of $1,371.02 per week, and
(d) from 1 April 2025 to date and continuing at the rate of $1,379.02 per week.
Schweikert
State of New South Wales
(1994) 35 NSWLR 452
(1998) 45 NSWLR 606
(1964) 110 CLR 626