© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
austlii:nsw/NSWPIC/2024/241
defendant. The Commission determined: (1) The respondent established a defence pursuant to s 11A(1) of the Workers Compensation Act 1987; (2) Any injury and incapacity suffered by the applicant was wholly...
2 cited instruments linked from this judgment.
A Woolworths employee claimed workers compensation for depression and anxiety after being fired for refusing to get COVID-19 vaccinated. The worker had also earlier refused to wear masks at work. The employer defended the claim, arguing the psychological injury was caused by reasonable management action (the vaccination policy and subsequent dismissal). The Personal Injury Commission agreed with the employer. It found the vaccination policy was reasonable given the pandemic, the employer had been patient in offering leave and alternative jobs, and the worker was stubborn in refusing to follow reasonable directions. Because the injury was caused by the worker's refusal to follow these reasonable directions, the employer did not have to pay compensation.
AI-generated legal information, not legal advice. Zoe can make mistakes. Check the cited source, and for advice about your situation consult a qualified Australian lawyer.
"25....I was extremely stressed as my leave was running out. I was asking to be relocated to a different area in the warehouse away from other staff. I was offered to be relocated to a supermarket as mask wearing was not a mandatory PPE and the company was excepting medical exemptions. I replied by telling them that it was mandatory in all public facing roles and the company replied with they could afford to close a supermarket if they needed to but couldn't afford to close a warehouse. I explained at that time that there had been an employee attacked in a Woolworths supermarket by a member of the public because they weren't wearing a mask and I felt that my safety was being put at risk. they said that was the best they could offer. My mental health wasn't up to facing the public in that environment.
26.My leave was exhausted in early August 2021 and for the first time in my life I was forced to access government payments. I was entitled to the Coronavirus payment. This was far less then I was being paid on a weekly basis and besides the feeling of shame I was now experiencing financial stress. I started to smoke more and my weight was increasing due to eating from depression. I felt unmotivated and was having trouble sleeping."
28 February 2022 or show satisfactory proof of exemption. The applicant could not comply with the policy because he had not been informed of its developmental or commencement. 3. What followed is the crux of the circumstances surrounding the termination of employment of the applicant. The applicant's statement evidence is set out below:
"28.... I received phone call later that afternoon from Jon Parsons another manager. following up from the call earlier from Andrew. Jon informed me that I had received a number of emails from Woolworths regarding their vaccination policy. I enquired about the email address that had been used and he confirmed that all communication had been sent to my work email. I told him that email address hadn't been actioned since I had ben stood down in June 2021. I provided him with an alternative email and reminded him that they have of my personal contact information on their portal. Jon told me that he would send me the policy however I have no record of receiving anything from them until 1st of April 2022. told him I would not be getting vaccinated I was given an extension of aprox 4 weeks as they had failed to notify me of the policy correct timeframe. It was now apparent to me that I wasn't going to be returning to my employment at Woolworths. I was really struggling with my mental health and the thought of having to find another job after being employed by Woolworths for 16 years is overwhelming. By this time, I was barely leaving my house to interact with anyone outside of my immediate family.
29.I received a phone call from Jon Parsons on 1st April 2022 I received a phone call from Jon Parsons asking me if my positioned had changed regarding my vaccination status. I told Jon that it hadn't. Jon then informed me that he was setting up a meeting to review my employment and would send me the information regarding the meeting. I received an email with a date to lodge any information to them by the 5th of April. I was now so distraught that I didn't know what to do. I declined their invitation to upload any information as I didn't know what to do and felt it was hopeless. It was only once I received formal email communication from he [sic] 1st of April was I offered access to the 24/7 employee support program known as Sonder to spite me previously mentioning that I wasn't ok and I was struggling being at home without pay.
30. 7th of April 2022 at 4.07pm outside if my normal scheduled work day I received an email from Jon Parsons confirming that they hadn't received a response from me by 5th April 2022 and outlining the next steps for the final conference meeting on 8th of April 2022 to discuss the review of my employment.
31. 8th of April 2022 Jon had set up a meeting with management for review of my
employment. I declined to join the meeting as I was extremely anxious and distraught. I phoned Jon just prior to the meeting starting and told him I wasn't logging in and to please just get on with my termination as this is causing me distress. At no time was it a government directive for Woolworths to mandate the COVID 19 Vaccination. I was physically shaking. and my voice was strained. That phone call resulted in my termination which was later followed up by an email. I was informed that as part of my termination I would receive 5 weeks' pay. I had to chase my termination pay up for months until it was finally discovered that the payment hadn't been finalised and was processed in June 2022."
(a) it did not consider that in May 2022 the government relaxed restrictions regarding vaccination;
(b) his termination of employment denied his fundamental right to work;
(c) his termination of employment affected his ability to provide for his family;
(d) his termination of employment caused him stress and depression;
(e) the respondent could have suspended him on full or reduced pay from
5 January 2021 until May 2022 instead of terminating his employment;
(f) the respondent could have offered him special leave for the six-month period;
(g) the applicant objected to the respondent's offer to relocate him to a supermarket located outside the public health order restrictions, and
(h) the respondent did not give any consideration to how it could accommodate the applicant throughout the pandemic during mask mandates.
(a) the onus is on the respondent to establish a defence pursuant to s 11(A) of the 1987 Act;[2]
(b) the words reasonable action should be given a broad construction; [3]
(c) the question of reasonableness is a matter to be determined in all the circumstances of the case. It is an objective test, weighing the rights of the employer against the objects of the employment;[4]
(d) the consequences of the respondent's actions must be considered against the reasons given for it; [5] or
(e) consideration also needs to be given to the manner by which events were implemented;[6]
(f) reasonableness is judged having regard to the fairness appropriate in the circumstances, including what went before or after a particular action;[7]
(g) if there has been disciplinary action it is necessary, when considering the reasonableness of that action, to have regard to all relevant circumstances, including the seriousness of the conduct that has led to the disciplinary action, the nature of the employer's business, and the worker's position in that business; [8]
(h) although an employer may be in strict compliance with its enterprise agreement or award requirements, its HR policy directives in relation to a Disciplinary Procedure or a Grievance Procedure, but compliance with those procedures is not sufficient to establish fairness if the objective circumstances of the case do not establish fairness. Compliance with those procedures and policies of the employer are relevant but compliance cannot establish reasonableness in the absence of fairness in all the circumstances of the case or, in any event, if those processes were not reasonable in all the circumstances of the case;[9]
(i) when considering s 11(A) the question of causation must be addressed by medical evidence. This will depend on all the circumstances of the case. There may be numerous factors contributing to causation of the injury to the applicant and medical evidence is necessary to establish the causation of a psychological injury,[10] and
(j) when determining whether the applicant's medical condition was caused by the respondent's reasonable actions, as identified in s 11(A), the question of wholly causative or predominantly causative must be considered separately. It must be one or the other.[11]
[2] Pirie v Franklins Ltd [2001] NSWCC 167.
[3] Foster AJA (Sheller and Santow JJA agreeing) Commissioner of Police v Minahan [2003] NSWCA 239; 1 DDCR 57.
[4] Geraghty J Irwin v Director-General of Education NSWCC 14068/97, 18 June 1998.
[5] Armitage J Ritchie v Department of Community Services [1998] NSWCC 40; [1998] 16 NSWCCR 727.
[6] Truss CCJ Ivanisevic v Laudet Pty Ltd unreported, 24 November 1998.
[7] Burke J Melder v Ausbowl Pty Ltd [1997] 15 NSWCCR 454,
Bottle v WeilandConsumables Pty Ltd [1999] NSWCC 135.
8 Roche DP Baldwin v Greater Building Society Ltd [2011] NSWWCCPD 18.
[9] Rail Corporation NSW v Aravanopules [2019] NSWWCCPD 65 at [81], referring to Trustees of the Roman Catholic Church for the Diocese of Maitland-Newcastle v Broad [2008] NSWWCCPD 139.
[10] Snell ADP Smith v Roads and Traffic Authority of NSW [2008] NSWCCPD 130.
[11] Snell ADP Smith v Roads and Traffic Authority of NSW [2008] NSWCCPD 130.
Pemberton
Woolstar Pty Ltd [2024] NSWPIC 241
The Commission determined: (1) The respondent established a defence pursuant to s 11A(1) of the Workers Compensation Act 1987; (2) Any injury and incapacity suffered by the applicant was wholly caused by the applicant's failure to follow the respondent's reasonable action with respect to discipline and dismissal, being a direction to follow the respondent's policy in relation to COVID-19 vaccinations. The Commission ordered an award for the respondent.