© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2007] NSWSC 1427
Supreme Court of NSW
2007-12-11
Bryson AJ, Powell J, Hodgson JA
Original judgment source is linked above.
CITATION : PERT v NORRIS-SMITH & ANOR [2007] NSWSC 1427
CATCHWORDS : FAMILY PROVISION - de facto relationship over 20 years - testator by will left plaintiff half proceeds of sale of house and also furniture and personal effects - also half share proceeds of insurance - assets about $1,009.000 - residue to 4 adult daughters of testator - plaintiff received assets worth about $40,000 and entitled to $310,000 from sale of house - aged 63 suffering dementia and other disabilities, Age Pension. Medical evidence showed need for hostel care, entry bond $180,000 - HELD provision adequate, application refused.
LEGISLATION CITED : Family Provision Act 1982, ss 7 and 9
Luciano v Rosenblum [1985] 2 NSWLR 65 CASES CITED : Marshall v Carruthers [2002] NSWCA 47 Permanent Trustee Co. Ltd v Fraser (1995) 36 NSWLR 2446
Helen Mary Pert - Plaintiff PARTIES : Penelope Anne Rhoades (previously Norris-Smith) - First Defendant Cassandra Jane Herbert - Second Defendant
COUNSEL : Ms A. Cotter-Moroz - Plaintiff Mr C. Harris SC - Defendants
SOLICITORS : G.A. Guthrie (Woolgoolga) - Plaintiff Clinch Neville Long - Defendants
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF NEW SOUTH WALES EQUITY DIVISION
4551/2004 HELEN MARY PERT v PENELOPE ANNE NORRIS-SMITH & ANOR JUDGMENT 1 HIS HONOUR: The plaintiff claims further provision out of the estate of the late Brian Ashton Rhoades, under ss 7 and 9 of the Family Provision Act 1982. He died on 29 November 2003 and this Court granted probate of his will to the defendants on 15 April 2004. 2 The plaintiff and the testator lived together, first at 11 Kinka Road Duffy's Forest and later at 3 Arrawarra Road, Mullaway, New South Wales, in a de facto relationship from a time not exactly established, probably in the years 1981 to 1984, and the relationship continued until his death. They were never married to each other. Their relationship was a domestic relationship and the plaintiff is an eligible person within the definitions in s 6(1). There were serious strains and deeply felt and strongly expressed grounds for dissatisfaction on the part of the testator with the relationship. In the last months of the testator's life there were indications and statements of a wish on his part to end the relationship, but no definitive event brought the relationship to an end. The relationship brought with it an obligation of the testator to make adequate provision for the plaintiff's maintenance and advancement in life; the testator recognized this by making substantial provision for the plaintiff in his will, although he expressed dissatisfaction with legal advice that he should do so. The plaintiff's claim must pass the tests in s7 and s9 of the Family Provision Act. In accordance with s 9(2) I am not to make an order under s 7 unless satisfied that the provision under the will is at the present time inadequate for the proper maintenance and advancement in life of the plaintiff. In making this determination I am to have regard to the matters in subs 9(2). I am only then to proceed to the issue stated by s 7. 3 Observations in Luciano v Rosenblum [1985] 2 NSWLR 65 at 69 by Powell J state the general approach of the court to an application by a widow. There are significant qualifications. In Marshall v Carruthers [2002] NSWCA 47 at 63 to 65 Hodgson JA said: [63] The Master found that Ms Carruthers had a strong claim, and I agree with that finding. However, the strength of a claim of a surviving partner does, in my opinion, vary with circumstances. Although the Family Provision Act does, in some respects, equate de facto spouses with de jure spouses, this does not, in my opinion, make the existence or otherwise of a marriage irrelevant. In my opinion, a formal and binding commitment to mutual support through good times and bad, other factors being equal, adds strength to a legitimate claim. In my opinion also, the strength of a claim can be affected by the length of a relationship and contributions to the relationship. One factor which may be particularly important in a claim by a woman is that a woman may have, to the detriment of her own financial prospects, taken a major role in raising the children of herself and the deceased. [64] The Master referred to the following statement of principle which appears in Luciano v Rosenblum [1985] 2 NSWLR 65 at 69 It seems to me that, as a broad general rule, and in the absence of special circumstances, the duty of a testator to his widow is, to the extent to which his assets permit him to do so, to ensure that she is secure in her home, to ensure that she has an income sufficient to permit her to live in the style to which she is accustomed, and to provide her with a fund to enable her to meet any unforeseen contingencies. [65] I do not think it is to be assumed that this statement is to apply in all cases, particularly where factors such as those I have mentioned are absent. … 4 Hodgson JA. went on to make some observations about applications by widowers, which are not presently important. At 74 Young CJ in Eq. said: [74] Powell J's broad general rule may not be a good guide as to what the Court will consider as the duty of a testator towards a spouse except in the case of a financially dependent spouse where there is a history of bringing up children with the deceased or in supporting the deceased while he was amassing his fortune. The broad general rule may well be inapplicable in cases of other spouses. Indeed, the cases in the first half of the 20th century show that as far as widowers were concerned, the proposition was quite untrue. 5 Brian Ashton Rhoades was born about 1932. He served for many years in the New South Wales Police Force but retired at the age of 45 in or about 1977, it would seem for disability; and received superannuation. After retiring from the Police Force he worked in the security industry, in several employments including responsible positions. For many years he and his wife Nancy owned the house at Kinka Road Duffy's Forest. They were divorced and that house was sold in or about 1987, to give effect to a division of property. The plaintiff and the testator then moved to live at Mullaway, a village near Woolgoolga, where he had bought land at 3 Arrawarra Road Mullaway. Over some years he improved this land by erecting first a shed, later a house, and by carrying out improvements so the property could be used to conduct a wholesale wildflower nursery. 6 While living at Mullaway the testator at one time worked as professional fishermen, and owned a boat for this purpose. He also carried out a development venture, relating to two villas at Safety Beach (or Park Beach) and four units at Coffs Harbour. In 1992, when he was 60 years of age, he redeemed his police superannuation rights for a capital sum. He spent some of this on the construction of the house at Mullaway, and some in conducting the wholesale wildflower nursery. From about 1992 or perhaps earlier until about 1997 a wildflower nursery business was conducted on the property at Mullaway. This involved the plaintiff and the testator in considerable hard work. The plaintiff was not willing to acknowledge in evidence the extent of the testator's work or the value of his use of machinery, but I am satisfied on evidence other than hers that he worked very energetically and very hard and to good effect in the business, for which he acquired and operated machinery, and he also worked on machinery maintenance. There was also much hard work by the plaintiff in this venture. However it was closed down in 1997. The testator and not the plaintiff took the responsibility for maintaining the books and accounts, dealing with accountants and meeting outside responsibilities such as preparing accounts and lodging tax returns; the land and the venture were wholly owned by him. He stated in various ways, borne out by accounting documents, that the venture was not profitable, and accounting records for the last two years show operations at a loss. 7 About 1997 the testator wound up his interest in units and villas and sold them. He rearranged his affairs so as to make a superannuation investment and also be eligible for a Part Age Pension. At about the same time the plaintiff began to receive Social Services payments as Partner or Carer for the testator. The plaintiff suffered the first of a series of strokes in December 1999. After December 1999 when she became disabled she began to receive Social Services benefits relating to her disability, and she now receives an Age Pension. Since 1997 Social Services benefits of one kind or another have been her source of income. 8 The testator is survived by four adult daughters, each of whom has children. In his will of 22 August 2000 he appointed two of his daughters to be his executrices; they are the defendants. His will gave significant benefits to the plaintiff. Clause 3 gave her the right to reside in the property at Mullaway for 12 months from his death "being responsible for maintenance of the property but not for any rental, rates or insurances", gave her "all household furniture and effects" but excluding some special items, and gave her one half of the net proceeds of the sale of the house property after deducting all agents' expenses and legal expenses consequent on the sale. He gave all the rest of his property to the executrices on trust to convert it into money; all debts, funeral and testamentary expenses and duties were to be paid out of this fund and the balance was to be divided equally among his four daughters (if they survived him, which they did.) 9 The inventory of property for probate purposes valued the testator's property at $1,008,661.00. As well as the house at Mullaway (valued for probate at $550,000) and household furniture and effects (valued at $10,000) the assets were land at The Boulevard Mullaway which the executrices valued at $220,000. This has not yet been sold. Plant and machinery were valued at $25,000, two accounts in BananaCoast Community Credit Union totalled $140,000 and a superannuation benefit in Connelly Temple Public Superannuation Fund was valued at $60,661. There was also a motor vehicle valued at $3000. The household furniture and effects and the motor car (probate values total $13,000) have passed to the plaintiff. The Superannuation Fund disputed payment of the superannuation benefits, this dispute was settled and the plaintiff was entitled to $27,559.03, half the settlement money. This was paid into her solicitor's trust account on 30 June 2005 and after the solicitors had paid various charges and disbursements $17,559.03 was paid into a Commonwealth Bank account in the name of the plaintiff. The explanations the plaintiff gave for what happened to this fund were extremely improbable; that it would have been for furniture storage. The Mullaway house was sold by the defendants, with the concurrence of the plaintiff who gave up possession before the 12 months expired. The sale of the house was completed on 13 July 2004 and the proceeds after expenses were $531,741.40. The proceeds have been held in a separate investment account and have earned interest. The balance of the proceeds with interest at the time of the trial was $630,595.34. Although an exact calculation is not available income tax is in the order of $10,000 and the amount available is about $620,000 of which the plaintiff is entitled to $310,000. The other half is part of distributable residue. Other significant assets in the estate now are a term deposit with BananaCoast Credit Union estimated now to be $60,500 and the unrealised land at The Boulevard Mullaway. 10 The plaintiff's solicitor has stated on affidavit an estimate of the costs of these proceedings; his estimate is not exact but appears to me to be about $80,000. The defendants' solicitor has made estimate on affidavit of the total costs of these proceedings paid and unpaid at $120,676.00. He has also given estimates of estate liabilities which have not been met, for capital gains tax $19,000 and estate administration $5,000. 11 The most important circumstances calling for my consideration relate to:
The report contained this recommendation: The following recommendations are made based on the findings from the activities of daily living assessment: 1. From the current support needs demonstrated and reported during the activities of daily living assessment, Ms Pert requires hostel level assistance. Specifically, prompting and supervision of personal hygiene, eating and supervision of medications is required. As she requires this level of support, she would not be accepted in an independent living complex, which she has expressed as her preferred long term living arrangement.
The recommendation went on to deal with arrangements for the plaintiff's acceptance in a hostel facility, and for arrangements for personal care while she lived with her daughter. 61 Ms Patterson's report shows that the plaintiff applied to go into a hostel operated by the Tricare facility, it seems in a Brisbane suburb, before 2005; the bond requirement there was not high. Evidence does not show what became of that application. Her expressed wish now is to remain in Woolgoolga. She said that she believed that her name was on a waiting list for a three bedroom house at the Woolgoolga District Hostel (t42-43). That is an altogether unrealistic proposal. Evidence does not show the state of the plaintiff's application to go to the Woolgoolga Retirement Village; at one time (t41) she said that that village had offered her a place in a hostel. Whatever the position was, several years have been available for her to make an application and wait out any waiting period. After some evidence which was difficult to follow she said (t44) that she had not asked for hostel accommodation at the Woolgoolga Retirement Village. Kendall Tinson regarded as appropriate a hostel where there is 24-hour care, supervision with medications, meals and contact with people. Kendall Tinson was told at the end of September 2007 that the plaintiff was still on the waiting list for Woolgoolga Retirement Village, with a wait of six months although no exact admission date was given. 62 There is a mass of evidence about the availability and cost of Aged Persons accommodation of various kinds. Mr Rossetto a Chartered Accountant whose practice includes forensic accounting made calculations directed to reducing to present value the cost of various forms of accommodation for the plaintiff. One case he considered was providing the plaintiff with her own home; in my finding this is altogether impracticable; she could not manage a home and does not have need for a three-bedroom residence, for which she expressed a wish, or for a two-bedroom residence. In the world of practicalities, hostel accommodation in an Aged Care facility is the only arrangement which can be considered. Mr Rossetto made calculations dealing with various classes of hostel accommodation, which produced present values about $587,000. These were based on the plaintiff's having a further life expectancy of 22.47 years, derived from the Australian Bureau of Statistics publications which appear to be based on the circumstances overall of 63-year-old females in Australia at the present time. There is no medical evidence assessing her life expectancy, and in view of her history, strokes, disabilities and state of health, past habits of excessive consumption of liquor, contining smoking habit and her present health circumstances including dementia, it is altogether unrealistic to adopt a life expectancy of 22 years. In finding this I have had the benefit of observing her as well as seeing reports on her medical condition. 63 Mr Rossetto's assessment is altogether excessive. In any event, what he suggests is beyond the practical limits imposed by the resources available and the other claims on the testator's bounty. The estimates of the plaintiff's outgoings put forward contained some elements which were markedly unrealistic, for example return air fares to Sydney from Coffs Harbour twice a year with a carer to see a geriatrician; although one was available in Coffs Harbour. The claim that the plaintiff has a permanent need for physiotherapy at the rate of $4500 per year appears to be built on Mr Wright's opinion that a home exercise programme would help but that physiotherapy would take place in a clinical session because there were issues of the plaintiff's compliance. Under housing items the daily care fee is included where an annual care fee was appropriate. The assumption that the plaintiff has normal life expectancy for an Australian woman of her age is unjustified. Mr Rossano's figures also included $3103.37 per annum for hair care and pedicure and $6,240.00 per annum for cigarettes and tobacco. These should be taken with his provision for $1,040.00 for clothes. He also provided for $3,792 per annum for transport. Provisions like these have no real relation, in my judgment, to prevailing community standards of what is right and appropriate as provision for a person in her position: see Permanent Trustee Co. Ltd v Fraser (1995) 36 NSWLR 2446 (Sheller JA). In my opinion Mr Rossetto's calculations should not be used in the assessment of the plaintiff's needs. 64 Put forward by the plaintiff's evidence and in her case were an array of needs associated with the concept of her living independently; these included taxis for shopping in Woolgoolga and to attend Coffs Harbour (at the cost of $65 each way) for specialist medical appointments, cinema or other entertainment or visiting the Botanic Gardens. Also put forward were needs for shampooing her hair and other cosmetic services suggesting expenditure on average $39.07 per week. She also put forward as needs food, veterinary costs and other costs for her cat. All estimates of her outgoings included outgoings at a high rate for alcohol and tobacco. 65 A careful report by Ms Press Physiotherapist who works as a Rehabilitation Consultant assessing current and future needs of people with disabilities with respect to care and living arrangements, and also performs occupational rehabilitation services, reviews available hostel accommodation. According to this report the Woolgoolga District Hostel is well situated for the plaintiff's living circumstances. This is the Aged Care facility which Kendall Tinson has been in communication with already. It requires a minimum bond payment of $180,000 and makes an income means tested charge which may vary from $29 to $60 per day. Ms Press reviews two other facilities where the charges are significantly lower. Other evidence deals with other Aged Care facilities, both near Coffs Harbour and in other places; the charges vary widely. Some require bonds up to sums in the order of $250,000; some require bonds significantly lower than $180,000. There are difficulties and delays; it may be necessary to wait many months for availability, and I do not make the choice of Aged Care facility for her. 66 The evidence about the requirement of Woolgoolga District Hostel for an initial bond is not clear. The Hostel's Finance Officer and Director told the plaintiff's solicitor that if the plaintiff was in the hostel section the capital bond would be $180,000; but he also produced a schedule of fees and charges which suggest that there is a limit of $135,000 for accommodation bonds for pensioners. I have acted on the basis that the bond requirement is $180,000, although it is possible that it may be less. Nursing Home patients do not pay an accommodation bond but do pay an accommodation charge. On this assumption, the plaintiff's entitlement to share in the proceeds of sale of the house will leave her with more than $120,000 in excess of the amount paid for the accommodation bond to meet her needs an adverse contingencies. If the accommodation bond is less, the remaining sum will be correspondingly more. She has already received other benefits out of the testator's estate. 67 The provision made for the plaintiff under the testator's will would enable the plaintiff to pay a bond of say $180,000 and still have a reserve of well over $100,000, which she would need because charges made by an Aged Care facility will probably use up most or all her social benefits. Exact assessment is not possible, but the provision made in the will, even having regard to the attrition of the proceeds of superannuation (which the plaintiff was unable to explain) is in my judgment sufficient to enable her to make the transition to the kind of hostel living which she needs.
68 It can be expected that charges for hostel care would leave relatively little of her Age Pension, so she has a need for further funds on which to draw. The provision made under the will is adequate to this need, in my finding. 69 The plaintiff does not have a claim for additional provision because of the poor quality of the relationship and factors in the plaintiff's behaviour which contributed to this. She did not make significant contributions to the testator's assets. In her present state of health and disability the only mode of life which she can deal with, and the appropriate mode of life for her is to live quietly and modestly in an Aged Persons Hostel in the care of others. This is all that she is capable of, although she does not understand her limitations, and it is not in her interests that she should have a dwelling or a household of her own. The needs of the plaintiff, as a disabled person with several adverse health conditions, dementia and several strokes, living in hostel accommodation are modest indeed. The provision made by the testator meets them in an appropriate way. Independent living, and indeed managing her own life at all, is quite beyond the plaintiff and the only style of life with which she can cope would be to live in hostel accommodation with a fairly high level of assistance, and without any responsibilities for housekeeping, cooking or cleaning. 70 In my view any further provision for the plaintiff out of the testator's estate would be excessive. In particular it is not appropriate for her to be placed by the court's order in a position where she has some inheritable assets to pass on; that would be outside the scope of the legislation which relevantly relates to maintenance and advancement in life. 71 Of significance in the present case are the provisions which the testator made for his daughters and the nature and strength of their claims for consideration when he made his dispositions and now. The provision he made for the plaintiff is quite considerably greater than the provision which he made or which the Court could have ordered for any one of his daughters. He made the same provision for each of his daughters and did not distinguish their circumstances. Their circumstances vary but all of them have recognizable needs for provision. None of them has ever been given any significant advancement in life by their father. They are the mothers of his grandchildren. They all have mortgage debts. They all have responsibility for bringing up children who are close in blood to the testator and no circumstances adverse to a claim for provision by any of them have been proved; none of them is reasonably open to any criticism about their relationship with or treatment of their father. It seems unlikely that if they receive the provision available undiminished by any further provision for the plaintiff, any of them will be significantly advantaged except in the important respect that it will be possible to significantly reduce (but not eliminate) mortgage debts. These are obligations which the testator plainly felt, and it seems to me must have felt when he came to make his will. 72 The existence of the testator's obligations to his daughters is a severely limiting element among the considerations against increasing the provision which the testator made for the plaintiff. They have strong claims which it would be wrong to reduce to a point where their claims were not significantly recognized. 73 In my judgment the provision made by the testator in favour of the plaintiff is not now inadequate for her proper maintenance and advancement in life and there are no grounds on which further provision ought now be ordered for her. 74 In these circumstances my order is:
DISCLAIMER - Every effort has been made to comply with suppression orders or statutory provisions prohibiting publication that may apply to this judgment or decision. The onus remains on any person using material in the judgment or decision to ensure that the intended use of that material does not breach any such order or provision. Further enquiries may be directed to the Registry of the Court or Tribunal in which it was generated.
PERT
NORRIS-SMITH & ANOR
(1995) 36 NSWLR 2446