austlii:cth/ARTA/2026/32
General information, not legal advice.
ARTA
2026-01-13
Original judgment source is linked above.
MCJL; Secretary, Department of Social Services and (Social security second review) [2026] ARTA 32 (13 January 2026)
Applicant: Secretary, Department of Social Services
Respondent: Secretary, Department of Social Services
Tribunal: Senior Member S Trotter (second review)
Decision: The Tribunal sets aside the decision under review and in substitution decides that, pursuant to section 1184K of the Social Security Act 1991, the aggregate lump sum compensation payment of $108,949 is to be treated as not having been made for the purposes of the compensation preclusion provisions, with the result that no compensation preclusion period applies.
Names used in all published decisions are pseudonyms. Any references appearing in square brackets indicate that information has been removed from this decision and replaced with generic information so as not to identify involved individuals as required by subsections 201(1A) - 201(1B) of the Social Security (Administration) Act 1999.
SOCIAL SECURITY - age pension - compensation - compensation payments - characterisation of compensation - whether payments relate to lost earnings or earning capacity - whether payments relate to same event - deed of release - compensation limited to a period prior to receipt of compensation affected payment - compensation preclusion period - discretion to disregard whole or part of compensation payment - special circumstances - interaction between workers' compensation and social security schemes - statutory purpose - no double payment - decision set aside and substituted
Angelakos v Secretary, Department of Employment and Workplace Relations [2007] FCA 25
Clark v Secretary, Department of Employment and Workplace Relations [2007] FCA 1076 Dranichnikov and Centrelink [2003] FCAFC 133
Fuller v Secretary, Department of Family and Community Services [2004] AATA 615
Groth v Secretary, Department of Social Security [1995] FCA 1708; (1995) 40 ALD 541
Kertland v Secretary, Department of Family Services [1999] FCA 1596
Miller and Secretary, Department of Employment, Education, Training and Youth Affairs [1998] AATA 258
Re Ivovic and Director-General of Social Services [1981] AATA 57; (1981) 3 ALN N95
Secretary, Department of Social Security v Banks [1990] FCA 196
Secretary, Department of Family and Community Services v Chamberlain [2002] FCA 67
Secretary, Department of Social Security v Cunneen [1997] FCA 1033
Secretary, Department of Social Services v Hulls (1991) AAR 414
Ward and Secretary, Department of Social Services [2022] AATA 57
2.1. The Employer agrees to pay the Worker in full and final settlement of the Proceeding, and in consideration of the Worker's agreement to wholly and forever abandon any claim against the Employer in relation to the injury, the allegations of negligence and the Proceeding, and any claim the Worker may have, and to provide the release set out in this Deed of Release, damages in the sum of $40,000.00 clear of workers weekly compensation payments made to the date, if applicable, to be made as a term of the agreement, and inclusive of costs and all disbursements (Settlement Sum).
It is acknowledged that the Workers claim covers the period 22 October 2003 to 16 July 2020.
The compensation settlement amount of $40,000 relates to economic loss up to 16.07.2020 only in accordance with the executed Deed of Release dated 30.08.2023.
Further, in awarding damages for future economic loss due to deprivation or impairment of earning capacity or loss of expectation of financial support, the court must disregard any earning capacity of an injured worker after pension age (s151A Workers Compensation Act 1987). In applying this provision, there is no entitlement to future economic loss under the 1987 Act after 16.07.2020.
On the basis of the Deed and the Legislation, there should be no recovery amount payable.
The Tribunal has erred in their application of section 1171 of the Social Security Act 1991, in that all compensation lump sum amounts should be aggregated and cannot be excluded from the calculation of the compensation preclusion period as long as one of the lump sum amounts satisfies ss 1171(1)(b) of the Act (there is evidence that the Respondent received an amount which satisfies this subsection).
The Tribunal Member has failed to consider that the $40,000 payment of compensation received by Mrs MCJL is only in respect of economic loss during the period 22/10/2003 to 16/07/2020 which is evidenced in the Deed of Release. No component of the compensation payment can account for any period after which Mrs MCJL reached retirement age.
(a) Decision of the Tribunal on first review - 2024/S188340 dated 13 August 2024, marked Exhibit 1;
(b) Order of the Tribunal dated 8 November 2024 extending the time for making of an application for second review by Mrs MCJL on application no 2024/7577, marked Exhibit 2;
(c) Order of the Tribunal dated 5 August 2025 staying the 13 August 2024 decision of the AAT, marked Exhibit 3;
(d) Joint Statement of Agreed Facts dated 4 April 2025, marked Exhibit 4;
(e) Documents provided by Mrs MCJL on first review, pages A1 to A26, marked Exhibit A1;
(f) 26 September 2024 application for second review and extension of time request by Mrs MCJL, marked Exhibit A2;
(g) Mrs MCJL's Statement of Issues dated 13 December 2024; marked Exhibit A3;
(h) Mrs MCJL's Statement of Issues, Facts & Contentions dated 28 February 2025, marked Exhibit A4;
(i) Email from Mrs MCJL's solicitors dated 30 October 2025 and attached:
- - Email from Mrs MCJL's solicitors to insurer's solicitors dated 10 August 2023;
- - Letter from Mrs MCJL's solicitors to insurer's solicitors dated 10 August 2023 - section 282 particulars;
- - Email from Mrs MCJL's solicitors to insurer's solicitors dated 18 August 2023;
- - Email from Mrs MCJL's solicitors to insurer's solicitors dated 1 September 2023;
- - Pre-Filing Statement in proceedings between Mrs MCJL and Murrumbidgee Local Health District,
(j) Mrs MCJL's further submissions dated 13 November 2025, marked Exhibit A6;
(k) Documents provided by the Secretary pursuant to section 37 of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975 on first review, pages 1 to 171, marked Exhibit R1;
(l) 18 September 2024 application for second review by the Secretary, marked Exhibit R2;
(m) Secretary's Statement of Issues, Facts and Contentions and List of Authorities dated 19 March 2025, marked Exhibit R3;
(n) Email from Secretary's representative dated 17 September 2025; marked Exhibit R4; and
(o) Secretary's further submissions dated 24 November 2025, marked Exhibit R5.
(2) Subject to subsection (2B),[9] for the purposes of this Act, compensation means:
(b) a payment under a scheme of insurance or compensation under a Commonwealth, State or Territory law, including a payment under a contract entered into under such a scheme; or
(c) a payment (with or without admission of liability) in settlement of a claim for damages or a claim under such an insurance scheme; or
(d) any other compensation or damages payment;
(whether the payment is in the form of a lump sum or in the form of a series of periodic payments and whether it is made within or outside Australia) that is made wholly or partly in respect of lost earnings or lost capacity to earn resulting from personal injury.
1169 Compensation affected payment not payable during lump sum preclusion period
(a) a person receives or claims a compensation affected payment; and
(b) the person receives a lump sum compensation payment;
the compensation affected payment is not payable to the person in relation to any day or days in the lump sum preclusion period.
lump sum compensation payment does not include a lump sum payment:
(a) to which section 1164 applies; or
(b) that relates only to arrears of periodic compensation payments.
1171 Deemed lump payment arising from separate payments
(a) a person receives 2 or more lump sum payments in relation to the same event that gave rise to an entitlement of the person to compensation (the multiple payments); and
(b) at least one of the multiple payments is made wholly or partly in respect of lost earnings or lost capacity to earn;
the following paragraphs have effect for the purposes of this Act and the Administration Act:
(c) the person is taken to have received one lump sum compensation payment (the single payment) of an amount equal to the sum of the multiple payments;
(d) the single payment is taken to have been received by the person:
(d) (i) on the day on which he or she received the last of the multiple payments; or
(d) (ii) if the multiple payments were all received on the same day, on that day.
(d)
(2) A payment is not a lump sum payment for the purposes of paragraph (1)(a) if it relates exclusively to arrears of periodic compensation.
(1) For the purposes of this Part, the Secretary may treat the whole or part of a compensation payment as:
(a) not having been made; or
(b) not liable to be made;
if the Secretary thinks it is appropriate to do so in the special circumstances of the case.
(a) Did Mrs MCJL receive a lump sum compensation payment for the purposes of section 1169 of the Act? And, if so, > > (b) What is the amount of the lump sum compensation payment to be taken into account for the purposes of section 1169 of the Act and the resulting preclusion period? And > > (c) Is it appropriate in the special circumstances of the case to treat the whole or part of the compensation payment as not having been made? And, if not, > > (d) Can any resulting debt to the Commonwealth be written off or waived?
(a) the Particulars of Loss and Damage in the Pre-Filing Statement,[10] which specifies the following: > > Particulars of Loss and Damage > > 4. As a result of that incapacity the Claimant has lost earnings at the rate of $500.00 net per week (as adjusted for CPI) from 22 October 2003 to 16 July 2020. > > 5. The workers compensation insurer has paid the Claimant for periods of time off work. > > 6. There will be credit given for all earnings received from the defendant during the period claimed. > > 7. In addition, or in the alternative, there will be a claim for loss of earning capacity on the basis that the Claimant's injuries and disabilities substantially diminished her mobility and capacity within the labour force. > > 8. There will be a claim for loss of past superannuation contributions at the rate of 9% based on the amount determined for past loss of income. > > 9. The Claimant claims a sum in respect of tax paid on their compensation payments pursuant to the principles of Fox v Wood. > > (b) the contemporaneous correspondence from Mrs MCJL's solicitors supporting that the Deed of Release reflected the confined period of compensation, including the following (part of Exhibit A5): > > (i) letter from Mrs MCJL's solicitors to the EML's solicitors dated 10 August 2023 including particulars required by section 282 of the Workplace Injury Management and Workers' Compensation Act 1998 (NSW), including as follows: > > Past Loss of Earnings > > 1. The Claimant makes a claim for $500 net per week (as adjusted with increases in the CPI) from 22 October 2003 to the date of her retirement at age 68 on 16 July 2020. > > 1. In accordance with the principles of Najdovski v Crnojovic [2008] NSWCA 175, the Claimant makes a claim for past loss of superannuation at the rate of 11%. > > (ii) email from Mrs MCJL's solicitors to the EML's solicitors dated 10 August 2023 including as follows: > > Please find attached, Section 282 particulars. > > Please note that our claim is pleaded (and subsequently settled) on the basis of economic loss up to our client's retirement age being 66 years of age. > > It would be appreciated if the Deed could please reflect this so that the settlement does not adversely affect her aged pension. > > Any problems, let me know. > > (iii) email from Mrs MCJL's solicitors to EML's solicitors dated 18 August 2023, including as follows: > > As per my email of 10 August 2023, could we please include a provision in the Deed that reflects the Plaintiff's claim (and subsequent settlement) is restricted to the period 22 October 2003 to 16 July 2020. > > Although I appreciate the s282 particulars and PFS reflect this, presumably only the Deed is considered by Centrelink and it would be preferable that it be clear so that our client's ongoing Centrelink benefits are not affected. > > Could I suggest adding a clause before 2.1 such as: > > 2.1 It is acknowledged that the Plaintiff's claim covers the period from 22 October 2003 to 16 July 2020. > > (iv) email from Mrs MCJL's solicitors to EML's solicitors dated 1 September 2023 enclosing, amongst other things: > > 1. Deed of Release (with handwritten amendment, initialed (sic)) > > (c) the initialled handwritten notation in the Deed of Release acknowledging the claim period as 22 October 2003 to 16 July 2020; and > > (d) the oral evidence of Mrs MCJL's solicitor at hearing clarifying that no post-age pension qualification economic loss was claimed or part of the settlement.
Issue 1: Did Mrs MCJL receive a lump sum compensation payment for the purposes of section 1169 of the Act?
Issue 2: What is the amount of the lump sum compensation payment to be taken into account for the purposes of section 1169 of the Act and the resulting preclusion period?
Issue 3: Is it appropriate in the special circumstances of the case to treat the whole or part of the compensation payment as not having been made?
(a) Mrs MCJL reached pension age prior to final settlement of her workers' compensation claim. By operation of section 151IA of the NSW Act, any award or damages for future economic loss was required to disregard earning capacity after age pension age. As a result, Mrs MCJL's settlement could not, and did not, as a matter of law, include compensation for loss of earnings or loss of earning capacity after that point. > > (b) Mrs MCJL ceased to be entitled to statutory weekly compensation prior to settlement. The lump sum settlement was therefore not capable of compensating Mrs MCJL for future loss of earnings in any meaningful sense. The character of the payment was necessarily constrained by the statutory limits on recovery in the NSW Act. > > (c) The evidence does not support a conclusion that Mrs MCJL received compensation in respect of any period during which she received age pension payments.
32. In each of Smith and Kertland it may be said that their Honours took into account the true position. The facts of those cases were unusual. It does not follow that the true facts in every case will have that quality. In those cases it could be seen, objectively, that there could not have been a double payment. In such a circumstance it might be concluded that the statutory assumption operated unjustly. This would not seem to me a situation which would often arise and sets these cases apart from the usual.
Issue 4: Can any resulting debt to the Commonwealth be written off or waived?
The Tribunal sets aside the decision under review and in substitution decides that, pursuant to section 1184K of the Social Security Act 1991, the aggregate lump sum compensation payment of $108,949 is to be treated as not having been made for the purposes of the compensation preclusion provisions, with the result that no compensation preclusion period applies.
[2] Section 151IA of the NSW Act relevantly provides 'In awarding damages for future economic loss due to deprivation or impairment of earning capacity ..., the court is to disregard any earning capacity of the insured worker after pension age (as defined in the Social Security Act 1991 of the Commonwealth for persons other than veterans).'
[3] Services Australia delivers social security payments and services and is overseen by the Department of Social Services. The Secretary, Department of Social Security (the Secretary) is responsible for the overall management and administration of the Department of Social Security. Centrelink is the Government Agency that delivers social security payments and services as part of Services Australia and as the Agency with whom pension and benefit applicants/recipients interact. The Secretary may be variously referred to as the Secretary or Centrelink in these Reasons.
[5] Exhibit R1, pages 75 to 76 and pages 164 to 165.
[6] 50% x $40,000 divided by the relevant divisor of $1,166 = 46 weeks rounded down.
[8] 50% x $108,949 divided by the relevant divisor of $1,166 = 17 weeks rounded down.
[9] Subsection 17(2B) relates to compensation for criminal injury and does not apply in this case.
[11]50% x ($53,949.10 + $15,000 + $40,000) / $1,166 = 46 weeks rounded down
[12] The Applicant's written submissions states 'employed' however the circumstances in Kertland were that Mr Kertland was unemployed at the relevant time and consequentially the limit on compensation.