austlii:nsw/NSWPIC/2025/609
General information, not legal advice.
NSWPIC
2025-11-14
Original judgment source is linked above.
Body parts: lumbar spine, Endocrine (diabetes) (aggravation/ consequential) and respiratory (obstructive sleep apnoea) (consequential).
Documents: Application to Resolve a Dispute, Reply, respondent's late Application to Lodge Additional Documents and Reasons for determination.
(a) Application to Resolve a Dispute and attachments;
(b) Reply and attachments, and
(c) respondent's Application to Lodge Additional Documents attaching a further report.
(a) weight gain
(b) back pain;
(c) narcotic relief, and
(d) sleep arousal from pain.
Dr Freiberg opined that the applicant had developed severe sleep apnoea due to weight gain, use of narcotic analgesia before retiring and shift in body position during sleep to the supine position. 4. In a report of whole person impairment, Dr Freiberg applied Table 13-4 of the American Medical Association's Guides to the Evaluation of Permanent Impairment (AMA 5) and assessed the applicant as falling within class 2 impairment.
15 January 2025.[5] Dr Howison noted that there was no ear, nose or throat cause for the applicant's obstructive sleep apnoea and that the condition was due to weight gain. 2. Dr Howison opined that maximum medical improvement had not been achieved as further weight loss would improve the applicant's sleep apnoea.[6]
Finding concerning weight gain and sleep apnoea
Findings of causation between work injury and sleep disorder
Dr Dimitri's explanation is clear and unrelated to the issue of weight gain because the doctor was not convinced that this had occurred. 4. Dr Dimitri also noted that part of the sleep disorder was due to chronic pain. 5. The requirement that an expert identify the facts and reasoning to support the opinion are based on settled principles including Australian Securities and Investments Commission v Rich,[26] Paric v John Holland (Constructions) Pty Ltd (Paric)[27] and Rule 73 of the Personal Injury Commission Rules 2021. Ultimately the acceptability of opinion is "a matter of weight not admissibility": Hancock v East Coast Timber Products Pty Limited.[28] 6. The respondent's tentative submission that no doctor's opinion on any issue could be accepted because of an incorrect history of weight gain is rejected. Accepting the respondent's submission that there are errors with respect to the history of weight gain recorded by some of the doctors, there is no logical basis between an error in recording an incorrect weight and the explanation by the various doctors of the other causes for the applicant's sleep disorder. 7. The principles of whether a condition was consequential to the accepted work injuries were discussed by Kirby P (as his Honour then was) in Kooragang Cement Pty Ltd v Bates.[29] Whilst the principle is not without criticism[30] it is frequently cited and applied in what has unfortunately become known as consequential condition cases. I say unfortunately because those words do not appear in the worker compensation legislation, and some associated principles have developed in the absence of a proper legal foundation. 8. In this case the applicant has a sleep disorder condition caused by the accepted work injury due to at least the three causes discussed earlier in these Reasons.
Role of the Member in the medical dispute for the assessment of a sleep disorder
The relevant provisions of AMA 5 and the fourth edition Guidelines
"A diagnosis of obstructive sleep apnoea is confirmed by nocturnal polysomnography in an accredited sleep laboratory. Once the diagnosis has been established, prescribed continuous positive airway pressure (CPAP) through a nasal device for use during sleep to maintain upper airway patency. Weight loss is the most effective means of long-term management and a possible cure for obstructive sleep apnoea if a lower body mass index can be maintained."
Member decisions referenced by applicant and issue of comity
Relevant statutory provisions and Court of Appeal authorities
"(1) An assessment certified in a medical assessment certificate pursuant to a medical assessment under this Part is conclusively presumed to be correct as to the following matters in any proceedings before a court or the Commission with which the certificate is concerned -
(a) the degree of permanent impairment of the worker as a result of an injury,
(b) whether any proportion of permanent impairment is due to any previous injury or pre-existing condition or abnormality,"
"It is for the Commission to determine whether a worker has suffered an injury within the meaning of s 4 of the Compensation Act. The Commission must also determine whether there are any disentitling provisions, such that compensation is not payable in respect of that injury. It is also the function of the Commission to determine by whom any compensation is payable. Jurisdiction is conferred on the Commission by s 105 of the Management Act. However, that jurisdiction is subject to the restriction contained in s 65(3) of the Compensation Act, which precludes the Commission from awarding permanent impairment compensation if there is a dispute about the degree of impairment, unless the degree of impairment has been assessed by an approved medical specialist. The fact that a medical dispute includes a dispute as to the degree of permanent impairment of a worker as a result of an injury is consistent with the entitling provision of s 66 of the Compensation Act in conferring an entitlement to receive compensation if the worker receives an injury that results in permanent impairment. The degree of permanent impairment that results from an injury is to be assessed as provided in Pt 7 of Ch 7." (emphasis in original)
"Had such a claim been made and had it involved a dispute as to the degree of permanent impairment, the Commission's jurisdiction did not permit it to determine that medical dispute by reference to its own findings; or that by reason of those findings there was no real or bona fide medical dispute. That was so irrespective of whether those findings were made in the course of determining the other claims, or in relation to the claim for lump sum compensation. In either case, if there was a medical dispute, it had to be referred for assessment, and decided by the Commission in accordance with that assessment."
"As can be seen, the relevant alteration is that prior to 1 January 2019 the Commission was prohibited, by virtue of the terms of s 65(3) of the 1987 Act, from awarding permanent impairment compensation absent an assessment by an Approved Medical Specialist. That prohibition was removed and the Commission was then empowered to determine such matters itself."
Dr Frieberg was undertaken by reference to Table 13-4.[50] As noted earlier, the use of Table 13-4 applies to both a sleep disorder from a neurological condition and due to sleep apnoea. The earlier report of Dr Frieberg describes sleep truncation due to chronic pain and sleep apnoea due to sleeping in the supine position, weight gain and use of narcotic analgesia.[51] 6. Accordingly, the relevant body system for this portion of the permanent impairment claim is the respiratory system (obstructive sleep apnoea). 7. The reasons for determination should be forwarded to the Medical Assessor. The Medical Assessor may find some assistance in these Reasons to the weight references in the clinical records which differ from the histories recorded by some of the medical practitioners.
[25] Nguyen v Cosmopolitan Homes (NSW) Pty Ltd [2008] NSWCA 246 per McDougall J at [44]-[55], McColl and Bell JJA (as their Honours then were) agreeing; Chen v State of New South Wales (No 2) [2016] NSWCA 292 per Leeming JA at [33]-[34]; McColl JA agreeing at [1].
[29] (1994) 35 NSWLR 452 at [462], [463]-[464].
[30] See State of New South Wales v Bishop [2014] NSWCA 354 (Bishop) at [19]-[20] per Baten JA.
[31] The fourth edition guidelines are issued pursuant to s 376 of the Workplace Injury Management and Workers Compensation Act 1998 (the 1998 Act).
[32] Clause 1.1 of the fourth edition guidelines.
[35] [2025] NSWPIC 141 (Fabian).
[37] [2025] NSWPIC 209 (Horish).
[38] [2014] NSWCA 354 (Bishop) at [20], [90] and [93].
[41] [2016] NSWCA 213 (Hine) (Leeming and Simpson JJA agreeing).
[43] [2018] NSWCA 88 (Jaffarie (No2)) at [80]-[81] per White JA; Macfarlan JA agreeing at [1] and Leeming JA at [30].
[44] Jaffarie v Quality Castings Pty Ltd [2014] NSWWCCPD 78 applied in Jaffarie (No2) at [80].
[45] Act No 62 of 2018 operation la on 1 January 2019.
[48] See for example McKelligott v Gwydir Shire Council [2020 NSWWCC 177; Townsend v Sebastian Consulting & Technical Services Pty Ltd [2020] NSWWCC 153.
[49] [2021] NSWCA 142 at 33.
Nagy
Arthur Tzaneros Discretionary Trust & Luke Webber Trust t/as Labour Power & Anor [2025] NSWPIC 609;
(2005) 218 ALR 764
(1994) 35 NSWLR 452
(1985) 62 ALR 85
(2011) 80 NSWLR 43