[2025] WASC 391
General information, not legal advice.
Supreme Court of WA
2025-09-19
Seaward J
Original judgment source is linked above.
(a) it is not clear that the remaining documents serve a legitimate forensic purpose;
(b) if the court is satisfied that there is a legitimate forensic purpose, WorkCover further objects on the grounds of public interest immunity; and
(c) if the court is satisfied that the public interest favours inspection, WorkCover submits that it is appropriate for a confidentiality regime to be put in place.
(a) all documents relating to WorkCover WA's 'proper assessment' of QBE's premiums (within the meaning of s 154(4) of the Worker's Compensation and Injury Management Act 1981 (WA) (rep) (former Act) and / or the reasonableness of such premiums proposed by QBE (within the meaning of WorkCover WA's policies) and the extent to which WorkCover WA's assessments and determination were required to reasonably compensate QBE in relation to the Policy in respect of the relevant Period; and
(b) all documents comprising any actuarial model used by WorkCover WA when considering Loading Applications in relation to the Policy in respect of the Relevant Period or when making the assessments or determinations referred to in the preceding paragraph.
(a) affidavit of Rebecca Harris, General Manager, Regulatory Services at WorkCover affirmed 23 June 2025;
(b) affidavit of Rebecca Harris, affirmed 8 July 2025; and
(c) affidavit of Kevin Gillingham, Manager of Policy and Legislative Services at WorkCover, affirmed 23 June 2025.
(a) the nature and context of the entity;
(b) the recommended premium rate for the industry or industries of the employer;
(c) the insurer's underwriting process, methodology and rationale in determining the proposed premium;
(d) whether the employer was afforded reasonable opportunity to source alternative quotes from other insurers, and the outcome of the quotes; and/or
(e) any information relevant to the claim experience of the employer.
(a) the number of cumulative claim reports for the employer;
(b) the number of active claims for the employer;
(c) the value of cumulative claim payments for the employer;
(d) the insurer's value of outstanding case estimates for the employer;
(e) the value of declared wages for employees within that ANZSIC code with the employer for that policy period; and
(f) the value of premium charged by the insurer.
(a) the WorkCover WA Board would likely be faced with a significant increase in premium review applications arising from misuse or miscalculation by parties and the input of incorrect data; and
>
> (b) this scenario would, in turn, undermine the intent of WorkCover WA's role in determining what a fair and reasonable premium is in an employer's specific circumstances, and capacity to modify the effect of market forces.
(a) the integrity of WorkCover WA's legislated premium loading and review process can no longer be relied upon to produce independent outcomes for the Western Australian community;
(b) WorkCover WA should change its approach to premium reviews (noting the premium loading process has been discontinued under the 2023 Act and the premium review process and criteria has changed); and
(c) WorkCover WA needs to urgently brief a new Scheme Actuary to prepare a replacement actuarial model with the attendant cost in time and resources involved in doing so to the Western Australian public.
Relevant legal principles The court's jurisdiction
On a request by the addressee, a party or any other person with a sufficient interest, the Court may, by order -
(a) set aside a subpoena or part of it; or
(b) make or vary directions in relation to removing from and returning to the Court, and the inspection, copying and disposal, of any document or thing that has been or is to be produced under it; or
(c) grant other relief in respect of it.
(a) Order 36B r 8A(2) ... provides that on a request by a party, the court may set aside a subpoena or part of it;
(b) the court will set aside a subpoena if it has no legitimate forensic purpose. In determining whether a subpoena has a legitimate forensic purpose, the court will consider whether there is a reasonable possibility or 'it is on the cards' that the documents sought in the subpoena will materially assist the claim or the defence of the proceedings or are relevant to an issue in the proceedings. A document may provide material assistance even if it is not admissible in the proceedings;
(c) a legitimate forensic purpose extends to material which may relate to the cross-examination of a witness, including documents which relate only to credit;
(d) in determining whether the documents have apparent relevance to the issues in the proceedings, the court must consider the issues that potentially arise on the pleadings, including the particulars that have been provided;
(e) the court will set aside a subpoena where the subpoena is an abuse of the process of the court. A subpoena may be an abuse of process where it may be characterised as 'fishing', being used for the purpose of obtaining discovery against a third party, or oppressive;
(f) in determining whether a subpoena is properly regarded as fishing, I have had regard to the statement of Owen J in Associated Dominions Assurance Society Pty Ltd v John Fairfax & Sons Pty Ltd:
A 'fishing expedition', in the sense in which the phrase has been used in the law, means, as I understand it, that a person who has no evidence that fish of a particular kind are in a pool desires to be at liberty to drag it for the purpose of finding out whether there are any there or not. If, however, there is material before the court pointing to the probability that a party to litigation has in his possession documents tending to destroy his case or support the case of his opponent and that privilege from inspection of such documents has been wrongly claimed, an application by that opponent to be allowed to inspect them cannot properly be described as a mere 'fishing expedition'.
(g) the fact that documents which are the subject of a subpoena may also be sought in discovery does not, of itself, mean that the subpoena is an abuse of process.
(a) would disclosure be contrary to the public interest?;
(b) is the document relevant to a contentious issue in the case?; and
(c) (if the answer to both (a) and (b) is yes) whether the competing interests nonetheless require disclosure?
(a) the plaintiff and the defendant entered into various workers compensation insurance contracts dated between 2017 and 2022;
(b) a term of each of the policies was that the defendant would pay to the plaintiff a premium, including any adjustment premium, due to the plaintiff and calculated in accordance with the terms of the policies;
(c) the defendant was required to pay an initial renewal premium which would be calculated based on an estimate provided by the defendant of the remuneration that it expected to pay to its workers during the relevant policy period;
(d) the defendant was then required to provide statements of the aggregate amount of all remuneration actually paid during the relevant policy period within one month from the expiry of that relevant period;
(e) if the total remuneration paid differed from the estimated information provided by the defendant, the defendant was required to pay any further adjusted premium to the plaintiff;
(f) the defendant provided the required remuneration estimates to the plaintiff;
(g) the plaintiff applied to WorkCover for approval to load the defendant's premiums in excess of 75% of the recommended premium rate in respect of the policy years 2017, 2019, 2020, 2021 and 2022. Those approvals were granted by WorkCover in respect of certain industry classifications;
(h) in purported compliance with its obligation to provide the aggregate amount of all remuneration actually paid, the defendant provided the plaintiff with aggregate information for the 2017, 2018 and 2021 policy years. However, the plaintiff pleads that, in breach of the contracts, the defendant did not in fact provide any of the aggregate amount of remuneration paid for each of the 2017, 2018, 2019 or 2020 policy years;
(i) the actual remuneration paid by the defendant to its employees for each of the 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020 policy years was higher than the estimate previously provided. The plaintiff then, in accordance with the terms of the policies, calculated an adjustment premium ($1,305,866.34) due to the plaintiff for each of those policy years. The defendant has refused to pay the adjustment premiums despite demand;
(j) following the provision by the defendant of the aggregate remuneration for the 2021 policy year, the plaintiff calculated the two adjustment premiums for the 2021 policy year (a total of $2,063,248.51). The defendant has refused to pay the adjustment premiums despite demand; and
(k) following the provision by the defendant of the aggregate remuneration for the 2022 policy year, the plaintiff calculated the adjustment premium for the 2022 policy year ($213,253.54). The defendant has refused to pay the adjustment premium despite demand.
(a) the defendant accepts that the plaintiff and the defendant entered into various workers compensation insurance contracts dated between 2017 and 2022;
(b) a term of each of the policies was that the plaintiff would charge a premium calculated using a premium rate not more than 75% in excess of the premium rate recommended by WorkCover for the industry or industries in which the defendant was engaged in business;
(c) it was also a term of the policies that the premium payable by the defendant under that agreement would be calculated on the amount estimated by the defendant as being payable by the defendant to workers and contractors engaged or to be engaged by the defendant during the term of that policy;
(d) the defendant was then obliged to provide a statement of the total amounts paid by the defendant to workers and contractors engaged by the defendant during the term of that agreement within one month of the expiration of that agreement and the premium payable by the defendant under the agreement would thereafter be adjusted to reflect the amounts actually paid by the defendant to workers and contractors during the term of that agreement;
(e) the defendant admits that it neglected to provide statements of the total amounts paid by the defendant to workers and contractors within one month of the expiration of the 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020 and 2021 policy periods;
(f) the defendant pleads that the plaintiff knew of the defendant's failure to provide these statements shortly after each statement was due;
(g) the plaintiff then charged the defendant an increased premium above the recommended premium rate. That increased premium was sometimes less than an amount in excess of 75% of the recommended premium rate. However, on some occasions it was a premium loading of an amount in excess of 75% of the recommended premium rate, and it was charged without the prior approval of WorkCover, in contravention of s 152 of the former Act;
(h) the plaintiff then applied to WorkCover for approval to increase the premium rate in excess of 75% of the premium rate recommended by WorkCover applicable to the defendant in respect of the 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021 and 2022 policy agreements;
(i) when the plaintiff applied to WorkCover, the plaintiff did so knowing that the defendant had not provided the statements within one month of the expiration of each of the relevant agreements; without having exercised its right under the contract to review the defendants' documents; and without having told WorkCover of these two matters;
(j) further, when the plaintiff applied to WorkCover, the plaintiff, in support of its applications asserted, in effect:
that the defendant's claims history and the plaintiff's profit margin on each agreement justified very large increases in the premium rate recommended by WorkCover WA for the industries in which the defendant was engaged, when the plaintiff's assessment of the defendant's claims history and the plaintiff's profit margin on each agreement was detrimentally affected by the understatement of the total amounts paid by the defendant to Workers and Contractors engaged by the defendant during the term of each of those agreements and in circumstances where the plaintiff would subsequently seek to make adjustments for the total amounts paid by the defendant to Workers and Contractors engaged by the defendant during the terms of each of those agreements;
(k) WorkCover then approved the plaintiff charging 'substantially higher' premiums;
(l) the plaintiff's intent in making each of the applications to WorkCover, and WorkCover's purpose in approving each of the applications, was to ensure that the plaintiff received an adequate return on each of the agreements;
(m) the plaintiff then adjusted the premium payable by the defendant in respect of each of the relevant agreements in accordance with the higher premium rate approved by WorkCover;
(n) the above conduct was in trade or commerce;
(o) in those circumstances, the conduct of the plaintiff in obtaining the premium loading approval, and then charging the adjusted premium rates to the defendant based on the updated figures, was conduct that contravened s 21 of the Australian Consumer Law in that it was unconscionable conduct in the supply of services; and
(p) the defendant has suffered loss and damage as a result of this unconscionable conduct as the defendant will be liable to pay amounts in excess of what is fairly due under each of the 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021 and 2022 agreements.
Legitimate forensic purpose The parties' submissions
(a) there is a risk that if the parties have access to the subpoena documents, the parties might be able to reverse engineer the workings and calculations of the WorkCover actuarial model and use that analysis to forecast outcomes in future premium negotiations or employer appeals;
(b) if the plaintiff itself has access to the subpoena documents they would have a competitive advantage over the other insurers in the scheme;
(c) if all insurers have access to the subpoena documents, there could be a significant inflationary effect on premiums and premium negotiations; and
(d) given the risks identified in (a) - (c) above, and the fact that the actuarial model is still used today by WorkCover, if the subpoena documents were disclosed, the WorkCover Board may need to change its approach to employer appeals and urgently brief a new scheme actuary to prepare a replacement actuarial model, which would cost additional money and have time implications for upcoming reviews and the system generally.
(a) to the extent WorkCover is expressing a concern that the disclosure of the subpoena documents may result in a degree of collusion between stakeholders in the market to undercut premium pricing, and that this may push premiums to a point of being unaffordable, the defendant accepts this is a risk that would properly concern WorkCover. The defendant accepts that a stable workers compensation insurance market is of public concern. However, the defendant submits that it is then a matter of balancing this risk with the public interest in documents relevant to litigation being accessible to the parties;
(b) WorkCover has not clearly articulated the extent to which misuse of the actuarial model could occur from the spread sheets alone;
(c) the present legislative regime is very different to that in The Australian Statistician v Leighton Contractors Pty Ltd[12] and there are no similar confidentiality provisions in the former Act or the 2023 Act, and not the same situation arising where information is provided by participants in the market based on statutory confidentiality provisions; and
(d) if there are risks associated with the disclosure of the subpoena documents, those risks only exist if there is unrestricted disclosure of the subpoena documents, and the risks can be managed by a restricted inspection regime consisting of inspection to the parties' lawyers and experts only, in the security of the court registry and subject to a confidentiality regime in similar form to that in Global Smart Cities Pty Ltd v City of Wanneroo [No 3].[13]
(a) would disclosure be contrary to the public interest?;
(b) is the document relevant to a contentious issue in the case?; and
(c) (if the answer to both (a) and (b) is yes) whether the competing interests nonetheless require disclosure?
I certify that the preceding paragraph(s) comprise the reasons for decision of the Supreme Court of Western Australia.
[1] Jensen v Nationwide News Pty Ltd [No 6] [2018] WASC 415 [26].
[2] Hongkong Xinhe International Investment Co Ltd v Bullseye Mining Ltd [No 4] [2021] WASC 287 [11].
[3] Simon Dirk Kenworthy-Groen as Administrator of the Estate of William Grove v Grove [2022] WASCA 120 [51].
[4] Stanley v Layne Christensen Co [2004] WASCA 50 [9].
[5] Simon Dirk Kenworthy-Groen as Administrator of the Estate of William Grove v Grove [2022] WASCA 120 [53].
[6] The Australian Statistician v Leighton Contractors Pty Ltd [2008] WASCA 34; (2008) 36 WAR 83.
[7] The Australian Statistician v Leighton Contractors Pty Ltd [2008] WASCA 34; (2008) 36 WAR 83 [33].
[8] Kirby v Prisoners Review Board [No 2] [2010] WASC 280 [10] ‑ [14].
[9] Kirby v Prisoners Review Board [No 2] [2010] WASC 280 [5] ‑ [6].
[10] Australian Statistician v Leighton Contractors Pty Ltd [2008] WASCA 34; (2008) 36 WAR 83 [46].
[11] Jensen v Nationwide News Pty Ltd [No 6] [2018] WASC 415 [51].
[12] The Australian Statistician v Leighton Contractors Pty Ltd [2008] WASCA 34; (2008) 36 WAR 83.
[13] Global Smart Cities Pty Ltd v City of Wanneroo [No 3] [2023] WASC 395, Annexure A.
(1993) 176 CLR 604
(2008) 36 WAR 83