[2025] FCA 1293
General information, not legal advice.
Federal Court of Australia
2025-10-23
Mr J, Markovic J
Original judgment source is linked above.
Solicitor for the Third to Twenty-Ninth Defendants:
IN THE MATTER OF ZOYA INVESTMENTS PTY LTD (IN LIQUIDATION)
MOHAMMAD NAJJAR IN HIS CAPACITY AS LIQUIDATOR OF ZOYA INVESTMENTS PTY LTD (IN LIQUIDATION) ACN 169 933 162 & ANOR
ZOYA INVESTMENTS PTY LTD (IN LIQUIDATION) ACN 169 933 162
NAFIZA NAZIA NISHA (and others named in the Schedule)
Note: Entry of orders is dealt with in Rule 39.32 of the Federal Court Rules 2011.
(1) the first, second, fifth and eighth to 29th respondents, in effect, be "prohibited from selling, disposing, transferring, dealing with, Encumbering, Diluting or otherwise diminishing the value of any assets" in which he or it has an interest up to an unencumbered value of $12.8 million;
(2) the sixth and seventh defendants be "prohibited from selling, disposing, transferring, dealing with, Encumbering, Diluting or otherwise diminishing the value of any assets in which it has an interest, including funds in any bank account, shares in any company or any real property" up to an unencumbered value of $900,000; and
(3) the third and fourth defendants each be "prohibited from selling, disposing, transferring, dealing with, Encumbering, Diluting or otherwise diminishing the value of" their respective shareholdings in Al Noor Group Pty Limited, the eighth defendant, and Al Noor Investments Pty Limited, the ninth defendant, respectively and in Fenders Hamilton Pty Limited, the 12th defendant, and any dividends paid by those companies.
(1) Where:
(a) an investigation is being carried out under the ASIC Act or this Act in relation to an act or omission by a person, being an act or omission that constitutes or may constitute a contravention of this Act; or
(b) a prosecution has been begun against a person for a contravention of this Act; or
(c) a civil proceeding has been begun against a person under this Act;
and the Court considers it necessary or desirable to do so for the purpose of protecting the interests of a person (in this section called an aggrieved person) to whom the person referred to in paragraph (a), (b) or (c), as the case may be, (in this section called the relevant person), is liable, or may be or become liable, to pay money, whether in respect of a debt, by way of damages or compensation or otherwise, or to account for financial products or other property, the Court may, on application by ASIC or by an aggrieved person, make one or more of the following orders:
...
(e) an order prohibiting a person holding money, financial products or other property, on behalf of the relevant person, or on behalf of an associate of the relevant person, from paying all or any of the money, or transferring, or otherwise parting with possession of, the financial products or other property, to, or to another person at the direction or request of, the person on whose behalf the money, financial products or other property, is or are held;
...
(h) an order appointing:
(i) if the relevant person is a natural person - a receiver or trustee, having such powers as the Court orders, of the property or of part of the property of that person; or
(ii) if the relevant person is a body corporate - a receiver or receiver and manager, having such powers as the Court orders, of the property or of part of the property of that person;
(3) Where an application is made to the Court for an order under subsection (1), the Court may, if in the opinion of the Court it is desirable to do so, before considering the application, grant an interim order, being an order of the kind applied for that is expressed to have effect pending the determination of the application.
(4) On an application under subsection (1), the Court must not require the applicant or any other person, as a condition of granting an interim order under subsection (3), to give an undertaking as to damages.
... it is the duty of a party asking for an injunction ex parte to bring under the notice of the Court all facts material to the determination of his right to that injunction, and it is no excuse for him to say he was not aware of their importance. Uberrima fides is required, and the party inducing the Court to act in the absence of the other party, fails in his obligation unless he supplies the place of the absent party to the extent of bringing forward all the material facts which that party would presumably have brought forward in his defence to that application. Unless that is done, the implied condition upon which the Court acts in forming its judgment is unfulfilled and the order so obtained must almost invariably fall.
See too International Finance Trust Company Ltd v New South Wales Crime Commission [2009] HCA 49; 240 CLR 319 at [131] (Hayne, Crennan and Kiefel JJ) where the statement of Isaacs J was approved. Although their Honours were in dissent, the majority (French CJ, Gummow, Heydon and Bell JJ) did not address the point.
... The order is set aside because of some irregularity and not on the merits. When this jurisdiction is enlivened, the court's function is to determine on the material that was placed before the judicial officer at first instance, whether a party has failed to discharge the obligation which rests upon any party seeking an order ex parte, namely, making a full and fair disclosure of all matters within its knowledge and which are material, to the court. The court is not concerned whether the order should have been made on the material before the court. Whether or not the court will set aside the order upon proof of the failure to discharge the obligation depends upon the particular circumstances.
(1) Zoya Investments' balance sheet for the financial year ended 30 June 2023 discloses two CBA facilities totalling approximately $10 million (Aggregate CBA Debt);
(2) in their written submission on the ex parte application (at [99(b)(ii)-(iv)]), the plaintiffs refer to a transaction whereby an overdraft was temporarily increased in one of Zoya Investments' accounts for the purpose of Mr Rana's property acquisition (which was also supported by further third-party real property security). That is set out in a letter dated 27 May 2025 from K&L Gates, CBA's solicitors, to Swaab, the plaintiffs' solicitors, (K&L Gates Letter) but was not disclosed on the application;
(3) that increase in the facility and passing through of the funds for the property acquisition occurred in late 2023. That facility was then almost immediately reduced to zero, including (at least in a direct sense) from the balance of the proceeds of sale referred to in the K&L Gates Letter and from $2.5 million paid by Mr Singh ($2.4 million on 23 December 2023 and $100,000 on 22 December 2023);
(4) that series of transactions, or increase and then decrease of the overdraft, occurred after June 2023 when the amount owing to CBA already equalled the Aggregate CBA Debt. That left approximately $10 million in secured debts which, on the Liquidator's own evidence, was paid prior to the liquidation;
(5) with the benefit of time, the Liquidator's evidence does not disclose the loan statements for many of the bank accounts connected to the loans secured by the mortgages over the properties that were the subject of the restructure and the plaintiffs' claims; and
(6) the schedule annexed to their submissions concerns the proposed property restructure and was prepared in consultation with the CBA.
(1) Messrs Rana and Singh had indicated during their respective public examinations conducted in June and July 2025 that some form of consideration, and not nominal monetary consideration, had been given to Zoya Investments for the transfer of the properties situated at 64 Shamrock Street, Blackall, Queensland (Blackall Property) and 78 Toolooa Street, South Gladstone, Queensland (Gladstone Property); and
(2) the Liquidator in his affidavit sworn on 23 September 2025 (Liquidator's First Affidavit) and read on the ex parte application at [101] incorrectly stated that Zoya Investments' financial statements for the year ended 30 June 2023 did not record its ownership of four properties in NSW, namely the properties at 68 Craigie Avenue, Kanwal, NSW (Kanwal Property), 41 and 43 Denison Street, Newcastle West, NSW (Denison Street Properties) and the Parry Street Property, nor the existence of loans secured against them.
(1) he responds to the Liquidator's evidence that among other things he had not received the asset registers for Zoya Investments saying:
this material has been provided to the Liquidator, both in the form of the Xero management accounts, by the underlying documents which have been provided using Dropbox and also CBA documents. Also, third party documents recorded the assets have been provided. For example, at pages 187 to 189 of Exhibit SS-1 is a copy of a document provided to the Liquidators and prepared by the CBA during the process of the restructure, which lists the assets (at that time) owned not only by [Zoya Investments], but some of the broader group:
(2) he says:
During my examination, I gave various evidence that the consideration paid for the various properties was the taking over and or paying of the significant debt owed by [Zoya Investments] to the CBA. That included a property the subject of a contamination issue and which was significantly overleveraged with debt compared to equity, by reason of the change in market value. However, it appears that the Liquidator has ignored (and has not referred to in his evidence or in the Applicants' Outline of Written Submissions) what I said regarding the restructure of the CBA debts, which is supported by the documents in, among other places, Exhibit MN-1.
(a) on page 2 of the K&L Gates Letter at page 723 of Exhibit MN-1, K&L Gates write:
[Zoya Investments] and its related entities (Rana Group) sold four properties, all of which settled at the same time on 27 December 2023. This included the sale of the Parry Street Property. The total proceedings (sic) from the sale of the four properties (including the sale of the Parry Street Property) amounted to $10,742,283.65 (Total Proceeds). CBA received proceeds in the amount of $2,954,787.08 from the sale of the Parry Street Property;
(b) initially, it was intended that CBA be discharged as mortgagee in respect of the following properties:
(i) Parry Street Property (which was owned by [Zoya Investments]);
(ii) 66 Tudor Street Hamilton NSW 2303 (which is a typographical error, as it should read "56", and which was not owned by [Zoya Investments], but rather Fenders Hamilton Pty Ltd); and
(iii) 67 Stewart Avenue Hamilton South NSW 2303 (which was not owned by [Zoya Investments], but rather Mr Rana);
(c) on 20 December 2023, the Rana Group notified CBA that they were selling an additional property, located at 43 Denison Street St Hamilton East NSW 2303, at the same time as the Original Settlements (Multiple Settlements); and
(d) on 27 December 2023, completion of the Multiple Settlements occurred.
- The effect of the above transactions was that the CBA was paid circa $10.7 million from the sale of 4 properties, three (3) of which were not owned by [Zoya Investments], but rather Fenders Hamilton and Mr Rana. I understand that each of Fenders Hamilton and Mr Rana had guaranteed the debts of [Zoya Investments].
(a) $1,324,000 from the sale of the Cessnock Property; and
(b) $195,000 from the sale of the Jarrahdale Property.
Six of the remaining 11 properties were transferred to companies of which the Directors were directors and/or shareholder, and the remaining five properties were transferred to Azlan Investments.
The Plaintiffs' evidence discloses that of the six properties which were transferred to companies of which the Directors were directors and/or shareholder:
(a) On 4 March 2024, [Zoya Investments] transferred its interest in the Blackall Property to QLD RAS in consideration for the sum of $1. That is despite:
(i) on 11 July 2016, [Zoya Investments] purchased the Blackall Property for the sum of $350,000;
(ii) on 22 February 2024, [Zoya Investments] obtained a valuation in respect of the Blackall Property which expressed the opinion that the Blackall Property's value was in the range of $333,000 and $366,000; and
(iii) on 9 December 2024, QLD RAS transferred its title in the Blackall Property in consideration for $506,067.47;
(b) On 4 March 2024, [Zoya Investments] transferred its interest in the Gladstone Property to QLD RAS in consideration for the sum of $1. That is despite:
(i) on 11 July 2016, [Zoya Investments] purchased the Gladstone Property for the sum of $1,240,000; and
(ii) on 24 May 2023, [Zoya Investments] obtained a valuation in respect of the Gladstone Property which expressed the opinion that the Gladstone Property's value was $1,250,000.
(c) On 13 November 2023, [Zoya Investments] transferred its interest in the Kanwal, Nelson Bay Road and 41 and 43 Denison Street Properties to, respectively, RAS Kanwal Group (10th Respondent), Salt Ash (11th Respondent) and Fenders Hamilton (12th Respondent). The settlement of those properties appears to have occurred simultaneously, and the consideration payable on those transactions was paid cumulatively. Of the cumulative consideration payable to [Zoya Investments], there was a shortfall of $166,791.
47 Of the five properties transferred to Azlan Investments:
(a) On 10 October 2014, [Zoya Investments] purchased the Yellowdine Properties. The consideration paid for those properties is expressed on the transfer document as being "pursuant to a sale of business agreement dated 10 October 2014", and the Plaintiffs have not obtained a copy of that agreement so do not know what amount was paid;
(b) On 4 November 2016, [Zoya Investments] had purchased the North Bannister Property for the sum of $330,000;
(c) On 20 March 2024, the North Bannister and Yellowdine Properties were transferred to Azlan Investments. The consideration payable for the transfer of those properties was recorded on the transfer documents as being $500,000;
(d) [Zoya Investments] does not appear to have received payment of any amount in consideration for the transfer of the North Bannister and Yellowdine Properties;
(e) On 28 January 2025, Azlan Investments transferred its interest in the North Bannister and Yellowdine Properties for the sum of $900,000.
When called on at the hearing of the discharge application, no documents were produced.
I certify that the preceding fifty-nine (59) numbered paragraphs are a true copy of the Reasons for Judgment of the Honourable Justice Markovic.
ROSSMORE PROPERTY INVESTMENTS PTY LTD ACN 660 978 441
WESTON SUPERMARKET HOLDINGS PTY LTD ACN 605 195 417
SAR PROPERTY INVESTMENT GROUP PTY LTD ACN 674 019 517
Najjar (liquidator), in the matter of Zoya Investments Pty Ltd (in liq)
Rana [2025] FCA 1293
(1912) 15 CLR 679