austlii:nsw/NSWPIC/2025/300
General information, not legal advice.
NSWPIC
2025-06-27
Original judgment source is linked above.
"Chronic sprain injuries in the cervical spine, shoulders, lower back and in both knees and aggravation or exacerbation of pre-existing degenerative change also in all of those areas. An anatomical abnormality and a spherical femur head bilaterally that due to the repeated strain on the hips have caused impingement due to the CAM type femoro-acetabular impingement."
"I did not have knowledge of the contents of the section 78 notices until very recently, and certainly not at the time that I finalised my statement in November 2024."
"In my opinion, he has had multiple indivisible injuries as a result of the nature and conditions of his work as a Police Officer and in my opinion that is a substantial contributing factor to injuries in each of the following."
"Mr Lisson suffered a series of indivisible injuries or micro-trauma arising out of the 'nature and conditions of employment' as a Police Officer"
"In my opinion, he has got evidence that indicates that it is more likely than not the mechanism of injury discussed above has been a substantial contributing factor to chronic sprain injuries in the cervical spine, shoulders, lower back and in both knees."
"When I weighed all the evidence including repeated reported injury to these joints multiple times during his NSW Police work, and that this occurred during activity know to injure these joints it was and remains my opinion that on the balance of probabilities it is more likely than not that his employment was a substantial contributing factor to chronic sprain injuries in his cervical spine, left shoulder, right shoulder, lumbar spine, hips and knees."
"The low back began to be a problem in 2004. He was involved in a number of physical activities, arresting uncooperative offenders and wearing the appointment belt. There were also injuries with training exercises, whereby they had to engage in physical combat like activities with fellow police officers. His neck and shoulders became a problem in around 2004. He would see the osteopath from time to time. The headache was associated with episodes of neck pain. There would be pain in one or both shoulders.... > > The knees began to be a problem. They locked up from time to time. They would be sore after kneeling and squatting activities that were lengthy or repetitive. Running on uneven ground and stairs and slopes was a problem on occasion. The right knee was worse than the left knee."
"There is no actual radiology available to view. He will have spinal degenerative disease affecting the cervical and lumbar spine. We all get that. It is 100% in all men and women aged 60 and over. In his age group, it is seen in 90% of men and women. Clinically, he would appear to have bilateral knee joint osteoarthritis and bilateral hip joint osteoarthritis. CAM deformity is seen in the x-rays of the hip. That is a familial inherited abnormality. He will have rotator cuff disease. That is almost as common as spinal degenerative disease."
"Mr Lisson keeps his own hours. There are days where he will not work at all or days when he will finish early. He is selective about where he goes and what jobs he picks up. He states his level of motivation and ability to work markedly fluctuates but furthermore although the work he does appears to be relatively technical it has become quite habitual for him to do it and he does not describe it being particularly taxing for him. He does report however that his knowledge has not been "updated" and he has difficulty doing any research or study which he states is entirely required for the type of work he does so as to be "on top" of technology that he needs to be for the purpose of completing his work tasks."
"continued to work ever since and although he is working in his own business his capacity appears to be limited and susceptible to mood changes which at times mean he will avoid work entirely. He states that there are days when he will not work and days when he will cancel work such is the fluctuant nature of his symptomatology.... > > His employment represents the full extent of his capacity to work. He could not work for someone else. Being able to control his own hours is entirely appropriate. He has difficulties maintaining his skills so as to keep him up to date and will have in my opinion great difficulty learning any new skills should this be attempted. His hours are sporadic, his attendance to work is sporadic but he does not work with anyone else, he has no staff and does not have to "answer to" anyone and this therefore makes his current employment appropriate and he has capacity to continue in this position but the current role he is in represents his full capacity."
"Prior to 2007/2008, he had seen his family GP for many years and had felt the police force was affecting him. He saw a psychologist in 2008 for anxiety as he was vomiting before he was going to work and started experiencing nightmares and flashbacks of the multiple events he had attended."
"His trauma symptoms continued and ultimately it appears that he likely quit work in 2015 due to an exacerbation of his trauma symptoms, although he was unable to recognise this at the time. Overall, it appears he had trauma symptoms which commenced in 2008. They did not meet full threshold until 2015 when he required time off work and he has not returned since."
"Mr Lisson is currently working approximately 10 hours per week as a self-employed locksmith. Notably, he learned these skills within the police force. His self-employed status appears to be working well for him. I believe Mr Lisson would be able to work up to 15 or 20 hours per week depending on his symptoms, although he stated that he is currently only working 10 hours per week due to his persistent low mood and difficulties with amotivation in the mornings."
"Currently, I believe that Blake doesn't have the capacity to work due to the chronic and severe nature of his PTSD symptoms. However, Blake said he feels forced to have to continue working to support his young family. As Blake's solicitor has applied to have his workplace psychological injury covered by insurance, the insurer is now requesting a Certificate of Capacity. As stated earlier, I believe that Blake has limited capacity, if any, to currently engage in his employment. However, I will be guided by your opinion on this matter and would be grateful if you could discuss this with Blake at your next appointment."
"I have spent considerable time building rapport with Mr Lisson and I believe he now trusts my judgement. I believe it's due to Mr Lisson's reluctance to seek professional help and seeing his psychological injury as a form of weakness, which is why he did not seek help from NSW Police Force and why it has taken him several years to lodge a WorkCover claim."
"As one would expect in such situations, sometimes the force used was either disproportionate or unexpected, particularly in group tactics, and I was subjected to having my neck wrenched and twisted, my back twisted and folded, my knees crunched, and my shoulders twisted and pulled behind me."
"Today he said he then moved to the State Technical Investigation Branch on the Entry Team and spent the next eight years undercover doing covert lock opening. He said he did carry around an approximately 20 kg duffel bag and tradie-like clothes, and on targeted locks spent between five minutes and eight hours with a set of blank keys persistently entering the key and then when it had a mark on it filing it and repeatedly doing that until the key opened the door."
"In my opinion, he has had multiple indivisible injuries as a result of the nature and conditions of his work as a Police Officer and in my opinion that is a substantial contributing factor to injuries in each of the following. > > In my opinion, he has got evidence that indicates that it is more likely than not the mechanism of injury discussed above has been a substantial contributing factor to chronic sprain injuries in the cervical spine, shoulders, lower back and in both knees."
"injured his shoulder at work > > he was under a dashboard getting a steering column out of a car > > gave way and loaded the shoulder"
"I would like you to assume for the purposes of preparing your report that Mr Lisson advises that he did not "injure" his shoulder on this occasion. > > Mr Lisson advises that this was the activity he was doing when he most recently experienced shoulder pain. This particular incident was no more significant than brushing his teeth, or throwing a ball, or taking off a jumper. > > Mr Lisson advises that the injuries to both shoulders had well and truly crystallised years before reaching under the dashboard of the car, which was not an "event" or "incident"."
"I do note that he has had bilateral shoulder pain for a long time and he remembers repeated instances when both of them became injured and sore in the General Duties discussed above and it is only more recently that it has restricted his work working as a locksmith, sometimes reaching out, but it certainly is not the cause of his shoulder injury. The history is consistent with him having a significant shoulder injury prior to working as a locksmith."
"There is no actual radiology available to view. He will have spinal degenerative disease affecting the cervical and lumbar spine. We all get that. It is 100% in all men and women aged 60 and over. In his age group, it is seen in 90% of men and women. Clinically, he would appear to have bilateral knee joint osteoarthritis and bilateral hip joint osteoarthritis. CAM deformity is seen in the x-rays of the hip. That is a familial inherited abnormality. He will have rotator cuff disease. That is almost as common as spinal degenerative disease."
"(1) A finding that a fact exists (or existed) requires that the evidence induce, in the mind of the fact-finder, an actual persuasion that the fact does (or at the relevant time did) exist; > > (2) Where on the whole of the evidence such a feeling of actual persuasion is induced, so that the fact-finder finds that the probabilities of the fact's existence are greater than the possibilities of its non-existence, the burden of proof on the balance of probabilities may be satisfied; > > (3) Where circumstantial evidence is relied upon, it is not in general necessary that all reasonable hypotheses consistent with the non-existence of a fact, or inconsistent with its existence, be excluded before the fact can be found; and > > (4) A rational choice between competing hypotheses, informed by a sense of actual persuasion in favour of the choice made, will support a finding, on the balance of probabilities, as to the existence of the fact in issue." (at [55])
"(1) Neither compensation nor work injury damages are recoverable by an injured worker unless notice of the injury is given to the employer as soon as possible after the injury happened and before the worker has voluntarily left the employment in which the worker was at the time of the injury. > > (2) The failure to give notice of injury as required by this section (or any defect or inaccuracy in a notice of injury) is not a bar to the recovery of compensation or work injury damages if in proceedings to recover the compensation or damages it is found that there are special circumstances as provided by this section. > > (3) Each of the following constitutes special circumstances - > > (a) the person against whom the proceedings are taken has not been prejudiced in respect of the proceedings by the failure to give notice of injury or by the defect or inaccuracy in the notice, > > (b) the failure to give notice of injury, or the defect or inaccuracy in the notice, was occasioned by ignorance, mistake, absence from the State or other reasonable cause, > > (c) the person against whom the proceedings are taken had knowledge of the injury from any source at or about the time when the injury happened, > > (d) the injury has been reported by the employer to the Nominal Insurer in accordance with this Act, > > (e) the employer has contravened section 231, > > (f) the injury has been treated in a first aid room at the place of work, > > (g) if the employer is the owner of a mine - the injury has been reported by or on behalf of the employer to an inspector of mines or an inspector under the Work Health and Safety Act 2011."
"(1) Compensation cannot be recovered unless a claim for the compensation has been made within 6 months after the injury or accident happened or, in the case of death, within 6 months after the date of death. > > (2) If a claim for compensation was made by an injured worker within the period required by this section, this section does not apply to a claim for compensation in respect of the death of the worker resulting from the injury to which the worker's claim related. > > (3) For the purposes of this section, a person is considered to have made a claim for compensation when the person makes any claim for compensation in respect of the injury or death concerned, even if the person's claim did not relate to the particular compensation in question. > > (4) The failure to make a claim within the period required by this section is not a bar to the recovery of compensation if it is found that the failure was occasioned by ignorance, mistake, absence from the State or other reasonable cause, and either - > > (a) the claim is made within 3 years after the injury or accident happened or, in the case of death, within 3 years after the date of death, or > > (b) the claim is not made within that 3 years but the claim is in respect of an injury resulting in the death or serious and permanent disablement of a worker. > > (5) The failure to make a claim within the period required by this section is not a bar to the recovery of compensation if the insurer concerned determines to accept the claim outside that period. An insurer cannot determine to accept a claim made more than 3 years after the injury or accident happened or after the date of death (as appropriate) except with the approval of the Authority. > > (6) If an injured worker first becomes aware that he or she has received an injury after the injury was received, the injury is for the purposes of this section taken to have been received when the worker first became so aware. > > (7) If death results from an injury and a person who is entitled to claim compensation in respect of the death first becomes aware after the death that the death resulted or is likely to have resulted from the injury, the date of death is, for the purposes of the application of this section to a claim by that person, taken to be the date that the person became so aware. > > (8) In a case where 2 or more persons are liable or partly liable in respect of compensation (whether or not that liability arises from the same or from different injuries), a claim is for the purposes of this section taken to have been made when a claim is made on any one of those persons. > > (9) When particulars of any injury received by a worker are entered in a register of injuries kept by the employer under this Act, the making of that entry suffices for the purposes of this section as the making of a claim for compensation in respect of the injury."
"In this matter the question becomes whether Mr Gregson suffers a serious and permanent disablement. Does he have a disability, is it serious, is it permanent, does it impinge adversely upon his capacity to work? If all questions were answered in the affirmative then he would satisfy that requirement. The basic question then presenting is the degree of the applicant's incapacity and losses before a considered answer to those previous questions is available." (at [78])
"His employment represents the full extent of his capacity to work. He could not work for someone else. Being able to control his own hours is entirely appropriate. He has difficulties maintaining his skills so as to keep him up to date and will have in my opinion great difficulty learning any new skills should this be attempted. His hours are sporadic, his attendance to work is sporadic but he does not work with anyone else, he has no staff and does not have to "answer to" anyone and this therefore makes his current employment appropriate and he has capacity to continue in this position but the current role he is in represents his full capacity."
"Mr Lisson is currently working approximately 10 hours per week as a self-employed locksmith. Notably, he learned these skills within the police force. His self-employed status appears to be working well for him. I believe Mr Lisson would be able to work up to 15 or 20 hours per week depending on his symptoms, although he stated that he is currently only working 10 hours per week due to his persistent low mood and difficulties with amotivation in the mornings."
"... the Court is required: > > 1. To determine the weekly amount the worker would probably have been earning if uninjured (section 40(2)(a)) ... > > 2. To determine 'the average weekly amount that the worker is earning or would be able to earn in some suitable employment from time to time after the injury' (section 40(2)(b)). Section 40(3) provides that the determination of this amount is subject to the following: > > '(a) the determination is to be based on the worker's ability to earn in the general labour market reasonably accessible to the worker; > > (b) the determination is to be made having regard to suitable employment for the worker within the meaning of section 43A' ... > > 3. to subtract the figure derived from 2 from the figure derived from 1 (section 40(2)). > > 4. to decide whether and to what extent the reduction calculated as above bears 'such relation to the amount of that reduction as may appear proper in the circumstances of the case (section 40(1)) ... > > 5. to make an award in the amount arrived at in Step 4." (at 529)
"(2) The Commission is not bound by the rules of evidence but may inform itself on any matter in the manner the Commission thinks appropriate and as the proper consideration of the matter before the Commission permits."
"He was unable to attend sporting matches, music festivals, vehicle escort work and other User Pays duties due to his reduced ability to sit for long periods, stand for long periods, engage in wrestles and violent arrests with drunk and unruly patrons of sporting and music festivals."
(a) 1 July 2015 to 30 June 2016 - $95,236;
(b) 1 July 2016 to 30 June 2017 - $49,191;
(c) 1 July 2017 to 30 June 2018 - $54,110;
(d) 1 July 2018 to 30 June 2019 - $62,354, and
(e) 1 July 2019 to 30 June 2020 - $68,589.
(a) $2,906;
(b) $48,951;
(c) $44,032;
(d) $35,788, and
(e) $29,533.
Lisson
State of New South Wales
(1997) 14 NSWCCR 526
(2000) 20 NSWCCR 520
(1992) 8 NSWCCR 401