austlii:tas/TASCAT/2025/148
General information, not legal advice.
TASCAT
2025-08-06
Original judgment source is linked above.
Meander Valley Council v NFT [2025] TASCAT 148
The section 81A referral bearing Tribunal reference W/2025/933 is dismissed.
Workers compensation - Claim for compensation by a worker against an employer in respect of an injury for which the worker has not previously made a claim for compensation against that or any other employer.
State of Tasmania (Department of Health) v O [2024] TASCAT 80;
Hindle v Elliot [2024] TASCAT 45;
Neil v Legal Profession Complaints Committee [2011] WASCA 48;
Swan v Miller [2001] TASSC 15;
Masonic Care Tasmania Inc v F [2023] TASCAT 9;
Thornton v Apollo Nominees Pty Ltd [2003] TASSC 134;
State of Tasmania v Cane [2024] TASSC 56.
The decision has been anonymised for the purpose of publication.
I sustained a mental health injury due to ongoing exposure to excessive workload, lack of appropriate support, low role clarity, unreasonable workplace behaviours, and exclusion from critical decision making processes at Meander Valley Council. Despite raising concerns over a prolonged period, no effective actions were taken resulting in cumulative psychological harm. > > ... > > My GP has indicated my current diagnosis due to my workplace injury as major depressive disorder, anxiety disorder =? adjustment disorder. > > ... > > This injury is a result of ongoing exposure to unmanaged psychological hazards since earlier 2024. The hazards were present from early on, but they intensified over time without intervention, leading to gradual deterioration of my mental health.
While I was on medically certified leave for a psychological injury and unfit for all work, I became aware during a scheduled medical appointment that my employer intended to raise a formal complaint against me with an expectation I must respond while fully incapacitated. This occurred despite medical advice that no direct work related contact be made with me. Following this, I received multiple direct and unsolicited communications despite having nominated a representative from my employer, the insurer, and the rehabilitation provider. This management aggravated my condition and caused a further significant exacerbation of my injury.
Exacerbation of pre-existing medically diagnosed injury by my employer.
For the purposes of this Division, a claim for compensation is a claim for compensation by a worker against an employer in respect of an injury for which the worker has not previously made a claim for compensation against that or any other employer.
(i) The worker's assertions that once having disputed her first claim, her employers deliberately retaliated against her in a way which caused further harm;
(ii) The worker's assertions that the actions taken by the employer, insurer, and rehabilitation provider, were the cause of an aggravation of the injury basing her first claim, a condition which had not resolved;
(iii) The worker's assertions in her submissions of 15 July 2025 that:
And let's be clear, your jurisdictional argument objection is a red herring. The evidence is my second claim clearly points to conduct that is not only unreasonable but arguable unlawful. Rather than engage with that evidence, the employer has opted to raise a procedural argument to avoid scrutiny of its obvious and wilful misconduct, malfeasance, and maladministration. This tactic might delay accountability, but it cannot erase the record now before the Tribunal.
If the employer did not want its actions scrutinised it should simply not have taken them. But more than that it should not have disputed my original injury nor retaliated in ways that caused a further aggravation. Over and over, for months, this employer has retaliated against me, first for sustaining a psychological injury, and again through the aggravation it caused by its continued misconduct. Surely it is understood that this path carried a risk; the risk is that conduct might eventually be brought to light. That is not a surprise it's a consequence. (emphasis added)
(iv) The date of the worker's injury in the second claim (30 May 2025) was the date on which the worker was served with the disputation notice required by s 81A(1)(a) and (b) of the WRC Act for her first claim. The day before her General Practitioner had advised her in a meeting regarding the injury basing the first claim, about the employer's intention to raise a formal complaint with her. The letter regarding this formal complaint was not received by the worker until 2 June 2025, being after the date of her reported injury basing the second claim.
Thus, the employer's jurisdictional approach is plainly consistent with Deputy President Clues' binding guidance in the State of Tasmania v O case (supra). There, the Deputy President confirmed that if the worker's claim contains any suggestion or element of a new injury under s 80A(2) the Tribunal is required to assume jurisdiction. To require a conclusive finding at the s 81A stage would be to pre-empt the proper adjudication of evidence and amount to an error of law. The Tribunal must not conflate preliminary referral with final determination. > > ... > > In my case, the referral includes a new medical certificate from a different practitioner, a new diagnosis and a new causative chain involving employer conduct during the return to work process. That is more than sufficient to satisfy the low threshold for jurisdiction as established in State of Tasmania v O (supra).
As his Honour notes, the critical question under s 80A will depend on the nature of the claim communicated to the employer. As was explained in State of Tasmania v Parsons [2002] TASSC 59, this will depend on information concerning "the particular injury upon which the claim is based" derived from the claim form, the accompanying certificate, the circumstances in which that information is communicated to the respondent and any other contemporaneous communication to the employer as to the nature of the claim. The injury to which the claim relates, and hence the application of s 80A will depend on the evidence concerning this question, not on whether the evidence establishes, as a matter of objective reality, a causal link between an earlier injury and the injury which is the subject of the claim. (emphasis added)
The critical question was the nature of the respondent's [worker's] claim, as communicated to the appellant [employer], not its validity.
Of course, the claimed link between the original injury and the development of a psychological condition was not in issue in Thornton, as it is in this case. The actual text of the provision defines the requisite link as a claim "in respect of an injury for which the worker" has not previously made a claim. Because this question was not in issue in Thornton, care must be exercised in defining "in respect of" by use of the term "based for its foundation". In Thornton, the psychological injury was clearly and without challenge based for its foundation on the original injury. However, it cannot therefore be concluded that the causal link must always meet that description in order to establish the injury which is the subject of the claim for the purposes of s 80A. Ultimately, the question is to identify the injury in respect of which the claim for compensation is made, and s 80A will only apply if that injury is not one which has been previously made by the worker. (emphasis added)
The worker's further submissions of 30 July 2025
I just had a review of the material and for the most part, if it is relevant, I consider it relevant to the claim currently in dispute. This in my submission further supports the argument that no new claim pursuant to s 80A has been made, and there is no jurisdiction to hear the (current) s 81A referral.
Meander Valley Council
NFT [2025] TASCAT 148