© 2026 Zoe. All rights reserved.
Zoe is a legal information platform. Always consult the Federal Register of Legislation for authoritative text.
[2003] WADC 46
plaintiff. Judgment for the plaintiff on the application for summary judgment against the first and second defendants.
The Registrar granted summary judgment to Newman against two alleged guarantors. The defendants’ arguments did not persuade the Registrar that there was an arguable issue requiring a trial. The decision relies on the terms of the particular agreement and the submissions recorded in the short judgment.
AI-generated legal information, not legal advice. Zoe can make mistakes. Check the cited source, and for advice about your situation consult a qualified Australian lawyer.
2,305 words · generated 30/09/2026
In Newman v Scook & Anor [2003] WADC 46, Registrar Kingsley considered the plaintiff’s application for summary judgment against two defendants, Dean George Scook and Carol Norma Hardie. The matter was heard in chambers in Perth on 14 January 2003. The judgment was delivered extemporaneously and typed from tape.
The plaintiff’s case concerned a written put and call option agreement involving four participants: the plaintiff, both defendants, and a principal debtor. The principal debtor agreed to purchase fully paid shares in Tuart Resources for $69,000 ([3]–[4]). The agreement contained a share-price condition and required the plaintiff to give notice requiring the principal debtor to purchase by 1700 hours Western Standard Time on 3 September 2001 ([4]). It also provided for interest at 15 per cent per annum if the principal debtor failed to pay ([4]).
No linked legislation citations have been extracted yet.
Newman alleged that he sent a facsimile notice calling on the principal debtor to purchase the shares for $69,000, calculated at 11.5 cents per share, and that the principal debtor did not pay ([5]). The defendants were sued as guarantors ([5]). The judgment says the notice was sent “on 10 April” but does not specify the year for that date. It records affidavit evidence that the share price on 31 August was 6.46 cents ([6]).
The defendants opposed summary judgment on several grounds. They argued there was no agreement because the plaintiff had not signed it ([7]); that there was no principal obligation because the company had been placed in administration ([8]); and that there had been no valid exercise of the option because notice had to be strictly in accordance with the agreement ([9]). They also raised an issue about whether a trustee in bankruptcy might reject a proof of debt ([9]).
The Registrar rejected the arguments and gave judgment for the plaintiff. The result is expressly recorded as “Judgment for plaintiff”. The reasoning is brief and directed to the objections advanced on this application. It does not set out the full agreement, identify the principal debtor by name, or give a detailed account of the evidence beyond the matters summarised in the reasons.
The Registrar began with the summary judgment threshold. The plaintiff had to show a prima facie case. Once that was done, a defendant seeking leave to defend had to show cause ([1]). The defendant did not have to establish a complete case; an arguable case supported by facts disclosing an issue for argument could be enough ([2]). The Registrar also recognised that a defendant could meet that threshold by challenging the plaintiff’s statement of claim as flawed ([2]).
The signature objection did not persuade the Registrar. The defendants argued that there was no agreement because Newman had not signed it. In response, the Registrar relied on Heppingstone v Stewart [1910] HCA 59; (1911) 12 CLR 126, stating that a party who had not signed an agreement could enforce it against someone who had ([7]). The judgment does not set out the agreement’s signature blocks or explain which other parties signed. Its conclusion should therefore be read in the context of the argument and material before the Registrar, rather than as a detailed examination of formation or execution issues generally.
The administration argument was addressed through the distinction between the principal debtor’s position and the guarantors’ position. The defendants argued that no principal obligation remained because the company had been placed in administration. The Registrar accepted that an executed deed of company arrangement might extinguish the principal debt, but stated that where a release occurred by operation of law, it did not discharge the guarantor. For that proposition, the Registrar cited Gan v Sanders (1994) 15 ACSR 298, which was described as applying Hill v Anderson Meat Industries Ltd [1971] 1 NSWLR 868 ([8]). The Registrar then referred to Hill in discussing a court-sanctioned scheme and the effect on a guarantor ([9]).
The option-notice argument turned on the agreement’s stated timing. The defendants relied on Phillips Fox (a firm) v Westgold Resources NL & Ors [2000] WASCA 85 for the proposition that a notice exercising an option had to comply strictly with the agreement ([9]). The Registrar did not reject strict compliance as a general idea. Instead, the Registrar found no evidence that this notice failed to comply with the actual terms. The agreement fixed a latest time for notice, 1700 hours Western Standard Time on 3 September 2001, but did not specify that notice could only be sent during a particular earlier window ([9]). The defendants’ proposed restriction, that notice could only be sent between 31 August and 3 September, was not found in the agreement as described by the Registrar.
The decision followed from the Registrar’s conclusion that none of the arguments established an issue to be tried. The plaintiff’s affidavit evidence included the terms and events relied on, and the Registrar considered the defendants’ objections in turn ([5]–[9]). Having found that the defendants had not shown an arguable issue on the points raised, the Registrar granted the relief sought.
This judgment is an application of previously stated principles, not a decision that announces a broad new test. For summary judgment, the Registrar described the plaintiff’s prima facie burden and the defendant’s obligation to show an arguable case ([1]–[2]). The judgment does not identify a legislative provision as the source of that procedure; the legislation field is listed as “Nil”.
On signature, the Registrar applied a proposition from Heppingstone v Stewart: a non-signing party may enforce an agreement against a party who signed it ([7]). The reasons do not explain the broader contractual circumstances in Heppingstone, nor do they develop a general account of when a signature is required. The significance here is confined to the defendants’ objection that Newman had not signed the agreement.
On guarantees, the Registrar relied on Gan v Sanders and Hill v Anderson Meat Industries Ltd for the proposition that a release of the principal debtor by operation of law does not discharge a guarantor ([8]–[9]). That proposition answered the administration-related argument as it was presented. The judgment does not analyse the terms of any deed of company arrangement, identify the precise status or effect of such a deed in this case, or decide a wider question about all forms of release or compromise.
On options, the decision is also tied to the text described in the reasons. The agreement set a deadline for notice, but, according to the Registrar, did not confine notice to a particular start date ([9]). The Registrar found no evidence of non-compliance with the deadline. The judgment does not displace the strict-compliance argument advanced from Phillips Fox; it treats the issue as one of applying the agreement’s own requirements to the notice in question.
The supplied judgment does not provide information about any later appeal, subsequent judicial treatment, or changes in the law after 2003. It therefore supports an account of what Registrar Kingsley decided and the authorities applied at the time, but not a claim about the current status or later treatment of those propositions.
At [1], the Registrar said: “It is for the plaintiff to show that, firstly, there is a prima facie case.” In plain English, the plaintiff had to establish an initial case before the defendants were required to answer the application.
At [2], the Registrar stated: “The defendant need not show a complete case but only an arguable case.” This describes a threshold below proving a complete defence. A defendant could resist summary judgment by identifying facts that showed a real issue for argument, including an argument that the claim itself was defective.
At [7], the Registrar relied on the proposition: “A party who has not signed an agreement may enforce the agreement against someone who has.” In context, that answered the defendants’ claim that the plaintiff’s lack of signature meant there was no agreement. The passage does not say that signatures never matter; it records the rule applied to the objection presented.
At [8], the Registrar stated that release by operation of law did not discharge a guarantor, citing Gan v Sanders, which applied Hill v Anderson Meat Industries Ltd. In plain English, the defendants’ argument that the principal debtor’s position in administration necessarily ended the guarantors’ exposure was not accepted on the authorities relied on. The judgment does not determine every possible effect of administration or every form of release.
At [9], the Registrar observed that the agreement required notice by a specified deadline but did not say it could only be sent during the defendants’ proposed period. This means the court read the written term as imposing a latest time, not an additional earliest time. The Registrar concluded that the defendants had not shown a defect in the notice on the evidence before the court.
Finally, at [9], the Registrar stated that the defendants’ counsel had not persuaded the court that there was an issue to be argued. This was the procedural conclusion connecting the individual objections to the order for summary judgment.
The decision is most directly relevant to a summary judgment application where the plaintiff has put forward a prima facie contractual claim and the defendant’s response consists of arguments that do not identify supporting facts showing an arguable issue. The Registrar expressly accepted that a defendant may attack the claim as pleaded, but held that an argument must disclose an issue for trial ([1]–[2]).
The signature point may be relevant where one party to an agreement argues that the other cannot enforce it solely because that other party did not sign. The case records the Registrar applying Heppingstone v Stewart to reject that objection ([7]). It does not establish, on its own, that every unsigned contract is enforceable. The agreement’s terms, the parties’ conduct, the identity of the signatories, and any applicable formal requirements are not fully detailed in the reasons.
The guarantee point may be relevant where a guarantor argues that a principal debtor’s release by operation of law has removed the guarantor’s obligation. The Registrar relied on Gan and Hill for the contrary proposition in the circumstances discussed ([8]–[9]). A lawyer examining another matter would need to check the form and legal basis of the release, the guarantee’s terms, and how the cited authorities apply to those circumstances. Those matters are not resolved in detail here.
The option point may be relevant where the agreement states a final deadline for notice, but the opposing party asserts an additional time restriction that is not expressly stated in the relevant clause. The Registrar read the agreement as not limiting notice to the proposed period and found no evidence of a missed deadline ([9]). The result depends on the contract wording and the evidence about when and how notice was given.
These features describe where the reasoning may be pertinent, not a comprehensive rule for all summary judgment, guarantee, contract-signature, or option disputes.
The supplied judgment contains no information about how later courts treated Newman v Scook. It does not mention any appeal from the Registrar’s decision, later application of its reasoning, or subsequent judicial criticism or approval. No claim about later treatment can be grounded in the text provided.
The judgment itself refers to four authorities. It applies Heppingstone v Stewart to the signature argument ([7]); relies on Gan v Sanders, which it says applied Hill v Anderson Meat Industries Ltd, on the guarantor argument ([8]); refers again to Hill in relation to a court-sanctioned scheme ([9]); and considers the defendants’ reliance on Phillips Fox v Westgold Resources on option notice ([9]). Those are the relationships recorded in the decision itself. They do not establish how later courts treated Newman or those authorities.
The reasons are brief and do not reproduce the full option agreement. The judgment gives the deadline and identifies some terms, but does not set out all clauses, execution details, or any provisions governing notice method, receipt, or service. It also does not state the year in which the notice was sent on 10 April ([5]). Those details limit how far the notice reasoning can be generalised.
The judgment does not explain the precise basis on which the plaintiff’s notice was sent, when it was received, or how the stated 11.5 cents per share related to the agreement’s pricing condition. It records that the plaintiff’s calculation exceeded the closing price and that the share price on 31 August was 6.46 cents ([5]–[6]), but does not develop the factual or contractual significance of those figures.
The principal debtor’s identity and the exact state of its administration are not stated. Nor does the judgment identify a deed of company arrangement that had been executed in this case. The Registrar discussed the legal effect of a possible deed and a release by operation of law, but the text does not indicate that the existence or terms of a particular deed were proved ([8]–[9]).
The judgment also gives no detailed analysis of the guarantee wording. It does not explain whether the guarantee was continuing, how its terms dealt with variation or release, or what particular obligations it secured. Those matters are outside the reasoning set out in the extract.
Finally, the decision is a short, fact-specific ruling by a Registrar on a summary judgment application. The judgment’s own catchwords say the matter “Turns on own facts”. Its conclusions should therefore be understood in light of the contract terms and arguments as described, rather than treated as a complete account of the law governing all comparable disputes.
This is general legal information, not legal advice. Zoe can make mistakes. Before acting on or relying on this analysis, have a qualified Australian lawyer check it.
JURISDICTION : DISTRICT COURT OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA
CITATION : NEWMAN -v- SCOOK & ANOR [2003] WADC 46
DELIVERED : Delivered Extemporaneously on 14 JANUARY 2003 typed from tape and edited by Registrar
Practice - Application for summary judgment by plaintiff - Turns on own facts
Gan v Sanders (1994) 15 ACSR 298.
Heppingstone v Stewart [1910] HCA 59; (1911) 12 CLR 126.
Hill v Anderson Meat Industries Ltd [1971] 1 NSWLR 868.
Phillips Fox (a firm) v Westgold Resources NL & Ors [2000] WASCA 85.
1 REGISTRAR KINGSLEY: This is the return of the plaintiff's application for summary judgment against the first and second defendants. The principles in relation to applications for summary judgment are well known. It is for the plaintiff to show that, firstly, there is a prima facie case. Once there is a prima facie case there is an obligation on the defendant to show cause why leave to defend should be given.
2 The defendant need not show a complete case but only an arguable case. The defendant must put forward some facts to show that there is in fact an issue for argument. It is entirely possible for a defendant to show cause by attacking the statement of claim and arguing that the claim of the plaintiff is flawed.
3 In fact that is what has occurred in this case. The plaintiff's statement of claim pleads that four parties, the first defendant, second defendant and the principal debtor together with the plaintiff, entered into a written put and call option agreement.
4 The principal debtor agreed to purchase some fully paid shares in Tuart Resources for $69,000. There were certain express terms in that agreement; firstly, that the purchase by the principal debtor was conditioned on a listed selling price on the Australian Stock Exchange at 1400 hours Western Standard Time which was not to be below a stated purchase price per share on 31 August; secondly, the plaintiff was to send by form attached to the agreement no later than 1700 hours Western Standard Time on 3 September a notice requiring the principal debtor to purchase; and in the event that the principal debtor failed to pay he must pay interest at 15 per cent per annum.
5 The plaintiff pleads that it forwarded to the principal debtor to a facsimile number on 10 April a notice calling on the principal debtor to purchase the shares at $69,000. The share price was calculated at 11.5 cents per share which was expressed to being a price in excess of the closing price per share. The principal debtor failed to pay. The defendants are guarantors under the agreement and hence the claim against the guarantors.
6 The facts are verified by Walter Alfred Newman in an affidavit sworn on 1 October 2002. Mr Newman deposes that the share price on 31 August was 6.46 cents. The plaintiff in my opinion was making a calculated gamble at the time of sending the notice.
Newman
Scook & Anor [2003] WADC 46
(1911) 12 CLR 126
Judgment for the plaintiff on the application for summary judgment against the first and second defendants.
7 The defendant has opposed the application and has made various submissions. I will deal with each of those submissions. The defendants' counsel submits there was no agreement as the agreement was not signed by the plaintiff. In my opinion on the authority of Heppingstone v Stewart [1910] HCA 59; (1911) 12 CLR 126 at p 135: "A party who has not signed an agreement may enforce the agreement against someone who has."
8 The defendants' counsel argues that there is no principle obligation because the company has been placed in administration. There is authority for the proposition that the execution of a deed of company arrangement may extinguish the principal debt, but as the release is by operation of law the release does not discharge the guarantor; Gan v Sanders (1994) 15 ACSR 298 which applied Hill v Anderson Meat Industries Ltd [1971] 1 NSWLR 868.
9 The defendants' counsel raised an issue that the trustee in bankruptcy may be able to reject a proof of debt. Referring back to Hill v Anderson, that is authority to say that where there is a court sanctioned scheme there is no release of a guarantor. Forcefully defendants' counsel submitted that there was no valid exercise of the option referring to the authority of Phillips Fox (a firm) v Westgold Resources NL & Ors [2000] WASCA 85. Counsel submitted that the notice of exercise of the option must be strictly in accordance with the agreement. There is no evidence to suggest that the notice is not strictly in accordance with the agreement. The agreement provides the notice be sent no later than 1700 hours Western Standard Time on 3 September 2001. The agreement does not say the notice can only be sent between a certain period of time: as defence counsel argues between 31 August and 3 September. That being so I see no issue with the validity of the notice. Accordingly I am of the opinion that the defendants counsel has not persuaded me that there is any issue sought to be argued and I would give judgment as sought in the prayer of relief.