austlii:nsw/NSWPIC/2026/25
General information, not legal advice.
NSWPIC
2026-01-16
Original judgment source is linked above.
A brief statement is attached setting out the Commission's reasons for the determination.
30 May 2025. He was carrying, with another worker, 60kg of rubber mats across a roof 10m from the ground. He fell and the mat roll hit his leg. He landed on the mesh placed to break his fall. He injured his left knee. 2. The applicant's treating orthopaedic surgeon, Dr Daniel Rahme, performed a patellofemoral ligament reconstruction and patella stabilization on 26 June 2025. The applicant has paid for this surgery. He seeks reimbursement of the cost of that surgery of $9,016.10,[1] plus any incidental expenses, pursuant to s 60 of the Workers Compensation Act 1987 (the 1987 Act), as well as weekly payments of compensation from 18 June 2025 to date and continuing. The applicant submits his pre-injury average weekly earnings (PIAWE) were $1,386.41. 3. The respondent disputes that the applicant is either an employee, or a deemed employee pursuant to the Workplace Injury Management and Workers Compensation Act 1998 (the 1998 Act). The respondent contends that the applicant was an independent contractor performing work on site for the respondent.
PROCEDURE BEFORE THE PERSONAL INJURY COMMISSION
Mr English, or any other witnesses as to any factual dispute before the Personal Injury Commission (Commission). 3. The following documents were in evidence before the Commission and considered in making this determination:
(a) Application to Resolve a Dispute (ARD) and attachments, and
(b) Reply to ARD (Reply) and attachments.
14 April 2024. It is not necessary to outline the applicant's duties with the respondent, which were the ordinary duties of a roofer.
2 June 2025. A full set thickness tear to his medial patellar retinaculum and medial aspect of the joint capsule, as well as additional sprains to his ACL, PCL and MC, were diagnosed. 2. On 4 June 2025 the applicant consulted Dr Robyn White at East Hills Medical Centre. He explained to the doctor that he had slipped at work and had attended the Maitland Emergency Department. Dr White referred him to orthopaedic surgeon Dr Daniel Raeme for review and management. 3. On 19 June 2025 he consulted Dr Sajid Siddiqui at East Hills Medical Centre. He explained to that doctor that he was awaiting a consultation with Dr Raeme. 4. On 26 June 2025 the applicant consulted Dr Raeme who recommended that he not engage in physiotherapy because his kneecap was unstable. He also recommended the surgery which eventually took place. 5. He attended Dr Eugene Gehr Independent Medical Examiner (IME) for the purpose of a whole person impairment (WPI) assessment. This appointment had been arranged by his solicitor. Dr Gehr confirmed that the applicant should proceed with the surgery and engage in physiotherapy thereafter. He provided a WPI assessment of 12%. 6. Dr Gehr provided a report on 31 July 2025.[2] He reviewed the medical reports of the applicant's treating doctor's including that of Dr Daniel Raeme dated 4 June 2025. He diagnosed a left knee patella dislocation, disruption of the medial patellofemoral ligaments, with a recommendation for reconstruction. He found that the fall at work was a substantial contributing factor to his left knee injury and that his current incapacity for work was a direct result of that injury. He could not comment on the applicant's likely ability to resume his pre-accident occupation until the proposed surgery was completed, and he had undergone post-operative physiotherapy. 7. Dr Raeme provided a report dated 16 September 2025.[3] He provided the following:
"....Mr Pascoe's employment with Roof Crew Pty Ltd was the main contributing factor to the injury listed above (medial patellofemoral ligament rupture). The Injury would not have occurred other than for the factors associated with Mr Pascoe's employment, including carrying a heavy load on a surface with gradient.
The patella remains highly unstable at the time of this report at approximately 4 months post injury despite appropriate non-operative treatment. This was expected due to the retracted ends of the medial patella stabilising ligaments and tissues evident on the MRI scan. The degree of clinical instability on examination also was an indicator for surgical intervention. Ideally the surgery would have been performed sooner to allow for a better outcome. Unfortunately delays with the insurer providing approval for the surgery have led Mr Pascoe to undergo self-funded private surgery in order to minimise any further reduction in likelihood of an optimal outcome. The planned surgery is reasonably necessary and is the only option to help restore the medial patella stabilising tissues to allow for the best possible outcome. Prolonged rehabilitation is expected with usually 6 to 12 months required for maximal improvement.
Despite appropriate prolonged rehabilitation Mr Pascoe may not return to his pre-injury employment.
I do not think it is unlikely that Mr Pascoe will ever again engage in gainful employment on a sustainable basis in any occupation for which he is reasonably qualified by education, training or experience. I do however as previously indicated believe that Mr Pascoe will likely have a degree of restricted capacity pertaining to any occupation for which he is reasonably qualified by education, training or experience."
"On 25 June 2025, QBE disputed liability for your claim under sections 4 and clause 2 schedule 1 of the Workplace lnjury Management and Workers Compensation Act 1998 (the 1998 Act) and sections 33, 59, and 60 of the Workers Compensation Act 1987 (the 1987 Act). QBE states that you were paid through an ABN and disagrees that you are a worker or deemed worker of the insured.
You requested a review of the dispute on 30 June 2025 based on the following submissions provided in your review form and by telephone:
- You started working for the insured on 4 April 2025.
- your previous apprenticeship was undertaking in roof plumbing, which is different to the work you perform for the insured. You are not a specialist in the work you provide to the insured, who is responsible for teaching you the required skills and supervising your work. - The insured directed you where to work, what time to start, and what time to finish.
- The insured organizes all the materials, but you have your own tools since you completed your first apprenticeship.
- You send the insured your invoices at the end of the week, and having an ABN does not mean you are not a worker.
- While you had an ABN, you do not run a company. You had to register an ABN because some employers require this, and you registered yourself as a sole trader as the most applicable option.
ln conducting our review, we have had consideration to all evidence available to QBE, and this review outcome is to be read together with the dispute notice dated 25 June 2025.
On review we note: - Medical evidence from you GP says that you slipped on a roof at work on 3O May 2025 and injured your left knee. A radiological report dated 30 June 2025 indicated a complete full-thickness tear.
- The insured has advised QBE that you were not an apprentice or an employee. The insured advised that you were paid by tax invoice with no leave entitlements and that you paid your own tax. The insured advised that you use your own skill and judgement, your own tools, own transportation, with no permanent supervision. The insured advised that they provided a shirt in good faith because you did not have your own, and the insured was unsure if you advertised elsewhere or performed work for anyone else.
- The insured advised that you worked 3 - 5 days per week at around $45O per day.
- The ABN Lookup Tool indicates that you have been registered as a sole trader under ABN 45 923 556 163 since 2 March 2025, in the month before you commenced working for the insured. lnvoices between 17 April 2025 - 2 June 2025 were issued to the insured based on the number of days worked at a rate varying between approximately $333 - $433. They do not include any itemised amount of superannuation nor is tax deducted'.
- The insured has provided text messages sent to a group of people, including yourself, from 23 April - 30 April' The messages provide the address of work sites and changes for weather' One message says, "all staff please ensure all PPE including hard hats, safety boots, harnesses and 1 photo lD are with you all times". The insured has also provided text messages directly to you in May noting the location of worksite and asking for an invoice to be corrected.
We note that section 4 of the Workplace lnjury Management and Workers Compensation Act 1998 (the 1998 Act) defines a 'worker' as 'a person who has entered into or works under a contract of service or a training contract with an employer'.
Schedule 1 of clause 2(l)(a) of the 1998 Act further provides that a person is also taken to be an employed worker (a 'deemed worker') when they are contracted to perform work exceeding $lO in value, not incidental to a trade or business regularly carried on by the person, and if the person did not sublet the contract or employ other workers.
There is an indicia that has been used in this context to examine the totality of such relationships. lt remains the case that control continues to be one of the factors to be considered in examining the relationship. The following factors would generally indicate that the relationship is likely to be one of an employer/employee relationship:
- Controlling the matter of how the work is performed.
- Has the exclusive services of the person engaged.
- Dictates the place of work, hours of work, and the like.
- Paying the person doing the work on a time basis rather than a task basis.
- Deducting PAYG income tax from money payable to the person to do that work.
We consider that the evidence is insufficient to establish that you were a worker or deemed worker of the insured. Your payslips indicate that you did undertake work for the insured, but this was paid through your own ABN. We acknowledge your submissions that you were not running a business, and the insured was responsible for your work and arrangements, however, we do not have sufficient evidence to corroborate the working relationship, and the insured indicates that you undertook your work independently which is not displaced by the text message.
For those reasons, we maintain the dispute under sections 4 and clause 2 schedule 1 of the 1998 Act.
It follows that you are not entitled to weekly benefits and medical or related treatment, and we maintain the dispute under sections 33, 59 and 60 of the 1987 Act."
"Your solicitors requested a review of the dispute on 7 August 2O25 in reliance on the lndependent Medical Examination (lME) report from Dr Eugene Gehr (orthopaedic surgeon) dated 31 July 2025.
On 13 August 2025, your solicitors provided a copy of your signed statement dated 8 August 2025 and referred to their request for review dated 7 August 2025. You responded:
On review we have considered your review application and all documents available to QBE. This review outcome is to be read together with the dispute notice dated 25 June 2025 and the previous review outcome dated 14 July 2025.
- ln the previous review outcome, icare concluded that there was insufficient evidence that you were a worker or deemed worker of the insured, and the insured indicated that you undertook your work independently through your own ABN.
- Since the previous review, your solicitors have provided the IME report from Dr Gehr to whom you informed that you were working as an employee of the insured and a co-worker took you to an urgent care centre in East Maitland after the accident. Dr Gehr diagnoses you with left knee dislocation and disruption of ligaments caused by your employment. While we acknowledge Dr Gehr's expert opinion about your injury, he is not qualified to make an assessment of whether you are a worker/deemed work under the provision of the 1998 Act.
- Since the previous review, you have further provided a signed statement that the insured informed you that he that he wanted you to work for him on a full-time basis and you worked between 40 - 50 hours per week. You state that you were solely working for the insured which was your only source of income. You state that the reason that you obtained an ABN was because the insured required you to obtain one. You state that you were paid through invoices and paid your own superannuation and tax.
- you further say that your employer provided you with all instructions for what work you were required to complete and where you were required to complete it. You further statement that you were required to wear a uniform with the insured's logo (and you have provided a photograph of this, and social media screenshots showing other workers in the same uniform). You state that you used your own tools to complete your work activities, but also used tools owned by the company when necessary, and the company provided all materials.
- Based on the updated photographs you have provided, we are unable to verify the branding or the persons in the photographs, and we do not consider that the updated evidence is sufficient to establish that you were a worker/deemed worker of the insured.
- We otherwise maintain that, noting the information received by the insured and the balance of the available evidence, there is insufficient evidence to corroborate the working relationship between you and the insured, and we maintain the dispute under sections 4 and clause 2 schedule 1 of the 1998 Act.
- lt follows that you are not entitled to weekly benefits and medical or related treatment, and we maintain the dispute under sections 33, 59 and 60 of the 1987 Act.
For those reasons, we maintain the dispute dated 25 June 2025 in its entirety."
(a) to perform any work exceeding $10 in value (not being work incidental to a trade or business regularly carried on by the contractor in the contractor's own name, or under a business or firm name), or
is made with the contractor, who neither sublets the contract nor employs any worker, the contractor is, for the purposes of this Act, taken to be a worker employed by the person who made the contract with the contractor.
(3) A person excluded from the definition of worker in section 4 (1) because of paragraph (d) of that definition is not to be regarded as a worker under this clause.
worker means a person who has entered into or works under a contract of service or a training contract with an employer (whether by way of manual labour, clerical work or otherwise, and whether the contract is expressed or implied, and whether the contract is oral or in writing)."
[1] Application to lodge additional documents 27 October 2025 page 1.
[4] Attachment 1 to the applicant's statement ARD page 8.
[5] Attachment 2 to 7 to the applicant's statement ARD page 8.
Pascoe
Roof Crew Pty Ltd [2026] NSWPIC 25;