austlii:nsw/NSWPIC/2025/506
General information, not legal advice.
NSWPIC
2025-09-25
Original judgment source is linked above.
Mamae v Insurance Australia Limited t/as NRMA Insurance [2025] NSWPIC 506
MOTOR ACCIDENTS - Motor Accident Injuries Act 2017; miscellaneous claims assessment; delay in lodging statutory benefits claim; whether claimant provided a "full and satisfactory explanation" under ; claimant involved in a motor vehicle accident on 31 January 2024; claim received by insurer on 1 November 2024; explanation attributed delay to medical and psychological issues, difficulty obtaining a certificate of capacity, and lack of scheme awareness; prior CTP claim in 2009 not disclosed; absence of detail as to solicitor-led efforts between May and September 2024; medical evidence supported psychological sequelae but explanation found incomplete and insufficient; - claimant failed to provide a full and satisfactory explanation for the delay; insurer entitled to refuse payment of statutory benefits under Schedule 2, clause 3(h) and 3(k).
Pursuant to the Motor Accident Injuries Act 2017 (MAI Act) and Schedule 2 to the MAI Act, the Personal Injury Commission determines:
(a) whether the claimant has provided a full and satisfactory explanation for the delay in lodging the claim within the meaning of s 6.13(3) and s 6.2 of the MAI Act, and
(b) if not, whether the insurer is entitled to refuse payment of statutory benefits, both retrospectively and prospectively, by operation of Schedule 2, cls 3(h) and 3(k) of the MAI Act.
31 January 2024 at the intersection of Erskine Park Road and Coonawarra Drive, Erskine Park. She was the driver of a sport utility vehicle with her four-year-old son and five-year-old daughter as passengers. The vehicle was struck on the driver's side, forced onto two wheels, and rotated before coming to rest facing the opposite direction of traffic. The airbags deployed. The fire brigade, travelling behind, attended the scene. No police or ambulance were called at that time. 2. The claimant alleges that as a consequence she sustained physical injuries to the head (including a right parietal contusion), the right shoulder, the cervical, thoracic and lumbar spine, anterior chest, and bilateral hips, together with psychological sequelae. These included anxiety, post-traumatic stress disorder, sleep disturbance, and the development of uncontrollable motor and vocal tics described by practitioners as Tourette-like. Subsequent clinical records document ongoing incapacity and the need for psychiatric, psychological and occupational therapy interventions. 3. No Application for statutory benefits was lodged within the three-month period prescribed by s 6.13(1). The insurer, Insurance Australia Limited trading as NRMA, first received a Personal Injury Benefits Application Form dated 21 October 2024 on 1 November 2024, some nine months after the accident. 4. On 5 November 2024 the insurer requested an explanation for the delay. On 25 November 2024 it repeated that request. On 28 November 2024 the insurer issued a Liability Notice, declining payment of statutory benefits on the basis that the claim was out of time and no full and satisfactory explanation had been provided. The Notice expressly invited the claimant to provide a signed statement addressing her conduct, knowledge and belief over the period of delay. 5. On 6 February 2025, through her solicitors Shine Lawyers, the claimant served upon the insurer a signed statement dated 4 February 2025. In that statement, the claimant said that she had attended St Clair Medical Centre immediately after the accident but was informed that her usual practitioner, Dr Gupta, was on extended leave. She said she was advised by staff to seek an alternative general practitioner (GP). She then attended Dr Yang Wang at Rooty Hill Medical and Dental Centre on 3 February 2024, where she reported pain in her neck, back and shoulder, as well as the onset of stuttering and motor tics. She said Dr Wang indicated he would refer her for neurological review but did not provide medication or advise of any entitlement to lodge a CTP claim. 6. The claimant said that between February and April 2024 she attempted to manage her symptoms conservatively with over-the-counter analgesia such as Panadol and Nurofen. She said that in late April 2024 she consulted Dr Oo at Plumpton Medical Centre, who provided a neurological referral and for the first time raised the possibility of a claim under the CTP scheme. She said that Dr Oo informed her that he was unable to complete a Certificate of Capacity, not being her treating GP. She said she subsequently saw a neurologist at Blacktown in April 2024, who diagnosed Tourette's syndrome. 7. She said she first contacted Shine Lawyers on 14 May 2024 for legal advice and formally retained them on 19 May 2024. She said that her solicitors advised her to complete an Application for benefits and to obtain a Certificate of Capacity. She said that she attempted to obtain this certificate from Dr Gupta (who remained away), from Dr Wang (who refused on the basis she was not his patient), and from Dr Oo (who declined on the basis he was not her usual GP). She said she was unable to locate any local practitioner willing to complete the certificate until she attended Dr Michael Malek at Covenant Medical Hub in September 2024, who on that day completed a Certificate of Capacity. She said the claim form and certificate were then served on the insurer, being received 1 November 2024. 8. On 28 March 2025, the insurer rejected the claimant's explanation as not full or satisfactory, citing absence of detail for the period 31 January 2024 to 6 February 2025, lack of corroborating treatment evidence, absence of specification of periods of incapacity, and the claimant's professed ignorance of CTP entitlements despite having previously lodged a CTP claim. The insurer affirmed that decision on 6 May 2025 following internal review, issuing a Certificate of Determination - Internal Review to that effect. 9. On 26 June 2025, the claimant lodged an Application for Miscellaneous Claims Assessment with the Commission. On 2 July 2025, the claimant sought leave to lodge additional documents, including a report of Dr Malek dated 27 June 2025. In that report Dr Malek diagnosed post-traumatic stress disorder, anxiety disorder, sleep disturbance, and Tourette-like tics, noted redundancy from employment, and documented functional incapacity in multiple domains. Leave to rely on that report and associated documents was granted at the preliminary conference. 10. The insurer filed a Reply on 17 July 2025 together with submissions dated 16 July 2025, reiterating its contentions that the explanation was neither full nor satisfactory. The submissions relied in particular on:
(a) the Personal Injury Register search showing a prior CTP claim lodged by the claimant in 2009 and resolved in 2014;
(b) discrepancies between the claimant's statement and clinical records as to when Dr Oo advised of CTP entitlements, and
(c) the absence of any account of solicitor-led efforts between May and September 2024.
(a) after the accident on 31 January 2024, she attended St Clair Medical Centre but her usual GP, Dr Gupta, was away on leave. She was directed to Rooty Hill Medical Centre;
(b) on 3 February 2024 she consulted Dr Wang, who noted her complaints of pain and onset of stuttering and tics. Dr Wang provided no medication, only indicating a possible neurological referral, and did not inform her of any CTP entitlements;
(c) she managed her condition with Panadol and Nurofen until late April 2024, when she consulted Dr Oo at Plumpton Medical Centre. He first raised the possibility of a CTP claim but declined to complete a Certificate of Capacity as he was not her treating GP;
(d) she saw a neurologist at Blacktown in April 2024, who diagnosed Tourette's syndrome;
(e) on 14 May 2024 she sought legal advice from Shine Lawyers and on
19 May 2024 formally retained them. She was advised to obtain a Certificate of Capacity;
(f) she attempted to obtain that certificate from Dr Gupta (who remained on leave), Dr Wang (who declined on the basis she was not his patient), and Dr Oo (who also declined), and
(g) in September 2024 she consulted Dr Malek at Covenant Medical Hub, who completed a Certificate of Capacity. That enabled her to lodge her claim, which was received by NRMA on 1 November 2024.
16 July 2025 and are supported by a Personal Injury Register search and earlier correspondence of 5 and 25 November 2024. 2. The insurer accepts that the claim was lodged on 1 November 2024, some nine months after the accident, and that it was required to consider whether s 6.13(3) of the MAI Act could be engaged. It contends that the claimant's explanation fails at both limbs. 3. On the "full" limb, the insurer submits:
(a) the claimant failed to disclose her prior CTP claim lodged with Allianz in 2009 and resolved in 2014. That omission, uncovered by the Personal Injury Register, is directly relevant to her state of knowledge and belief;
(b) the claimant's account contains inaccuracies. Her statement places Dr Oo's advice about CTP entitlements in "late April 2024", but the Plumpton clinical records show an attendance on 22 March 2024, and
(c) the claimant has not explained the role of her solicitors after being retained in May 2024. No account is given of steps taken by them to secure certification between May and September 2024.
(a) even accepting the claimant experienced some difficulty obtaining a certificate, the delay of six months from May to November 2024 is not objectively justified. A reasonable person, having retained solicitors and being aware of statutory time limits, would not have allowed such a delay to persist;
(b) the claimant's assertion that she was unaware of entitlements is undermined by her prior CTP claim. The insurer submits that the ignorance she asserts is not credible, and
(c) the medical evidence does not establish incapacity of a kind that would justify such prolonged delay.
5 November and 25 November 2024, then issued a liability notice declining benefits on
28 November 2024; a signed statement dated 4 February 2025 was later provided and an internal review on 6 May 2025 affirmed the original decision; the Miscellaneous Claims Application was filed on 26 June 2025; leave was granted to rely on additional documents lodged 2 July 2025; the matter then proceeded to determination on the papers after the preliminary conference on 25 July 2025. Those dates and steps are not in controversy on the material before the Commission.
(a) early medical attendances occurred in February 2024 at Rooty Hill Medical and Dental Centre (Dr Wang); further attendance at Plumpton Medical Centre occurred in March/April 2024 (Dr Oo), when the possibility of a CTP claim was first raised;
(b) the claimant retained Shine Lawyers on 14-19 May 2024;
(c) she experienced difficulty obtaining a Certificate of Capacity before October 2024, when Dr Malek (Covenant Medical Hub) completed one, and
(d) the Application for benefits then followed and was received 1 November 2024.
(a) the claimant did not disclose a prior CTP claim lodged in 2009 (revealed on a Personal Injury Register search) and therefore her asserted ignorance of the scheme should be treated with caution;
(b) there is an inconsistency in the claimant's timing of when Dr Oo raised the CTP possibility (the clinical notes show 22 March 2024, not "late April");
(c) there are gaps in the account, especially May to September 2024, after solicitors were retained and before Dr Malek certified, and
(d) clinical attendances with Dr Su Hianing Win are not addressed in the explanation though they appear in the record.
(a) the claimant has not provided a full and satisfactory explanation within ss 6.2 and 6.13(3) of the MAI Act for the delay in making the claim for statutory benefits, and
(b) By operation of Schedule 2, cls 3(h) and 3(k), the insurer is entitled to refuse payment of statutory benefits by reason of that delay.
Mamae
Insurance Australia Limited t/as NRMA Insurance [2025] NSWPIC 506;
(2003) 215 CLR 643