austlii:tas/TASCAT/2025/129
General information, not legal advice.
TASCAT
2025-06-30
Original judgment source is linked above.
Oneschool Global Tasmania v KJ [2025] TASCAT 129
Weekly payments of compensation and the cost of benefits payable under Division 2 of Part VI of the Act are not to be paid from the date of this determination.
Workers compensation - Entitlement to payments - Claim for psychological injury - Previous claim for physical injury - Whether the subsequent claim in respect of an injury for which the worker had not previously made a claim - Jurisdiction of Tribunal
Thornton v Apollo Nominees Pty Ltd [2003] TASSC 134;
State of Tasmania v Cane [2024] TASSC 56;
The Trustee for the Byard Family Trust No.2 t/a Tasmania Sustainable Farming v NBN [2025] TASCAT 119
Employer: M Valentine - Wallace, Wilkinson and Webster
The decision has been anonymised for the purpose of publication.
On or around 19 February 2025, while I was medically certified as fully unfit for work due to an existing psychological injury (claim submitted 17 February 2025), my employer directed me to respond to allegations of misconduct. Despite clear medical certification indicating total incapacity, I was told that I was still expected to meet the employer's response deadline. The employer refused to extend the deadline on the basis of my medical incapacity. Under duress, and contrary to medical advice, I submitted a written response. This process significantly contributed to a deterioration in my psychological condition.
80A. Claim for compensation > > For the purposes of this Division, a claim for compensation is a claim for compensation by a worker against an employer in respect of an injury for which the worker has not previously made a claim for compensation against that or any other employer.
The 'Division' referred to in s 80A is Division 1 of Part VII of the Act. That division of the Act includes s 81A. Section 81A of the Act is the section which permits an employer who has received a claim for compensation to dispute liability to pay compensation to the worker in respect of the claim. Where an employer raises the question of the Tribunal's jurisdiction in the context of s 80A, the Tribunal needs to determine whether the worker's claim for compensation that is the subject of the referral is a claim in respect of an injury for which the worker has not previously made a claim for compensation.
If a worker's claim is not a 'claim for compensation' under s 80A, the Tribunal does not have jurisdiction to hear the employer's s 81A referral and the referral must be dismissed.
That is the preliminary question that I need to resolve. If I determine that the worker's claim for compensation is a claim for compensation within the meaning of s 80A, I have jurisdiction to hear the s 81A referral and I must then proceed to determine whether the employer has established the existence of a reasonably arguable case to dispute liability in relation to the claim.
I have been coerced into agreeing to undergo a Performance Improvement Plan that includes expectations I cannot meet due to my disability. I became unwell due to stress and sought treatment from my GP, who referred me to a clinical psychologist. My clinical psychologist diagnosed me with anxiety, which is attributable to my workplace issues. I have no history of anxiety. My clinical psychologist was also able to revalidate a diagnosis I received for Autism when I was a child. I have provided to my employer a letter from my clinical psychologist who has disclosed my disability (Autism) and has suggested a number of workplace accommodations to help support me in my role. My employer has not taken any measures to implement any accommodations, but has instead provided a letter outlining why they consider many of these accommodations to be unreasonable and putting the onus on me to propose alternative solutions. My employer insists on proceeding with the Performance Improvement Plan without taking into consideration the impact my disability has on meeting those expectations. I have been informed that if I do not follow through with the Performance Improvement Plan, or fail to meet the expectations set out in the Performance Improvement Plan, they will consider disciplinary measures up to and including termination.
Since returning to work full-time in August 2024, I initially improved but experienced a significant relapse, leading to a new medical diagnosis of workplace-induced anxiety and work-related stress in 2025. This diagnosis has been attributed to my employer's failure to fulfill their commitments. Specifically:
Despite multiple opportunities to address these failures, the employer took no action. As a result, my condition progressively worsened, requiring me to resume medical treatment on 21 October 2024. However, due to the employer's continued failure to implement accommodations and uphold legally binding commitments, my symptoms further deteriorated, ultimately resulting in a new medical diagnosis of workplace-induced anxiety and work-related stress in 2025.
A question of fact therefore required determination by the Tribunal. It concerned the nature of the claim that had been made by the appellant against the respondent and in respect of which the respondent had purported to dispute liability and to refer to the Tribunal under s 80A(1), but not the validity of his claim. Further, the question concerned his claim as communicated to the respondent, upon receipt of which the respondent purported to raise the dispute under s81A(1). In State of Tasmania v Parsons (supra) at pars 69 - 73, I discussed in a different context why it may be important to determine precisely what is being claimed by the worker.
Ultimately, the question is to identify the injury in respect of which the claim for compensation is made, and s 80A will only apply if that injury is not one which has been previously made by the worker.
The term "in respect of" appears regularly in statutory provisions. It is used to define the required relationship between two subjects. The many judicial observations about its meaning seem to be adequately summed up in the following comments by Deane, Dawson and Toohey JJ in Workers Compensation Board of Queensland v Technical Products Pty Ltd [1988] HCA 49; (1988) 165 CLR 642 at 653-654:
"Undoubtedly the words 'in respect of' have a wide meaning, although it is going somewhat too far to say, as did Mann C.J. in Trustees Executors & Agency Co. Ltd. v. Reilly, that 'they have the widest possible meaning of any expression intended to convey some connection or relation between the two subject-matters to which the words refer'. The phrase gathers meaning from the context in which it appears, and it is that context which will determine the matters to which it extends."
Oneschool Global Tasmania
KJ [2025] TASCAT 129
(1988) 165 CLR 642