© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2025] QCA 141
respondent. Leave to appeal sentence is refused.
1 cited instrument linked from this judgment.
The Court of Appeal refused Taylor’s request for permission to appeal his sentence. It considered the total sentence, including the serious violent offence declarations and the date when he could apply for parole. The Court concluded that the sentence was within the sentencing judge’s discretion. It emphasised the planned and serious nature of the home attack, Taylor’s leading role, the severe injury caused, and the fact that earlier remand and probation had not deterred him. The Court also noted that the sentencing judge had taken account of mitigating matters, including Taylor’s early guilty plea, youth and difficult background.
AI-generated legal information, not legal advice. Zoe can make mistakes. Check the cited source, and for advice about your situation consult a qualified Australian lawyer.
2,248 words · generated 07/10/2026
In R v Taylor [2025] QCA 141, the Queensland Court of Appeal considered an application for leave to appeal a sentence imposed in the District Court. Taylor had pleaded guilty to five offences across two indictments. The application was heard on 22 July 2025 and decided on 1 August 2025. Bradley JA gave the reasons, with Mullins P and Brown JA agreeing. The order was: “Leave to appeal sentence is refused” ([26]).
The sentence required Taylor to serve eight years’ imprisonment in total. Its structure was significant. He received seven years for attempted armed robbery in company, concurrently with seven years for grievous bodily harm and 18 months for unlawful entry of a motor vehicle at night with violence. Those three offences were committed on 10 October 2021. The judge declared the attempted armed robbery and grievous bodily harm to be serious violent offences ([5]). Taylor then had to serve a further 12 months for threatening violence at night, cumulatively on the seven-year terms, while a nine-month term for wilful damage was concurrent ([5]). The sentence also accounted for 1,094 days in pre-sentence custody and fixed 12 September 2027 as the date Taylor would be eligible to apply for parole ([6]).
The proposed appeal ground was that the sentence was manifestly excessive ([7]). Taylor advanced two alternative arguments. First, he said the serious violent offence declarations made the sentence excessive because they required him to serve 80 per cent of the seven-year terms before parole eligibility. Alternatively, he argued that fixing parole eligibility at 12 September 2027, rather than 12 May 2027, made the sentence excessive ([8]). The Court assessed those features as parts of the overall sentence, rather than deciding them in isolation.
The most serious offending occurred during a planned attack on people in their home. Taylor was described as the “prime mover”: he organised co-offenders and transport to collect a weapon and reach the scene ([10]). He smashed a window and fired a shotgun into the home to intimidate its occupants and people connected to them ([11]). A young woman was struck by shrapnel through a wall. The judgment records that, without surgery, she would have died, and that she had long-term disabilities and was unable to work. Her mother became her full-time carer ([12]).
The Court also set out the mitigating circumstances identified by the sentencing judge. Taylor was 19, had entered a very early guilty plea, and did not intend to injure anyone when he discharged the shotgun. His upbringing had involved serious family violence; he had limited education and substance-abuse issues; and he had no prior convictions for violent offences ([16]). The Court said the sentencing judge had taken account of the relevant factors, “conflicting and contradictory as they were” ([17]).
The Court’s central reasoning was that the sentence could not be characterised as manifestly excessive in light of the offending and the sentence’s overall operation. The judgment describes the relevant facts as indicating an ongoing risk to the community. When that risk materialised, it resulted in “catastrophic injuries” ([18]). The Court also noted that Taylor had not been deterred by four months on remand or by a lenient probation order. His offending had instead become more serious ([18]).
Those circumstances mattered to the Court’s consideration of the period before parole eligibility. Bradley JA stated that adequate punishment and the protection of the public supported a longer period in actual custody than would otherwise have been required ([18]). This was not presented as a general formula for serious violent offence declarations. It was the Court’s assessment of the particular history and offending before it.
The Court placed particular weight on the planning and seriousness of the attack. It was premeditated; Taylor had organised the group; and the offence involved firing a shotgun into a home at night ([10]–[11]). The victim’s injury was severe and lasting ([12]). The Court also considered that this was the second such attack on consecutive nights, and that both attacks involved firing a shotgun at people in their homes ([13]). Further, Taylor committed the offences about two weeks into a probation order made after extensive property offending ([14]).
The judgment does not suggest that the mitigating factors were overlooked or irrelevant. Rather, it records them and then concludes that the sentencing judge had considered the relevant matters and arrived at a single result ([16]–[17]). The Court’s conclusion was that the seven-year terms for the serious violent offences, the additional 12 months for the earlier night’s offending, and parole eligibility after five years and 11 months in custody did not show a misapplication of principle ([24]).
The key formulation is that the judge’s decision, including the declarations and parole eligibility date “as elements of the whole sentence”, was within sound sentencing discretion ([24]). The Court also said the sentence could not be described as unreasonable or unjust ([24]). It then held that the sentence was not manifestly excessive ([25]). The reasoning is therefore tied to the whole sentencing outcome and the facts recorded in the judgment.
The judgment does not announce a new rule or change the statutory framework. It applies the existing Queensland sentencing framework to a sentence appeal. The footnotes identify the provisions relevant to the sentence’s operation: s 161B(3) of the Penalties and Sentences Act 1992 (Qld) was the basis for the serious violent offence declarations ([5] n 1), s 156(1) governed the cumulative direction ([5] n 2), and s 159A(3)(c) was relied on for declaring pre-sentence custody to be time already served ([6] n 4).
The reasons do not set out the full text of those provisions. Accordingly, the judgment supports a description of how those provisions operated in this sentence, but not a comprehensive account of their requirements or exceptions. On the facts here, the declarations meant that Taylor’s parole eligibility date was calculated by reference to serving 80 per cent of the relevant seven-year terms, and the sentencing judge fixed a date four months later than that calculation would otherwise have produced ([6], [8]).
The Court considered earlier Queensland Court of Appeal decisions cited by the Crown Prosecutor. In Bryan, the Court substituted a six-year sentence for a more lenient sentence for grievous bodily harm; a serious violent offence declaration was warranted, although one had not been sought by the Attorney-General ([20]). In Gadd, the Court upheld an eight-year sentence with a serious violent offence declaration for several violent offences ([21]). In Bennett, the Court upheld an effective eight-year sentence for attempted armed robbery and grievous bodily harm, with parole eligibility after six years ([22]). In Sellies-Cullen, the Court refused leave to appeal a six-year sentence with a serious violent offence declaration for grievous bodily harm ([23]).
These cases provide comparative sentencing context in the judgment. The decision in Taylor does not state that any one of them controls the result, or that sentences for different offences and offenders should be treated as interchangeable. Instead, after summarising them, the Court assessed Taylor’s sentence in its own circumstances and found it within sound discretion ([24]). No change to the law after Taylor can be identified from the supplied judgment.
At [18], the Court said: “These facts suggested adequate punishment and the protection of the public required the applicant to serve a longer period in actual custody before eligibility for parole than would otherwise be required.” In plain English, the Court considered Taylor’s offending and history relevant to how long he should remain in custody before becoming eligible to apply for parole. The passage is part of the Court’s explanation for why the declarations and parole date did not make the sentence excessive.
At [24], Bradley JA said the judge’s decision, “including the declarations and the eligibility date as elements of the whole sentence, was within sound sentencing discretion.” This makes clear that the Court examined the sentence as an integrated outcome. It did not treat the parole eligibility date or serious violent offence declarations as a detached issue that alone determined whether the sentence was excessive.
At [17], the Court observed that the sentencing judge had considered the relevant factors, “conflicting and contradictory as they were”. The plain-English point is that sentencing involved weighing serious aggravating features against substantial mitigating circumstances. The Court accepted that the judge had undertaken that assessment.
At [25], the Court’s conclusion was direct: “In the circumstances, the sentence imposed was not manifestly excessive.” The phrase “in the circumstances” matters. The judgment bases the conclusion on the particular offending, the sentencing considerations recorded, and the sentence’s structure. It does not establish that the same outcome would follow for every case involving a serious violent offence declaration or a similar parole calculation.
The final order at [26] was that leave to appeal sentence was refused. This means the proposed sentence appeal did not proceed to a successful challenge; it does not amount to a fresh sentence being imposed by the Court of Appeal.
The decision is most directly relevant to sentence appeals where an applicant argues that a sentence is manifestly excessive because of the combined effect of the terms of imprisonment, serious violent offence declarations and parole eligibility. It addresses a sentence involving multiple offences across two indictments, concurrent terms for the main offences, a further cumulative term for earlier offending, and a declared period of pre-sentence custody ([5]–[8]).
The factual features that the Court emphasised include a planned attack on people in their home, the offender’s leadership role, the use of a shotgun, severe and lasting harm, repeated similar offending on consecutive nights, and offending soon after the start of a probation order ([10]–[14], [18]). The Court also considered a history in which earlier remand and probation had not deterred the applicant ([18]).
The judgment is also relevant where significant personal mitigation is raised. Taylor was young, pleaded guilty early, had a dysfunctional upbringing and educational disadvantage, and lacked prior violent convictions ([16]). The Court’s approach was not to disregard those matters, but to consider them alongside the seriousness and consequences of the offending ([17]).
The precedent should be read with attention to its limits. It does not say that every planned violent offence warrants a serious violent offence declaration or a particular period before parole eligibility. It does not provide a general sentencing range. Its conclusion depends on the facts and sentence considered by the Court. The earlier cases summarised at [20]–[23] also involved different offenders, offences and sentences, so the judgment uses them as context rather than as identical comparators.
The supplied judgment contains no later judicial treatment of R v Taylor [2025] QCA 141. It was delivered on 1 August 2025, and the material provided does not include decisions after that date. It is therefore not possible, on this source alone, to say whether later courts have followed, distinguished, applied or questioned its reasoning.
Within Taylor itself, the Court considered earlier decisions: Free, Bryan, Gadd, Bennett and Sellies-Cullen ([18]–[23]). In particular, it said the serious violent offence declarations were consistent with the approach explained in Free ([18]). The remaining decisions were summarised as cases involving guilty pleas and serious violent offence declarations, with their outcomes and relevant sentence features recorded ([19]–[23]). The judgment does not state that it overruled or disapproved any of them.
For a research note, the available source supports characterising Taylor as a fact-specific Court of Appeal refusal of leave, with emphasis on evaluating sentence components together. Any account of subsequent treatment would require later judgments not included in the material provided.
The judgment’s reasons are concise and do not reproduce the full statutory text of ss 156, 159A or 161B of the Penalties and Sentences Act 1992 (Qld). It describes how those provisions affected this sentence, but does not resolve broader questions about their operation in other factual settings. For example, the judgment does not give a general account of when a serious violent offence declaration should be made; it records that the judge made declarations for the two most serious offences and explains why the Court considered that result consistent with Free ([9], [18]).
The reasons also do not establish a general method for comparing parole eligibility dates across cases with different combinations of concurrent and cumulative sentences. Taylor argued that the date was excessive, but the Court considered the date as part of the whole sentence and found no misapplication of principle ([8], [24]). The judgment does not separately set out a general test for selecting a parole eligibility date.
Nor does it quantify the relative weight given to each aggravating and mitigating consideration. The Court records the relevant circumstances and accepts that the sentencing judge took account of them ([15]–[17]). It then explains why the serious offending and community-protection considerations supported the sentence ([18]). The judgment does not provide a numerical or formulaic balancing exercise.
Finally, the decision does not determine how a different outcome might follow if the offender’s role, intent, injury caused, prior history, timing of offending, guilty plea or personal circumstances differed. It establishes only that, on the facts before the Court, the sentence was not manifestly excessive and leave to appeal was refused ([24]–[26]).
This is general legal information, not legal advice. Zoe can make mistakes. Before acting on this, relying on it, or using any draft, have a qualified Australian lawyer check it.
Source: Queensland Judgments (Supreme Court Library Queensland) (www.queenslandjudgments.com.au). Converted to plain text by ZoeLaw. Not the official version.
SUPREME COURT OF QUEENSLAND
CITATION: R v Taylor [2025] QCA 141
PARTIES: R / v / TAYLOR, Declan Jay / (applicant)
FILE NO/S: CA No 239 of 2024 / DC No 348 of 2024 / DC No 1096 of 2024
DIVISION: Court of Appeal
PROCEEDING: Sentence Application
ORIGINATING COURT: District Court at Brisbane – Date of Sentence: 10 October 2024 (Farr SC DCJ)
DELIVERED ON: 1 August 2025
DELIVERED AT: Brisbane
HEARING DATE: 22 July 2025
JUDGES: Mullins P, Brown JA and Bradley JA
ORDER: Leave to appeal sentence is refused.
CATCHWORDS: CRIMINAL LAW – APPEAL AND NEW TRIAL – APPEAL AGAINST SENTENCE – GROUNDS FOR INTERFERENCE – SENTENCE MANIFESTLY EXCESSIVE OR INADEQUATE – where the applicant pleaded guilty to five counts across two indictments – where the applicant will serve eight years’ imprisonment for that offending – where the applicant must serve seven years’ imprisonment for attempted armed robbery in company, concurrently with seven years for grievous bodily harm and 18 months for unlawful entry of a motor vehicle at night with violence – where the applicant must then serve, cumulatively on those seven years, another 12 months’ imprisonment for threatening violence at night, while concurrently serving nine months for wilful damage – where the sentencing judge declared the two offences to be serious violent offences – where it was declared that the 1,094 days in pre-sentence custody be deemed time already served under the sentences – whether the sentence imposed is manifestly excessive / Penalties and Sentences Act 1992 (Qld), s 156, s 161B / R v Bennett [2016] QCA 31, considered / R v Bryan; Ex parte Attorney-General (Qld) (2003) 137 A Crim R 489; [2003] QCA 18, considered / R v Free; Ex parte Attorney-General (Qld) (2020) 4 QR 80; [2020] QCA 58, considered / R v Gadd [2013] QCA 242, considered / R v Sellies-Cullen [2023] QCA 247, considered
COUNSEL: D M Caruana for the applicant / M A Gawrych for the respondent
SOLICITORS: Guest Lawyers for the applicant / Director of Public Prosecutions (Queensland) for the respondent
MULLINS P: I agree with Bradley JA.
BROWN JA: I agree with Bradley JA.
BRADLEY JA: The applicant seeks leave to appeal a sentence imposed on 10 October 2024 in the District Court in respect of five counts across two indictments.
The sentence
The effect of the sentence is that the applicant will serve a total of eight years’ imprisonment and will be in custody for five years and 11 months before he will be eligible to apply for a parole order. The sentence has this effect due to its components and the parole eligibility date.
The applicant must serve seven years’ imprisonment for attempted armed robbery in company, concurrently with seven years for grievous bodily harm and 18 months for unlawful entry of a motor vehicle at night with violence. He committed these three offences on 10 October 2021. The sentencing judge declared each of the first two of the 10 October 2021 offences to be a serious violent offence.1 Cumulatively on those seven years,2 the applicant must then serve another 12 months’ imprisonment for threatening violence at night, while concurrently serving nine months for wilful damage. He committed these two offences very early on 9 October 2021.
The applicant had spent 1,094 days in pre-sentence custody.3 The sentencing judge declared this period of almost three years to be imprisonment already served under the sentence imposed.4 His Honour fixed 12 September 2027 as the date the applicant would be eligible for parole. His Honour explained this date was four months after the date when the applicant will have served 80 per cent of the seven-year concurrent sentences for the two serious violent offences.
The proposed ground of appeal
If granted leave, the applicant would pursue his appeal on the ground that the sentence imposed was manifestly excessive.
For the applicant, two alternative approaches were argued. First, the applicant contended that the serious violent offence declarations rendered the sentence manifestly excessive, due to the consequence that he must serve 80 per cent of the seven-year terms in custody before he will be eligible for parole. In the alternative, he contended that the extension of his parole eligibility date beyond 12 May 2027 to 12 September 2027, rendered the sentence manifestly excessive. These identified aspects of the sentence, one or other of which it is said rendered it manifestly excessive, are the applicant’s alternative proposals for the Court to adopt, were it to set aside the sentence imposed and resentence the applicant afresh.
The sentence in the relevant circumstances
The sentencing judge made the serious violent offence declarations about the applicant’s two most serious offences.
The applicant committed them at about 11.00 pm on 10 October 2021, during an attack, in company on people in their home. It was premeditated. The applicant was the prime mover. He had organised a team of co-offenders, as well as transport for him to collect the weapon and arrive with the co-offenders at the scene.
This offending involved the applicant smashing a window, to draw attention, and discharging a shotgun into the home to strike fear and intimidate the occupants and persons connected to the occupants. He fired the shotgun in front of a woman who lived in the home with her daughter. He did so without care for persons out of sight who might be seriously injured.
When he discharged the shotgun, the applicant caused grievous bodily harm to a young woman who happened to be at home. She was struck, through a wall, by the shrapnel the applicant discharged into the house when he fired the shotgun. But for surgical intervention, she would have died. She has long-term disabilities. She is unable to work. She suffers from anxiety, depression and lasting consequences of the injury. Her mother, before whom the applicant discharged the shotgun, is required to act as a full-time carer for her daughter.
It was the applicant’s second such attack over consecutive nights. All those offences were before the sentencing judge. Each was committed in an attack in the middle of the night on people in their home, involving the applicant firing a shotgun.
The applicant committed all these offences about two weeks into a probation order, which had been made in respect of his persistent and prolific property offending involving breaking into multiple homes and stealing, including ten homes while on bail for earlier house breaking, and a “ram raid” on a pharmacy to steal medication and money. He had spent 120 days on remand before the probation order was made.
The formulation of the sentence
The sentencing judge identified the above relevant facts and circumstances of the applicant’s offending.
His Honour then identified the mitigating factors. These included the applicant’s very early guilty plea, and his youth at 19 years old. The applicant did not intend the discharge of the shotgun to injure someone. He caused the injuries by “criminal negligence”. The applicant had no prior convictions for violent offences. He had a prejudicial and dysfunctional upbringing, involving exposure to serious family violence at an early age, limited education, not having completed primary school, and substance abuse.
It is clear from the sentencing remarks that the sentencing judge took due account of all those relevant factors, conflicting and contradictory as they were, and arrived at a single result.
Was the sentence manifestly excessive?
The circumstances of the applicant’s offending suggested he posed an ongoing risk to the community. It was a risk that, when realised, had resulted in the catastrophic injuries to a young woman. He had not been deterred by four months on remand or by a lenient probation order. Rather, his offending had become more serious. These facts suggested adequate punishment and the protection of the public required the applicant to serve a longer period in actual custody before eligibility for parole than would otherwise be required. The sentencing judge’s decision to declare the two serious violent offences was consistent with the approach explained by the Court in R v Free; Ex parte Attorney-General (Qld) [2020] QCA 58 at [53].
The Crown Prosecutor referred the sentencing judge to the sentences upheld or imposed by this Court in R v Bryan; Ex parte Attorney-General (Qld) [2003] QCA 18, R v Gadd [2013] QCA 242, R v Bennett [2016] QCA 31, and R v Sellies-Cullen [2023] QCA 247. Each involved a guilty plea to one or more offences declared to be serious violent offences.
In Bryan, the Court set aside a more lenient sentence5 for grievous bodily harm, and substituted a sentence of six years’ imprisonment. The Court agreed a serious violent offence declaration was warranted, but no declaration had been sought by the Attorney-General. The applicant was 21 years old at the time of the offending.
In Gadd, the Court upheld a sentence of eight years’ imprisonment with a serious violent offence declaration for burglary by breaking with violence while armed and in company, malicious act with intent, and armed robbery in company with wounding. The applicant was 43 years old when he was sentenced by the primary judge.
In Bennett, the Court upheld an effective sentence of eight years’ imprisonment for attempted armed robbery with personal violence and grievous bodily harm, with a parole eligibility date fixed after serving six years’ imprisonment. The applicant was 28 years old at the time of the offending.
In Sellies-Cullen, the Court refused leave to appeal against a sentence of six years’ imprisonment, with a serious violent offence declaration, for grievous bodily harm. The applicant was 18 years old at the time of the offending.
In this context, the sentence of seven years for the applicant’s serious violent offences, and 12 months for the previous night’s offending, with a parole eligibility date after five years and 11 months in custody, does not suggest a misapplication of principle. The sentencing judge’s decision, including the declarations and the eligibility date as elements of the whole sentence, was within sound sentencing discretion. It could not be described as unreasonable or unjust.
Leave to appeal sentence is refused.
Pursuant to Penalties and Sentences Act 1992 (Qld) (PSA), s 161B(3). ↩
This is the effect of the sentencing judge’s direction pursuant to PSA, s 156(1). ↩
From 12 October 2021 to 9 October 2024. ↩
Pursuant to PSA, s 159A(3)(c). ↩
Four years’ imprisonment suspended after 12 months, with an operational period of five years. ↩
R
Taylor [2025] QCA 141
Leave to appeal sentence is refused.
In the circumstances, the sentence imposed was not manifestly excessive.
I would order: