austlii:nsw/NSWPIC/2025/338
General information, not legal advice.
NSWPIC
2025-06-26
Original judgment source is linked above.
"The claimant, Angelina Photisenh was refused the reimbursement of Uber travel cost. The insurer AAMI has the view that she can walk and use the public transport. However, our family doctor and the specialist have a different professional opinion as per medical papers attached."
(a) the claimant is entitled to statutory benefits for treatment and care and travel associated with such treatment and care under s 3.24 [4];
(b) treatment and care is defined to include rehabilitation as well as education [5];
(c) the definition of rehabilitation is cited [6];
(d) the ability to obtain an education is a means to obtain maximum independent living, full physical, mental, social and vocational ability, and full inclusion and participation in life. Rehabilitation does not have a medical basis [7];
(e) education is not defined in the Act or the Regulation and is not restricted and travel to and from school is part of the claimant's education [7] and [8];
(f) travel to and from school would be covered by the definitions of both rehabilitation and education and are therefore treatment and care [9], [14] and [15];
(g) if not a statutory benefit, then the cost of travelling to and from school would be a form of damages under s 4.5(1)(b) [10]-[12], and
(h) the claimant's treatment providers say that the claimant had difficulties walking and getting on and off a public bus [13].
(a) the insurer agrees the matter is a miscellaneous claims assessment matter under Schedule 2(3)(n)[1];
(b) the travel expenses in issue fall within the definition of "rehabilitation" in the MAI Act. After citing at [3] the definition, the insurer relies on a decision of Fowler v Youi Pty Limited (Fowler)[7] where I had said that rehabilitation is a process that has a beginning and an end. The insurer says in this case the process of rehabilitation ended before 9 September 2024 when the insurer declined to pay further Uber expenses [4];
(c) the insurer refers at [6] to the Kairros case conference summary of 2 July 2024, at [5] the 23 July 2024 report of Ms Trotter, at [8] the further case conference report and at [9] Dr Pham's 14 August 2024 certificate;
(d) the insurer submits at [9] that as of 14 August 2024, the claimant's rehabilitation in relation to her travel to and from school was complete and her entitlements to expenses related to that travel was concluded;
(e) if there is a dispute about whether the claimant needs further rehabilitation of her ability to travel to and from school by private car as opposed to public transport, that is a medical assessment matter [10];
(f) the insurer refers at [11] to the surgery on 1 October 2024, the case conference on 11 February 2025 [12] and at [13] to the rehabilitation case closure report of 12 February 2025 and says that the claimant's overall rehabilitation ceased as of 11 February 2025;
(g) the insurer says at [15]-[16] that travel expenses beyond 14 August 2025 are not reasonable and necessary in the circumstances and not related to the injury caused by the accident, and
(h) the insurer submits that the travel expenses incurred in getting to and from school are not travel expenses incurred in order to obtain treatment [17]. The insurer says at [19] that while education is listed in s 1.4 as one of the types of treatment and care in the definition, the claimant's school-based education is not a form of treatment and is not a statutory benefit payable by the insurer and therefore travel to it is not permitted by s 3.24(1)(b) or (c) [20].
(a) the insurer had previously approved private transport to and from school and elsewhere on the basis that transport assistance was a form of "attendant care service" and this issue had not been raised by the insurer or by Mr Mantakul in the proceedings, and
(b) the list of travel expenses claimed now provided by the insurer was extensive and it was unclear what had been paid and what had not been paid and therefore what precisely was in dispute.
(a) the claimant's appointed representative had not provided accounts and receipts for travel to and from school after 9 September 2024 (when the insurer denied the claim) but maintained that travel to and from school by private transport after that date was necessary in the light of the claimant's injuries;
(b) the claimant's legal representative drafted the submissions dated 17 March 2025. Mr Mantakul said he did not know a great deal about the scheme and did not know about attendant care services and relied on the solicitor's advice;
(c) the insurer had approved previous requests for private transport services to and from school in internal review decisions dated 10 April and 8 July 2024 on the basis transport services were a form of attendant care;
(d) the insurer maintained that the expenses related to travel to and from school were not a form of attendant care or personal assistance services, and
(e) the expenses claimed and paid were a form of rehabilitation expense at the time but the expenses incurred after 9 September 2024 were not payable because the claimant's rehabilitation had ceased at that time.
(a) the claimant sustained a right sided femoral fracture and has been under the care of Dr Athreya with her next follow-up in May;
(b) she was due to start Kindergarten shortly and "she is not limited from participating in any activities";
(c) the claimant's mother was concerned about her daughter's walking and how she would manage at school and said Angelina limped when she gets tired;
(d) the claimant had a regular gait and had "slight in-toeing of her right leg" which was not interfering with function, she could manage stairs and move from the floor to standing and sitting without issue. She could jump and needed assistance to hop on her right leg, and
(e) she had "below age-appropriate catching, throwing and kicking skills".
"I agree with you that Angelina is quite independent and has great mobility to get around herself. In terms of being able to stand [on] public transport, I would actually be more concerned with her falling over rather than the endurance needed to stand for the whole duration (at least that what I assumed from your email).
I am definitely supportive of her use for public transport and will assess how her dynamic and static balance is, in a simulated public transport environment to ensure that she is safe for use. I will let you know how she goes."
"Miss Angelina is in recovering stage of bilateral-femur facture, sustained in an MVA on 18 July 2023.
Angelina still needs to have further follow up and treatment and Children Hospital.
Currently Angelina is still suffering from walking long distances, she experiences bilateral leg pain when walking more than 10 metres.
I think she should have supported transport such as taxi, or uber when visiting doctor or hospital."
"He indicated that normal bumps, falls and play were not a concern. The [nominated treating surgeon] was in support of OT assessment to clear Angelina to catch the bus."
"...was to determine Ms Angelina Phothisenh's ability to independently complete all tasks required to allow her to safely and age appropriately-independently catch the bus to/from school as required. Given Ms Phothisenh's young age (5 years old), she would not be catching the bus independently irrespective of her injury."
(a) the claimant walked with her mother to the bus stop crossing a "very busy road";
(b) the route was about 300 m taking a "short cut" through a Buddhist temple;
(c) the claimant's mother waited with the claimant and identified the bus;
(d) no concerns were raised or reported as they transferred onto and then off the bus;
(e) the claimant's mother tapped on and off with an Opal card;
(f) no concerns were raised or reported as they moved to find a vacant seat or as they moved to get off the bus;
(g) the claimant's mother was encouraged to ask the bus driver for assistance if a seat could not be found;
(h) the claimant's mother was able to identify the correct stop to get off at, and
(i) the school was 120 m from the bus stop to the front gate and 50 m from the gate to where the claimant waits for her class.
"Education was provided regarding slight pain not being a significant reason to cease an activity, given otherwise good technique and nil other concerns being observed. Education regarding Ms Phothisenh's increase in walking capacity/tolerance being linked to increased functional trials of walking tasks as Ms Phothisenh continues to gain strength and confidence."
"During the case conference, Dr Pham acknowledged my travel assessment report, and my conclusion (with support from the NTS) that there were no physical restrictions to Angelina returning to bus travel with her usual level of supervision.
Dr Pham asked Mum Anita what she thought about this. Anita advised she still feels that bus travel is unsafe and Angelina requires an Uber to/from school 5 days a week, and to the shops on the weekend.
Dr Pham then provided her medical opinion that there are no physical restrictions for Angelina, as she has healed from the previous fracture. This means Angelina should return to all her usual activities like other kids her age, including the ability to catch the bus with her usual supervision.
Anita continued to disagree that this was safe for Angelina, and Dr Pham advised Anita to take this up with her lawyers if she wanted, but that she would support a lifting of any restrictions for travel (with nil physical restrictions remaining in any capacity) for Angelina."
"This is a support letter to state that Angelina still experiences pain and discomfort when walking long distances, including taking public transport and walking to and from school and to medical appointments. She would benefit from private transport to minimise the distance she has to walk."
(a) the claimant was reviewed with her mother and grandmother;
(b) she was in no pain, the wounds had healed, and she had a normal gait pattern;
(c) she required a short course of physiotherapy as "muscles were accessed to remove the plate", and
(d) she could return to normal activities but no organized contact sports for six weeks.
"Today I have consulted Mis Angelina Phothisenh with her mother in present.
Angelina has recovered well from the last operation in October 2024. She has been reviewed post op by Dr Prasad Athreya - the orthopaedic specialist.
Angelina can now resume normal school activities but was advised to avoid organized contact sport."
(a) that the claimant has recovered well and has been certified by her GP to resume normal school activities avoiding contact sports;
(b) that the claimant can take public transport to and from school with her mother;
(c) has no mood issues and reported "occasional back soreness ...[which was] bearable and reduced with rest", and
(d) has been advised that a plastic surgeon would not consider revising the scar until the claimant was older
PRELIMINARY ISSUES AS TO POWER AND JURISDICTION
(a) from 4 April 2024 to 27 May 2024 - 11 trips totaling $690;
(b) from 28 May 2024 to 12 June 2024 - 13 trips totaling $690;
(c) from 13 June 2024 to 11 July 2024 - 24 trips totaling $1,480;
(d) from 2 July 2024 to 2 January 2025 - 13 trips totaling $1,400;
(e) from 6 July 2024 to 12 August 2024 - 21 trips totaling $1,320;
(f) from 11 July 2024 to 18 February 2025 - 6 trips totaling $780, and
(g) from 8 January 2025 to 12 March 2025 - 6 trips totaling $480;
(a) Medical Assessors who determine whether treatment and care is reasonable and necessary and related to the accident, and
(b) Merit Reviewers who determine amongst other things, whether the cost of treatment and care is reasonable and whether expenses have been properly verified.
What is the appropriate pathway for resolution of this dispute?
(a) the Member determines whether the treatment in dispute is a form of treatment and care within the definition - if it is not - that is the end of the matter, and no further dispute resolution is required;
(b) if the disputed treatment is found to come within the statutory definition and there is a dispute about whether it is reasonable and necessary and related to the injuries caused by the accident, then the Member refers that matter for medical assessment pursuant to s 7.20(1)(b), and
(c) if the Medical Assessor allows the treatment and there remains a dispute about the cost of the allowed treatment, then that dispute will proceed either by way of another application by the claimant or, if the Member holds a dual appointment, the member can "change hats" and determine that dispute in their role as a Merit Reviewer.
Is attendance at school a type of treatment and care?
Is the travel to school a form of rehabilitation and therefore treatment and care?
"... the process of enabling or attempting to enable the person to attain and maintain -
(a) the maximum level of independent living, and
(b) full physical, mental, social and vocational ability, and
(c) full inclusion and participation in all aspects of life."
"[194] The insurer says if the term 'rehabilitation' is given a wide meaning then everything in the list in the definition of treatment and care could be a form of rehabilitation and would not need to be mentioned separately.
[195] I note the definition of rehabilitation, 'means the process of ...'. By referring to a 'process', the definition is in my view already very wide and does capture may of the other things listed in the definition of treatment and care. Aids and appliances, prostheses, modifications to home, transport, workplace and educational facilities are items or things which are certainly part of a process of rehabilitation.
[196] But the ordinary meaning of the term 'process' implies a beginning and an end. An injured person's rehabilitation does not go on forever. At some stage, Mr Fowler will reach a point where his injuries have stabilised and he cannot gain any further use of his legs or strength in his upper body and mentally he has come to terms with his disability and pain levels. There will come a time when he has reached the maximum level of independent living he can achieve, he is working full-time hours or the most hours he can work, and he has returned to all aspects of his previous life albeit in a wheelchair. As has been foreshadowed in the medical evidence, Mr Fowler will have continuing needs to maintain the maximum level of living and ability, but they may no longer be provided as part of the process of rehabilitation."
Is travel to school by private Uber a transport modification?
"[186] The question remains whether the words 'transport modification' goes beyond the alterations done to a vehicle to make them fit for the claimant's purposes or whether they permit the change or alteration of the type of vehicle itself [emphasis added]. I agree with the claimant's concession that if the term used in the definition was 'vehicle modification' the answer to the question would be more obvious. When the other modifications mentioned in the definition are considered: modification to the claimant's workplace; modification to the claimant's educational facility, and modification to the claimant's home, they are all existing things that need to be modified, as in altered or changed. Modifying the claimant's workplace for example would not extend to finding the claimant a new job. Modifying the claimant's home would clearly encompass the work done to the claimant's home (including bathroom, kitchen and carport building works) but I do not think that 'home modification' could extend to modifying the home, as in purchasing a new one, because the pre-accident one cannot be modified.
[187] In my view transport modification means modification (as in change or alteration) to the transport the claimant was using at the time of his accident to accommodate his injuries ..."
Is taking a child to school an attendant care service?
"Both the claimant and the insurer have submitted that there is a difference between everyday tasks and tasks that are done every day. I agree with the claimant's submission that the word "everyday" used in the definition of attendant care is not restricted to tasks that are done every day. BLI's example of lawn mowing is a good example. Lawn mowing is an everyday activity in that it is a usual or commonplace activity, but domestic lawns do not need to be mown every day. The insurer suggested spot painting would be an everyday or mundane task but that painting the whole of the claimant's home was not a usual or commonplace activity."
"Whether private transport services provided to the claimant (to and from school) after 9 September 2024 are reasonable and necessary and related to the injuries caused by the accident, and
Whether private transport services to be provided to the claimant (to and from school) after the medical assessment are related to the injuries caused by the accident and if so, for how long will they be reasonable and necessary."
[1] Although Anita made the claim, Angelina will be referred to as the claimant in these reasons.
[2] Gerard Malouf and Partners have provided assistance to the claimant's appointed representative in the current proceedings but have not appeared in them.
[3] Page 11 of the insurer's initial bundle.
[5] A third internal review decision was referred to. Dated 20 August 2024 this decision supported (and overturned the original decision) the referral to Spinal Surgeon Dr Kulkari to investigate the claimant's back pain.
[6] A copy of this internal review decision is found at page 38 of the insurer's initial bundle.
[7] [2025] NSWPIC 82 at [196].
[9] Page 16 of the insurer's additional bundle. Kairros Pty Limited appears to be a rehabilitation provider and co-ordinator retained by the insurer. It will be referred to simply as Kairros in this decision.
[11] The email is at page 29 of the insurer's additional bundle.
[12] Page 31 of the insurer's additional bundle.
[14] Page 33 of the insurer's additional bundle.
[16] Page 50 of the insurer's additional bundle.
[17] The operation report and discharge summary is at page 34 of the insurer's initial bundle.
[18] Page 32 of the insurer's initial bundle.
[19] Page 37 of the insurer's additional bundle.
[20] Page 38 of the insurer's additional bundle of documents.
[21] Under s 7.15 for merit review matters or s 7.26 for medical assessment matters.
Phothisenh
AAI Limited t/as AAMI [2025] NSWPIC 338;