austlii:cth/ARTA/2025/2515
General information, not legal advice.
ARTA
2025-11-25
General Member J
Original judgment source is linked above.
Santavas and Commissioner of Taxation (Taxation) [2025] ARTA 2515 (25 November 2025)
Decision: The Tribunal sets aside the decisions under review and substitutes a decision that the penalties imposed upon each of the Applicants are remitted in full pursuant to section 298-20 of Schedule 1 to the Taxation Administration Act 1953 (Cth). The Tribunal otherwise affirms each of the decisions under review.
TAXATION - Withdrawal of funds from superannuation fund contrary to Superannuation Industry (Supervision) Act 1993 (Cth) and the Superannuation Industry (Supervision) Regulations 1994 (Cth) - claimed that this arose due to incorrect advice from an agent - assessment under section 304-10 of the Income Tax Assessment Act 1997 (Cth) - whether discretion in subsection 304-10(4) should be exercised - Commissioner's decision affirmed
SUPERANNUATION - penalties - whether penalties should be remitted pursuant to section 298-20 of Schedule 1 to the Taxation Administration Act 1953 (Cth) - Commissioner's decision set aside and penalties remitted in full
Income Tax Assessment Act 1936 (Cth) former s 26AFB
Income Tax Assessment Act 1997 (Cth) Division 301, Division 302, ss 301-35; 304-10
Superannuation Industry (Supervision) Regulations 1994 (Cth) regs 6.01, 6.17
Taxation Administration Act 1953 (Cth) s 14ZZK, Schedule 1, ss 284-75(6), 298-5, 298-20
Brazil v Federal Commissioner of Taxation [2012] AATA 192
Brooks v Federal Commissioner of Taxation [2019] AATA 1236
Commissioner of Taxation v Ross [2021] FCA 766
Drake v Minister of Immigration and Ethnic Affairs [1979] FCA 39
Drake v Minister for Immigration and Ethnic Affairs (No.2) [1979] ALD 634
Mason v Federal Commissioner of Taxation [2012] AATA 133
Peach v Federal Commissioner of Taxation [2012] AATA 781
Project Blue Sky v Australian Broadcasting Authority (1998) 194 CLR 55
Sinclair v Federal Commissioner of Taxation [2012] AATA 634
Smith v Federal Commissioner of Taxation [2011] AATA 563
Vivian (Deputy Commissioner of Taxation (Superannuation)) v Fitzgeralds (2007) 51 ATR 834
Vuong v Federal Commissioner of Taxation [2014] AATA 402
Wainwright v Federal Commissioner of Taxation [2019] AATA 333
Xiu Xu v Federal Commissioner of Taxation [2013] AATA 855
Yrorita v Federal Commissioner of Taxation [2012] AATA 716
Australian Taxation Office Practice Statement Law Administration PS LA 2020/3 Self-managed superannuation funds - administrative penalties imposed under subsection 166(1) of the Superannuation Industry (Supervision) Act 1993
Australian Taxation Office draft Practice Statement Law Administration PS LA 2021/D3 Superannuation - Commissioner's discretion where members receive benefits in breach of legislative requirements
Explanatory Memorandum to the Superannuation Legislation Amendment Bill (No 4) 1999 (Cth)
Explanatory Memorandum to the Tax Laws Amendment (Simplified Superannuation) Bill 2006 (Cth)
Explanatory Memorandum to the Taxation Laws Amendment Bill (No. 4) 1987 (Cth)
(a) Whether the Applicants have met their burden of proof[3] to demonstrate that discretion in subsection 304-10(4) of the Income Tax Assessment Act 1997 (Cth) ("ITAA 1997") should be exercised. Particularly, whether the Tribunal should be satisfied from the evidence that it is unreasonable for an amount calculated pursuant to section 304-10 to be included in each Applicant's assessable income having regard to the nature of the fund and any other matter considered relevant. > > (b) Whether the Applicants have met their burden of proof to demonstrate that penalties imposed upon the Applicants should not have been imposed or should be remitted in accordance with section 298-20 of Schedule 1 to the Taxation Administration Act 1953 (Cth) ("TAA"). [4]
(a) It is not satisfied that it is appropriate to exercise the discretion in subsection 304-10(4) of the ITAA 1997. > > (b) The Applicants have met their burden of proof to demonstrate that penalties should be fully remitted.
FACTUAL BACKGROUND AND EVIDENCE BEFORE THE TRIBUNAL
Evidence in one proceeding is evidence in the other
Background - Engaging Mr W[6] and establishing a self-managed superannuation fund
Rollover of funds to the SMSF and withdrawal of funds
(a) He did not read the article Mr W provided him beyond the first page (potentially), and instead the Applicants both relied upon what they were told by Mr W. The first Applicant said he still has not read the article. > > (b) Mr W did not provide any written advice to the Applicants. The first Applicant said he did not consider this unusual. He said he had no reason to question Mr W's advice given to him in person. Mr W was a professional adviser. Mr W was older than the Applicants and had been in the advisory business some time, so he had experience. > > (c) Mr W assisted the Applicants to establish the bank account for the SMSF,[23] instructed the service providers that established the Trustee[24] and the SMSF Trust Deed,[25] and arranged everything other than the actual transfer of the funds from their former superannuation funds to the SMSF which the Applicants had to do themselves. > > (d) The Applicants did not read the Trust Deed,[26] the constitution of the Trustee,[27] nor any of the other documents that Mr W presented to them (such as the consent to be a director and an application for the ABN)[28] for signing. They relied upon Mr W's advice that this was what was required and merely signed what was presented. The first Applicant said he did not feel it was necessary to read all of the material. They trusted and relied upon Mr W. The first Applicant said that they still have not read the material.
Engagement between the Applicants and the Commissioner
ISSUE 1: WHETHER THE DISCRETION IN SUBSECTION 304-10(4) OF THE ITAA 1997 SHOULD BE EXERCISED
(a) Subsection 304-10(4) is not narrow in scope, and the "crushing taxation consequences" of section 304-10 can be militated by exercising the discretion in circumstances beyond those specified in the Commissioner's draft practice statement PS LA 2021/D3 Superannuation - Commissioner's discretion where members receive benefits in breach of legislative requirements ("PS LA 2021/D3").[62] > > (b) PS LA 2021/D3 is not consistent with the statutory language and is in draft so should not be relied upon.[63] > > (c) The Applicants' case has similarities to Wainwright v Federal Commissioner of Taxation [2019] AATA 333 ("Wainwright"), particularly the consequences of financial hardship and the Applicants' reliance on external advice.[64] > > (d) Other case law is distinguishable due to the Applicants' hardship, lack of sophistication and reliance on external professional advice. The Applicants were not in effective control due to their reliance on Mr W. The Applicants only drew on funds for financial hardship reasons and not to pay day to day expenses.[65] Hardship is relevant.[66] > > (e) Exercising the discretion does not mean that no tax applies on the withdrawn superannuation benefits. Instead, section 301-35(2) of the ITAA 1997 may apply to tax the benefits at 20% or Divisions 301 and 302 of the ITAA 1997 need to be considered.[67]
(a) The Applicants' case is that it is the errant advice of Mr W that caused the issues, but the Applicants' evidence does not establish what that advice was nor that they relied upon it.[68] > > (b) The ordinary tax consequences of what they did cannot be considered "unreasonable" as required by subsection 304-10(4).[69] Factors which should be considered include that: > > > (i) The Applicants did not read the article they were provided although they had weeks to do so.[70] They still have not read that article. > > > > (ii) The article included statements such as that "[a] superannuation fund is prohibited from providing non-retirement benefits to members and related parties"[71] which is the entire problem in this case. > > > > (iii) The Commissioner considers that the Applicants' evidence as to the advice they received is mistaken, as it should be assumed that Mr W gave advice consistently with the article.[72] There are also suggestions that statements made by the first Applicant to the Commissioner on 23 January 2023 more cogently summarised the likely advice.[73] > > > > (iv) The Applicants did not read the Trust Deed establishing the SMSF nor any of the other documents. The Trust Deed included clauses that also would have put the Applicants on notice. For instance, that the SMSF cannot pay benefits contrary to law.[74] The Commissioner submitted there was no pressure to sign these documents, and also says there were three weeks prior to the first rollover where the Applicants had the opportunity to review the Trust Deed and other documents.[75] > > > > (v) There are a raft of materials available on the Commissioner's website, including material written simply and not technically. The Applicants did not make any efforts to consider that material.[76] > > (c) The Applicants were not relieved of effective control of their actions so that they had no responsibility for them.[77] Mr W was not involved in the rollovers and withdrawals, which the Applicants made. Mere reliance on a professional adviser is insufficient to alleviate the Applicants from their responsibilities. [78] > > (d) The first Applicant misled the Commissioner in the call on 23 January 2023 in order to disguise or deny what he had done.[79] > > (e) PS LA 2021/D3 is reasonable and well-founded and should be applied by the Tribunal.[80] > > (f) The consequences imposed upon the Applicants are the result of their actions and Parliament anticipated the imposition of those consequences. This cannot be considered "unreasonable." It should also be noted that penalties and the shortfall interest charge have been significantly reduced.[81] > > (g) Further, hardship is not a factor that is relevant in this case. Hardship is taken into account and enables access to superannuation benefits in some circumstances,[82] but those circumstances do not apply to the Applicants.[83] > > (h) The case law is not analogous to the Applicants. Wainwright is distinguishable, particularly because the superannuation benefit arose due the events beyond the control of the taxpayer in that case. The Applicants took the steps to withdraw the superannuation benefits themselves.[84] It is not even clear that the steps were the Applicants' last resort.
(a) the superannuation benefit is received by that taxpayer from a complying or previously complying superannuation fund, or the superannuation benefit is attributable to the assets of a complying or previously complying superannuation fund; and > > (b) the fund was not maintained as required by section 62 of the SIS Act or the superannuation benefit was received otherwise in accordance with the payment standards set out in subsection 31(1) of the SIS Act.
(4) However, you do not have to include the amount in your assessable income to the extent that the Commissioner is satisfied that it is unreasonable that it be included having regard to:
(a) for subsection (1) or (2)--the nature of the fund; and
(b) any other matters that the Commissioner considers relevant.
[21] Section 304-10 of the ITAA 1997 was inserted into the ITAA 1997 by the Tax Laws Amendment (Simplified Superannuation) Act 2007 ... The Explanatory Memorandum to the Tax Laws Amendment (Simplified Superannuation) Bill 2006,[88] which introduced the 2007 Act, relevantly states:
Superannuation benefits if there is a breach of statutory requirements
2.81 The taxation arrangements set out in relation to superannuation benefits paid from a complying superannuation fund do not apply where a superannuation fund has not adhered to requirements set out in section 62 of the Superannuation Industry Supervision Act 1993. [Schedule 1, item 1, section 304-5]
2.82 Further, these arrangements do not apply where a person receives an amount or benefit that does not meet the payment standards prescribed under subsection 31(1) or 32(1) of the Superannuation Industry Supervision Act 1993 relating to the operation of regulated superannuation funds and regulated approved deposit funds respectively. This means that where a person receives a superannuation benefit that does not meet these requirements, it must be included as part of his or her assessable income and is therefore subject to marginal tax rates. [Schedule 1, item 1, subsections 304-10(1) and (2)]
2.84 The Commissioner of Taxation ... retains discretion to provide that an amount may be excluded from a person's assessable income and treated as a superannuation benefit where the Commissioner is satisfied that it would be unreasonable not to do so. The Commissioner may have regard to the nature of the superannuation fund, where relevant, and any other matter that he or she may consider to be relevant. [Schedule 1, item 1, subsection 304-10(4)]
[24] Section 304-10 of the ITAA 1997 has evolved from the enactment of a number of similar preceding provisions of the Income Tax Assessment Act 1936 [...], namely: (i) section 26AF of the ITAA 1936, which was enacted in 1980; (ii) section 26AFA of the ITAA 1936, which was enacted in 1984, and (iii) section 26AFB of the ITAA 1936, which was enacted in 1987. Former sections 26AFA(2) and 26AFB(4) of the ITAA 1936 each contained a discretion similar to that which is provided in subsection 304-10(4) of the ITAA 1997.
[25] Former section 26AFB of the ITAA 1936 was inserted into the ITAA 1936 by Taxation Laws Amendment Act (No.4) 1987 .... The Explanatory Memorandum to the Taxation Laws Amendment Bill (No. 4) 1987[89] ... which introduced the 1987 Amendment Act, states:
Clause 11 will insert new section 26AFB in Division 2 of Part III of the Principal Act in order to continue the policy embodied in existing sections 26AF and 26AFA designed to prevent abuse of concessions available to approved funds by payment of excessive or unauthorised benefits, following establishment of the new supervisory arrangements. The new section will ensure that where a taxpayer receives any such benefits from a fund approved by the Insurance and Superannuation Commissioner (or a fund which was formerly approved by the Insurance and Superannuation Commissioner) then the benefits will be subject to tax unless the Commissioner of Taxation is satisfied that this would be unreasonable. As noted above, this section will apply to benefits received from those funds which have at any time obtained tax exemption under section 23FC after Regulations have been made under the Standards Act embodying requirements relating to the level and nature of benefits paid.
New section 26AFB will assume the discretion currently available under section 26AFA in order to ensure that taxpayers are treated appropriately such as where loss of tax exemption by a fund may be regarded as a sufficient penalty for a breach of the relevant standards.
[26] The 1987 EM referred to the discretion in former section 26AFA(2) of the ITAA 1936, as follows:
The Commissioner has indicated that this discretion would be exercised where there are no tax avoidance implications and where the excessive benefit arose fortuitously or in other circumstances beyond the effective control of the recipient or the employer. [Emphasis added]
(a) Smith v Federal Commissioner of Taxation [2011] AATA 563 ("Smith") - the taxpayer's real estate agency was in serious financial trouble. The taxpayer lost the family home as a result of considerable expenses in legal proceedings. The taxpayer's bank advised that it would not extend credit to the real estate business, and suggested it should be put into administration. The taxpayer did not wish to do that, and she accessed a total of $87,000 from her SMSF to preserve the business. The taxpayer argued the discretion in subsection 304-10(4) was unfettered and the overall circumstances supported the view that it was unreasonable for tax to be imposed upon her under section 304-10. The Tribunal held[90] that the context in which subsection 304-10(4) appears and the history of the legislation supports the position that funds in a SMSF are not to be used as a lender of last resort. The Tribunal affirmed the Commissioner's decision.[91] > > (b) Mason v Federal Commissioner of Taxation [2012] AATA 133 ("Mason") - the taxpayer accessed funds in his SMSF early. He had not met any of the conditions of release. When considering subsection 304-10(4) of the ITAA 1997, the Tribunal held[92] that it was not "unreasonable" to include a superannuation benefit paid in breach of the legislation as there were no other consequences that arose (because the Commissioner decided to allow the SMSF to maintain its complying fund status), the taxpayer had not sought to rectify the withdrawals, to apply the discretion would undermine the deterrent effect of section 304-10, and because the superannuation benefit was not beyond the taxpayer's "effective control". > > (c) I specifically note that I agree with the Tribunal's analysis in Mason at [31]-[32]:
[31] Having regard to the above legislative history and context of section 304-10(4) of the ITAA 1997, and the use of the word "unreasonable" in the corresponding discretionary provisions in former sections 26AFA(2) and subsection 26AFB(4) of the ITAA 1936 (as described above), the Tribunal considers that it may be "unreasonable" to include a superannuation benefit paid in breach of the legislative requirements in a persons' assessable income (with the result that it is taxed at marginal tax rates) in circumstances where, for example:
(i) This would be in addition to other taxation consequences which flow from the breach. (For example, a superannuation fund no longer gets the benefit of an exemption or becomes non-compliant for the relevant tax year); and/or
(ii) The benefit arose in circumstances beyond the effective control of the recipient.
[32] However, it will not be "unreasonable" to include a superannuation benefit in a person's assessable income (to be taxed at marginal tax rates) merely because the taxation consequence prescribed by Parliament is difficult for the taxpayer to meet, or is regarded by the taxpayer as undesirable. If this were so, the important deterrent effect of section 304-10 of the ITAA 1997 would be undermined and an unintended taxation benefit would thereby be conferred on the recipient of the payment.
(d) Brazil v Federal Commissioner of Taxation [2012] AATA 192 ("Brazil") - on the advice of friends and being referred to a third party, the taxpayer rolled over his superannuation funds from a fund operated as the AON Master Trust to a fund called Western Eagle Super Fund (NSW) which was registered as a regulated SMSF. The majority of the superannuation funds were then withdrawn by the taxpayer and were not included in his tax returns in the year of rollover or the year of withdrawal. The SMSF filed no returns. The taxpayer claimed he thought the SMSF had retained the remaining funds from the rolled over amount to pay tax on his behalf and as a commission. He claimed the advice he received was he could access his superannuation because of financial hardship. The Tribunal accepted that Western Eagle Super Fund (NSW) was a fraudulent enterprise operated by others.[93] However, subsection 304-10(4) was not applied as the taxpayer should have suspected the SMSF was not a bona fide fund, and he made no effort to find out information as to why he could receive the superannuation funds from Western Eagle Super Fund (NSW) when he could not from the AON Master Trust.[94]
(e) Sinclair v Federal Commissioner of Taxation [2012] AATA 634 ("Sinclair")- the taxpayer established a superannuation fund and rolled over $40,000 from a BT Funds Management complying fund into that new fund. He then accessed $25,517.53 of the funds. This was on the basis of advice received from a promoter. He did not return the $40,000 in his income tax return for that year. The taxpayer thought the remaining amount which comprised 30% of the funds, was withheld to pay tax. He said he was under considerable stress. When considering whether the discretion in subsection 304-10(4) should be exercised, the Tribunal held that facts such as the taxpayer's signing of documents without them being fully completed leaving them to be completed by others, weighed in favour of the discretion not being exercised.[95] In addition, the taxpayer's circumstances, while difficult, were held to insufficient to justify the exercise of the discretion given the purpose of the legislation. The Tribunal held at [73] "[m]ere financial difficulties experienced by members cannot be enough to bring the discretion into play".
(f) Yrorita v Federal Commissioner of Taxation [2012] AATA 716 ("Yrorita") - the taxpayer rolled $53,000 funds out of AustralianSuper into a fund called the ETK Fund which was not a superannuation fund. He withdrew $38,370 to pay off debts, purchase a car and a computer, and gifts, and was advised this was possible. He said he was in hardship due to a marital separation, the need to pay medical expenses for his disabled son, and was unemployed with financial difficulties. He thought the remainder of the funds in AustralianSuper were used to pay tax. The discretion in former subsection 26AFB(4) of the ITAA 1936 was not exercised despite a finding that the taxpayer was in financial difficulties. This was for reasons including because the taxpayer did not make obvious enquiries, did not apply for release on the grounds of financial hardship, and did not disclose the withdrawn amount to his tax agent.[96] The Tribunal said that the taxpayer "thought he had found a way around the legislation"[97]
(g) Peach v Federal Commissioner of Taxation [2012] AATA 781 ("Peach") - the taxpayer accessed funds from his SMSF to fund his partner's yoga studio, and became aware this was not appropriate, and he was required to repay those funds. Despite this, the taxpayer continued to access funds from the SMSF. While some funds were repaid approximately $69,947 was not. It was not appropriate to exercise the discretion in subsection 304-10(4) in the ITAA 1997 in those circumstances. The taxpayer did not exhaust all other alternatives before accessing the funds, nor did he apply for an exception to be applied by the Commissioner (such as severe financial hardship).[98]
(h) Xiu Xu v Federal Commissioner of Taxation [2013] AATA 855 ("Xiu Xu") - the taxpayer was retrenched from her employment immediately before she was due to pay the balance on the purchase of a home. She withdrew funds from her SMSF and did not include that withdrawal in her personal income tax return. While subsection 304-10(4) was not directly considered, the Tribunal commented[99] (relevantly to the Applicants in this case) that where "a taxpayer is uncertain about a tax matter, reasonable care required that they enquire from someone with more specialised knowledge." The Applicants here may contend that they did just that. I consider this case when considering penalties below.
(i) Vuong v Federal Commissioner of Taxation [2014] AATA 402 ("Vuong") - the taxpayer rolled over approximately $114,000 funds from his Equipsuper Superannuation Fund to a new fund. The taxpayer subsequently accessed $81,434, while the remainder was appropriated by the scheme perpetrator, Mr Phuong. The entire $114,000 was assessed to the taxpayer. None of the conditions for release in the SIS Act and SIS Regulations for the taxpayer to receive the payment were met. The taxpayer did as he was advised, signed documents when he was told, and became the unwitting victim of a fraud. This case does not clearly consider the discretion in subsection 304-10(4). However, the Tribunal did not accept that arguments about financial hardship or compassionate grounds met the requirements in Schedule 1 of the SIS Regulations and were relevant.[100] At [34] and [36] the Tribunal recorded:
[34] The applicant was ignorant as to the law and was led to believe that if he rolled over his superannuation from one fund to another, a consequence would be that he would have a lawful entitlement to access it. His ultimate, albeit naïve, objective is not relevant in this context - the fact is that he received the payment when the Equipsuper cheque was deposited in the fraudulent bank account and, being a benefit received otherwise than in accordance with the SIS Regulations, the full amount of that deposit should have been included in his assessable income. [...]
[36] The Tribunal's conclusion that the entire amount of the payment made by Equipsuper formed part of the applicant's assessable income is consistent with decisions previously reached by the Tribunal in Sinclair and Commissioner of Taxation [2012] AATA 634 and also Brazil and Commissioner of Taxation [2012] AATA 192.
(j) In Wainwright the taxpayers, a husband and wife, were members of a SMSF. They purchased a farm using SMSF funds to complete the purchase and SMSF funds to pay stamp duty for that purchase. In order to fund that purchase of the farm the taxpayers also agreed to sell a property owned by the husband to their SMSF for $1.1m. After entering into a contract to sell the husband's property, the SMSF paid $700,000 to the husband, but the taxpayers' financial situation was such that they could not fund the stamp duty due on that sale and they could not complete the sale. Eventually they were forced to sell the farm and all other properties to reduce their debt. The Tribunal held that the discretion in subsection 304-70(4) of the ITAA 1997 should be exercised in favour of the husband, in relation to the year in which $700,000 was received by the husband (but not in relation to other years). This was on the basis that the transaction at issue was at arm's length, the taxpayer had come forward to the Commissioner about it, he had been unable to complete the sale through no fault of his own, the taxpayer had no intention of deceiving, evading or cheating, there were other consequences flowing to the taxpayer and his wife from their actions (particularly disqualification) and the transaction was entered into after receiving professional advice.[101]
(k) Brooks v Federal Commissioner of Taxation [2019] AATA 1236 ("Brooks") - the taxpayer accessed funds from a SMSF which he claimed was by way of loans. The Tribunal found that taxation should be imposed on the taxpayer for these withdrawals under section 304-10, because it did not accept the payments were loans. In addition, while the taxpayer had good intentions to rectify the problem, the principle is that concessions enjoyed by superannuation contributions and earnings cannot continue when funds are withdrawn contrary to the law. A high level of diligence is expected.[102]
This is a Self Managed (sic) Superannuation Fund and maintained to provide benefits in the form of a lump sum payment or an old age pension for its Members upon retirement, and for the Dependants of Members upon the death of the Members. It permits the payment of benefits to other persons connected with Members in certain circumstances. [.....]
The primary (but not necessarily the sole) purpose of this Fund is the provision of benefits to a Member or a Member's Dependant upon retirement or death of a Member.
ISSUE 2: WHETHER THE PENALTIES IMPOSED ON THE APPLICANTS SHOULD BE REMITTED
........................[SGD]..................................
[1] Mr Santavas is referred to as the "first Applicant" and Mrs Santavas is referred to as the "second Applicant" in this decision.
[2] For references to the T documents from the first Applicant, the references will be labelled "HS" and for the second Applicant "VS." T20 (HS), T18 (VS). The Tribunal Book simply inserted these T documents as two document groups, and it is easier to refer to the separate T documents as a result. Where only one set of T documents is referred to, that is because the same document is relevant to the other Applicant.
[3] The burden of proof is set out in paragraph 14ZZK(b) of the TAA, and the standard is on the balance of probabilities. Commissioner of Taxation v Ross [2021] FCA 766 [46].
[4] Some of the grounds raised by the Applicants in their objections dated 30 August 2023 (T21 (HS); T19 (VS)) were not pursued at the hearing and have been conceded. Those issues included contentions that the Commissioner was out of time to issue the assessments at issue, that the shortfall interest charge should be remitted, and that penalties should not be imposed on the Applicants because they are directors of a corporate trustee and not trustees of the relevant fund. The hearing was limited to the issues specified in paragraph 2 above.
[5] The Closing Submissions of the Respondent dated 14 November 2025 ("Commissioner's Closing") [19]. No objection was raised to evidence from the first Applicant as to what the second Applicant thought for example.
[6] Mr W is referred as "Mr W" as he was not called to give evidence at the hearing, was the subject of suggestions about the competence of his advice (including serious allegations that he was 'fraudulent'), and he did not have the opportunity to respond to those claims. Those allegations may or may not be correct and the Tribunal makes no findings about them. In those circumstances, an order pursuant to section 70 of the Administrative Tribunal Act 2024 (Cth) that he be referred to in this manner is issued by the Tribunal alongside this decision.
[7] It is noted that the first Applicant is also described as a "timber labourer;" T13-163 (HS) [17], T14-374 (HS) [r]; T16 -647 (HS) [13.7].
[8] Witness Statement of Harry Santavas dated 3 July 2025 ("First Applicant's Witness Statement") [2]. Witness Statement of Vicki Santavas dated 3 July 2025 ("Second Applicant's Witness Statement") [2]. T13-366 (HS).
[10] First Applicant's Witness Statement [3]. Second Applicant's Witness Statement [3].
[11] Applicants' SFIC [9]. T13-356 (HS). The Applicants' Closing Submissions dated 14 November 2025 ("Applicants' Closing") [20].
[13] T13-177 (HS) - acknowledged by the first Applicant in cross-examination as the article provided to the Applicants by Mr W.
[14] First Applicant's Witness Statement [3]; Second Applicant's Witness Statement [3]. Commissioner's Closing [5] points out that the website is not in evidence.
[17] T13-189 (HS) is the constitution for the Trustee and other relevant documents include T13-399 (HS).
[19] This occurred on 12 February 2019 for the second Applicant $135,000 (T13-268 (HS)) and 20 February 2019 $245,000 for the first Applicant (T13-268 (HS)).
[20] T13-292 to T13-296 (HS). Respondent's Updated Statement of Facts, Issues and Contentions dated 1 August 2025 ("Commissioner's SFIC") [6]-[8]. Respondent's Outline of Submissions dated 17 October 2025 ("Commissioner's Outline") [9]-[12]. Applicants' Amended Statement of Facts Issues and Contentions dated 4 July 2025 ("Applicants' SFIC") [6]-[8]. The transactions of both deposit and withdrawal are set out in the Commissioner's Closing at [7].
[21] The definition of "preservation age" in reg 6.01(2) of the Superannuation Industry (Supervision) Regulations 1994 (Cth) ("SIS Regulations"). Objection Decisions T2-16 [9] (HS); T2-15 [2] (VS).
[22] Commissioner's Outline [12]; T13-292 to T13-296 (HS).
[23] Applicants' SFIC [6]. T13-268 (HS).
[29] Applicants' SFIC [9]. Second Applicant's Witness Statement [4]. First Applicant's Witness Statement [4].
[43] Ibid [16], [17], [18]. It is noted that in each of the Applicants' Objections, Mr W's advice is also described as "fraudulent" T21-745 (HS) [25.3]; T19-669 (VS) [25.3].
[44] Applicants' SFIC [1]-[15] broadly mirror T13-160 [3]-[18].
[46] Commissioner's Closing [21]-[32].
[47] Commissioner's Objection Decision T2 (HS) [11], T2 (VS) [11].
[52] T17 (HS); T15 (VS). It is suggested in the Applicants' SFIC that disqualification occurred earlier than this - 7 May 2023: Applicants' SFIC [10].
[58] On 14 October 2024, the Administrative Appeals Tribunal became the Administrative Review Tribunal. Under the transitional provisions in the Administrative Review Tribunal (Consequential and Transitional Provisions No. 1) Act 2024 (Cth) proceedings that were not finalised before 14 October 2024 are continued and finalised by the Administrative Review Tribunal. Anything done in relation to any such proceeding before 14 October 2024 is taken to have been done by the Administrative Review Tribunal.
[60] Also see Applicants' Closing [6].
[61] These are contraventions of sections 34 and 65 of the SIS Act.
[67] Applicants' Closing [27]. The Commissioner agrees that taxation consequences would still follow: Commissioner's Closing [50]-[54].
[68] Commissioner's Closing [21], [22].
[71] Commissioner's Closing [23], [24].
[72] Commissioner's Closing [24], [55].
[78] Commissioner's Closing [29], [30].
[80] Commissioner's Closing [33]-[36].
[81] Commissioner's Closing [37]-[40].
[82] Regulation 6.01(5) and item 105 of Schedule 1 of the SIS Regulations where there is "severe financial hardship".
[83] Commissioner's Closing [41]-[44].
[84] Commissioner's Closing [46]-[49].
[85] The definition is in section 307-5 of the ITAA 1997.
[87] Ibid [6]. For example, reg 6.17 of the SIS Regulations is a prescribed standard and it requires superannuation benefits to only be provided when a condition of release (such as reaching preservation age) is satisfied.
[88] Referred to as the "2007 EM" in this decision.
[89] Referred to as the "1987 EM" in this decision.
[90] [2011] AATA 563 [21].
[91] [2011] AATA 563 [22].
[92] [2012] AATA 133, [31], [32], [36], [37].
[93] [2012] AATA 192 [25].
[94] [2012] AATA 192 [34].
[95] [2012] AATA 634 [71].
[96] [2012] AATA 716 [31], [32], [44].
[97] [2012] AATA 716 [32].
[98] [2012] AATA 781 [17]-[19].
.[99] [2013] AATA 855 [14].
[100] [2014] AATA 402 [38]-[40].
[101] [2019] AATA 333 [81], [87].
[102] [2019] AATA 1236, [129]-[130].
[103] Drake v Minister of Immigration and Ethnic Affairs [1979] FCA 39 (Full Federal Court); Drake v Minister for Immigration and Ethnic Affairs (No.2) [1979] ALD 634, 636, 641.
[107] Project Blue Sky v Australian Broadcasting Authority (1998) 194 CLR 55 [78]. Pursuant to section 15AA of the Acts Interpretation Act 1901 (Cth) an interpretation that best achieves the object of the legislative provision is to be preferred.
[108] This was recorded in an oft-cited passage from Justice Logan in Vivian (Deputy Commissioner of Taxation (Superannuation)) v Fitzgeralds (2007) 51 ATR 834, 838-839 [25]-[26]. It is also regularly repeated in legislation enacted as part of the superannuation regime. For instance, the Explanatory Memorandum to the Superannuation Legislation Amendment Bill (No 4) 1999 (Cth) states at 5 that the superannuation regime is 'designed to limit the risks associated with superannuation fund investments and to ensure superannuation savings are preserved until retirement and not accessed for current use' (emphasis added).
[116] For instance, subsection 284-75(6) of Schedule 1 to the TAA.
[117] Commissioner's Closing [22]-[25].
[118] Wainwright involved what was concluded to be arm's length investment by the SMSF for example.
[119] Although not directly about the discretion, Vuong also suggests that being naïve as to the law is not an excuse for withdrawing superannuation contrary to the SIS Act and SIS Regulations.
[120] Regulation 6.01(5) and item 105 of Schedule 1 of the SIS Regulations where there is "severe financial hardship". Regulation 6.19A and item 107 of Schedule 1 of the SIS Regulations.
[130] Applicants' Closing Submissions [23].
[131] Section 166 of the SIS Act sets out penalties for the contravention of specified sections in the SIS Act, which include subsection 34(1) and subsection 65(1) which apply to the facts of this case.
[132] See each Position Paper: T14-368 (HS) T12-297 (VS) [18]-[21], [31]-[35], [155]-[161], [172]; each Reasons for Decision T18 (HS) and T16 (VS) [6]-[9], [18], [20]-[21].
[135] Commissioner's Closing [37]-[38] - although this is in the context of submissions about whether the discretion in section 304-10(4) should be exercised.
[136] Commissioner's Outline [53]-[55].
(1998) 194 CLR 55